Michael Connelly - City Of Bones - Orion Publishing Group

City Of Bones

By Michael Connelly

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

When the bones of a young boy are found, Harry is drawn into a case that brings up dark memories. The outstanding eighth Harry Bosch thriller from the award-winning No. 1 bestselling author of The Lincoln Lawyer. City of Bones is featured in Amazon Prime's BOSCH TV series.

The outstanding eighth Harry Bosch thriller from the award-winning No. 1 bestselling author of The Lincoln Lawyer. City of Bones is featured in Amazon Prime's BOSCH TV series.

When the bones of a boy are found scattered in the Hollywood Hills, Harry Bosch is drawn into a case that brings up dark memories from his past.

Unearthing hidden stories, he finds the child's identity and reconstructs his fractured life, determined that he won't be forgotten. At the same time, a new love affair with a female cop begins to blossom - until a stunningly blown mission leaves him in more trouble than ever before. The investigation races to a shocking conclusion and leaves Bosch on the brink of an unimaginable decision . . .

Biographical Notes

A former police reporter for the Los Angeles Times, Michael Connelly is the author of the Harry Bosch thriller series as well as several other bestsellers, including the highly acclaimed legal thriller The Lincoln Lawyer, which was selected for the Richard & Judy Book Club. Michael Connelly has been President of the Mystery Writers of America. His books have been translated into thirty-one languages and have won awards all over the world, including the Edgar and Anthony Awards. He lives in Tampa, Florida, with his family. To find out more, visit www.michaelconnelly.co.uk or @Connellybooks.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409155737
  • Publication date: 06 Nov 2014
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Orion
Michael Connelly writes assured, well-plotted mysteries that hit all the right buttons ... CITY OF BONES is altogether a good, fast-paced, ingeniously plotted read — OBSERVER
One of Connelly's best books ... Characterisation sharp enough to draw blood; excitements of the heart and mind; crime fiction at its aching, impeccable best — LITERARY REVIEW
A stunningly good novel: powerful, intriguing and impossible to lay down - perhaps, indeed, the best of the series — EVENING STANDARD
Slick plotting, far-from-gratuitous thrills, a breakneck pace and superb characteisation have always typified Michael Connelly's novels about the dark side of California. CITY OF BONES, which sees the return of Detective Harry Bosch, proves no exception — GUARDIAN
[A] taut thriller from the award-winning author ... It's realistic, riveting and first-rate — HELLO
A remarkable achievement: a page-turning thriller that rejects easy answers or feelgood endings, a crime novel which points out that solving a crime does not in itself even begin to set the world to rights — MAIL ON SUNDAY
Packed with Connelly's memorable twists and turns ... emotionally wrenching, yet never lacking the compassion that Bosch has come to symbolise, CITY OF BONES will delight Connelly's millions of fans and should - if there is any justice in the world (which Bosch doubts) - win him a great many more — DAILY MAIL
Connelly is, in my view, simply the best crime thriller writing working today and in CITY OF BONES he is on top form — MAIL ON SUNDAY
Michael Connelly just has to be the best writer of crime fiction about at the moment — IRISH TIMES
Orion

The Lost

Mari Hannah
Authors:
Mari Hannah
Trapeze

Hangman

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole
Trapeze

The Other Couple

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton

A dark, twisty psychological thriller set in paradiseAmber wakes up in a Vietnamese hospital; she has been left for dead on the holiday of a lifetime after a night-time swim in the picturesque So Den caves.We flashback to her fairytale wedding with Ollie, where a mystery guest puts in motion a chain of events that will lead to murder.Unable to come to terms with the police's version of events, Amber returns to the scene of the crime. She remembers that there was another couple during the night of the murder. And the killer is still out there...

