Orion Launches New Imprint Trapeze

Orion to launch new imprint, Trapeze, in October 2016

 

The Orion Publishing Group is launching a new standalone commercial fiction and non-fiction imprint called Trapeze.

 

 

It will launch in October 2016, aiming to publish around 20 books a year that identify trends, break new voices and start conversations. Trapeze will be headed by Anna Valentine who is promoted to Publisher, reporting to Group Publisher, Jon Wood. Sam Eades, Senior Commissioning Editor, and Emma Smith, Editor, will complete the Trapeze editorial team. To reinforce the individuality of the imprint, each commissioning editor will have their own colophon adapted from the main logo.

A return to Orion’s start-up mentality, Trapeze will be bold and original, embrace new media, and challenge existing models. The Trapeze editorial team will acquire quality titles with a broad reach; books that people want to talk about, whether that’s the latest ‘hot’ psychological thriller, a big Christmas gift seller or a book that stimulates debate. Publishing across the commercial fiction and non-fiction spectrum, Trapeze will be the home of celebrity autobiography, pop-culture, music, lifestyle, inspirational memoir, gift, humour, and commercial fiction across all genres.

Valentine, a Bookseller rising star, joined Orion from HarperCollins in 2014 and is responsible for the publication of numerous top-ten bestsellers during her career, including books by YouTube sensation KSI, Madeleine Shaw (Get the Glow), Alan Partridge, Russell Brand, John Bishop, Sophie Hayes (Trafficked), Frankie Boyle and Justin Bieber.

Trapeze will launch with the new autobiography from Alan Partridge, It’s All Absolutely Fine by blogger Rubyetc, Guns N’ Roses: The Last of the Giants by Mick Wall, Hygge by Charlotte Abrahams and spoof cookbook The Walking Bread.

Today Trapeze announces five new acquisitions: Sam Eades, Senior Commissioning Editor, has bought world rights for three fiction novels: Tattletale by Costa shortlisted author Sarah J Naughton, Little Sister by Isabel Ashdown, and Calling Major Tom by David M Barnett. Anna Valentine, Publisher, has bought world rights for Lizzie Loves Healthy Family Food by nutritional health coach Lizzie King, and UK and Commonwealth rights for The Fifty Things by Peter Dunne.

Anna Valentine, Publisher, said:

“With so many opportunities open to us in the physical and digital space there has never been a more exciting time to be a publisher, and I’m thrilled to be launching Trapeze into this landscape. Our mission statement – to publish books that start conversations – will inform every aspect of the publication process, and we will innovate, experiment and be creative about how we bring our books to market. Encompassing fiction and non-fiction under one roof enables us to be dynamic with our publishing, and I look forward to launching our authors into new territories and building long-term careers that straddle genres.”

Jon Wood, Orion, Group Publisher said:

“Putting together three of the UK’s most exciting, most connected and most dynamic young publishers was a big win for us. In a market that is so fast-moving and fluid, this nimble, proactive start-up model is very much the future of publishing. Trapeze’s list is already an exciting mix of big hitters and new talent – and there are lots more to come!”

David Shelley, CEO of Orion and Little, Brown Book Group , said:

“The key to successful publishing is creativity - and Anna, Sam and Emma are three of the most exciting, creative publishers in town. Under Anna's leadership, I can't wait to see what Trapeze goes on to achieve.”

@trapezebooks

 

THE TRAPEZE PUBLISHING PROGRAMME:

 

OCTOBER 2016

Hygge by Charlotte Abrahams, published in hardback on 6 October 2016

A stylish, practical and inspiring book on Hygge (pronounced “hoo-ga”), a philosophy rooted in Danish culture since the 18th century that centers on the idea of “cosiness” and “cherishing yourself”.

The new autobiography by Alan Partridge, published in hardback on 20 October 2016

The much anticipated sequel to the critically acclaimed I, Partridge.

The Walking Bread, published in hardback on 20 October 2016

From the creators of Baking Bad and Game of Scones, comes the ghoulishly funny spoof cookbook The Walking Bread, inspired by the hit HBO television series.

