Tim Powers - Expiration Date - Orion Publishing Group

Expiration Date

By Tim Powers

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The second book in the Fault Lines sequence from the WORLD FANTASY AWARD-winning author of THE ANUBIS GATES.

Twelve-year-old Koot Hoomie Parganas's parents prepared him for a career as a metaphysical holy man - but after they're brutally murdered one night he finds himself a fugitive in the darkest corners of Los Angeles, pursued by denizens of a dark underworld who want what Kootie's parents have been hiding for 40 years - the ghost of Thomas Edison contained in a bust of Dante.

But Kootie has broken the bust and inhaled the ghost, and now has in his head the lively personality of Edison himself - and together Kootie and Edison must learn the harsh rules of the occult world existing behind the glitter of modern Los Angeles, and find a way to save Kootie's life and free Edison's ghost from its earthly Purgatory.

Biographical Notes

Tim Powers was born in Buffalo, New York, and educated at California State University, gaining a degree in English. It was at University that he met K.W. Jeter and James Blaylock, who became friends and occasional collaborators, and the three of them are regarded as the founding fathers of the steampunk literary movement. He was also a friend of noted SF writer Philip K. Dick. Tim Powers is the author of many highly regarded novels and among his many honours are two PHILIP K. DICK AWARDs (for THE ANUBIS GATES and DINNER AT DEVIANT'S PALACE) and two WORLD FANTASY AWARDs (for LAST CALL and DECLARE). The fourth Pirates of the Caribbean film is based on his 1987 novel ON STRANGER TIDES. Tim Powers lives in California.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473211988
  • Publication date: 09 Apr 2015
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Trapeze

The Craftsman

Sharon Bolton
Authors:
Sharon Bolton

Heartless killer or loving father?His secrets are buried with him.Florence Lovelady's career was made when she convicted coffin-maker Larry Glassbrook of a series of child murders 30 years ago. Like something from our worst nightmares the victims were buried...ALIVE.Larry confessed to the crimes; it was an open and shut case. But now he's dead, and events from the past startto repeat themselves. Did she get it wrong all those years ago? Or is there something much darker at play?

Orion

Righteous

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide

'Joe Ide is the best new discovery I've come across in a long time' Michael Connelly'In a way, the hate felt good. You were righteous, godlike, the dispenser of justice . . .'Super-smart sleuth Isaiah Quintabe - IQ to his friends - has built a mostly respectable life for himself, helping out friends and neighbours when he can and taking the occasional case to make ends meet. But there is one mystery that still haunts him almost ten years later - did his brother really die in a hit-and-run or was there more to the story behind his death? IQ has been approached by his brother's former girlfriend Sarita, whose younger sister, an erratic DJ and gambling addict, has gone missing in Las Vegas - with a frightening loan shark, Chinese Triad gangsters, and her own deadbeat boyfriend hot on her tail. Accompanied once more by his fast-talking, don't-call-me-a-sidekick partner Dodson, IQ heads off for the casinos and massage parlours of Las Vegas. His quest takes an unexpected turn when he meets a criminal mastermind who knows something about the murky circumstances that surrounded his brother's death. But when Isaiah learns the truth, what will he do with it?(p) Hachette Audio 2017

Gollancz

Cryptozoic!

Brian Aldiss
Authors:
Brian Aldiss
Gollancz

Heart-Shaped Box

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill

'Buy my stepfather's ghost' read the e-mail.So Jude did.He bought it, in the shape of the dead man's suit, delivered in a heart-shaped box, because he wanted it: because his fans ate up that kind of story. It was perfect for his collection: the genuine skulls and the bones, the real honest-to-God snuff movie, the occult books and all the rest of the paraphanalia that goes along with his kind of hard/goth rock.But the rest of his collection doesn't make the house feel cold. The bones don't make the dogs bark; the movie doesn't make Jude feel as if he's being watched. And none of the artefacts bring a vengeful old ghost with black scribbles over his eyes out of the shadows to chase Jude out of his home, and make him run for his life ...

W&N

IQ

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide
Gollancz

Blackwing

Ed McDonald
Authors:
Ed McDonald

The republic faces annihilation, despite the vigilance of Galharrow's Blackwings. When a raven tattoo rips itself from his arm to deliver a desperate message, Galharrow and a mysterious noblewoman must investigate a long dead sorcerer's legacy. But there is a conspiracy within the citadel: traitors, flesh-eaters and the ghosts of the wastelands seek to destroy them, but if they cannot solve the ancient wizard's paradox, the Deep Kings will walk the earth again, and all will be lost.The war with the Eastern Empire ended in stalemate some eighty years ago, thanks to Nall's 'Engine', a wizard-crafted weapon so powerful even the Deep Kings feared it. The strike of the Engine created the Misery - a wasteland full of ghosts and corrupted magic that now forms a No Mans Land along the frontier. But when Galharrow investigates a frontier fortress, he discovers complacency bordering on treason: then the walls are stormed, and the Engine fails to launch. Galharrow only escapes because of the preternatural magical power of the noblewoman he was supposed to be protecting. Together, they race to the capital to unmask the traitors and restore the republic's defences. Far across the Misery a vast army is on the move, as the Empire prepares to call the republic's bluff.Blackwing is a gritty epic fantasy for fans of Mark Lawrence, Scott Lynch and Daniel Polansky.Read by Colin Mace(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

