John Crowley - Engine Summer - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575082953
    • Publication date:10 Jan 2013
Books in this series

Engine Summer

By John Crowley

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A powerfully moving quest for truth in a post-apocalyptic landscape from the WORLD FANTASY AWARD-winning author of LITTLE, BIG.

In the drowsy tranquility of Little Belaire, the Truthful Speakers lead lives of peaceful self-sufficiency ignoring the depopulated wilderness beyond their narrow borders. It is a society untouched by pain or violence and the self-destroying 'Angels' of the past are barely remembered. But when Rush That Speaks leaves his home on a pilgrimage of self-enlightenment, he finds a landscape haunted by myths and memories. The overgrown ruins reflect a world outside that is stranger than his people ever dreamed ...

Biographical Notes

John Crowley was born in Maine in 1942 and grew up in Vermont, Kentucky and Indiana before moving to New York and taking up work in documentary films - an occupation he still pursues alongside his writing. THE DEEP, his first SF novel, was published in 1975 and was followed by BEASTS, ENGINE SUMMER and GREAT WORK OF TIME. With the publication of LITTLE, BIG in 1981 he won the WORLD FANTASY AWARD and was shortlisted for the HUGO, NEBULA and BSFA AWARDS.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575082816
  • Publication date: 10 Jan 2013
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gateway

New York Nights

Eric Brown
Authors:
Eric Brown

New York in 2040 is a city of the lost. A good place to work in Missing Persons. But business is not quite good enough for Hal Halliday to forget his sister, burned alive when only child all those years ago. And now VR offers the chance of bringing her back, the future may yet allow Hal to live in the past. If he can survive the next job ...

Gateway

New York Blues

Eric Brown
Authors:
Eric Brown

Hal Halliday runs a missing persons business in mid 21st century New York. It is a city that is drowning in refugees after terrorist outrages have left much of America a radioactive wasteland. People colour their grim lives with endless hours spent in VR. It is an addiction which has made VR magnate Sergio Mantoni a multi-millionaire. But now Mantoni faces a threat from a guerrilla group called VIREX, who are dedicating to ending the false promise of VR. And when Hal accepts a job to look for the missing sister of a Holodrama star, he find himself drawn into the complex world of VR and VIREX ..

Gateway

New York Dreams

Eric Brown
Authors:
Eric Brown
Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden

EIGHT ASTRONAUTS. ONE KILLER. NO WAY HOME. ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK meets Andy Weir's THE MARTIAN 'A rip-roaring thriller of a book that hits the ground running and doesn't stop until the final chapter' John Marrs, author of the bestselling/Radio 2 Book Club choice THE ONE * * * * * There's a murderer amongst them, and everyone's a suspect . . . Frank Kittridge is serving life for murdering his son's drug dealer, so when he's offered a deal by Xenosystems Operations - the corporation that owns the prison - he takes it. He's been selected to help build the first permanent base on Mars. Unfortunately, his crewmates are just as guilty of their crimes as he is. As the convicts set to work on the frozen wastes of Mars, the accidents multiply. Until Frank begins to suspect they might not be accidents at all . . . * * * * *'ONE WAY is what would happen if the crime and sci-fi genres got together and had a baby. Deeply immersive, chilling and atmospheric. An utterly fabulous book!' Emma Kavanagh, bestselling author of FALLING and HIDDEN 'A cracking read. A compelling vision of the near future inhabited by well motivated characters. It's a thrilling tale that grabs you and whips along to the very last breathless page' Adam Hamdy, author of PENDULUM 'Twisty and gripping' Financial Times

Gollancz

The Smoke

Simon Ings
Authors:
Simon Ings

Simon Ings' The Smoke is about love, loss and loneliness in an incomprehensible world. Humanity has been split into three different species. Mutual incomprehension has fractured the globe. As humans race to be the first of their kind to reach the stars, another Great War looms. For you that means returning to Yorkshire and the town of your birth, where factories churn out the parts for gigantic spaceships. You're done with the pretentions of the capital and its unfathomable architecture. You're done with Georgy Chernoy and his questionable defeat of death. You're done with his daughter, Fel, and losing all the time. You're done with love. But soon enough you will find yourself in the Smoke again, drawn back to the life you thought you'd left behind. You're done with love. But love's not done with you.

