Essie Fox - The Last Days of Leda Grey - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409146247
    • Publication date:03 Nov 2016
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409146278
    • Publication date:16 Nov 2017

The Last Days of Leda Grey

By Essie Fox

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

A bewitching novel about an enigmatic silent film actress, and the volatile love affair that left her a recluse for over half a century - for fans of Sarah Waters and Tracy Chevalier

'Leda Grey's world is utterly beguiling' THE TIMES Book of the Week

A bewitching novel about an enigmatic silent film actress, and the volatile love affair that left her a recluse for over half a century - for fans of Sarah Waters and Tracy Chevalier.

During the oppressive heat wave of 1976 a young journalist, Ed Peters, finds an Edwardian photograph in a junk shop in the seaside town of Brightland. It shows an alluring, dark-haired girl, an actress whose name was Leda Grey.

Enchanted by the image, Ed learns Leda Grey is still living - now a recluse in a decaying cliff-top house she once shared with a man named Charles Beauvois, a director of early silent film. As Beauvois's muse and lover, Leda often starred in scenes where stage magic and trick photography were used to astonishing effect.

But, while playing a cursed Egyptian queen, the fantasies captured on celluloid were echoed in reality, leaving Leda abandoned and alone for more than half a century - until the secrets of her past result in a shocking climax, more haunting than any to be in found in the silent films of Charles Beauvois.

'A richly evocative story, brimming with intrigue and suspense' M.L. Stedman, author of THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

Biographical Notes

Essie Fox's debut novel THE SOMNAMBULIST was selected for the Channel 4 TV Book Club and was shortlisted for a National Book Award in 2012. She is the author of The Virtual Victorian (virtualvictorian.blogspot.com), and divides her time between Windsor and Bow in the East End of London. She can be found on Twitter @essiefox.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409146254
  • Publication date: 03 Nov 2016
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Orion
A richly evocative story, brimming with intrigue and suspense — M. L. Stedman, author of THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS
Leda Grey's world is utterly beguiling — Antonia Senior, THE TIMES
Dark, haunting, compelling... equal to DuMaurier's novels - this book held me in its grip. Loved it. — Liz Fenwick, author of The Cornish House
Macabre, transporting, thick with atmosphere and allusion — Morgan McCarthy, author of The Other Half Of Me
Darkly sparkling. Very much enjoyed my days in Leda's twilight world. Doubt I'll sleep all that well tonight... — Anna Mazzola, author of The Unseeing
Fox's tale of obsessive love is memorable and unusual — THE SUNDAY TIMES
Shades of Sunset Boulevard in this atmospheric chiller — WOMAN&HOME
A richly textured, highly coloured and entirely pleasurable read — METRO
A fabulous foray into a shadowy Victorian world — WOMAN & HOME
A wonderfully creepy tale. Leda is a triumph — Vanessa Lafaye, author of Summertime
I loved this book and recommend it to anyone looking for a delightfully immersive and imaginative spell in the past — Martine Bailey, author of AN APPETITE FOR VIOLETS
Fox's vivid, sensual prose is - fittingly - as seductive as a siren's song, drawing you into a shadowy Victorian world of obsession and guilt... An intoxicating follow-up to 2011's acclaimed The Somnambulist. Recommended to fans of Sarah Waters — HEAT
An obvious comparison is with early Sarah Waters. The glee with which Fox approaches her material is infectious. All Victorian life is here. Intriguing — THE GUARDIAN
A deliciously eerie affair... A story of obsession, jealousy, mysterious deaths and theatrically supernatural goings-on as very strange truths are tantalisingly revealed — SUNDAY EXPRESS
Orion

Fear

Dirk Kurbjuweit
Authors:
Dirk Kurbjuweit

Randolph sits in his kitchen watching his father load a gun.Randolph has an attractive, intelligent wife and two children, enjoys modest success as an architect and has just moved into a beautiful flat in a respectable part of Berlin.The two men stand and embrace one final time.Life seems perfect - until they meet the man living in the basement flat below them. Their downstairs neighbour is friendly at first, if a little strange, but then he starts to frighten them. And the situation quickly becomes intolerable.His father walks slowly downstairs and knocks on the door of the flat below...When the rule of law fails them, how far will Randolph go to keep the man downstairs from their door?

