Gene Wolfe - The Fifth Head of Cerberus - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575094222
    • Publication date:29 Mar 2010
Books in this series

The Fifth Head of Cerberus

By Gene Wolfe

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Gene Wolfe's SF masterpiece with a new introduction by Adam Roberts.

Far from Earth two sister planets, Sainte Anne and Sainte Croix, circle each other. It is said that a race of shapeshifting aliens once lived here, only to become extinct when human colonists arrived. But one man believes they still exist, somewhere out in the wilderness.

In THE FIFTH HEAD OF CERBERUS, Gene Wolfe brilliantly interweaves three tales: a scientist's son gradual discovery of the bizarre secret of his heritage; a young man's mythic dreamquest for his darker half; the mystifying chronicle of an anthropologist's seemingly-arbitrary imprisonment. Gradually, a mesmerising pattern emerges.

Biographical Notes

Gene Wolfe was born in New York and raised in Texas. He trained as a mechanical engineer, but began to publish short stories in the 1960s. He won a WORLD FANTASY AWARD for THE SHADOW OF THE TORTURER and a NEBULA for THE CLAW OF THE CONCILIATOR. He is a WORLD FANTASY LIFE ACHIEVEMENT winner.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575114142
  • Publication date: 14 Nov 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Orion

Lies Sleeping

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
Gollancz

Skyward

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Spensa's world has been under attack for hundreds of years. An alien race called the Krell leads onslaught after onslaught from the sky in a never-ending campaign to destroy humankind. Humanity's only defense is to take to their ships and fight the enemy in the skies. Pilots have become the heroes of what's left of the human race. Spensa has always dreamed of being one of them; of soaring above Earth and proving her bravery. But her fate is intertwined with her father's - a pilot who was killed years ago when he abruptly deserted his team, placing Spensa's chances of attending flight school somewhere between slim and none. No one will let Spensa forget what her father did, but she is still determined to fly. And the Krell just made that a possibility. They've doubled their fleet, making Spensa's world twice as dangerous . . . but their desperation to survive might just take her skyward . . . Praise for Brandon Sanderson's #1 New York Times Bestselling Reckoners series: 'Another win for Sanderson . . . he's simply a brilliant writer' Patrick Rothfuss 'Action-packed' EW.com 'Compelling . . . Sanderson uses plot twists that he teases enough for readers to pick up on to distract from the more dramatic reveals he has in store' AV Club

W&N

Impossible Owls

Brian Phillips
Authors:
Brian Phillips
Trapeze

An Absolutely Remarkable Thing

Hank Green
Authors:
Hank Green

In his much-anticipated debut novel, Hank Green - co-creator of Crash Course, Vlogbrothers and SciShow - spins a sweeping, cinematic tale about a young woman who becomes an overnight celebrity before realising she's part of something bigger, and stranger, than anyone could have possibly imagined. The Carls just appeared. Coming home from work at three a.m., twenty-three-year-old April May stumbles across a giant sculpture. Delighted by its appearance and craftsmanship - like a ten-foot-tall Transformer wearing a suit of samurai armour - April and her friend Andy make a video with it, which Andy uploads to YouTube. The next day April wakes up to a viral video and a new life. News quickly spreads that there are Carls in dozens of cities around the world - everywhere from Beijing to Buenos Aires - and April, as their first documentarian, finds herself at the centre of an intense international media spotlight. Now April has to deal with the pressure on her relationships, her identity and her safety that this new position brings, all while being on the front lines of the quest to find out not just what the Carls are, but what they want from us. Compulsively entertaining and powerfully relevant, An Absolutely Remarkable Thing grapples with big themes, including how the social internet is changing fame, rhetoric and radicalisation; how our culture deals with fear and uncertainty; and how vilification and adoration spring from the same dehumanization that follows a life in the public eye.

W&N

Neon in Daylight

Hermione Hoby
Authors:
Hermione Hoby

Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden
W&N

The White Devil

Domenic Stansberry
Authors:
Domenic Stansberry
Gollancz

The Smoke

Simon Ings
Authors:
Simon Ings

Simon Ings' The Smoke is about love, loss and loneliness in an incomprehensible world. Humanity has been split into three different species. Mutual incomprehension has fractured the globe. As humans race to be the first of their kind to reach the stars, another Great War looms. For you that means returning to Yorkshire and the town of your birth, where factories churn out the parts for gigantic spaceships. You're done with the pretentions of the capital and its unfathomable architecture. You're done with Georgy Chernoy and his questionable defeat of death. You're done with his daughter, Fel, and losing all the time. You're done with love. But soon enough you will find yourself in the Smoke again, drawn back to the life you thought you'd left behind. You're done with love. But love's not done with you.

