Mickey Spillane - My Gun is Quick - Orion Publishing Group

My Gun is Quick

By Mickey Spillane

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'[Spillane] was a quintessential Cold War writer, an unconditional believer in good and evil' Washington Times.

Before Jack Reacher . . . there was Mike Hammer

PI Mike Hammer runs into a red-headed prostitute in a bar. He's not interested in her professional services, so he buys her a coffee and chats to her for a while. Tired, drained, he just wants someone to talk to, and she's a willing listener. He's just got paid, and in a fit of generosity he offers her enough money to buy some decent clothes and get a regular job.

No big deal, except that the next day the streetwalker turns up dead. It's none of Hammer's business, but all the injustice of the world is suddenly crystallised in this one senseless death. And then Hammer begins to realise that the death, supposedly a hit-and-run accident, doesn't add up. It's starting to look like murder.

But it doesn't stop there. The trail leads Hammer into a world of vice, corruption and violence . . .

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471917936
  • Publication date: 10 Sep 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
Orion

The Darker Arts

Oscar de Muriel
Authors:
Oscar de Muriel

Madame Katerina, Detective 'Nine Nails' McGray's most trusted clairvoyant, hosts a séance for three of Edinburgh's wealthiest families.The following morning everyone is found dead, with Madame Katerina being the only survivor. When questioned she alleges a tormented spirit killed the families for revenge.McGray, even though he believes her, must find a rational explanation that holds up in court, else Katerina will be sentenced to death.Inspector Ian Frey is summoned to help, which turns out to be difficult as he is still dealing with the loss of his uncle, and has developed a form of post-traumatic stress (not yet identified in the 19th century).This seems an impossible puzzle. Either something truly supernatural has occurred - or a fiendishly clever plot is covering a killer's tracks...

Orion

The Defence

Steve Cavanagh
Authors:
Steve Cavanagh

W&N

The Reunion

Guillaume Musso
Authors:
Guillaume Musso

WELCOME TO THE SCHOOL REUNION FROM HELL... FRENCH RIVIERA, WINTER 1992On a freezing night, as her high school campus is engulfed by a snowstorm, 19-year-old Vinca Rockwell runs away with Alexis, her philosophy teacher.No one will ever see them again.FRENCH RIVIERA, SPRING 2017Formerly inseparable, Thomas, Maxime and Fanny - Vinca's best friends - have not spoken in twenty-five years. But when they receive an invitation to their school's anniversary reunion, they know they must go back one final time.Because there is a body buried in that building... ...and they're the ones who put it there. THE #1 INTERNATIONAL SENSATION For fans of Joel Dicker's THE TRUTH ABOUT THE HARRY QUEBERT AFFAIR, Harlan Coben's TELL NO ONE and Gillian Flynn's GONE GIRL. With THE atmosphere of Donna Tartt's THE SECRET HISTORY and David Lynch's TWIN PEAKS

Orion

Inspection

Josh Malerman
Authors:
Josh Malerman

W&N

Call Him Mine

Tim MacGabhann
Authors:
Tim MacGabhann
W&N

We Were Killers Once

Becky Masterman
Authors:
Becky Masterman
Orion

What Lies Buried

Margaret Kirk
Authors:
Margaret Kirk

'Shadow Man is a harrowing and horrific game of consequences' Val McDermid THE BRILLIANTLY COMPELLING SECOND NOVEL IN THE DI LUKAS MAHLER SERIESA skeleton is discovered, buried deep in the earth, on the Farr View Heights construction site. That's nothing new in the Highlands - bones are often discovered in the old graves of Picts and Vikings. But it's not the skull itself that makes the crew stop in horror - it's the bullet hole above the eye-socket.So begins an investigation that takes DI Lukas Mahler deep into Inverness's criminal underworld - one of organised crime, murder and betrayal - and even deeper into his own harrowing past.WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT MARGARET KIRK'S DEBUT NOVEL SHADOW MAN:'Gripping''Kept me on my toes right to the end''Another great detective is born''Shadow Man has a taut plot, maintains suspense cleverly and is crisply written''The city of Inverness is almost a character in its own right''A top-notch crime thriller, full of intricate twists with a disturbing insight into the mind of a cold blooded killer''Dark and atmospheric, I just couldn't put it down'

Trapeze

Dark Sky Island

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman
Trapeze

You Die Next

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
W&N

Flowers Over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti
Authors:
Ilaria Tuti

