H.G. Wells - The War of the Worlds - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575115354
    • Publication date:12 Jul 2012
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473218024
    • Publication date:12 Jan 2017
Books in this series

The War of the Worlds

By H.G. Wells

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The classic tale of an alien invasion of Earth from the pen of the father of modern SF, with an introduction by Adam Roberts.

'No one would have believed in the last years of the nineteenth century that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man's...'

So begins H. G. Wells' classic novel in which Martian lifeforms take over planet Earth. As the Martians emerge, they construct giant killing machines - armed with heatrays - that are impervious to attack. Advancing upon London they destroy everything in their path. Everything, except the few humans they collect in metal traps.

Victorian England is a place in which the steam engine is state-of-the-art technology and powered flight is just a dream. Mankind is helpless against the killing machines from Mars, and soon the survivors are left living in a new stone age.

And don't miss the authorised sequel to The War of the Worlds: The Massacre of Mankind by Stephen Baxter.

Biographical Notes

H.G. Wells was born in Bromley, Kent in 1866. After working as a draper's apprentice and pupil-teacher, he won a scholarship to the Normal School of Science in 1884, studying under T. H. Huxley. He was awarded a first-class honours degree in biology and resumed teaching but had to retire after a kick from an ill-natured pupil afflicted his kidneys. He worked in poverty in London as a crammer while experimenting in journalism and stories. It was with THE TIME MACHINE (1895) that he had his real breakthrough.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473216853
  • Publication date: 01 Jan 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

The Shape Of Things To Come

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

When a diplomat dies in the 1930s, he leaves behind a book of 'dream visions' he has been experiencing, detailing events that will occur on Earth for the next two hundred years. This fictional 'account of the future' (similar to LAST AND FIRST MEN by Olaf Stapledon) proved prescient in many ways, as Wells predicts events such as the Second World War, the rise of chemical warfare and climate change.

Gateway

The Sea-Lady

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

The Sea-Lady concerns a mermaid who comes to shore, ostensibly with the intention of joining genteel society but who really desires to seduce Chatteris, a man she once encountered near Tonga.

Gateway

The World Set Free

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

In "The World Set Free," H.G. Wells takes a science fictional look at the future, where if world peace is to be attained through labour internationalism, it will have to be at the price of complete social and economic reconstruction. But first comes a phase of revolution - violent, very bloody, and prolonged, which in the end may fail to achieve anything but social destruction . . . "The World Set Free" is a vision of highly educated and highly favoured leading and ruling men, voluntarily setting themselves to the task of reshaping the world.

Gateway

The Dream

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Sarnac is a scientist and a leading figure in the field of chemical reactions of cells. Plagued by a beautiful and terrifying dream he had when he was a young child, he reflects on his early years in an attempt to understand the dream's roots. However, he finds that his dreams and the reality he has lived have become so entangled that he is no longer able to distinguish between them.

Gateway

The Holy Terror

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

When Cook's newborn baby entered the world, he had nothing but hope for its future. However, it was immediately clear that this was no ordinary child - it's murderous screams seemed a dark portent. As it grew, things only got worse, and the child's mother began to despair. The new parents hoped their child would grow out of it, but soon came to realise that its inauspicious beginnings were only a sign of things to come.

Gateway

All Aboard for Ararat

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

Babes in the Darkling Wood

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Stella has the world at her feet - good looks, brains, and a place at Cambridge University. Together with her admirer Gemini, she becomes interested in the work and mind of a psycho-therapist with exciting new ideas. However, when tragedy encroaches on their lives they soon come to realise that intellectualism brings little comfort or solace. Babes in the Darkling Wood is a powerful tale of fluctuating fortunes that presents an interesting dialogue of contemporary developments in psychoanalytical theory.

Gateway

You Can't Be Too Careful

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A satirical novel of one Englishman, a Mr. Edward Albert Tewler, from cradle to grave.

Gateway

The Sleeper Awakes

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

In the Days of the Comet

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Revenge was all Leadford could think of as he set out to find the unfaithful Nettie and her adulterous lover. But this was all to change when a new comet entered the earth's orbit and totally reversed the natural order of things. The Great Change had occurred and any previous emotions, thoughts, ambitions, hopes and fears had all been removed. Free love, pacifism and equality were now the name of the game. But how will Leadford fare in this most utopian of societies . . . ?

Gateway

Men Like Gods

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The War in the Air

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

Mr Blettsworthy on Rampole Island

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The King Who was a King

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The Autocracy of Mr Parham

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Orion

Don't Look For Me

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross

Mason Cross, author of THE SAMARITAN, a Richard & Judy Book Club pick, returns with his gripping new thriller - perfect for fans of David Baldacci, Linwood Barclay and Mark Billingham. *Don't look for me.It was a simple instruction. And for six long years Carter Blake kept his word and didn't search for the woman he once loved. But now someone else is looking for her.He'll come for you.Trenton Gage is a hitman with a talent for finding people - dead or alive. His next job is to track down a woman who's on the run, who is harbouring a secret many will kill for.Both men are hunting the same person. The question is, who will find her first?*High-stakes action, blistering tension and a deadly game of cat and mouse, THE TIME TO KILL is the must-read new thriller from Mason Cross:'Terrific stuff!' Ian Rankin'Mason Cross is a thriller writer for the future who produces the kind of fast-paced, high octane thrillers that I love to read.' Simon Kernick'So pacy I'm exhausted! Definitely one to read if you like your thrillers thrilling.' Emma Kavanagh'One of the most interesting 'loner' heroes to have arrived in recent years . . . Told with pace and vigour by a writer who seems to have a natural aptitude for thrillers, it is not to be missed.' Daily Mail'My kind of book.' Lee Child*If you like Lee Child's Jack Reacher, you will LOVE the race-against-time Carter Blake series:1. The Killing Season2. The Samaritan3. The Time To Kill4. Don't Look for Me5. Presumed Dead* Each Carter Blake thriller can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Gollancz

The Massacre of Mankind

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

It has been 14 years since the Martians invaded England. The world has moved on, always watching the skies but content that we know how to defeat the Martian menace. Machinery looted from the abandoned capsules and war-machines has led to technological leaps forward. The Martians are vulnerable to earth germs. The Army is prepared.So when the signs of launches on Mars are seen, there seems little reason to worry. Unless you listen to one man, Walter Jenkins, the narrator of Wells' book. He is sure that the Martians have learned, adapted, understood their defeat.He is right.Thrust into the chaos of a new invasion, a journalist - sister-in-law to Walter Jenkins - must survive, escape and report on the war.The Massacre of Mankind has begun

Gollancz

The Island Of Doctor Moreau

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Edward Prendick is shipwrecked and finds himself stranded on an island in the Pacific. Here he meets the sinister Dr Moreau, a vivisectionst driven out of Britain in disgrace. And soon strange events cause Prendick to uncover the full horror of Dr Moreau's activities on the island.THE ISLAND OF DR MOREAU mixes discussion on the divide between humans and the animal kingdom and chilling macabre horror in an unrivalled fashion. Its question on how far science should go is one that rings true today as it did when it was first published.

Gollancz

The Forge Of God

Greg Bear
Authors:
Greg Bear
Gollancz

The Time Machine

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A Victorian scientist develops a time machine and travels to the year 802,171 AD. There he finds the meek, child-like Eloi who live in fear of the underground-dwelling Morlocks. When his time machine goes missing, the Traveller faces a fight to enter the Morlocks' domain and return to his own time.THE TIME MACHINE remains one of the cornerstones of science-fiction literature and has proved hugely influential.