Stephen Baxter - Emperor - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575098749
    • Publication date:27 May 2010
Books in this series

Emperor

By Stephen Baxter

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A thrilling new series of counter-factual historical thrillers from an SF master and co-author, with Terry Pratchett, of the Long Earth books.

A woman gives birth to her child in a village in Northern England, the cold northern edge of the Roman Empire. As she struggles through a painful labour she begins to scream out a series of words in Latin. A language she has never heard before, much less spoken. One of the family recognises the words for what they are.

Only later does it become clear that the women has spoken a prophecy. A prophecy that relates to the death of the Emperor Constantine. A prophecy that if enacted will change the fate of the Roman Empire and all of the future beyond it.

Stephen Baxter's new series takes ordinary individuals living at history's tipping points and presents them with a prophecy that challenges everything they believe about their world and prompts them to take action that could change it forever.

The fourth volume reveals the nature of the prophecies and reveals a battle that has been fought through the ages.

Biographical Notes

Stephen Baxter is the pre-eminent SF writer of his generation. Published around the world he has also won major awards in the UK, US, Germany, and Japan. Born in 1957 he has degrees from Cambridge and Southampton. He lives in Northumberland with his wife.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575079229
  • Publication date: 08 Feb 2007
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

Xeelee: Redemption

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Michael Poole finds himself in a very strange landscape . . . This is the centre of the Galaxy. And in a history without war with the humans, the Xeelee have had time to built an immense structure here. The Xeelee Belt has a radius ten thousand times Earth's orbital distance. It is a light year in circumference. If it was set in the solar system it would be out in the Oort Cloud, among the comets - but circling the sun. If it was at rest it would have a surface area equivalent to about thirty billion Earths. But it is not at rest: it rotates at near lightspeed. And because of relativistic effects, distances are compressed for inhabitants of the Belt, and time drastically slowed.The purpose of the Belt is to preserve a community of Xeelee into the very far future, when they will be able to tap dark energy, a universe-spanning antigravity field, for their own purposes. But with time the Belt has attracted populations of lesser species, here for the immense surface area, the unending energy flows. Poole, Miriam and their party, having followed the Ghosts, must explore the artefact and survive encounters with its strange inhabitants - before Poole, at last, finds the Xeelee who led the destruction of Earth...Read by Dudley Hinton(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Gateway

Raft

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Xeelee: Vengeance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Obelisk

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

The Massacre of Mankind

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

The Northland Trilogy

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

8,000 years ago Europe was a very different place. England was linked to Holland by a massive swathe of land. Where the North Sea is now lay the landmass of Northland. And then came a period of global warming, a shifting of continents and, over a few short years, the sea rushed in and our history was set.But what if the sea had been kept at bay? Brythony is a young girl who lives in Northland. Like all her people she is a hunter gatherer, her simple tools fashioned from flint cutting edges lodged in wood and animal bone. When the sea first encroaches on her land her people simply move. Brythony moves further travelling to Asia. Where she sees mankind's first walled cities. And gets an idea. What if you could build a wall to keep the sea out?And so begins a colossal engineering project that will take decades, a wall that stretches for hundreds of miles, a wall that becomes an act of defiance, and containing the bones of the dead, an act of devotion. A wall that will change the geography of the world. And it's history.Stephen Baxter has become expert at embedding human stories into the grandest sweeps of history and the most mind-blowing of concepts. STONE SPRING begins a trilogy that will tell the story of a changed world. It begins in 8,000 BC with an idea and ends in 1500 in a world that never saw the Roman Empire, Christianity or Islam. It is an eye-opening look at what history could so easily have been and an inspiring tale of how we control our future.

