Michael Connelly - The Concrete Blonde - Orion Publishing Group

The Concrete Blonde

By Michael Connelly

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Four years ago, Harry Bosch shot notorious serial killer the 'Dollmaker'. Now the case has come back to haunt him . . . From the bestselling author of The Lincoln Lawyer and The Gods of Guilt.

From the bestselling author of The Lincoln Lawyer and The Gods of Guilt.

When LAPD detective Harry Bosch shot and killed Norman Church - the 'Dollmaker' - the police were convinced it marked the end of the search for one of the city's most bizarre serial killers.

But four years later, Norman Church's widow is taking Bosch to court, accusing him of killing the wrong man. To make matters worse, Bosch has just received a note, eerily reminiscent of the ones the Dollmaker used to taunt him with, giving him a location where a body can be found.

Is the Dollmaker still alive? Or is this the work of a vicious copycat killer, determined to repeat the Dollmaker's grisly feats and destroy Bosch's career in the process?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409111030
  • Publication date: 23 Dec 2009
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
One of the world's finest crime writers — MAIL ON SUNDAY
Connelly is a crime-writing genius — INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY
One of the great storytellers of crime fiction — SUNDAY TELEGRAPH
Crackling authenticity...cunningly conceived...Connelly joins the top rank of a new generation of crime writers — LOS ANGELES TIMES
Orion

The Lost

Mari Hannah
Authors:
Mari Hannah
Trapeze

Hangman

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole

A detective with no one to trust. A killer with nothing to lose. 18 months after the 'Ragdoll' murders, a body is found hanging from Brooklyn Bridge, the word 'BAIT' carved into the chest. In London a copycat killer strikes, branded with the word 'PUPPET', forcing DCI Emily Baxter into an uneasy partnership with the detectives on the case, Special Agents Rouche and Curtis.Each time they trace a suspect, the killer is one step ahead. With the body count rising on both sides of the Atlantic, can they learn to trust each other and identify who is holding the strings before it is too late?

Trapeze

The Other Couple

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton

A dark, twisty psychological thriller set in paradiseAmber wakes up in a Vietnamese hospital; she has been left for dead on the holiday of a lifetime after a night-time swim in the picturesque So Den caves.We flashback to her fairytale wedding with Ollie, where a mystery guest puts in motion a chain of events that will lead to murder.Unable to come to terms with the police's version of events, Amber returns to the scene of the crime. She remembers that there was another couple during the night of the murder. And the killer is still out there...

Trapeze

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Orion

The Devil's Claw

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman

Jennifer Dorey thinks she is safe. Following a traumatic incident in London, Jennifer has returned to her childhood home in Guernsey, taking a job as a reporter at the local newspaper. After the discovery of a drowned woman on a beach, she uncovers a pattern of similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years. Together with DCI Michael Gilbert, an officer on the verge of retirement, they follow a dark trail of island myths and folklore to 'Fritz', the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. His work, painstakingly executed, has so far gone undetected. But with his identity about to be uncovered, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights.And home is the last place she should be.An atmospheric crime series set in the Channel Islands, that will appeal to fans of Ann Cleeves, Peter May and Elly Griffiths. THE DEVIL'S CLAW introduces readers to returning characters journalist Jennifer Dorey and DCI Michael Gilbert. Read by Scarlett Mack(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

W&N

Captain Alatriste

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte
W&N

Purity of Blood

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte

The second 'Captain Alatriste' novel, from a series which has sold 4 million copies worldwideA woman has been found in a sedan chair in front of a church, strangled. In her hand is a pouch containing fifty escudos and a handwritten - but unsigned - note bearing the words 'For masses for her soul'. The chief constable Martin Saldana confides in his old friend and comrade in arms, Diego Alatriste. Still in danger from the powerful enemies he made in his first adventure, Captain Alatriste is considering returning to Flanders where the war has just resumed. But first, his old friend Quevedo asks him for a favour. The daughter of one of his friends must be rescued from a convent, which certain 'priests' seem to be treating as little more than a harem. Then the woman who brought the girl to the convent goes missing and the connection is made to the murder at the church. It seems that Alatriste's sword is required once more.

