Frederik Pohl - Jem - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

Jem

By Frederik Pohl

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A cynical and compelling tale of politics, exploitation and colonisation on another planet. Introduction by Lisa Tuttle.

A cynical and compelling tale of politics, exploitation and colonisation on another planet

The discovery of another habitable world might spell salvation to the three bitterly competing power blocs of the resource-starved 21st century; but when their representatives arrive on Jem, with its multiple intelligent species, they discover instead the perfect situation into which to export their rivalries.

Subtitled, with savage irony, 'The Making of a Utopia', JEM is one of Frederik Pohl's most powerful novels.

Biographical Notes

Frederik Pohl has had an extensive career as both a writer and editor spanning over 70 years. Using various pseudonyms, Pohl began writing in the late 1930s, his first published work being a poem titled 'Elegy to a Dead Planet: Luna', which appeared in the October 1937 issue of AMAZING STORIES. Pohl edited both ASTONISHING STORIES and SUPER SCIENCE STORIES between 1939 and 1943 and whilst many of his own stories appeared in these two pulp magazines they were never under his own name. After this period, from 1943 to 1945, Pohl served in the U.S. Army, rising to the rank of sergeant as an air corps weatherman. Between the end of the war and the early 1950s, Pohl was active as a literary agent, representing many successful writers of the genre including Isaac Asimov. The winner of multiple HUGO and NEBULA AWARDs, Pohl became the SFWA Grand Master in 1993 and was inducted by the Science Fiction Hall of Fame in 1998. He currently lives in Illinois.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473201705
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

Thin Air

Richard Morgan
Authors:
Richard Morgan

Richard Morgan has always been one of our most successful SF authors with his fast-moving and brutal storylines, blistering plots and a powerful social conscience behind his work.And now he's back, with his first SF novel for eight years . . . and it promises to be a publication to remember.An ex-corporate enforcer, Hakan Veil, is forced to bodyguard Madison Madekwe, part of a colonial audit team investigating a disappeared lottery winner on Mars. But when Madekwe is abducted, and Hakan nearly killed, the investigation takes him farther and deeper than he had ever expected. And soon Hakan discovers the heavy price he may have to pay to learn the truth.

Gollancz

The Caged Queen

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli
Orion

Xeelee: Redemption

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Snapshot

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Gollancz

The Bastard Legion: War Criminals

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

Dirty, gritty and action-packed adventure featuring the galaxy's deadliest mercenaries, THE BASTARD LEGIONMILITARY SCIENCE FICTION AT ITS BEST. 'High octane SF adventure with Smith's trademark twist' Jamie Sawyer, author of The Lazarus War It was the kind of dirty, violent work the Bastards were made for. Protect a bunch of colonists in the Epsilon Eridani system, whose moon had become a war zone as megacorp-backed mercenaries fought a brutal proxy war. Just the kind of fight the penal mercenary legion liked. But a hundred headless corpses are hard to explain, even for the Bastard Legion, and soon they are on the run, abandoned by their allies, and hunted by their most dangerous foe yet . . . but Miska's going to play them at her own game. The Bastard Legion: the galaxy's most dangerous criminals controlled by implanted explosives and trained by the electronic ghost of a dead marine. 'Gloriously action-packed and often brutal military SF adventure . . .' Publishers Weekly 'An exceptional talent' Peter F HamiltonA 'Dirty Dozen' or 'Suicide Squad' for lovers of 'Aliens', THE BASTARD LEGION series is a down and dirty military SF set in a world of mercenary actions and covert operations.

Gollancz

Summerland

Hannu Rajaniemi
Authors:
Hannu Rajaniemi

I burned through it . . . Great book: Tinker Tailer Soldier Spook' Ian McDonaldLoss is a thing of the past. Murder is obsolete. Death is just the beginning. ***** How do you catch a spy who's already dead? In 1938, death is no longer feared but exploited. Since the discovery of the afterlife, the British Empire has extended its reach into Summerland, a metropolis for the recently deceased. But Britain isn't the only contender for power in this life and the next. The Soviets have spies in Summerland, and the technology to build their own god. When SIS agent Rachel White gets a lead on one of the Soviet moles, blowing the whistle puts her hard-earned career at risk. The spy has friends in high places, and she will have to go rogue to bring him in.

Gollancz

Land Under England

Joseph O'Neill
Authors:
Joseph O'Neill
Orion

Bear Grylls: The Hunt

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls

THE HUNT IS ON FOR JAEGER 1945, and the Nazis' grand plans are in disarray. Defeat is imminent, so in a last attempt to protect their legacy, the high command hides their store of uranium deep underground, ready for them to fight another day.2018, and ex-SAS soldier Will Jaeger stumbles upon this horrible truth. But the uranium is missing and, when he learns his wife Ruth has also been kidnapped, he's certain the enemy is on the move once more.That much uranium in the wrong hands could devastate the world. It's up to Jaeger and his team to find it before their worst fears are realised. But the enemy is always one step ahead, pushing Jaeger to the limit of his endurance.The danger is real, and the people who hold Ruth have a score to settle. It's a race against time.And the clock is ticking . . . * * * * * * * *What readers say about Bear Grylls:'bloody brilliant! Absolute page turner, haven't been able to put it down' Goodreads review of Ghost Flight, 5 stars'Bond and Bourne have good company in Jaeger' Amazon review of Burning Angels, 5 stars 'Will resonate with fans of classic spy thrillers' Mail on Sunday'Great action and what an amazing story' Amazon review of Burning Angels, 5 stars 'watch out Dirk Pitt or Jack Reacher, there's a new man on the block' Goodreads review of Ghost Flight, 5 stars'Unputdownable!' Sir Ranulph Fiennes'will keep you reading well into the early hours of the morning' Goodreads review of Burning Angels'Will Jeager is James Bond on steroids' Goodreads review of Burning Angels, 5 stars'Couldn't stop reading this book, every lunch break I was reading away!' Amazon review of Ghost Flight, 5 stars'A gripping thriller set in the darkest of days' Jonathan Ross

Gollancz

Season of Storms

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski

The Witcher returns! A brand new novel set in the early days of The Witcher saga - the inspiration behind the bestselling series of games!Geralt. The witcher whose mission is to protect ordinary people from the monsters created with magic. A mutant who has the task of killing unnatural beings. He uses a magical sign, potions and the pride of every witcher - two swords, steel and silver. But what would happen if Geralt lost his weapons? Andrzej Sapkowski returns to his most popular hero in a stand-alone novel where Geralt fights, travels and loves again, Dandelion sings and flies from trouble to trouble, sorcerers are scheming ... and across the whole world clouds are gathering - the season of storms is coming...

Orion

Bear Grylls: Ghost Flight

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls

'Unputdownable!' Sir Ranulph Fiennes* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *A murder. A mystery that will change everything.Will Jaeger's family are gone, and they're not coming back.But there's one thing he can fix. His best friend has been found dead, and he's going to catch the monsters that killed him.To do it, Jaeger assembles an expert team of ex-SAS soldiers. They must head deep into the Amazon rainforest. It seems his friend was on the trail of an old Nazi bomber.And someone definitely wants it kept secret. As things go wrong, and Jaeger closes the net on his friend's killer, he comes to realise one thing.Everything is connected. And, for one man, the War never ended . . .A modern, edge-of-your-seat thriller, shrouded in the shadows cast by Nazi Germany. Great for fans of Gregg Hurwitz, James Swallow, and I Am Pilgrim.* * * * * * * What readers are saying about BEAR GRYLLS: GHOST FLIGHT:'A gripping thriller set in the darkest of days', Jonathan Ross'Men don't come much tougher than daredevil climber and adventurer, Bear Grylls', SUN'A great adventure, superbly written!' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'If you want a page-turning, action packed adventure story with hints of WWII then look no further', Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'Will resonate with fans of classic spy thrillers', MAIL ON SUNDAY'I loved it from beginning to end, and I can't wait to read what happens next', Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Once I finished this one I went straight back & got the next in the Will Jaeger series!', Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Gollancz

God's Last Breath

Sam Sykes
Authors:
Sam Sykes
Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli
Gollancz

White Knight/Black Swan

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
W&N

The Mountain Between Us

Charles Martin
Authors:
Charles Martin
Gollancz

The Book of the New Sun: Volume 2

Gene Wolfe
Authors:
Gene Wolfe

An extraordinary epic, set a million years in the future, in the time of a dying sun, when our present culture is no longer even a memory. The torturer's apprentice, Severian, exiled from his guild after falling in love with one of his prisoners, is now the Lictor of Thrax, a city far distant from his home. But it is not long before Severian must flee this city, too, and journey again into the world. Embattled by friends and enemies alike, pursued by monstrous creatures, the one-time torturer's apprentice must overcome hitherto unimagined perils, as he moves closer to fulfilling his ultimate destiny.This edition contains the concluding two volumes of this four-volume novel, The Sword of the Lictor and The Citadel of the Autarch.

Gollancz

Xeelee: Endurance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Always Coming Home

Ursula K. Le Guin
Authors:
Ursula K. Le Guin

A long, long time from now, in the valleys of what will no longer be called Northern California, might be going to have lived a people called the Kesh. But Always Coming Home is not the story of the Kesh. Rather it is the stories of the Kesh - stories, poems, songs, recipes - Always Coming Home is no less than an anthropological account of a community that does not yet exist, a tour de force of imaginative fiction by one of modern literature's great voices.

Gollancz

Down Station

Simon Morden
Authors:
Simon Morden
Gollancz

Empire V

Victor Pelevin
Authors:
Victor Pelevin
Gollancz

S.N.U.F.F.

Victor Pelevin
Authors:
Victor Pelevin