Arthur C. Clarke - A Fall of Moondust - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575073173
    • Publication date:14 Mar 2002
Books in this series

A Fall of Moondust

By Arthur C. Clarke

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A brilliantly imagined story of human ingenuity and survival from one of the undisputed masters of science fiction.

Time is running out for the passengers and crew of the tourist cruiser Selene, incarcerated in a sea of choking lunar dust. On the surface, her rescuers find their resources stretched to the limit by the mercilessly unpredictable conditions of a totally alien environment.

A brilliantly imagined story of human ingenuity and survival, A FALL OF MOONDUST is a tour-de-force of psychological suspense and sustained dramatic tension by the field's foremost author.

Shortlisted for the Hugo Award, 1963.

Biographical Notes

Arthur C. Clarke was born in Minehead in 1917. During the Second World War he served as an RAF radar instructor, rising to the rank of Flight-Lieutenant. After the war he won a BSc in physics and mathematics with first class honours from King's College, London. One of the most respected of all science-fiction writers, he also won the KALINGA PRIZE, the AVIATION SPACE-WRITERS PRIZE,and the WESTINGHOUSE SCIENCE WRITING PRIZE. He also shared an OSCAR nomination with Stanley Kubrick for the screenplay of 2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY, which was based on his story, 'The Sentinel'. He lived in Sri Lanka from 1956 until his death in 2008.

To discover more about how the legacy of Sir Arthur is being honoured today, please visit http://www.clarkefoundation.org

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575121751
  • Publication date: 05 Mar 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Strange Weather

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill
Trapeze

Mirror, Mirror

Cara Delevingne
Authors:
Cara Delevingne

From international supermodel and actress Cara Delevingne comes a powerful debut novel about friendship, identity and the fact that appearances can be deceiving...*****'Impressive, with an absolute knockout twist' Cosmopolitan'A riveting page-turner of a thriller...a book with dark passion and heart' The Herald'May well become the most influentialthing Delevingne has ever done' The Edit'With dark twists and turns, this is a great read' Closer'Smart, twisty, poignant and engaging' **** Heat'A fizzing coming-of-age tale with dark themes' Glamour'Captures the rhythms and textures of teenage lives' Metro'Bold, brave and fierce...[Delevingne's] ability to empathise with some of the deeper struggles youngsters face is impressive' Independent'A great read' Bella'Delevingne taps with directness into the emotional and physical vulnerability of a generation brought up on social media ... I couldn't help but be pulled in by the off-kilter energy of the writing' Metro*****FRIEND. LOVER. VICTIM. TRAITOR. WHEN YOU LOOK IN THE MIRROR, WHAT DO YOU SEE? Sixteen-year-old friends Red, Leo, Rose, and Naomi are misfits; still figuring out who they are and who they want to be. Life isn't perfect, but music unites them, and they're excited about what the future holds for their band, Mirror, Mirror. That is until Naomi vanishes before being pulled unconscious out of the river.She's left fighting for her life in a coma. The police claim it was a failed suicide attempt, but her friends aren't convinced. Will Naomi ever wake? What -­ or perhaps who - led her to that hospital bed? How did her friends fail to spot the warning signs?While Rose turns to wild partying and Leo is shrouded by black moods, Red sets out to uncover the truth. It's a journey that will cause Red's world to crack, exposing the group's darkest secrets. Nothing will ever be the same again, because once a mirror is shattered, it can't be fixed. Cara Delevingne, the voice of her generation, explores identity, friendship and betrayal in this gripping and powerful coming-of-age story. For fans of WE WERE LIARS, THIRTEEN REASONS WHY and THE GIRLS. * * * * * What readers have to say about Mirror Mirror: 'Super twisty - read this in one night.' Amazon'Loved this - read the whole thing in one day! Amazon'Loved this book - such a gripping read with an amazing twist I did not see coming.' Amazon

Gateway

The Snows of Olympus

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke
Gollancz

Pyramids

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett

'Look after the dead', said the priests, 'and the dead will look after you'.Wise words in all probability, but a tall order when you have just become the pharaoh of a small and penniless country whose largesse - and indeed treasury - is unlikely to stretch to the building of a monumental pyramid to honour your dead father. And particularly when your only visible means of support is a recently acquired qualification from the Guild of Assassins where running a kingdom and basic financial acumen were not prerequisites for course entry...