Orion

Bad News

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Harry Bosch works cold cases as a volunteer for the San Fernando police department when he's called out to a local drug store where a young pharmacist has been murdered. Bosch and the town's three-person detective squad sift through the clues, which lead into the dangerous, big business world of prescription drug abuse. Meanwhile, an old case from Bosch's LAPD days comes back to haunt him when a long-imprisoned killer claims Harry framed him and that there's new evidence which proves it. Bosch left the LAPD on bad terms, so his former colleagues aren't keen to protect his reputation. He must fend for himself in clearing his name and keeping a clever killer in prison.The two unrelated cases wind across each other like strands of barbed wire, and Bosch learns that there are two kinds of truth: the kind that sets you free and the kind that leaves you buried in darkness.Read by Titus Welliver(p) Hachette Book Group US 2017

Orion

The Late Show

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Meet the brand new detective from the modern master of crime fiction...*****CRIME NEVER SLEEPS.Los Angeles can be a dangerous city - never more so than in the dead of night. Detective Renée Ballard, once one of the department's young hotshots, now works 'The Late Show', the notorious graveyard shift at the LAPD.It's a thankless job keeping strange hours in a twilight world of tragedy and violence, handing over her investigations as the sun rises, never getting closure.Some nights are worse than others. And tonight is the worst yet. Two cases: a brutal assault, and a multiple murder with no suspect.Ballard knows it is always darkest before dawn. But what she doesn't know is how deep her dual investigation will take her into the dark heart of her city, her department and her past...If you're already a fan you'll love THE LATE SHOW. If you haven't read a Connelly book yet: now is the perfect time to start.*****'One of the great crime writers' Daily Mail'A master of the genre' Stephen King'Crime thriller writing of the highest order' Guardian'The consistency of his excellency is remarkable' LA Times'The greatest living American crime writer' Mirror'A crime writing genius' Independent on Sunday

Orion

The Wrong Side of Goodbye

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Only Harry Bosch can uncover LA's darkest secrets in this new gripping thriller from global bestseller Michael Connelly.'What do you want me to do?' Bosch asked again.'I want you to find someone for me,' Vance said. 'Someone who might not have ever existed.'Harry Bosch is working as a part-time detective in the town of San Fernando outside of Los Angeles, when he gets the invitation to meet with the ageing aviation billionaire Whitney Vance. When he was eighteen Vance had a relationship with a Mexican girl called Vibiana Duarte, but soon after becoming pregnant she disappeared.Now, as he reaches the end of his life, Vance wants to know what happened to Vibiana and whether there is an heir to his vast fortune. And Bosch is the only person he trusts to undertake the assignment.Harry's aware that with such sums of money involved, this could be a dangerous undertaking - not just for himself, but for the person he's looking for - but as he begins to uncover Vibiana's tragic story, and finds uncanny links to his own past, he knows he cannot rest until he finds the truth.

Orion

The Crossing

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Six months ago, Harry Bosch left the LAPD before they could fire him, and then hired maverick Defense Attorney Mickey Haller to sue the department for forcing him out. Although it wasn't the way he wanted to go, Harry has to admit that being out of the game has its benefits. Until Mickey asks him to help on one of his cases, and suddenly Harry is back where he belongs, right in the centre of a particularly puzzling murder mystery. The difference is, this time Harry is working for the defense, aiming to prevent the accused, Da'Quan Foster, from being convicted. And not only does the prosecution seem to have a cast-iron case, but having crossed over to 'the dark side' as his former colleagues would put it, Harry is in danger of betraying the very principles he's lived by his whole career.

Orion

The Burning Room

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Blood, Salt, Water

Denise Mina
Authors:
Denise Mina
Orion

Switchblade

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Gods of Guilt

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Shakespeare's Counselor

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

The 5th Lily Bard novel from the bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse seriesLily Bard is a woman with a dark past. One she's trying to forget. So she joins a local therapy group in her adopted town of Shakespeare, hoping it will help her cope with her memories. But as they assemble for one session, they find a dead woman left on display.Lily finds herself embroiled in the murder and its aftermath. With her own terrible secrets dredged up, she cannot rest until the killer is caught. But can she stop the perpetrator before they strike again? And before her nightmares send her over the edge?

Orion

Taken

Robert Crais
Authors:
Robert Crais

Joe Pike must take on his toughest challenge yet. He must hunt down and rescue . . . Elvis Cole.A nail-biting Cole and Pike novel from the No. 1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author.Elvis Cole. All round nice guy. Always the first man to help a stranger in distress. This time, however, he's paid the ultimate price for trying to be the good Samaritan.Joe Pike. A fierce protector and a dangerous enemy. This time his tough guy exterior will be tested to the limit as he risks everything to save his closest friend.The clock is ticking now that Elvis has been TAKEN.

W&N

The King's Gold

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte
W&N

The Sun Over Breda

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte