Dan Simmons - Hyperion - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575076372
    • Publication date:08 Dec 2005
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575099968
    • Publication date:05 Aug 2010
Books in this series

Hyperion

By Dan Simmons

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The book that reinvented Space Opera.

It is the 29th century and the universe of the Human Hegemony is under threat. Invasion by the warlike Ousters looms, and the mysterious schemes of the secessionist AI TechnoCore bring chaos ever closer.

On the eve of disaster, with the entire galaxy at war, seven pilgrims set fourth on a final voyage to the legendary Time Tombs on Hyperion, home to the Shrike, a lethal creature, part god and part killing machine, whose powers transcend the limits of time and space. The pilgrims have resolved to die before discovering anything less than the secrets of the universe itself.

Biographical Notes

Dan Simmons won the WORLD FANTASY AWARD for his first novel, SONG OF KALI, inspired by his travels in India. In the 1990s he rewrote the SF rulebook with his Hyperion Cantos quartet. He has also written thrillers. Alongside his writing he maintains a career as a college lecturer in English Literature in the USA.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575099432
  • Publication date: 12 May 2011
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Gateway
Orion

CTRL S

Andy Briggs
Authors:
Andy Briggs

Everyone knows crime is a major problem in the virtual reality world of SPACE. And the smarter criminals realised long ago that to fully exploit people in the VR, they need to hunt the vulnerable in the real world.So when his troubled mother disappears one day, VR-obsessed Theo knows that to save her life he must first track her down in SPACE.But how do you solve a mystery in a world without fingerprints or DNA, where people go to actively hide from real life?Theo has done it in video games his whole life. But this time things are about to get very real . . .

Gateway

Grey Lensman

E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Authors:
E.E. 'Doc' Smith

Somewhere among the galaxies is the stronghold of Boskone - a network of brilliant space-criminals whose hunger for conquest threatens the continued existence of all known civilisation.But where is this stronghold? Boskonian bases are scattered across the universe - hidden by gigantic thought-screens that defy penetration. The best minds in the Galactic Patrol have tried. And failed. Now it is up to Lensman Kim Kinnison, using his fantastic powers, to infiltrate the Boskonian strongholds, find the location of the enemy's Grand Base - and smash it forever.But Kinnison doesn't know that the power of Boskone reaches further than anyone dreamed - into the Galactic Patrol itself . . .Grey Lensman is the fourth self-contained novel in E. E. 'Doc' Smith's Lensman series, one of the all-time classics of adventurous, galaxy-spanning science fiction.

Gateway

Galactic Patrol

E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Authors:
E.E. 'Doc' Smith

The space-pirates of Boskone raided at will, menacing the whole structure of interstellar civilization. Master-minded by a super-scientist, their conquering fleets outgunned even the mighty space cruisers of the Galactic Patrol.When Lensman Kim Kinnison of the Patrol discovered the secret Boskonian base, it was invulnerable to outside attack. But where a battle-fleet would meet insuperable resistance, a single infiltrator might penetrate the Boskonian defenses - if he had the guts to take on million-to-one odds. Kinnison had guts enough to take on the odds - even with the future of the civilized Universe riding on his shoulders . . .Galactic Patrol is the first self-contained novel in E. E. 'Doc' Smith's epic Lensman series, one of the all-time classics of adventurous, galaxy-spanning science fiction.

Orion

The Botanist's Daughter

Kayte Nunn
Authors:
Kayte Nunn

A buried secret... Present day: Anna is focused on growing her new gardening business and renovating her late grandmother's house. But when she discovers a box hidden in a wall cavity, containing water colours of exotic plants, an old diary and a handful of seeds, she finds herself thrust into a centuries-old mystery. One that will send her halfway across the world to Kew Gardens and then onto Cornwall in search of the truth.A lady adventurer...1886: Elizabeth Trebithick is determined to fulfil her father's dying wish and continue his life's work as an adventurer and plant-hunter. So when she embarks on a perilous journey to discover a rare and miraculous flower, she will discover that the ultimate betrayal can be found even across the seas...Can a mysterious life-saving flower bring two women, separated by centuries, together?A beautifully gripping novel, perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Kathryn Hughes and Gill Paul.'Fast-moving and full of surprises ... while delivering a poignant and heart-warming story of romance and new beginnings' Kate Forsyth

Gateway

Dreaming In Smoke

Tricia Sullivan
Authors:
Tricia Sullivan

W&N

The Pianist

Wladyslaw Szpilman
Authors:
Wladyslaw Szpilman

The bestselling memoir of a Jewish pianist who survived the war in Warsaw against all odds.'We are drawn in to share his surprise and then disbelief at the horrifying progress of events, all conveyed with an understated intimacy and dailiness that render them painfully close... riveting' OBSERVEROn September 23, 1939, Wladyslaw Szpilman played Chopin's Nocturne in C-sharp minor live on the radio as shells exploded outside - so loudly that he couldn't hear his piano. It was the last live music broadcast from Warsaw: That day, a German bomb hit the station, and Polish Radio went off the air.Though he lost his entire family, Szpilman survived in hiding. In the end, his life was saved by a German officer who heard him play the same Chopin Nocturne on a piano found among the rubble. Written immediately after the war and suppressed for decades, THE PIANIST is a stunning testament to human endurance and the redemptive power of fellow feeling.'The images drawn are unusually sharp and clear... but its moral tone is even more striking: Szpilman refuses to make a hero or a demon out of anyone' LITERARY REVIEWRead by Laurence Dobiesz(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Gollancz

