M. John Harrison - Viriconium - Orion Publishing Group

Viriconium

By M. John Harrison

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

Viriconium, the Pastel City, was the last bastion of the civilised world ...

In Viriconium, the young men whistle to one another all night long as they go about their deadly games. If you wake suddenly, you might hear footsteps running, or an urgent sigh. After a minute or two, the whistles move away in the direction of the Tinmarket or the Margarethestrasse. The next day, some lordling is discovered in the gutter with his throat cut. Who can tell fantasy from reality, magic from illusion, hero from villain, man from monster ... in Viriconium?

Published here for the first time in one volume, and in the author's preferred order, are all the Viriconium stories, originally published in four books: The Pastel City, A Storm of Wings, In Viriconium and Viriconium Nights.

Biographical Notes

M. John Harrison (1945 - ) Michael John Harrison is the author of, amongst others, the Viriconium stories, The Centauri Device, Climbers, The Course of the Heart, Signs of Life, Light and Nova Swing. He has won the Boardman Tasker Award (Climbers), the James Tiptree Jr Award (Light) and the Arthur C. Clarke Award (Nova Swing). He lives in Shropshire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781857989953
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2000
  • Page count: 576
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

From Distant Stars

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters
Gollancz

Before Mars

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman

Orion

Presumed Dead

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross
Orion

The Ember Blade

Chris Wooding
Authors:
Chris Wooding
Orion

The Liar

Steve Cavanagh
Authors:
Steve Cavanagh
Gollancz

The Weight of the World

Tom Toner
Authors:
Tom Toner

The sequel to what Tor.com called 'among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years' The universe is in disarray. Rebellions against the immortal Amaranthine are spreading, worlds and moons have fallen, and the Emperor is missing. An ancient being has reawoken and claimed the throne. And the most important invention in the history of time itself has been stolen.And amidst this chaos, lives continue. A pair of sisters and one small child flee across a world they know nothing of. An outcast, hunted by his tormentors, is caught up in the machinations of a petty warlord. An imprisoned AI creates empires of its own in the building to which it is confined, and seeks an escape.Mind-bending Science Fiction from a remarkable new voice'Toner's richly layered sequel to 2015's The Promise of the Child is a sprawling space opera likely to remind readers of complex works such as Gene Wolfe's Book of the New Sun. It's the 147th century, and numerous varieties of mutant humans, evolved dinosaurs, and alien species vie for control of dozens of planets, moons, and Vaulted Lands (hollowed-out planets with artificial interior suns) spread out over the 23 Solar Satrapies of the Amaranthine Firmament . . . Readers who enjoy a challenge will appreciate both the book's complexities and its beautiful language' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

Gollancz

The Bastard Legion: Friendly Fire

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

'High octane SF adventure with Smith's trademark twist' Jamie Sawyer, author of The Lazarus War'An exceptional talent' Peter F HamiltonIn FRIENDLY FIRE, the Bastard Legion are hired to pull off a daring power-armoured heist of propriety tech. A crime-ridden colony world holds the secret to a potential alien contact, and various groups of mercenaries have been hired to discover it. None of the rest of them have little bombs implanted in their heads, though, so the Bastards have an advantage when it comes to motivation. And Miska, their commander and kidnapper both, is still on the hunt for the people who killed her father. People who might still be among her convicts.Getting the tech will be hard. Getting off the planet, deadly.'a brutal kaleidoscope of imagination' Hannu Rajaniemi, author of The Quantum Thief

Gollancz

Austral

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gollancz

The Fall of Dragons

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron

The Red Knight's final battle lies ahead . . . but there's a whole war still to fight first.He began with a small company, fighting the dangerous semi-mythical creatures which threatened villages, nunneries and cities. But as his power - and his forces - grew, so the power of the enemy he stood against became ever more clear. Not the power of men . . . but that of gods, with thousands of mortal allies.Never has strategy been more important, and this war will end where it started: at Lissen Carak. But to get there means not one battle, but many - to take out the seven armies which stand against them and force Ash, the huge black dragon, to finally take to the field himself . . .