Gollancz

Seventh Decimate

Stephen Donaldson
Authors:
Stephen Donaldson
W&N

The Boy Made of Snow

Chloe Mayer
Authors:
Chloe Mayer
Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Swords of Night and Day

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Orion

Flowers For Algernon

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes
Orion

Bad Move

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Zack Walker Mystery #1Zack Walker is a writer with an overactive imagination and two teenage children. After a murder on their street, he uproots his family from the city - insisting it's for their own good - and heads for the security of the suburbs. However, his peaceful new life is soon shattered when he finds a body while out walking by the creek. Zack recognizes the dead man - and knows who his killer might be.Things go from bad to worse as Zack follows a trail of deceit that leads right to his front door. To protect his family - and so he doesn't get framed for a crime he didn't commit - he's going to have to track down the killer himself. Suddenly the suburbs are not looking nearly so safe . . .Linwood Barclay's debut novels, available for the first time in the UK.

Gollancz

Princess of Blood

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd
Gollancz

Blackwing

Ed McDonald
Authors:
Ed McDonald

The republic faces annihilation, despite the vigilance of Galharrow's Blackwings. When a raven tattoo rips itself from his arm to deliver a desperate message, Galharrow and a mysterious noblewoman must investigate a long dead sorcerer's legacy. But there is a conspiracy within the citadel: traitors, flesh-eaters and the ghosts of the wastelands seek to destroy them, but if they cannot solve the ancient wizard's paradox, the Deep Kings will walk the earth again, and all will be lost.The war with the Eastern Empire ended in stalemate some eighty years ago, thanks to Nall's 'Engine', a wizard-crafted weapon so powerful even the Deep Kings feared it. The strike of the Engine created the Misery - a wasteland full of ghosts and corrupted magic that now forms a No Mans Land along the frontier. But when Galharrow investigates a frontier fortress, he discovers complacency bordering on treason: then the walls are stormed, and the Engine fails to launch. Galharrow only escapes because of the preternatural magical power of the noblewoman he was supposed to be protecting. Together, they race to the capital to unmask the traitors and restore the republic's defences. Far across the Misery a vast army is on the move, as the Empire prepares to call the republic's bluff.Blackwing is a gritty epic fantasy for fans of Mark Lawrence, Scott Lynch and Daniel Polansky.

Orion

The Spark Girl

Fiona Ford
Authors:
Fiona Ford

Orion

The Hiding Places

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb
Gollancz

Runemarks

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris
Orion

Parting Shot

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
W&N

History of Wolves

Emily Fridlund
Authors:
Emily Fridlund
Orion

Monsoon Summer

Julia Gregson
Authors:
Julia Gregson
W&N

The Woman in the Picture

Katharine McMahon
Authors:
Katharine McMahon

The page-turning sequel to THE CRIMSON ROOMS by the author of bestselling Richard & Judy Book Club pick, THE ROSE OF SEBASTOPOL.London, 1926. Evie Gifford, one of the first female lawyers in Britain, is not a woman who lets convention get in her way. She has left her family home following a devastating love affair, much to her mother's disapproval.London is tense in the days leading up to the General Strike and Evelyn throws herself into two very different cases - one involving a family with links to the unions and the other a rich man who claims not to be the father of his wife's child. Evie is confronting the hardest challenge of her career when she is faced with an unexpected proposal - just as her former lover returns.How can she possibly choose between security with a man she admires and passion for the man who betrayed her?

W&N

Whose Business is to Die

Adrian Goldsworthy
Authors:
Adrian Goldsworthy
Orion

An Eligible Bachelor

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
Orion

The Sea Garden

Deborah Lawrenson
Authors:
Deborah Lawrenson

Following on from her TV Book Club success with THE LANTERN, Deborah Lawrenson returns to the south of France with another captivating story of wartime love, secrets and bravery.Present day. On a lush Mediterranean island off the French coast, Ellie has accepted a commission to restore an abandoned garden. It seems idyllic, but the longer Ellie spends at the house and garden, the more she senses darkness, and a lingering evil that seems to haunt her.Second World War. Two very different women have their lives irrevocably changed: Iris, a junior intelligence officer in London and Marthe, a blind girl who works in the lavender fields of Provence and is slowly drawn into the heart of the Resistance. As secret messages are passed in scent and planes land by moonlight, danger comes ever closer...

Orion

The Goddess and the Thief

Essie Fox
Authors:
Essie Fox