Sea of Rust

C. Robert Cargill
Authors:
C. Robert Cargill
Gollancz

Elantris

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Elantris was built on magic and it thrived. But then the magic began to fade and Elantris began to rot. And now its shattered citizens face domination by a powerful Imperium motivated by dogged religious views. Can a young Princess unite the people of Elantris, rediscover the lost magic and lead a rebellion against the imperial zealots? Brandon Sanderson's debut fantasy showed his skill as a storyteller and an imaginer of baroque magical systems to be fully developed from the start.

Gollancz

The Emperor's Soul

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Gollancz

Words of Radiance Part One

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

The natural heir to Robert Jordan, Brandon Sanderson's Stormlight Archive series hit No.1 in the US and No.2 in the UK with the hardback release of the massive second volume, WORDS OF RADIANCE. Split into two volumes for paperback this is Part One of that second volume.WORDS OF RADIANCE takes the reader even deeper into the lives of its characters as they fight for power, freedom and their lives on the extraordinary, hurricane swept world of Rosharr.Famed for his plotting, his wonderful characters and his intricate magic systems Brandon Sanderson is poised to take up the crown of Robert Jordan as the creator of the keynote epic fantasy series of its time with the Stormlight Archive.

Gollancz

Robot Overlords

Mark Stay
Authors:
Mark Stay
Gateway

Fury

Henry Kuttner
Authors:
Henry Kuttner
W&N

Where'd You Go, Bernadette

Maria Semple
Authors:
Maria Semple

'Like A VISIT FROM THE GOON SQUAD written by Tina Fey' Sam Baker, RED MAGAZINEShortlisted for the 2013 Women's Prize for FictionA NEW YORK TIMES bestsellerCOMING SOON: The film adaptation, directed by Richard Linklater and starring Cate Blanchett, Kristen Wiig and Billy Crudup Bernadette Fox is notorious. To Elgie Branch, a Microsoft wunderkind, she's his hilarious, volatile, talented, troubled wife. To fellow mothers at the school gate, she's a menace. To design experts, she's a revolutionary architect. And to 15-year-old Bee, she is a best friend and, quite simply, mum. Then Bernadette disappears. And Bee must take a trip to the end of the earth to find her.WHERE'D YOU GO, BERNADETTE is a compulsively readable, irresistibly written, deeply touching novel about misplaced genius and a mother and daughter's place in the world.

Gollancz

The Age of Scorpio

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

Praised by Stephen Baxter and Adam Roberts, reviewed ecstatically by SFX magazine, Gavin Smith's first novel VETERAN announced an exciting new voice on the SF scene. WAR IN HEAVEN, set in the same universe, followed. Now comes a new standalone SF thriller.Of all the captains based out of Arclight only Eldon Sloper was desperate enough to agree to a salvage job in Red Space. And now he and his crew are living to regret his desperation.In Red Space the rules are different. Some things work, others don't. Best to stick close to the Church beacons. Don't get lost.Because there's something wrong about Red Space. Something beyond rational. Something vampyric...Long after The Loss, mankind is different. We touch the world via neunonics. We are machines, we are animals, we are hybrids. But some things never change. A Killer is paid to kill, a Thief will steal countless lives. A Clone will find insanity, an Innocent a new horror. The Church knows we have kept our sins.Gavin Smith's new SF novel is an epic slam-bang ride through a terrifyingly different future.

Gollancz

Shadows at Stonewylde

Kit Berry
Authors:
Kit Berry
Gateway

The Fall of Hyperion

Dan Simmons
Authors:
Dan Simmons
Gateway

The Female Man

Joanna Russ
Authors:
Joanna Russ

A landmark book in the fields of science fiction and feminism.Four women living in parallel worlds, each with a different gender landscape. When they begin to travel to each other's worlds each woman's preconceptions on gender and what it means to be a woman are challenged.Acclaimed as one of the essential works of science fiction and an influence on William Gibson, THE FEMALE MAN takes a look at gender roles in society and remains a work of great power.

Gateway

I Am Legend

Richard Matheson
Authors:
Richard Matheson
W&N

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

Paul Torday
Authors:
Paul Torday
Gollancz

Light

M. John Harrison
Authors:
M. John Harrison

On the barren surface of an asteroid, located deep in the galaxy beneath the unbearable light of the Kefahuchi Tract, lie three objects: an abandoned spacecraft, a pair of bone dice covered with strange symbols, and a human skeleton. What they are and what they mean are the mysteries explored and unwrapped in LIGHT, M. John Harrison's triumphant novel.