Almudena Grandes

W&N

The Frozen Heart

Almudena Grandes
Authors:
Almudena Grandes

A sweeping epic saga about the Spanish Civil War -- the Spanish DR ZHIVAGO.In the small town of Torrelodones on the outskirts of Madrid, a funeral is taking place. Julio Carrión González, a man of tremendous wealth and influence in Madrid, has come home to be buried. But as the family stand by the graveside, his son Alvaro notices the arrival of a stranger -- a young and attractive woman. No one appears to know who she is, or why she is there. Alvaro's questions only deepen when the family inherits an enormous amount of money that is a surprise even to them. In his father's study Alvaro discovers an old folder with letters sent to his father in Russia between 1941 and 1943, faded photos of people he never met and a locked grey metal box. The woman is Raquel Fernández Perea, the daughter of Spaniards who fled during the Civil War. One episode in her past has marked her for ever -- the only time she saw her grandfather cry. Her fate, and that of the family, now hangs on the secrets of Julio's past.From the provincial heartlands of Spain to the battlefields of Russia, THE FROZEN HEART is a mesmerising journey through a war that tore families apart, pitted fathers against sons, brothers against brothers, wives against husbands. Against such a past, where do faith and loyalty lie?

W&N

The Wind from the East

Almudena Grandes
Authors:
Almudena Grandes

'This magnificent saga of shipwrecked lives grips from the first sentence and weaves parallel intrigues of memory and survivial, money and revenge, resolved only in the closing pages' IndependentIn a small seaside suburb two strangers arrive - Juan Olmedo, accompanied by his mentally disabled brother and his young niece, and Sara Gomez, an enigmatic woman in her fifties. Both have their reasons for fleeing the city. Sara's father had returned from the Civil war a broken man, unable to support his family. In desperation, her mother was forced to give up the young baby to her childless employer. Growing up amidst a background that would never truly be her own, Sara was forever caught between her love of the good life and her feelings of duty towards a family and a poverty that repelled her. Now Sara has more money than she had ever dreamed of, but her freedom has come at a price. Juan also has his reasons for wanting to start again. A doctor in the local ER unit, he is haunted by a tragedy in his family's past and by a secret sexual obsession that threatens the fragile equilibrium he has found in his new home. An emotional, sensual, sweeping epic saga for fans of Elena Ferrante and Maggie O'Farrell.

W&N

The Ages of Lulu

Almudena Grandes
Authors:
Almudena Grandes

A stunning erotic novel that has sold over 1 million copies worldwide - FIFTY SHADES OF GREY for a more sophisticated and adventurous reader.Long before FIFTY SHADES OF GREY, Grandes was dazzling the literary world with this highly charged novel about a young woman embarking on a series of sexual adventures.Lulu's journey begins won the night she loses her virginity to Pablo - her brother's best friend and twelve years her senior. Their relationship is obsessive - not possessive - and their appetites for new erotic territory are insatiable. Lulu's thirst for sexual discovery takes her through voyeurism, power plays and homoeroticism. But soon her forays into illicit and dangerous sex threaten to absorb her completely.

Almudena Grandes

Almudena Grandes is one of Spain's top selling authors. Her first book, The Ages of Lulu, sold over a million copies worldwide and was translated in 21 languages. None of her six novels have sold less than 150,000 copies in Spain. She has won several prizes including the Crisol Readers Prize which is awarded directly by customers votes. Two of her books have been made into films and two more films have been contracted.