Gollancz

From Darkest Skies

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters
Gollancz

The Lady of the Lake

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski
Gollancz

The Promise of the Child

Tom Toner
Authors:
Tom Toner
Orion

Magpie Murders

Anthony Horowitz
Authors:
Anthony Horowitz

'The finest crime novel of the year' Daily Mail***** Seven for a mystery that needs to be solved . . . Editor Susan Ryland has worked with bestselling crime writer Alan Conway for years. Readers love his detective, Atticus Pünd, a celebrated solver of crimes in the sleepy English villages of the 1950s.But Conway's latest tale of murder at Pye Hall is not quite what it seems. Yes, there are dead bodies and a host of intriguing suspects, but hidden in the pages of the manuscript lies another story: a tale written between the very words on the page, telling of real-life jealousy, greed, ruthless ambition and murder.From the creator of Midsomer Murders comes a fiendish mystery perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot.*****Praise for Magpie Murders - the gripping Sunday Times bestselling crime thriller:'Ingenious' Sunday Times'Thrilling and compelling with a stunning twist' Daily Mail'A stylish thriller' Sunday Mirror'A cunning reinvention of the thriller' Mail on Sunday

Gollancz

The First Law Trilogy Boxed Set

Joe Abercrombie
Authors:
Joe Abercrombie
Gollancz

Time of Contempt

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski
Orion

Shakespeare's Counselor

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

The 5th Lily Bard novel from the bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse seriesLily Bard is a woman with a dark past. One she's trying to forget. So she joins a local therapy group in her adopted town of Shakespeare, hoping it will help her cope with her memories. But as they assemble for one session, they find a dead woman left on display.Lily finds herself embroiled in the murder and its aftermath. With her own terrible secrets dredged up, she cannot rest until the killer is caught. But can she stop the perpetrator before they strike again? And before her nightmares send her over the edge?

Gollancz

Climbers

M. John Harrison
Authors:
M. John Harrison

One of M. John Harrison's most acclaimed novels in a career of near universal acclaim, CLIMBERS is, perhaps, the least fantastical of his novels. Yet it carries life-changing moments, descriptions of landscape bordering on the hallucinogenic and flights of pure fictive power that leave any notion of the divide between realistic and unrealistic fiction far behind. First published in 1989, CLIMBERS has remained a strong favourite with fans and reviewers alike.A young man seeks to get a grip on his life by taking up rock-climbing. He hopes that by engaging with the hard realities of the rock and the fall he can grasp what is important about life. But as he is drawn into the obsessive world of climbing he learns that taking things to the edge comes with its own price.Retreating from his failed marriage to Pauline, Mike leaves London for the Yorkshire moors, where he meets Normal and his entourage, busy pursuing their own dreams of escape. Travelling from crag to crag throughout the country, they are searching for the unattainable: the perfect climb. Through rock-climbing, Mike discovers an intensity of experience - a wash of pain, fear and excitement - that obliterates the rest of his world. Increasingly addicted to the adrenaline, folklore and camaraderie of the sport, he finds, for a time, a genuine escape. But it is gained at a price...This dark, witty and poetic novel is full of the rugged beauty of nature, of the human drive to test oneself against extremes, and of the elation such escape can bring.

Gateway

To Say Nothing of the Dog

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis

Ned Henry is a time-travelling historian who specialises in the mid-20th century - currently engaged in researching the bombed-out Coventry Cathedral. He's also made so many drops into the past that he's suffering from a dangerously advanced case of 'time-lag'. Unfortunately for Ned, an emergency dash to Victorian England is required and he's the only available historian. But Ned's time-lag is so bad that he's not sure what the errand is - which is bad news since, if he fails, history could unravel around him ...Winner of the Hugo Award for best novel, 1999Introduction by Pat Cadigan

Gollancz

Black Heart

Holly Black
Authors:
Holly Black

The conclusion to the gripping Curse Workers series from bestselling author Holly BlackCassel Sharpe knows he's been used as an assassin, but he's trying to put all that behind him. He's trying to be good, even though he grew up in a family of con artists and cheating comes as easily as breathing to him. He's trying to do the right thing, even though the girl he loves is inextricably connected with crime. And he's trying to convince himself that working for the Feds is smart, even though he's been raised to believe the government is the enemy.But with a mother on the lam, the girl he loves about to take her place in the Mob, and new secrets coming to light, the line between what's right and what's wrong becomes increasingly blurred. When the Feds ask Cassel to do the one thing he said he would never do again, he needs to sort out what's a con and what's truth. In a dangerous game and with his life on the line, Cassel may have to make his biggest gamble yet - this time on love.

Gateway

Doomsday Book

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis

For Kivrin Engle, preparing an on-site study of one of the deadliest eras in humanity's history was as simple as receiving inoculations against the diseases of the fourteenth century and inventing an alibi for a woman traveling alone. For her instructors in the twenty-first century, it meant painstaking calculations and careful monitoring of the rendezvous location where Kivrin would be received.But a crisis strangely linking past and future strands Kivrin in a bygone age as her fellows try desperately to rescue her. In a time of superstition and fear, Kivrin - barely of age herself - finds she has become an unlikely angel of hope during one of history's darkest hours.Winner of the Hugo Award 1993Winner of the Nebula Award 1993"A tour de force" - New York Times Book Review"Ambitious, finely detailed and compulsivly readable" - Locus"It is a book that feels fundamentally true; it is a book to live in" - Washington Post