Gateway

Islands in the Sky

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke

When young Roy Malcolm won the aviation quiz contest, his prize should have meant an ordinary sight-seeing jaunt on one of the man-made space stations that circled the earth. But instead the trip turned into a terrifying journey as misadventure after misadventure plagued the artificial satellite. The climatic moment came when one of the crew pushed the wrong button and rocketed the runaway ship into outer space...

Gateway

The Garden of Rama

Arthur C. Clarke, Gentry Lee
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke, Gentry Lee

In the year 2130 a mysterious spaceship, Rama, arrived in the solar system. It was huge - big enough to contain a city and a sea - and empty, apparently abandoned. By the time Rama departed for its next, unknown, destination many wonders had been uncovered, but few mysteries solved. Only one thing was clear: everything the enigmatic builders of Rama did, they did in threes.Eighty years later the second alien craft arrived in the solar system. This time, Earth had been waiting. But all the years of preparation were not enough to unlock the Raman enigma.Now Rama II is on its way out of the solar system. Aboard it are three humans, two men and a woman, left behind when the expedition departed. Ahead of them lies the unknown, a voyage no human has ever experienced. And at the end of it - and who could tell how many years away that might be? - may lie the truth about Rama...

Gateway

Rama Revealed

Arthur C. Clarke, Gentry Lee
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke, Gentry Lee
Gateway

Profiles Of The Future

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke
Gateway

Earthlight

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke

The time: 200 years after man's first landing on the Moon. There are permanent populations established on the Moon, Venus and Mars. Outer space inhabitants have formed a new political entity, the Federation, and between the Federation and Earth a growing rivalry has developed. EARTHLIGHT is the story of this emerging conflict.Two centuries from now there may be men who do not owe allegiance to any nation on Earth, or even to Earth itself. This brilliant story tells of a time when man stands upon the moon and the planets, tells of men now divided by the vast stretches of the Solar System but once again torn by jealousy and fear. With vaulting imagination Arthur C. Clarke describes life on the strange, awe-inspiring surface of the moon, scene of a most fantastic and exciting contest of arms.

Gateway

The Sands of Mars

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke
Orion

The Color Purple

Alice Walker
Authors:
Alice Walker
Gollancz

Rama: The Omnibus

Arthur C. Clarke, Gentry Lee
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke, Gentry Lee
Gateway

Voices from the Sky

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke

First published in 1965, this brilliant, prescient book is divided into three sections:The first concerns space travel and other aspects of the new space age: how our concept of time must be modified when we travel long distances, the space seas of tomorrow, uses of the moon, how lower gravity will affect the sports of space colonists and other fascinating ideas. The second part is about communications satellites, a field in which the author has already played the role of true prophet. The third section ranges widely over the side implications of the space age - scientific meddling, the lunatic fringe and the moral obligations of scientists.

Gateway

Report on Planet Three

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke

In addition to being one of Science Fiction's greatest writers, Sir Arthur C. Clarke was also one of our foremost thinkers and visionaries, producing a number of highly readable and important non-fiction works. Report of Planet Three is a collection of 23 essays on the future of Man and his technology, including essays on space, satellite communications, the internet, alien contact, UFO debunking and relativity.

Gateway

The View from Serendip

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke

Speculations on space, science and the sea together with fragments of an Equatorial Autobiography.

Gateway

Astounding Days

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke
Gateway

How the World Was One

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke
Gateway

By Space Possessed

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke
Gollancz

Childhood's End

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke

Arthur C. Clarke's classic in which he ponders humanity's future and possible evolutionWhen the silent spacecraft arrived and took the light from the world, no one knew what to expect. But, although the Overlords kept themselves hidden from man, they had come to unite a warring world and to offer an end to poverty and crime. When they finally showed themselves it was a shock, but one that humankind could now cope with, and an era of peace, prosperity and endless leisure began.But the children of this utopia dream strange dreams of distant suns and alien planets, and begin to evolve into something incomprehensible to their parents, and soon they will be ready to join the Overmind ... and, in a grand and thrilling metaphysical climax, leave the Earth behind.

Gollancz

The Fountains Of Paradise

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke