Colin MacIntyre - The Letters of Ivor Punch - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats

The Letters of Ivor Punch

By Colin MacIntyre

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

WINNER OF THE EDINBURGH INTERNATIONAL BOOK FESTIVAL FIRST BOOK AWARD.
Introducing a dazzlingly fresh voice, THE LETTERS OF IVOR PUNCH is the highly-anticipated debut novel from Colin MacIntyre (aka Mull Historical Society), an acclaimed Scottish musician and a 'real storyteller' (according to Simon Mayo). For fans of Morvern Callar, Roddy Doyle and Whisky Galore.

Winner of the Edinburgh International Book Festival's First Book Award.

'A truly original and enthralling novel. Ivor Punch is a magnificent creation and his story is mischievous, sad, funny and truthful' - Stephen Kelman, BOOKER-SHORTLISTED author of PIGEON ENGLISH

All islands have their secrets.
This one has more than most.

When Fingal McMillan rows out into the Atlantic never to return, his grandson Alexander is left with questions. What really happened to Alexander's mother? Was his grandfather trying to reach The Looming, a rock of local myth? And why have mysterious words appeared on the cliff by the bay?

Alexander is not the only local boy whose origins are clouded by mystery - a mystery which stretches back to Victorian times, when a pioneering travel writer alighted on distant Scottish shores. But will the island give up its secrets? Or will Ivor Punch - the man who links the past to the present - take them to the grave?

Biographical Notes

Colin MacIntyre is an award-winning musician who has written and produced six albums to date, having achieved two Top 20 albums under the name Mull Historical Society. He has been voted Scotland's Top Creative Talent and has toured worldwide, including with The Strokes, Elbow and REM, and has played all the major festivals. He has performed live on Radio 4, 6Music, Radio 1, Radio 2, LATER WITH JOOLS HOLLAND and THE JONATHAN ROSS SHOW, among many others. He is the co-author of a Radio 4 Afternoon Play, and has collaborated with Tony Benn and Irvine Welsh. His newest musical project is INK, an enigmatic electro-pop collaboration, of which the GUARDIAN has said, 'Perfect without being too box-ticking. INK is going to be massive.' Born into a family of writers and storytellers, Colin grew up on the isle of Mull in the Hebrides but now lives in London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780297609254
  • Publication date: 14 May 2015
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: W&N
A truly original and enthralling novel. Ivor Punch is a magnificent creation and his story is mischievous, sad, funny and truthful — Stephen Kelman, BOOKER-SHORTLISTED author of PIGEON ENGLISH
Beguiling tales built on secrets and sadness, each of them with a keen sense of place — INDEPENDENT
Witty, shocking, curious and wry, it is a multi-faceted novel that delights at every turn... A thing of genius and wonder. — WE LOVE THIS BOOK
MacIntyre is a storyteller with a unique imagination and has created a genuinely heartfelt novel with some standout elements of dark comedy — THE LIST
As a songwriter, Colin MacIntyre seems always to have been a natural storyteller. Perhaps it was only a matter of time before he turned his abilities to the longer form of the novel. It is fitting that the man best known as Mull Historical Society has crafted a story to which he has put his own name, yet it is a novel which owes so much to his roots on the island of Mull. Such powerful storytelling resonated strongly with readers at the Book Festival, making Colin a runaway winner in voting for the First Book Award — Nick Barley, Director of the Edinburgh International Book Festival
He writes with a clarity of style — THE SCOTSMAN
We meet a pioneering female writer, two fatherless boys, a man who fell from the sky and, of course, the prolific letter writer Ivor Punch — THE BIG ISSUE IN THE NORTH
The Punch family history is both fascinating and sad. The book is interesting, funny, has a famous cameo and keeps you reading, and it's only when you reach the end of the final chapter that the Punch family history falls into place... The characters are original, well-written, and it's one of those books you want to re-read after you've finished it — Judith Griffin, New Books
I raced through this clever, poignant, beautiful book in one sitting. It's peopled by a cast of brilliantly off-the-wall characters, and full of keen-eyed observations about life on a remote Scottish island - and, by extension, everywhere. A must-read. — Laura Barnett, author of THE VERSIONS OF US
This is a novel packed with funny characters. — iWEEKEND
The poetic prose he uses for sea and the changing island life... is unforgettable — YORKSHIRE GAZETTE & HERALD
Orion

A Year at Hotel Gondola

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino
Orion

What Fresh Hell

Lucy Vine
Authors:
Lucy Vine

Have you ever spent a weekend with strangers you hate for a friend's hen party?Had to pay hundreds of pounds for that spa break all in the name of besties?Lilah Fox has just returned from the hen party from hell, vowing to actually spend time with her boyfriend and focus more on herself. Then she gets the whatsapp from her best friend Lauren to say she's just got engaged. And as maid of honour, Lilah just signed up for weekend wedding fairs and weekly planning meetings for the next year.Just when she thinks things can't get any worse, she's about to discover a new fresh hell.