THERE'S A MONSTER LURKING IN THESE WOODS... 'CREEPY AND EVOCATIVE... BUT WHAT GIVES THIS NOVEL PARTICULAR APPEAL IS THE SIXTY-SOMETHING CENTRAL CHARACTER, WHOSE ABRASIVE MANNER HIDES A WARM HEART' Guardian'SET TO GIVE TYNESIDE'S VERA A RUN FOR HER MONEY' Lancashire Post'IMPECCABLE CRIME WRITING' Maxim Jakubowski, Crime TimeIn a quiet village surrounded by the imposing Italian Alps, a series of brutal assaults take place. Police inspector Teresa Battaglia is called in when the first body is found. Soon more victims are discovered - all horrifically mutilated - and when a new-born baby is kidnapped, Teresa's investigation becomes a race against the clock. But Teresa is also fighting a battle against her own body, weighed down by age and diabetes, and her mind, once invincible and now slowly gnawing away at her memory... THE SENSATIONAL TOP 10 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER FOR FANS OF WILL DEAN'S DARK PINES, CHRIS HAMMER'S SCRUBLANDS AND LIAM McILVANNEY'S THE QUAKER 'I was rooting for Teresa Battaglia from the start' Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill'A deliciously dark and action-packed thriller... I loved this book' Karen Dionne, author of Home'I totally fell for the tough-but-vulnerable Teresa Battaglia. Great to see an older woman in this role' Roz Watkins, author of The Devil's Dice'Teresa Battaglia is one of the most interesting detectives to emerge in recent years... An astonishing debut' M. W. Craven, author of The Puppet Show 'A brilliant protagonist, an eerie setting and a community hiding dark secrets' Dead Good (Debut crime novels to watch out for in 2019)

Orion

The New Iberia Blues

James Lee Burke
Authors:
James Lee Burke

Detective Dave Robicheaux first met Desmond Cormier on the backstreets of New Orleans. He was a young pretender who dreamt of stardom whilst Robicheaux had his path all figured out. Now, twenty-five years later, their roles have reversed. When Robicheaux knocks on Cormier's door, he sees a successful Hollywood director. It seems dreams can come true. But so can nightmares.A young woman has been crucified, wearing only a small chain on her ankle, and all the evidence points to Cormier. Robicheaux wants to believe his old friend wouldn't be capable of such a crime - but Cormier's silence is deafening.And he isn't the only ghost from Robicheaux's past which comes back to haunt him...

Trapeze

Deep Dark Water

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman

An atmospheric new crime series set in the Channel Islands, for readers of Ann Cleeves, Peter May and LJ Ross, introducing investigative journalist Jennifer Dorey. Jennifer Dorey thinks she is safe. Following a traumatic incident in London, Jennifer has returned to her childhood home in Guernsey, taking a job as a reporter at the local newspaper. After the discovery of a drowned woman on a beach, she uncovers a pattern of similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years. Together with DCI Michael Gilbert, an officer on the verge of retirement, they follow a dark trail of island myths and folklore to 'Fritz', the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. His work, painstakingly executed, has so far gone undetected. But with his identity about to be uncovered, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights.And home is the last place she should be.DEEP DARK WATER introduces readers to returning characters journalist Jennifer Dorey and DCI Michael Gilbert. Previously published as The Devil's Claw*************************What readers are saying about Lara Dearman's Channel Island mysteries:'I've never been to Guernsey but this book has made me add it to my bucket list!' 'Reminds me of the excellent "Bergerac" detective series.''I can't wait for the next Jennifer Dorey instalment''Guernsey makes a wonderful setting for the book''Found it very gripping and could not put it down.'

Orion

Death in Provence

Serena Kent
Authors:
Serena Kent
W&N

A Twist of the Knife

Becky Masterman
Authors:
Becky Masterman
W&N

Down the River Unto the Sea

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
Trapeze

The Devil's Claw

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman
The Murder Room

Survival...Zero!

Mickey Spillane
Authors:
Mickey Spillane

The killing of Lippy Sullivan is only a one-column squib in the morning papers. Lippy was a loser, a pickpocket, and his one claim to fame was an acquaintanceship with Mike Hammer. Was that reason enough for someone to gag, torture and kill him?By the time Mike figures out that the wrong man has been killed, it's nearly too late. Containers of a virulent strain of bacteria have been hidden around the country, and when the canisters explode, there will be no stopping it: no vaccines, no natural barriers - nothing.Each time Mike tracks down a clue, it leads to a dead man, and time is running out . . .

The Murder Room

Bloody Sunrise

Mickey Spillane
Authors:
Mickey Spillane

Secret agent Tiger Mann has his wedding interrupted by a call to look into the defection of a top Russian spy, Gabin Martrel, who has requested asylum in the US but won't provide any information.Tiger figures that he has defected to find an old flame, an Olympic skier named Sonia, and that if he finds her, Martrel will talk.But a nuclear threat thrown into the mix puts not just American but British national security at risk . . .

The Murder Room

Day of the Guns

Mickey Spillane
Authors:
Mickey Spillane
Orion

The Long Wait

Mickey Spillane
Authors:
Mickey Spillane

Lyncastle is a small town that likes to be dirty: gin joints, gambling dens and brothels make sure of that, and bring in more money than the State Capitol. One night, a man named Johnny McBride returns to the town, and nobody is happy about it. Supposedly he ran away from embezzling and murder charges five years ago - he's believed to have killed no less than the town's DA. But Johnny doesn't scare easily when he's rousted by angry cops, or when harder men try to kill him. He's back to clear his name and settle some scores, and the forces that control the town from its shadows are nervous. But is Johnny really the man everyone thinks he is? Whoever he may be, his road to revenge isn't for the faint of heart . . .