Douglas Adams - The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

By Douglas Adams

  • Hardback
  • £9.99

The mega-cult-blockbuster-bestseller joins the SF Masterworks list.

One Thursday lunchtime Earth is unexpectedly demolished to make way for a new hyperspace bypass. For Arthur Dent, who has only just had his house demolished that morning, this is already more than he can cope with. Sadly, however, the weekend has only just begun. And the Galaxy is a very, very large and startling place indeed ...

The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy became a massive cult success when it was first published and continues to sell all over the world. It introduced such memorable characters as Arthur Dent, Marvin the Paranoid Android, Zaphod Beeblebrox and, of course, the Vogons, and remains one of the funniest, most irreverent and entertaining novels ever.

Biographical Notes

Douglas Adams came to world-wide prominence with the BBC Radio series THE HITCHHIKER'S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY, which subsequently became the bestselling novel, a television series, a stage play, a computer game, audio cassettes, CD-roms and a towel, and was followed by the last two books in the original trilogy, THE RESTAURANT AT THE END OF THE UNIVERSE and LIFE, THE UNIVERSE AND EVERYTHING. All three are published as Gollancz presentation hardbacks. The final two books in the Hitchhiker Trilogy are SO LONG AND THANKS FOR ALL THE FISH and MOSTLY HARMLESS. Douglas Adams, who died in 2001, is also the author of DIRK GENTLY'S HOLISTIC DETECTIVE AGENCY and THE LONG DARK TEA-TIME OF THE SOUL, THE MEANING OF LIFF (with John Lloyd) AND LAST CHANCE TO SEE (with Mark Cawardine), and editor of THE UTTERLY UTTERLY MERRY COMIC RELIEF CHRISTMAS BOOK.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575115347
  • Publication date: 10 May 2012
  • Page count: 192
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Episodes

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest

Christopher Priest is one of the most acclaimed writers of both SF and literary fiction at work today. Here, for the first time in almost twenty years, is a collection of his short work. Largely previously uncolected, ranging from the horrific to the touching, the science fictional to the realist, these stories are a perfect demonstration of the breadth and power of Priest's writing.Eleven stories are included, along with commentary and reflection from the author. Within these pages you will discover the stage magic-inspired horror of 'The Head and the Hand', the timeslip accidents of 'futouristic.co.uk', the impossible romance of 'Palely Loitering' and the present-day satire of 'Shooting an Episode'.

Gateway

Flightless Falcon

Mickey Zucker Reichert
Authors:
Mickey Zucker Reichert

Tamison is a flightless falcon: a worthless man who cannot even work to feed his family. Once a miner like the rest of his family, he lost his nerve after a cave-in trapped him and killed his father and brother. Discovering his wife and children have vanished, stolen away by the Brotherhood, he renames himself in their image: Sueldan. A ratty stray dog joins him, then a fortune teller with a magical ability, a guard whose own sister was lost to the Brotherhood and a mysterious conman who knows more than he¿s letting on. But if Tamison/Sueldan is to rescue them from slavery, he must discover his own wings and take flight.A man with nothing left to lose must discover his own hidden strengths if he is to save all those he holds dear

Gateway

The Best of R. A. Lafferty

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty
Gateway

The Pleasures of a Futuroscope

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany

Lord Dunsany, Irish master of fantasy, was the author of more than a dozen novels, hundreds of short stories, poems, and essays, and dozens of plays. In this powerful and moving novel, written in 1955, a futuroscope - a device that allows a viewer to see into the near or distant future - reveals an awful fate for humanity: a nuclear holocaust has destroyed nearly all human life on the planet. The great city of London is now merely an immense crater, filled in with water from the Thames. The pitiful remnants of humanity have been reduced to a Stone Age existence. The narrator, obsessively looking through the futuroscope, focuses upon the plight of a single family in their struggles to survive and fend off the many enemies, both animal and human, that surround them. When one of their number is kidnapped by a band of gypsies, we can only wonder at her fate in this brave new world of the distant future. Gripping, horrifying, touching, and fascinating, The Pleasures of a Futuroscope shows that Lord Dunsany retained his literary powers undiminished to the end of his life.

Gateway

Bound in Time

D. F. Jones
Authors:
D. F. Jones
Orion

Where Love Grows

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley
Orion

The Cookery School

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley

Orion

The Little Village Café

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley
Orion

White Lies and Secret Wishes

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley

Seven Dials

The Upside

Abdel Sellou
Authors:
Abdel Sellou

The story of how Abdel Sellou (a charismatic ex-con) came to be the caretaker of Philippe Pozzo di Borgo (a paralyzed French aristocrat) inspired the award-winning French movie Les Intouchables (2012), which became an international phenomenon and broke records as one of the most successful French movies of all time. Now, The Upside, the American remake of Les Intouchables, starring Kevin Hart, Bryan Cranston, and Nicole Kidman will be released in both the US and the UK in January 2019.Abdel Sellou and Philippe Pozzo di Borgo were two people marginalized by society: Sellou a wisecracking, unemployed immigrant, just out on parole; Pozzo a man born to wealth and privilege, recently paralyzed from the neck down after a paragliding accident. How they came to help each other, and the unlikely friendship that became a lifeline for them both, is an uplifting story that's now been told and retold around the world.

