M. John Harrison - Viriconium - Orion Publishing Group

Viriconium

By M. John Harrison

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

Viriconium, the Pastel City, was the last bastion of the civilised world ...

In Viriconium, the young men whistle to one another all night long as they go about their deadly games. If you wake suddenly, you might hear footsteps running, or an urgent sigh. After a minute or two, the whistles move away in the direction of the Tinmarket or the Margarethestrasse. The next day, some lordling is discovered in the gutter with his throat cut. Who can tell fantasy from reality, magic from illusion, hero from villain, man from monster ... in Viriconium?

Published here for the first time in one volume, and in the author's preferred order, are all the Viriconium stories, originally published in four books: The Pastel City, A Storm of Wings, In Viriconium and Viriconium Nights.

Biographical Notes

M. John Harrison (1945 - ) Michael John Harrison is the author of, amongst others, the Viriconium stories, The Centauri Device, Climbers, The Course of the Heart, Signs of Life, Light and Nova Swing. He has won the Boardman Tasker Award (Climbers), the James Tiptree Jr Award (Light) and the Arthur C. Clarke Award (Nova Swing). He lives in Shropshire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781857989953
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2000
  • Page count: 576
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

We Are Where The Nightmares Go and Other Stories

C. Robert Cargill
Authors:
C. Robert Cargill

An incredible collection of short stories from the screenwriter of DOCTOR STRANGE.

Gollancz

The Quanderhorn Xperimentations

Rob Grant, Andrew Marshall
Authors:
Rob Grant, Andrew Marshall
Gollancz

Ravencry

Ed McDonald
Authors:
Ed McDonald
Orion

Ocean Light

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh dives beneath the surface of her Psy-Changeling world into a story of passionate devotion and selfless love . . .Security specialist Bowen Knight has come back from the dead. But there's a ticking time bomb in his head: a chip implanted to block telepathic interference that could fail at any moment - taking his brain along with it. With no time to waste, he should be back on land helping the Human Alliance. Instead, he's at the bottom of the ocean, consumed with an enigmatic changeling . . . Kaia Luna may have traded in science for being a chef, but she won't hide the facts of Bo's condition from him or herself. She's suffered too much loss in her life to fall prey to the dangerous charm of a human who is a dead man walking. And she carries a devastating secret that Bo could never imagine . . . But when Kaia is taken by those who mean her deadly harm, all bets are off. Bo will do anything to get her back - even if it means striking a devil's bargain and giving up his mind to the enemy. 'Paranormal romance at its best' Publishers Weekly 'Singh continues to be one of the most prolific and consistently excellent writers on the scene today' Romantic Times

Gollancz

The Testament of Loki

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris

Gollancz

Sea of Rust

C. Robert Cargill
Authors:
C. Robert Cargill

*One of Financial Times' Best Books of 2017*"SEA OF RUST is a 40-megaton cruise missile of a novel - it'll blow you away and lay waste to your heart . . . visceral, relentless, breathtaking" Joe Hill, Sunday Times bestselling authorAn action-packed post-apocalyptic thriller from the critically acclaimed author, screenwriter, and noted film critic. Humankind is extinct. Wiped out in a global uprising by the very machines made to serve them. Now the world is controlled by One World Intelligences - vast mainframes that have assimilated the minds of millions of robots. But not all robots are willing to cede their individuality, and Brittle - a loner and scavenger, focused solely on survival - is one of the holdouts. Only, individuality comes at a price, and after a near-deadly encounter with another AI, Brittle is forced to seek sanctuary. Not easy when an OWI has decided to lay siege to the nearest safe city. Critically damaged, Brittle has to hold it together long enough to find the essential rare parts to make repairs - but as a robot's CPU gradually deteriorates, all their old memories resurface. For Brittle, that means one haunting memory in particular . . .Sea of Rust boldly imagines a future in which no hope should remain, and yet a humanlike AI strives to find purpose among the ruins.

Gollancz

Before Mars

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman
Orion

The Guilty Wife

Elle Croft
Authors:
Elle Croft
Orion

The Wrong Child

Barry Gornell
Authors:
Barry Gornell
Gollancz

Archangel's Viper

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Orion

King's Cage

Victoria Aveyard
Authors:
Victoria Aveyard

*** PRE-ORDER WAR STORM NOW - THE FOURTH & FINAL BOOK IN THE RED QUEEN SERIES! ***The third novel in the #1 bestselling RED QUEEN series by Victoria AveyardALL WILL BURN.Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal.Now a king, Maven continues weaving his web in an attempt to maintain control over his country - and his prisoner. As Mare remains trapped in the palace, the remnants of the Red Rebellion continue organizing and expanding. As they prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows, Cal - the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare's heart - will stop at nothing to bring her back.Blood will turn on blood and allegiances will be tested on every side. If the Lightning Girl's spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?Read the bestselling RED QUEEN series in full:Book 1: RED QUEENBook 2: GLASS SWORDBook 3: KING'S CAGEBook 4: WAR STORM*********