Gollancz

Eagle Rising

David Devereux
Authors:
David Devereux
Gollancz

Night Shift

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

Get ready for the new drama Midnight, Texas on SyFy UK from July 27th with Charlaine Harris's bestselling paranormal mystery series about a small town where only outsiders fit in . . .From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse novels - 'the Mark Twain of things that live under your bed' - comes a new novel of Midnight, Texas, the town where some secrets will never see the light of day . . .Welcome to the most intriguing mystery you'll read this year.Welcome to Midnight, Texas. At Midnight's local pawnshop, weapons are flying off the shelves-only to be used in sudden and dramatic suicides right at the main crossroads in town. Who better to figure out why blood is being spilled than the vampire Lemuel, who, while translating mysterious texts, discovers what makes Midnight the town it is. There's a reason why witches and werewolves, killers and psychics, have been drawn to this place. And now they must come together to stop the bloodshed in the heart of Midnight. For if all hell breaks loose - which just might happen - it will put the secretive town on the map, where no one wants it to be . . .

Gollancz

The Day Before Forever

Anna Caltabiano
Authors:
Anna Caltabiano
Gollancz

The Privilege of the Sword

Ellen Kushner
Authors:
Ellen Kushner
Gollancz

Earthquake Weather

Tim Powers
Authors:
Tim Powers
Orion

The Burning Room

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Los Angeles Detective Harry Bosch tackles a cold case unlike any he's ever worked, in the new legal thriller from the bestselling author of THE LINCOLN LAWYER and THE BLACK ECHO, Michael Connelly.In the LA Police's Open-Unsolved Unit, not many murder victims die almost a decade after the crime. So when a man succumbs to complications from being shot by a stray bullet ten years earlier, Bosch catches a case in which the body is still fresh, but any other evidence is virtually non-existent.Now Bosch and his new partner, rookie Detective Lucia Soto, are tasked with solving what turns out to be a highly charged, politically sensitive case. Starting with the bullet that's been lodged for years in the victim's spine, they must pull new leads from years-old information, which soon reveals that this shooting may have been anything but random in this gripping police procedural.

Gollancz

The Forgotten Beasts of Eld

Patricia A. McKillip
Authors:
Patricia A. McKillip
Gollancz

Midnight Crossroad

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

Get ready for the new drama Midnight, Texas on SyFy UK from July 27th with the first book in Charlaine Harris's bestselling paranormal mystery series about a small town where only outsiders fit in . . .From Charlaine Harris, the bestselling author who created Sookie Stackhouse, the world of Bon Temps, Louisiana, comes a new, darker world - populated by more strangers than friends. But then, that's how the locals prefer it.Welcome to Midnight, Texas, a town with many boarded-up windows and few full-time inhabitants, located at the crossing of Witch Light Road and Davy Road. It's a pretty standard dried-up western town.There's a pawnshop (someone lives in the basement and is seen only at night). There's a diner (people who are just passing through tend not to linger). And there's new resident Manfred Bernardo, who thinks he's found the perfect place to work in private (and who has secrets of his own).Stop at the one traffic light in town, and everything looks normal. Stay awhile, and learn the truth...

Gollancz

Last Call

Tim Powers
Authors:
Tim Powers
Gollancz

Ghost Story

Peter Straub
Authors:
Peter Straub
Orion

The Two Minute Rule

Robert Crais
Authors:
Robert Crais
Gateway

Dinner at Deviant's Palace

Tim Powers
Authors:
Tim Powers

Welcome to the holy city.Gregorio Rivas was a redeemer, one of the courageous men who snatched converts from the sinister cult of Norton Jaybush.Currency brandy was what they used for money in post-nuclear L.A. Ten thousand fifths was the price Rivas set to retrieve the only girl he ever loved.But when a hemogoblin whispered Come to me from the shadows, it looked like Gregorio Rivas would be leaving by the Dog Town gate.Unless the genial host of Deviant's Palace would swop an apostle for a hemogoblin. Norton Jaybush needed a new High Priest - and Rivas had been shortlisted for the job...Winner of the Philip K. Dick Award for best novel, 1985

Gateway

Strange Itineraries

Tim Powers
Authors:
Tim Powers

Strange Itineraries takes you down haunted byways into the heart of Tim Powers country, where you will find turbulent ghosts, secretive immortals and mysterious Ether Bunnies. Containing Tim Powers' short fiction from 1982 to 2004, including his delightful collaborations with James P. Blaylock, Strange Itineraries will enchant you and lead you astray.

Gollancz

The Forge Of God

Greg Bear
Authors:
Greg Bear