H.G. Wells - The First Men In The Moon - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473218000
    • Publication date:12 Jan 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473216877
    • Publication date:01 Jan 2017
Books in this series

The First Men In The Moon

By H.G. Wells

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

The classic science fiction novel rejoins the Masterworks list in an affordable hardback format and a new introduction by Lisa Tuttle.

Published over 100 years ago, this is one of Wells's greatest novels, and the only one of his scientific romances to embrace space travel.

Thanks to the discovery of an anti-gravity metal, Cavorite, two Victorian Englishmen travel to the Moon, where they encounter the extraordinary underground world of the Selenites, insect-like aliens living in a rigidly organised hive society.

Biographical Notes

H.G. Wells was born in Bromley, Kent in 1866. After working as a draper's apprentice and pupil-teacher, he won a scholarship to the Normal School of Science in 1884, studying under T. H. Huxley. He was awarded a first-class honours degree in biology and resumed teaching but had to retire after a kick from an ill-natured pupil afflicted his kidneys. He worked in poverty in London as a crammer while experimenting in journalism and stories. It was with THE TIME MACHINE (1895) that he had his real breakthrough.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575115385
  • Publication date: 11 Jul 2013
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Trapeze

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb

Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer? KISS THE GIRLS AND MAKE THEM DIE...A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals - the latest victim of 'The Lover'. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands - to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group. As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they're being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim - Clementine - firmly in his sights. Perfect for fans of The Cuckoo's Calling, The Girl Before and Rather Be The Devil. The thriller with twists you'll never see coming! * * * * *'My Little Eye is an enthralling, intriguing and twisty tale for all of us armchair detectives who think we know it all.' Liz Nugent, author of Lying In Wait and Unravelling Oliver'The first novel in what promises to be a riveting new series, My Little Eye is a one-sitting read: gripping, clever and worringly plausible.' - Mick Herron* * * * * What readers are saying about My Little Eye: 'This book is AMAZING!!!' Goodreads'Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' - Goodreads 'My Little Eye is a bang on psychological thriller of the most addictive kind.' Goodreads'Beautifully paced writing that had me speeding through every chapter at a rate of knots. Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' Goodreads

Gollancz

The Shape Of Things To Come

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

When a diplomat dies in the 1930s, he leaves behind a book of 'dream visions' he has been experiencing, detailing events that will occur on Earth for the next two hundred years. This fictional 'account of the future' (similar to LAST AND FIRST MEN by Olaf Stapledon) proved prescient in many ways, as Wells predicts events such as the Second World War, the rise of chemical warfare and climate change.

Gateway

The Sea-Lady

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

The Sea-Lady concerns a mermaid who comes to shore, ostensibly with the intention of joining genteel society but who really desires to seduce Chatteris, a man she once encountered near Tonga.

Gateway

The World Set Free

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

In "The World Set Free," H.G. Wells takes a science fictional look at the future, where if world peace is to be attained through labour internationalism, it will have to be at the price of complete social and economic reconstruction. But first comes a phase of revolution - violent, very bloody, and prolonged, which in the end may fail to achieve anything but social destruction . . . "The World Set Free" is a vision of highly educated and highly favoured leading and ruling men, voluntarily setting themselves to the task of reshaping the world.

Gateway

The Dream

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Sarnac is a scientist and a leading figure in the field of chemical reactions of cells. Plagued by a beautiful and terrifying dream he had when he was a young child, he reflects on his early years in an attempt to understand the dream's roots. However, he finds that his dreams and the reality he has lived have become so entangled that he is no longer able to distinguish between them.

Gateway

The Holy Terror

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

When Cook's newborn baby entered the world, he had nothing but hope for its future. However, it was immediately clear that this was no ordinary child - it's murderous screams seemed a dark portent. As it grew, things only got worse, and the child's mother began to despair. The new parents hoped their child would grow out of it, but soon came to realise that its inauspicious beginnings were only a sign of things to come.