Trapeze

The Woman Inside

E. G. Scott
Authors:
E. G. Scott
Gateway

Hespira

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes

THE TALES OF HENGHIS HAPTHORNHenghis Hapthorn is the foremost penetrator of mysteries and uncoverer of secrets in a decadent, far-future Old Earth, one age before Jack Vance's Dying Earth. A superb rationalist, he has long disdained the notion that the universe has an alternative organizing principle: magic. But now a new age is dawning, overturning the very foundations of Hapthorn's existence, and he must struggle to survive in a world where all the rules are changing.HESPIRAHapthorn decides to leave Old Earth, seeking to solve the mystery of Hespira, an ungainly off-world woman who has lost her memory. The investigation takes him down The Spray to the rank-obsessed world of Ikkibal and the rustic Shannery, where he unravels Hespira's role in a deadly feud between aristocrats. But behind the scenes an unseen antagonist is plotting the discriminator's destruction.

Orion

The Light Over London

Julia Kelly
Authors:
Julia Kelly

A forgotten diary, a forbidden love affair, a desperate fight to save her country2017 When Cara Hargreaves discovers a diary from the 1940s, its contents will change her life forever...1941 When Louise Keene meets dashing RAF pilot, Paul Bolton, she is swept off her feet. Then Paul is sent to war and Louise, defying her mother's wishes, ends up a gunner girl in London.Watching the pitch-black skies for bombers, Louise finds comfort recording her dreams in her diary. And as Cara reads her words, decades later, she learns that hope can be found even in the darkest of times, she just needs to take a chance...Discover the story of the remarkable World War Two gunner girls in this entrancing and heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of Martha Hall Kelly's The Lilac Girls and Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale.

Gollancz

Ravencry

Ed McDonald
Authors:
Ed McDonald

For Ryhalt Galharrow, working for Crowfoot as a Blackwing captain is about as bad as it gets - especially when his orders are garbled, or incoherent, or impossible to carry out.The Deep Kings are hurling fire from the sky, a ghost in the light known only as the Bright Lady had begun to manifest in visions across the city, and the cult that worship her grasp for power while the city burns around them.Galharrow may not be able to do much about the cult - or about strange orders from the Nameless - but when Crowfoot's arcane vault is breached and an object of terrible power is stolen, he's propelled into a race against time to recover it. Only to do that, he needs answers, and finding them means travelling into nightmare: to the very heart of the Misery.RAVENCRY is the second book in the Raven's Mark series, continuing the story that began with the award winning epic fantasy BLACKWING.

Gollancz

Neuromancer

William Gibson
Authors:
William Gibson
Gateway

Xeelee: Vacuum Diagrams

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Orion

Broken Promise

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

BOOK 1 OF 3Welcome to Promise Falls. The small town with a big secret. David Harwood is asked to check up on his cousin Marla, who's not been herself since losing her baby nearly a year ago. But when he gets there, he finds blood on the door. Inside, Marla happily looks after a baby that isn't hers. She claims it was delivered 'by an angel', but David fears the worst. His suspicions come true when a woman's dead body is found - with her own baby missing - making Marla the only suspect in the investigation. But David knows no matter how troubled she is: Marla isn't a murderer. Is someone lurking in the shadows? And how far will David go to protect his family?***Praise for Linwood Barclay'Nothing is more satisfying than tucking into a new Linwood Barclay novel' Shari Lapena, author of The Couple Next Door'A suspense master' Stephen King'One of the best thriller writers in the world' Mark Billingham'Seamless, breathless and relentlessly paced' Mirror

Gollancz

NOS4A2

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill

Summer. Massachusetts. An old Silver Wraith with a frightening history. A story about one serial killer and his lingering, unfinished business.Anyone could be next. We're going to Christmasland ...NOS4R2 is an old-fashioned horror novel in the best sense. Claustrophobic, gripping and terrifying, this is a story that will have you on the edge of the seat while you read, and leaving the lights on while you sleep. With the horrific tale of Charles Manx and his Silver Wraith, Joe Hill has established himself as the premiere horror and supernatural thriller writer of his generation.

Gollancz

Life, The Universe And Everything

Douglas Adams
Authors:
Douglas Adams

Only five individuals stand between the killer robots of Krikkit and their goal of the total annihilation of the universe. They are Arthur Dent, homeless Englishman currently marooned in the deep past; his friend Ford Prefect, temporarily insane to see if he likes it, also marooned; Slartibartfast, once of the planet builders of Magrathea; Zaphod Beeblebrox, ex-confidence trickster and part-time galactic president; and Trillian, the sexy space cadet who is torn between a persistent Thunder God and a very depressed Beeblebrox. In other words: we're doomed.

Gateway

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe

Douglas Adams
Authors:
Douglas Adams