Gollancz

Austral

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

The great geoengineering projects have failed.The world is still warming, sea levels are still rising, and the Antarctic Peninsula is home to Earth's newest nation, with life quickened by ecopoets spreading across valleys and fjords exposed by the retreat of the ice.Austral Morales Ferrado, a child of the last generation of ecopoets, is a husky: an edited person adapted to the unforgiving climate of the far south, feared and despised by most of its population. She's been a convict, a corrections officer in a labour camp, and consort to a criminal, and now, out of desperation, she has committed the kidnapping of the century. But before she can collect the ransom and make a new life elsewhere, she must find a place of safety amongst the peninsula's forests and icy plateaus, and evade a criminal gang that has its own plans for the teenage girl she's taken hostage.Blending the story of Austral's flight with the fractured history of her family and its role in the colonisation of Antarctica, Austral is a vivid portrayal of a treacherous new world created by climate change, and shaped by the betrayals and mistakes of the past. 'Paul McAuley's balanced grasp of science and literature, always a rare attribute in the writer of prose fiction, is combined with the equally rare ability to look at today's problems and know which are really problems, and what can be done about them.' William Gibson

Gateway

The Holy Terror

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

When Cook's newborn baby entered the world, he had nothing but hope for its future. However, it was immediately clear that this was no ordinary child - it's murderous screams seemed a dark portent. As it grew, things only got worse, and the child's mother began to despair. The new parents hoped their child would grow out of it, but soon came to realise that its inauspicious beginnings were only a sign of things to come.

Gateway

All Aboard for Ararat

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A profound and witty Voltairian dialogue between a twentieth-century Noah and an Old Testament Deity, planning a new Ark in which the best of mankind may be rescued from the new flood of war and horror.

Gateway

Babes in the Darkling Wood

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

You Can't Be Too Careful

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

Agent of the Unknown

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair
Gateway

Dracula

Bram Stoker, Bryan Hitch
Contributors:
Bram Stoker, Bryan Hitch

'The mouth was redder than ever, for on the lips were gouts of fresh blood, which trickled from the corners of the mouth and ran over the chin and neck - It seemed as if the whole awful creature were simply gorged with blood; he lay like a filthy leech, exhausted with his repletion.'When Jonathan Harker visits Transylvania to help Count Dracula purchase a London house he is disturbed by the horrifying discoveries he makes in his client's castle. But worse, Harker's actions introduce Dracula to London. Soon afterwards, the Count embarks on a reign of seduction and terror. And all, it seems, who encounter the charismatic Eastern European aristocrat - a succession of madmen, physicians and beautiful women - are never seen in daylight again...Bram Stoker's DRACULA has inspired countless movies, books, and plays since it's first publication in 1897. Few, if any, have been fully faithful to Stoker's original, best-selling novel of mystery and horror, love and death, sin and redemption. But in DRACULA, Stoker created a new word for terror, a new myth to feed our nightmares, and a character who will outlive us all.

Gateway

Conversation Hearts

John Crowley
Authors:
John Crowley

John Crowley evokes, with absolute precision, the ordinary-and not so ordinary-moments that reflect and illuminate the essential nature of family life. Moving gracefully back and forth between the imaginary planet Brxx and our own familiar Earth, this deeply affecting tale examines the primal importance of stories, while challenging some of our most common misconceptions about those who are "different" and those who are not.

Gollancz

Little, Big

John Crowley
Authors:
John Crowley
W&N

Not Forgetting The Whale

John Ironmonger
Authors:
John Ironmonger

WHERE WILL YOU ESCAPE TO THIS SUMMER? For fans of ELEANOR OLIPHANT, THE ROSIE PROJECT & THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY, an uplifting story about the search for a place to belong. When a young man, Joe, washes up on the sands of St Piran in Cornwall, he is quickly rescued by the villagers. From the retired village doctor and the beachcomber, to the priest's wife and the flamboyant romantic novelist, they take this lost soul into their midst. And they, in turn, come to find that he gives fresh perspectives on their lives and loves. But what the villagers don't know is why Joe fled the city for St Piran, and what he left behind. Intimate, funny and heart-warming, Not Forgetting the Whale is a story about community, the best and worst in our nature, and the search for a place to call home.'Fun, uplifting, charming' Financial Times'A warm-hearted book crammed with ideas . . . very, very good' Emerald Street'A tremendously enjoyable book' Independent on Sunday

Gateway

Gather Yourselves Together

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gollancz

Aegypt

John Crowley
Authors:
John Crowley
Gateway

Endless Things

John Crowley
Authors:
John Crowley

Endless Things is the fourth and final installment in Crowley's Aegypt sequence.Spanning three centuries, and weaving together the stories of Renaissance magician John Dee, philosopher Giordano Bruno, and present-day itinerant historian and writer Pierce Moffitt, the Aegypt sequence is as richly significant as Lawrence Durrell's Alexandria Quartet or Anthony Powell's Dance to the Music of Time. Crowley, a master prose stylist, explores transformations physical, magical, alchemical, and personal in this epic, distinctly American novel where the past, present, and future reflect each other.

Gateway

Novelties and Souvenirs: Collected Short Fiction

John Crowley
Authors:
John Crowley
Gateway

The Girlhood of Shakespeare's Heroines

John Crowley
Authors:
John Crowley

The Girlhood of Shakespeare's Heroines is a moving meditation on the things that endure in the face of implacable circumstance: art, love, freedom, the persistence of erotic fervor, the indelible beauty of the natural world.