Gollancz

Austral

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gollancz

The Fall of Dragons

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
W&N

All The World's A Stage

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

THE 11TH BOOK IN THE BESTSELLING ERAST FANDORIN MYSTERIES SERIESEBRD LITERATURE PRIZE FINALIST'This is Akunin on characteristic form... the pages race by' GuardianEliza Altairsky-Lointaine is the toast of Moscow society, a beautiful actress in an infamous theatre troupe. Her love life is as colourful as the parts she plays. She is the estranged wife of a descendant of Genghis Khan. And her ex-husband has threatened to kill anyone who courts her.He appears to be making good on his promise.Fandorin is contacted by concerned friend - the widowed wife of Chekhov - who asks him to investigate an alarming incident involving Eliza. But when he watches Eliza on stage for the first time, he falls desperately in love . . . Can he solve the case - and win over Eliza - without attracting the attentions of the murderer he is trying to find?What readers are saying about the Erast Fandorin Mysteries:'I loved how it consumes you, making you believe that you're indeed living in different era' Olga on Goodreads (five stars)'A delightful mystery/adventure! There's a dark twist at the end that has me anxious to continue in this series' Neil on Goodreads (five stars)'These books are a fun, riotous read that you don't want to put down until you've completed each and every one of them' Jill on Goodreads (five stars)'Every sentence is a delight to read... I am almost feeling bereft now that I have once more run out of English copies of Akunin's work.' Kate on Goodreads (five stars)A page-turning delight perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes, Hercule Poirot and the Russian literary greats. Shortlisted for the inaugural EBDR Literature Prize.

Gateway

Flatland

Edwin A. Abbott
Authors:
Edwin A. Abbott
Orion

The Daughter's Secret

Eva Holland
Authors:
Eva Holland

A pupil. A teacher. A mother's worst nightmare An addictive novel of psychological suspense. A gripping crime thriller for fans of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies and Louise Doughty's Apple Tree Yard.My daughter is a liar. A liar, liar, liar. And I'm starting to see where she gets it from.When Rosalind's fifteen-year-old daughter, Stephanie, ran away with her teacher, this ordinary family became something it had never asked to be. Their lives held up to scrutiny in the centre of a major police investigation, the Simms were headline news while Stephanie was missing with a man who was risking everything.Now, six years on, Ros takes a call that will change their lives all over again. He's going to be released from prison. Years too early. In eleven days' time.As Temperley's release creeps ever closer, Ros is forced to confront the events that led them here, back to a place she thought she'd left behind, to questions she didn't want to answer. Why did she do it? Where does the blame lie? What happens next?Readers love this gripping psychological thriller:'Unputdownable''Compelling' 'Leaves its mark' 'Tense and emotionally charged'

Orion

Bear Grylls: Ghost Flight

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls
Gollancz

The Book Of The New Sun: Volume 1

Gene Wolfe
Authors:
Gene Wolfe
Gateway

The Child Garden

Geoff Ryman
Authors:
Geoff Ryman
Gollancz

The Slow Regard of Silent Things

Patrick Rothfuss
Authors:
Patrick Rothfuss

The University, a renowned bastion of knowledge, attracts the brightest minds to unravel the mysteries of enlightened sciences like artificing and alchemy. Yet deep below its bustling halls lies a complex and cavernous maze of abandoned rooms and ancient passageways - and in the heart of it all lives Auri.Formerly a student at the University, now Auri spends her days tending the world around her. She has learned that some mysteries are best left settled and safe. No longer fooled by the sharp rationality so treasured by the University, Auri sees beyond the surface of things, into subtle dangers and hidden names.At once joyous and haunting, THE SLOW REGARD OF SILENT THINGS is a rich, atmospheric and lyrical tale, featuring one of the most beloved characters from Rothfuss' acclaimed fantasy series.

Orion

Still Midnight

Denise Mina
Authors:
Denise Mina

A brutal attack. A mysterious demand for money. An unexpected kidnap... A superb novel from the two-time winner of the THEAKSTONS OLD PECULIER CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR AWARD.It's a peaceful Sunday evening in suburban Glasgow until a battered van pulls up to one home and disgorges a group of armed men in balaclavas. They smash into the house and hold the family at gunpoint and demand millions of pounds. Baffled, the assembled people protest that they don't have access to that sort of money. The attackers kidnap the elderly grandfather and storm off into the night.Now senior policewoman Alex Morrow has been summoned to investigate the case. But there are so many mysteries. Who were the men? And why did they think a normal household concealed untold riches? The family is certainly not talking. But as she starts to delve deeper, she realises that there are dark secrets all around...

Gollancz

Air

Geoff Ryman
Authors:
Geoff Ryman

This remarkable novel is about the effects of a new communications technology, Air, that works without power lines or machines. As pervasive technology ensures the rapid spread of pop culture and information access, few corners of the planet remain untouched. One of those few is Kizuldah, Karzistan - a tiny rice-farming village, predominantly Chinese Buddhist but with a strong Muslim presence, among whom sharply intelligent though illiterate Mae Chung, a self-styled fashion expert guiding the village women in dress, make-up and hairstyling, is an informal leader.When the UN decides to test the radical new technology Air, Mae is boiling laundry and chatting with elderly Mrs Tung. The massive surge of Air energy swamps them, and when the test is finished, Mrs Tung is dead, and Mae has absorbed her 90 years of memories. Rocked by the unexpected deaths and disorientation, the UN delays fully implementing Air, but Mae sees at once that her way of life is ending. Half-mad, struggling with information overload, the resentment of much of the village, and a complex family situation, she works fiercely to learn what she needs to ride the tiger of change.

Gollancz

The Book of the New Sun: Volume 2

Gene Wolfe
Authors:
Gene Wolfe