Orion

Bitter

Francesca Jakobi
Authors:
Francesca Jakobi

It's 1969, the summer of love still lingers in London, but Gilda is haunted by her wartime past. She walked out on her son Reuben when he was just a boy and fears he'll never forgive her. When he marries a small, blonde gentile, she takes it as the ultimate rejection. Her cold, distant son seems transformed by love. What does his new wife have that she doesn't? As Gilda's obsession builds, she starts to follow her daughter-in-law, copies her hairstyle and breaks into the newlyweds' home. Watching her son and his wife stumble through their first few months of marriage, she is forced to reflect on how she ended up so alone. And when new and shocking truths come to light, she has the opportunity to put the past to rest. She must decide between doing what is right and the tantalising prospect of revenge.

Orion

The Truth

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Orion

The Night Market

Jonathan Moore
Authors:
Jonathan Moore
Orion

Coming Home to Island House

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

From Erica James, bestselling author of Summer at the Lake, comes an enchanting tale of one family coming together and finding their way.It's the summer of 1939, and after touring an unsettled Europe to promote her latest book, Romily Temple returns home to Island House and the love of her life, the charismatic Jack Devereux. But when Jack falls ill, his estranged family are called home and given seven days to find a way to bury their resentments and come together. With war now declared, each member of the family is reluctantly forced to accept their new stepmother and confront their own shortcomings. But can the habits of a lifetime be changed in one week? And can Romily, a woman who thrives on adventure, cope with the life that has been so unexpectedly thrust upon her?

Orion

Snowballs

Fliss Chester
Authors:
Fliss Chester
W&N

Captain Alatriste

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte
W&N

Purity of Blood

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte
W&N

Pirates of the Levant

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte
Orion

The Companion

Sarah Dunnakey
Authors:
Sarah Dunnakey
Orion

The Witches of New York

Ami McKay
Authors:
Ami McKay

Those averse to magic need not apply... 1880 Witches Adelaide Thom and Eleanor St Clair have opened a tea shop in Manhattan specialising in cures, palmistry and potions. When an enchanting woman called Beatrice joins the witches as an apprentice, she soon proves indispensable, but her new life is marred by strange occurrences. She sees things no one else can see. She hears voices no one else can hear. Has she been touched by magic or is she simply losing her mind? Amidst the witches' tug-of-war over how best to nurture her gifts, Beatrice disappears. But was it by choice or by force? In a time when women were corseted, confined and committed for merely speaking their minds, is anyone really safe?

Orion

Kings of America

R.J. Ellory
Authors:
R.J. Ellory
W&N

Now Let's Dance

Karine Lambert
Authors:
Karine Lambert

'Completely enchanting... a gentle and unexpected love story whose characters are drawn with tenderness and touching honesty. I loved it. It deserves to fly off the shelves!'RUTH HOGAN, author of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGSMarguerite has been living a comfortable but dull existence in a suburban town with her straitlaced husband. When he dies, she realises that life has passed her by.Marcel has been in a loving relationship with Nora since they left Algeria sixty years before. Now that he has lost her, he has lost his way. Marguerite and Marcel come from two very different worlds - one rich, one poor. They never should have met. And yet their paths cross, and a connection forms...But will they manage to overcome the disapproval of their friends and families, as well as their own misgivings? 'This gorgeous, optimistic, often very funny love story is full of the joys and despairs of ageing, and written with a superb simplicity. It's perfect for the young-at-heart.' DAILY MAIL

W&N

IQ

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide
Trapeze

Calling Major Tom

David M. Barnett
Authors:
David M. Barnett

'I adored this book!' Ruth Hogan, The Keeper of Lost Things * * * * *AS FEATURED ON THE GUARDIAN - THE HEARTWARMING EBOOK BESTSELLER Forty-something Thomas is very happy to be on his own, far away from other people and their problems. But beneath his grumpy exterior lies a story and a sadness that is familiar to us all. And he's about to encounter a family who will change his view of the world... for good.* * * * *'An unashamedly feel-good story.' Miranda Dickinson'Sheer joy.' Lucy Diamond'A much-needed antidote for these worrying times.' Julie Cohen'A moving, funny, absorbing hot chocolate of a story.' Daniela Sacerdoti'Exactly what everyone needs right now.' Rachael Lucas'Believable, funny and a proper tear jerker - five stars' Tracy Bloom

Orion

At First Light

Vanessa Lafaye
Authors:
Vanessa Lafaye
W&N

History of Wolves

Emily Fridlund
Authors:
Emily Fridlund
W&N

The King's Gold

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte
W&N

The Sun Over Breda

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte

The third in the bestselling Captain Alatriste series.Flanders, 1625. After his tussles with the Inquisition and the intrigue of the Spanish court, Captain Alatriste has returned to the mud and desperation of the long war in Flanders. This is Iñigo's first experience of war and the realities of hand to hand combat. It is on the battlefield that he will finally have the chance to become a man and prove his worth.The troops are weary and ill-nourished and the winter has been long. As Spain sinks ever further into depravity and corruption, the soldiers have not been paid and must survive by whatever ways they can. Mutiny is in the air, but the Spaniards are strong and their famous iron discipline has brought them many victories against the Calvinist forces of the heretics. Reputation, honour, and the glory of Spain will keep them in the fight, but for how long? Meanwhile, the Captain's trusted friend Quevedo's star is rising at court and he keeps Alatriste appraised of the machinations of his arch-enemy Luis de Alquézar and the notorious assassin with the black heart, Gualterio Malatesta.