Gateway

All Aboard for Ararat

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A profound and witty Voltairian dialogue between a twentieth-century Noah and an Old Testament Deity, planning a new Ark in which the best of mankind may be rescued from the new flood of war and horror.

Gateway

Babes in the Darkling Wood

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

You Can't Be Too Careful

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A satirical novel of one Englishman, a Mr. Edward Albert Tewler, from cradle to grave.

Gateway

The Sleeper Awakes

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A troubled insomniac in 1890s England falls suddenly into a sleep-like trance, from which he does not awake for over two hundred years. During his centuries of slumber, however, investments are made that make him the richest and most powerful man on Earth. But when he comes out of his trance he is horrified to discover that the money accumulated in his name is being used to maintain a hierarchal society in which most are poor, and more than a third of all people are enslaved. Oppressed and uneducated, the masses cling desperately to one dream - that the sleeper will awake, and lead them all to freedom.

Gateway

In the Days of the Comet

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

Men Like Gods

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The War in the Air

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Following the development of massive airships, naïve Londoner Bert Smallways becomes accidentally involved in a German plot to invade America by air and reduce New York to rubble. But although bombers devastate the city, they cannot overwhelm the country, and their attack leads not to victory but to the beginning of a new and horrific age for humanity. And so dawns the era of Total War, in which brutal aerial bombardments reduce the great cultures of the twentieth century to nothing. As civilization collapses around the Englishman, now stranded in a ruined America, he clings to only one hope - that he might return to London, and marry the woman he loves.

Gateway

Mr Blettsworthy on Rampole Island

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The King Who was a King

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The Autocracy of Mr Parham

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Mr Parham is a traditional academic disappointed with the social trends of his time. Sir Bussy Woodcock is an intelligent but unrefined self-made millionaire. The pair happen to meet one day and form an unlikely relationship; Sir Bussy interested to learn something of culture and Mr Parham looking for funding for a high-quality periodical

W&N

Kipps

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Orphaned at an early age, raised by his aunt and uncle, and apprenticed for seven years to a draper, Artie Kipps is stunned to discover upon reading a newspaper advertisement that he is the grandson of a wealthy gentleman and the inheritor of his fortune. Thrown dramatically into the upper classes, he struggles desperately to learn the etiquette and rules of polite society. But as he soon discovers, becoming a `true gentleman' is neither as easy nor as desirable as it at first appears...

W&N

Love And Mr Lewisham

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Mr Lewisham, a young and highly ambitious schoolmaster, falls in love with Ethel Henderson, a young lady visiting his Sussex village. When Ethel returns to London they promise to keep in touch but as time passes their letters go astray. A few years later, we are re-introduced to Mr Lewisham, now a student at the Normal School of Science in London. Having searched in vain for Ethel, his life revolves around study and a flirtation with fellow student Alice. But just as things are all set with Alice, he runs into Ethel at a séance he has attended out of curiosity. There he realises that Ethel is the niece of a charlatan 'medium', and closely involved in his dealings. His memories of their time in Sussex wrestle in his mind with his feelings of disgust for all things spiritual, as his love for Ethel forces him to reconsider his political and scientific beliefs.

Gollancz

The Island Of Doctor Moreau

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Edward Prendick is shipwrecked and finds himself stranded on an island in the Pacific. Here he meets the sinister Dr Moreau, a vivisectionst driven out of Britain in disgrace. And soon strange events cause Prendick to uncover the full horror of Dr Moreau's activities on the island.THE ISLAND OF DR MOREAU mixes discussion on the divide between humans and the animal kingdom and chilling macabre horror in an unrivalled fashion. Its question on how far science should go is one that rings true today as it did when it was first published.

Gollancz

The Time Machine

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A Victorian scientist develops a time machine and travels to the year 802,171 AD. There he finds the meek, child-like Eloi who live in fear of the underground-dwelling Morlocks. When his time machine goes missing, the Traveller faces a fight to enter the Morlocks' domain and return to his own time.THE TIME MACHINE remains one of the cornerstones of science-fiction literature and has proved hugely influential.