Trapeze

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Orion

The Devil's Claw

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman

Jennifer Dorey thinks she is safe. Following a traumatic incident in London, Jennifer has returned to her childhood home in Guernsey, taking a job as a reporter at the local newspaper. After the discovery of a drowned woman on a beach, she uncovers a pattern of similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years. Together with DCI Michael Gilbert, an officer on the verge of retirement, they follow a dark trail of island myths and folklore to 'Fritz', the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. His work, painstakingly executed, has so far gone undetected. But with his identity about to be uncovered, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights.And home is the last place she should be.An atmospheric crime series set in the Channel Islands, that will appeal to fans of Ann Cleeves, Peter May and Elly Griffiths. THE DEVIL'S CLAW introduces readers to returning characters journalist Jennifer Dorey and DCI Michael Gilbert. Read by Scarlett Mack(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Bad News

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

*THIS BOOK WAS PREVIOUSLY PUBLISHED IN THE USA UNDER THE TITLE STONE RAIN*Zack Walker Mystery #4Journalist Zack Walker has a dangerous habit of finding deadly stories. But this is one his good friend Trixie Snelling doesn't want told. It turns out Trixie has her fair share of skeletons in her closet and, as Zack discovers, a dead body in her basement.With other journalists circling the story - and no sign of Trixie, who has gone missing - Zack could find himself implicated in a murder, unless he finds out the truth fast. The bad news is: it will cost him his job, and teach him that everything he knows about his friend, his town, and even his marriage, is a lie. The good news? It hasn't cost him his life . . . yet.

Orion

Shadow Man

Margaret Kirk
Authors:
Margaret Kirk

'Shadow Man is a harrowing and horrific game of consequences.' Val McDermid A gripping Scottish crime thriller from the winner of the Good Housekeeping Novel Writing competition 2016.Two sistersJust before her wedding day, Morven Murray, queen of daytime TV, is found murdered. All eyes are on her sister Anna, who was heard arguing with her hours before she was killed.Two murdersOn the other side of Inverness, police informant Kevin Ramsay is killed in a gangland-style execution. But what exactly did he know?One killer?As ex-Met Detective Inspector Lukas Mahler digs deeper into both cases, he discovers that Morven's life was closer to the Inverness underworld than anyone imagined. Caught in a deadly game of cat and mouse, is Lukas hunting one killer, or two?'A new star of tartan noir is born. Kirk has written a brilliantly tense, atmospheric debut. I can't wait to read more in this highland crime series.' Cass Green, Number 1 ebook bestselling author of THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR.

Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Harry Bosch works cold cases as a volunteer for the San Fernando police department when he's called out to a local drug store where a young pharmacist has been murdered. Bosch and the town's three-person detective squad sift through the clues, which lead into the dangerous, big business world of prescription drug abuse. Meanwhile, an old case from Bosch's LAPD days comes back to haunt him when a long-imprisoned killer claims Harry framed him and that there's new evidence which proves it. Bosch left the LAPD on bad terms, so his former colleagues aren't keen to protect his reputation. He must fend for himself in clearing his name and keeping a clever killer in prison.The two unrelated cases wind across each other like strands of barbed wire, and Bosch learns that there are two kinds of truth: the kind that sets you free and the kind that leaves you buried in darkness.

Orion

Bad Luck

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Kings of America

R.J. Ellory
Authors:
R.J. Ellory
W&N

IQ

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide
Orion

The Late Show

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Wrong Side of Goodbye

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Gollancz

Rhyming Rings

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Orion

The Crossing

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Burning Room

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Blood, Salt, Water

Denise Mina
Authors:
Denise Mina
Orion

Switchblade

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Gods of Guilt

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Shakespeare's Counselor

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

The 5th Lily Bard novel from the bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse seriesLily Bard is a woman with a dark past. One she's trying to forget. So she joins a local therapy group in her adopted town of Shakespeare, hoping it will help her cope with her memories. But as they assemble for one session, they find a dead woman left on display.Lily finds herself embroiled in the murder and its aftermath. With her own terrible secrets dredged up, she cannot rest until the killer is caught. But can she stop the perpetrator before they strike again? And before her nightmares send her over the edge?