Guns N’ Roses: The Last of the Giants by Mick Wall, published in hardback on 20 October 2016

A major, definitive biography of Guns N’ Roses by the man who was very much a part of what remains the most iconic rock story of the last three decades.

 

NOVEMBER 2016

It’s All Absolutely Fine by Rubyetc, published in trade paperback on 17 November 2016  

Shining a light on very real problems, It’s All Absolutely Fine is an honest, darkly comic and unapologetic account exploring struggles with mental health by London based illustrator Rubyetc (Ruby Elliot).

 

DECEMBER 2016

The Ghost Girl by Maggie Hartley, published in paperback on 15 December 2016

The second book in the Maggie Hartley foster carer series. Abused by her family, Kayleigh arrives on Maggie’s doorstep a little ghost of a girl. It’s up to Maggie to help Kayleigh find her voice, and bring those who've harmed her to justice.

 

JANUARY 2017

Lizzie Loves Healthy Family Food by Lizzie King, published in hardback on 5 January 2017

Lizzie King, a trained nutritional health coach and blogger, delivers a cookbook for all parents wanting to eat healthy and delicious food alongside their kids.

 

FEBRUARY 2016

Tattletale by Sarah J Naughton, published in trade paperback on 16 February 2017

An ambitious and unpredictable psychological thriller with three heroines and one killer midway twist that readers won’t stop talking about, from Costa nominated author, Sarah J Naughton.

 

MARCH 2016

The Fifty Things by Peter Dunne, published in hardback on 9 March 2017

This is a collection of the humane, wise and funny letters that Peter Dunne wrote to his children in his 50th year. Witty, poignant and life-affirming in equal measure, they offer a blueprint for liberal, thoughtful, democratic living in a 21st Century world.

 

MAY 2017

Calling Major Tom by David M Barnett, published in paperback original on 18 May 2017

A heart-warming and ultimately life-affirming story of a man who has given up on the world… but discovers in the most unlikely way that it might not have given up on him. A Man Called Ove meets The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, by way of It’s A Wonderful Life.

 

JULY 2017

Little Sister by Isabel Ashdown, published in paperback original on 20 July 2017

A dark exploration of the relationship between sisters and the secret history that binds them, by a new voice in psychological thriller. Perfect for fans of The Ice Twins.

 

ABOUT THE TRAPEZE ACQUIRING EDITORS:

ANNA VALENTINE is Publisher for the newly launched imprint, Trapeze, at The Orion Publishing Group. Joining Orion from HarperCollins in 2014, Valentine was previously Publishing Director for Orion non-fiction, and throughout her career has been responsible for the publication of numerous top-ten bestsellers, including books by YouTube sensation KSI, Madeleine Shaw (Get the Glow), Alan Partridge, Russell Brand, John Bishop, Sophie Hayes (Trafficked), Frankie Boyle and Justin Bieber.

SAM EADES is a senior commissioning editor and publicist with nine years’ experience, having previously worked at Transworld Publishers, Headline and Macmillan. Eades has won multiple PPC awards for her campaigns on The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman; The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey and The Taxidermist’s Daughter by Kate Mosse. Eades joined Orion in 2015 as a Senior Commissioning Editor and Associate Publicist, working in the Orion Fiction team. She is now commissioning commercial fiction for Trapeze, looking for great writing with a broad appeal. She is looking for standout voices in the crime, psychological suspense, reading group and women’s fiction areas. 

EMMA SMITH joined Orion in 2013, and has since worked across a wide range of non-fiction, from commercial cookery and biography to gift humour, pop science and inspirational memoir. Smith has worked on Storm by Tim Minchin and Girls Will Be Girls by Emer O’Toole, and has commissioned Dogs in the Air, Why Does Asparagus Make Your Wee Smell by Andy Brunning, and most recently It’s All Absolutely Fine by Rubyetc. She is looking for original, entertaining and well-executed ideas; books that make readers laugh, cry, learn and keep turning pages – whether that’s a quirky gift book, a true crime thriller or intelligent popular psychology.