Gollancz

Neuromancer

William Gibson
Authors:
William Gibson
Gollancz

Behemoth

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

They have measured the slow pulse of the seasons as the Earth spins its stately annual dance. Their memories stretch back across the million-year cycles of the ice sheets.Their stories tell of the making of the world. And as the millenia have passed, their legends have served them well.And a thousand years from now, on a different world, they will be the difference between life and death, between extinction and a future as long as the past.This new ebook edition collects three of Stephen Baxter's early books together for the first time.Starting with the story of SilverHair, the last of the few remaining mammoths that have survived in a Siberian evolutionary backwater the MAMMOTH trilogy is the story of the mammoths of history and legend. It is their story built on their own myths and traditions. Conscious and intelligent, the mammoths of this trilogy have, within the limits of their nature, their own culture and oral mythology, even a creation myth, which they will use to tell their story, understand their world and try to cope with the encroachments of mankind.

Gollancz

Destiny's Children

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

A new series that will chart the different evolutionary futures for mankind and chronicle a war that has been fought since the first nano-seconds after the Big Bang to the impossibly distant future. Collects for the first time in one volume: Coalescent, Exultant, Transcendent, ResplendentIt is a story that begins with a vivid depiction of the decline of the Roman Empire and which, down through the years, shows how one woman's determination to protect her daughter has such frightening consequences for mankind's future existence. For in that future twenty-five thousand years from now, mankind is still locked in its twenty-thousand year long war for survival with the Xeelee. Also included is Resplendent: a collection of stories that encompasses mankind's epic fight for survival against the Xeelee, a narrative of how man will change and evolve over our epic journey out into the universe.

Gollancz

Time's Tapestry

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Xeelee Sequence

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Xeelee: Endurance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

The Medusa Chronicles

Alastair Reynolds, Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds, Stephen Baxter

Inspired by Sir Arthur C. Clarke's short story A Meeting with Medusa, this novel, with permission from the Clarke Estate, continues the story of Commander Howard Falcon over centuries of space-exploration, interaction with AI, first contact and beyond. All brought to life by two of our greatest SF authors, Stephen Baxter and Alastair Reynolds.Howard Falcon almost lost his life in an accident . . . and a combination of human ingenuity and technical expertise brought him back. Not as himself, but as an augmented human: part man, part machine, and exceptionally capable.The Medusa Chronicles charts his journey through time, the changing interaction between humanity and our universe, and combined moments of incredible action with unparalleled exploration of and expansion into space. A compelling read from the beginning, this is classic SF which has appeal for readers who like Gravity and The Martian.

Gateway

Silverhair

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Stephen Baxter breaks genre boundaries and brings his unique imagination, epic scope and elegant style to an anthropomorphic fantasy. Starting with the story of a young female mammoth and the struggle her herd has to survive into the present day on a remote Siberian Island the MAMMOTH trilogy encompasses thousands of millions of years, the geological and climatic history of earth and a vision of a startling future. All via an astounding evocation of mammoth. Life, biology, intelligence, culture, myth and legend. It is a triumph of imaginative story telling.

Gateway

Longtusk

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Takes the story of the mammoths back into prehistory; 16,000 B.C.It is a time when the mammoths face the vicious intrusions into their world of the Lost - mankind. And it is up to Longtusk, the only Bull to feature in the great story cycle of the mammoths to lead them away to a new land, safe from the lost.

Gateway

Icebones

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Detailed research, empathy with his characters, an ecological perspective and his trademark flare for epic narrative sweep make Baxter's Mammoth series very much key works in his canon.ICEBONES takes the action to a stunningly realised partially terraformed Mars in the far future and sees the epic Mammoth story cycle come to fruition.

Gateway

Xeelee: Vacuum Diagrams

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Return to the eon-spanning and universe-crossing conflict between humanity and the unknowable alien Xeelee in this collection of stories, available in ebook for the first time!Baxter's future history, known as the Xeelee sequence, is an exemplar of the form: it comprises his first four novels - Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux and Ring - and these marvellous linked stories, as well as those in the new collection XEELEE: ENDURANCE.Contains 21 short stories, all set in the XEELEE universe.

Gollancz

Ultima

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Orion

Broken Promise

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Gollancz

Proxima

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter