Robert W. Chambers - The King in Yellow - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

The King in Yellow

By Robert W. Chambers

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The cult classic collection which influenced Lovecraft and HBO's True Detective, featuring the Yeloow King and the mythical city of Carcosa.

A central influence on HP Lovecraft and countless other authors, including Neil Gaiman and Grant Morrison, THE KING IN YELLOW is finding new fame as a vital element of HBO's hit series TRUE DETECTIVE, starring Woody Harrelson and Matthew McConaughey. Presented here with a short story by Ambrose Bierce, AN INHABITANT OF CARCOSA, which was a direct influence on this collection, this is a perfect read for fans of classic horror and fantasy.

Biographical Notes

Robert W Chambers (1865-1933) was born in Brooklyn, New York.

His most famous book, THE KING IN YELLOW, was published in 1895.

During World War I he wrote war adventure novels, and war stories. After 1924 he devoted himself solely to writing historical fiction.

On July 12, 1898, he married Elsa Vaughn Moller. They had a son, Robert Edward Stuart Chambers.

Robert W. Chambers died on December 16, 1933, after having undergone intestinal surgery three days earlier.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473208391
  • Publication date: 25 Feb 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Beneath the Twisted Trees

Bradley Beaulieu
Authors:
Bradley Beaulieu
Orion

Dark Room

Steve Mosby
Authors:
Steve Mosby

No connection. No clues. No escape...For DI Andrew Hicks, solving a murder is logical: your first suspicions are usually right. So when the brutally beaten body of a young woman is found, his attention focuses closely on the ex-boyfriend.But then more bodies start appearing, all beaten beyond recognition, and there is no connection between any of the victims. Because this is a new type of killer, one who revels in chaos. To survive, Hicks must face not only a serial killer with no discernible motive, but the hidden darkness of his own past.

Gollancz

We Are The Dead

Mike Shackle
Authors:
Mike Shackle
Gollancz

Wolf Rain

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

Orion

Dark Sacred Night

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Trapeze

You Die Next

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb

A group of urban explorers stumble into a murderer's kill room in a derelict film studio. Terrified, they run, thinking they are safe. Then a message appears on their video channel: Who dies next?As DI Dominic Bell and his team investigate the series of murders in hidden locations across London, they fail to find the connection between the victims. The only person who can help is Clementine Starke, an academic researching adult thrillseekers. However, Clementine is haunted by dark and violent obsessions, including her former relationship with DI Dominic Bell. As the body count rises, Clementine Starke and DI Dominic Bell form an uneasy alliance to hunt the killer. But as they close in on their prey, and things turn personal, Clementine has to decide which side of the law she's really on.A cat-and-mouse thriller for fans of Mark Billingham, Sarah Hilary and Rachel Abbott that unfolds in a number of terrifying hidden locations across London. Readers who enjoyed Thomas Harris's Hannibal series will be thrilled by the deadly relationship between DI Dominic Bell and Clementine Starke.(p) Orion Publishing Group 2019

Orion

The Man Who Came Uptown

George Pelecanos
Authors:
George Pelecanos

Anna Byrne is a jailhouse librarian. Most days, she loves her job and shares the life-affirming power of books to people who would have no hope without them. Often, she can get too close and forget some of these men are dangerous criminals.But some of them never had a chance. Like Michael Hudson, who's been locked up awaiting trial before his sudden release. He's happy and relieved but can't shake the question preying on his mind: how comes the witness who put him behind bars is suddenly refusing to testify?There's a man who might have the answer, but he wants something first. Phil Ornazian is a private investigator who moonlights as a petty criminal. He's not exactly proud of it, but times are hard in Washington D.C. People have to change to survive, or die trying.But everything comes at a price and, at some point, everyone has to pay...

Gollancz

From Divergent Suns

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters

Orion

The Lies We Tell

Niki Mackay
Authors:
Niki Mackay

Miriam Jackson is a famous radio presenter. Married to a successful film director, she has created the perfect life for herself. Then her daughter goes missing. Miriam is desperate to find her before her husband finds out and her perfect life crumbles around her. So she calls the only person who can help: Private Investigator Madison Attallee, who has just solved the biggest case of her career.Can Madison find Miriam's daughter? And will Miriam share the truth about her past?

Gollancz

Master of Sorrows

Justin Call
Authors:
Justin Call
Gateway

The Charwoman's Shadow

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany

An old woman who spends her days scrubbing the floors might be an unlikely damsel in distress, but Lord Dunsany proves once again his mastery of the fantastical. The Charwoman's Shadow is a beautiful tale of a sorcerer's apprentice who discovers his master's nefarious usage of stolen shadows, and vows to save the charwoman from her slavery.

Gateway

Tales of War

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany
Gateway

Jeweled Fire

Sharon Shinn
Authors:
Sharon Shinn

Princess Corene has run away from home to the royal court of Malinqua, where the empress's three nephews are vying to be named her heir. Two other foreign princesses have also come to the palace, hoping to marry the man chosen to be the next ruler of Malinqua. What the nephews don't know is the identity of the man who accompanies Corene: the empress's legitimate grandson, born long after everyone believed his mother was dead. What Corene doesn't know is the real reason the empress is gathering foreign princesses to her court-and how much that puts all of them in danger. Corene finds herself making friends in unexpected places and relying more and more on her faithful guard Foley. Because Foley is the only person who would die before allowing harm to come to Corene...

W&N

Flowers Over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti
Authors:
Ilaria Tuti

In a quiet village surrounded by centuries-old woods and the imposing Italian Alps, a series of violent assaults take place. Police inspector and profiler Teresa Battaglia is called back from the city when the first body is found in the woods, a naked man whose face has been disfigured and eyes gouged out. Teresa quickly realises that the killer intends to strike again, and soon more victims are found - all having been subjected to horrendous mutilations. When a new-born baby is kidnapped, Teresa's investigation becomes a race against the clock...But Teresa is also fighting a different kind of battle: a battle against her own body, weighed down by age and diabetes, and her mind, once invincible and now slowly gnawing away at her memory...Something devastating has taken place here in these mountains. Something that requires all my investigative abilities. My name is Teresa Battaglia, I am a police chief inspector, specialised in profiling, and I walk through hell every day. It's not my gun, nor my uniform: my real weapon is my mind. Yet my mind is failing me. Not my body, weathered by the passing of time, nor my tormented heart. My name is Teresa Battaglia, I have a secret that I dare not reveal even to myself, and for the first time in my life I am afraid".Read by Anna Bentinck(p) Orion Publishing Group 2019

Orion

A Noise Downstairs

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Gateway

Unquiet Land

Sharon Shinn
Authors:
Sharon Shinn

Leah Frothen has returned home. But she can scarcely catch her breath before she is summoned by regent Darien Serlast, the man who made her a spy. Leah is reluctant to take on a new assignment, but Darien has dangled the perfect lure to draw her in...Leah finds she enjoys the challenges of opening a shop catering to foreign visitors, especially since it affords her the opportunity to get to know Mally, the child she abandoned five years ago.But when the regent asks her to spy on ambassadors from a visiting nation, Leah soon learns that everyone-her regent, her lover, and even her daughter-have secrets that could save the nation, but might very well break her heart.

Gollancz

Mistborn: Secret History

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Orion

The Passage

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin

NOW A MAJOR TV SERIES!An epic, awe-inspiring novel of good and evil - now a global bestseller.Amy Harper Bellafonte is six years old and her mother thinks she's the most important person in the whole world.She is.Anthony Carter doesn't think he could ever be in a worse place than Death Row.He's wrong.FBI agent Brad Wolgast thinks something beyond imagination is coming.It is.THE PASSAGE. Soon to be an epic drama on Fox from writer Elizabeth Heldens and executive producer Ridley Scott.

Orion

The Cutting Crew

Steve Mosby
Authors:
Steve Mosby

The dark new thriller from the author of THE THIRD PERSON...The small team of policemen never even identified the dead girl and, for the officers involved, her murder came to symbolise everything that was wrong with the city: a haphazard sprawl of commerce and indifference. Four months on, that group is in disarray. Sean has disappeared into the city's black heart and not returned, and Martin is separated from his job, his wife and his friends. But then a simple note from his ex-partner forces him to re-enter an investigation he'd rather forget. 'I found her', it says. The search leads him from one side of the city to the other, in a downward spiral of violence and pain, and drags him into the orbit of the things that are really wrong with the city: the eight brothers rumoured by legend to have control over everything.

Orion

Dreamer

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James

When waking from your dream means living your nightmare...The last time the dream came, Sam was seven years old; and that was the night her parents were to die.Twenty-five years later, Sam's nightmares are starting to come true once more. Now a successful TV commercials producer, juggling her roles of career woman, wife and mother, she attempts to shut them out. But soon Sam is faced with the reality of dreams in which her life and that of her family are threatened. In desperation, she consults the experts: a psychiatrist; a clairvoyant ... but to no avail. Sam is being inexorably drawn into a vortex of terror from which there is no escape...