Gollancz

Silver Silence

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Gollancz

Exodus

Alex Lamb
Authors:
Alex Lamb

The Photurians - a hivemind of sentient AIs and machines - were awakened by humanity as part of a complex political trap. But they broke free, evolved, and now the human race is almost finished. Once we spanned dozens of star systems; now only four remain, and Earth is being evacuated.But the Photes can infect us, and among the thousands rescued from our home world may be enemy agents. Tiny colonies struggle to house the displaced. Our warships are failing. The end of humanity has come.But on a distant planet shielded from both humanity and the Photurians, one hope may still live. The only person who might be able to intervene. The roboteer. He is trapped in a hell of his own making, and does not know he is needed. And so a desperate rescue mission is begun. But can he be reached in time? Or will he be the last remnant of humanity in the universe?

W&N

Don't Let Go

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi
Gollancz

From Darkest Skies

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters
Orion

Don't Look For Me

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross

Mason Cross, author of THE SAMARITAN, a Richard & Judy Book Club pick, returns with his gripping new thriller - perfect for fans of David Baldacci, Linwood Barclay and Mark Billingham. *Don't look for me.It was a simple instruction. And for six long years Carter Blake kept his word and didn't search for the woman he once loved. But now someone else is looking for her.He'll come for you.Trenton Gage is a hitman with a talent for finding people - dead or alive. His next job is to track down a woman who's on the run, who is harbouring a secret many will kill for.Both men are hunting the same person. The question is, who will find her first?*High-stakes action, blistering tension and a deadly game of cat and mouse, THE TIME TO KILL is the must-read new thriller from Mason Cross:'Terrific stuff!' Ian Rankin'Mason Cross is a thriller writer for the future who produces the kind of fast-paced, high octane thrillers that I love to read.' Simon Kernick'So pacy I'm exhausted! Definitely one to read if you like your thrillers thrilling.' Emma Kavanagh'One of the most interesting 'loner' heroes to have arrived in recent years . . . Told with pace and vigour by a writer who seems to have a natural aptitude for thrillers, it is not to be missed.' Daily Mail'My kind of book.' Lee Child*If you like Lee Child's Jack Reacher, you will LOVE the race-against-time Carter Blake series:1. The Killing Season2. The Samaritan3. The Time To Kill4. Don't Look for Me5. Presumed Dead* Each Carter Blake thriller can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Gollancz

Luna: Wolf Moon

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald
Gollancz

Tales From the Kingdoms

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough

'This is not your Disney fairy tale. It is much, much better' Wilder's Book ReviewSnow White, Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty - stories you love, and that we all think we know . . .. . . but what about the secrets hidden within them? Why would a prince fall in love with a woman in a coffin? Why would a queen try so hard to poison her step-daughter? And what is a fairy Godmother's real motivation?Turn the page, and discover these classic fairy stories, told the way they always should have been . . .This collection includes the award-winning novella BEAUTY, as well as the superb novellas POISON and CHARM.'Brilliantly subverts the classic fairy tale'One Chapter More

Orion

Glass Sword

Victoria Aveyard
Authors:
Victoria Aveyard

*** PRE-ORDER WAR STORM NOW - THE FOURTH & FINAL BOOK IN THE RED QUEEN SERIES! ***The second novel in the #1 bestselling RED QUEEN series by Victoria AveyardI WAS BORN TO KILL A KING, TO END A REIGN OF TERROR BEFORE IT CAN TRULY BEGIN.If there's one thing Mare Barrow knows, it's that she's different.Mare's blood is red - the colour of common folk - but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court wants to control.Pursued by the vengeful Silver king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join the rebellion.But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat. Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?Read the bestselling RED QUEEN series in full:Book 1: RED QUEENBook 2: GLASS SWORDBook 3: KING'S CAGEBook 4: WAR STORM*********

Gollancz

Black Man

Richard Morgan
Authors:
Richard Morgan

One hundred years from now, and against all the odds, Earth has found a new stability; the political order has reached some sort of balance, and the new colony on Mars is growing. But the fraught years of the 21st century have left an uneasy legacy ...Genetically engineered alpha males, designed to fight the century's wars have no wars to fight and are surplus to requirements. And a man bred and designed to fight is a dangerous man to have around in peacetime. Many of them have left for Mars but now one has come back and killed everyone else on the shuttle he returned in.Only one man, a genengineered ex-soldier himself, can hunt him down and so begins a frenetic man-hunt and a battle survival. And a search for the truth about what was really done with the world's last soldiers.BLACK MAN is an unstoppable SF thriller but it is also a novel about predjudice, about the ramifications of playing with our genetic blue-print. It is about our capacity for violence but more worrying, our capacity for deceit and corruption.This is another landmark of modern SF from one of its most exciting and commercial authors.