Douglas Adams - Life, The Universe And Everything - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473222175
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
Books in this series

Life, The Universe And Everything

By Douglas Adams

  • Hardback
  • £10.99

The comic science fiction classic with a new introduction by John Lloyd.

Only five individuals stand between the killer robots of Krikkit and their goal of the total annihilation of the universe. They are Arthur Dent, homeless Englishman currently marooned in the deep past; his friend Ford Prefect, temporarily insane to see if he likes it, also marooned; Slartibartfast, once of the planet builders of Magrathea; Zaphod Beeblebrox, ex-confidence trickster and part-time galactic president; and Trillian, the sexy space cadet who is torn between a persistent Thunder God and a very depressed Beeblebrox. In other words: we're doomed.

Biographical Notes

Born in Cambridge, Douglas Adams is best known for the 1970s BBC Radio series (and later novel, TV series and feature film) THE HITCHHIKER'S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY. He also developed the game Starship Titanic, the novel of which was written by Monty Python's Terry Jones, wrote the Dirk Gently series of books, and was a script writer on DOCTOR WHO. A committed environmentalist, Adams campaigned actively on behalf of endangered species and - with naturalist Mark Carwardine - he produced LAST CHANCE TO SEE, a radio series and book highlighting species on the brink of extinction.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473200678
  • Publication date: 31 Dec 2013
  • Page count: 192
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gateway

A Time to Die

Mickey Zucker Reichert
Authors:
Mickey Zucker Reichert

2030. The Moralist party is in power, buoyed by the promise to end death. Chronic care specialist Patricia Jewett deals daily with the result: her ward is packed with technologically dependent patients. When a colleague ends up paralysed and nearly brain-dead, Jewett is forced to keep him alive - while knowing his wishes to terminate life support. Then a murder occurs, and Jewett, the only witness, is also the prime suspect.

Gateway

Flightless Falcon

Mickey Zucker Reichert
Authors:
Mickey Zucker Reichert

Tamison is a flightless falcon: a worthless man who cannot even work to feed his family. Once a miner like the rest of his family, he lost his nerve after a cave-in trapped him and killed his father and brother. Discovering his wife and children have vanished, stolen away by the Brotherhood, he renames himself in their image: Sueldan. A ratty stray dog joins him, then a fortune teller with a magical ability, a guard whose own sister was lost to the Brotherhood and a mysterious conman who knows more than he¿s letting on. But if Tamison/Sueldan is to rescue them from slavery, he must discover his own wings and take flight.A man with nothing left to lose must discover his own hidden strengths if he is to save all those he holds dear

Gateway

The Strange Journeys of Colonel Polders

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany
Gateway

Shadow Climber

Mickey Zucker Reichert
Authors:
Mickey Zucker Reichert

His father wrongly executed when he was a child, Taziar Medakan had turned to stealing for his survival. He was the Shadow Climber, skilled at remaining one with the shadows, unseen in the midst of his enemies. And he stole not for profit, but for the challenge of it, donating most of his booty to those in need. But though Taz could defeat any trap, he wasn't prepared for the treachery of Ilyrian, a cunning politician ready to sacrifice the Shadow Climber to gain power himself. So Taz found himself in the baron's dreaded dungeons from which even a master thief's only escape might be death! There he met Moonbear, a prince among barbarians, a swordsman beyond compare, and Taz's last hope for salvation. Together the two sought their pathway to freedom. But it was a pathway that would set a whole kingdom on their trail in a pursuit led by Ilyrian and a Dragonrank sorcerer on his own mission of magical revenge.

Gateway

Godslayer

Mickey Zucker Reichert
Authors:
Mickey Zucker Reichert
Trapeze

The Girl He Used to Know

Tracey Garvis Graves
Authors:
Tracey Garvis Graves
Gateway

The Pleasures of a Futuroscope

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany
Gateway

The Last Revolution

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany

In a time before computers were a mainstay of our lives, Lord Dunsany tells the story, which takes place in England, about the revolution of self-reproducing machines. Known to have a profound distaste for the Industrial Revolution, The Last Revolution touches on a topic we know all too well today: What happens if the computers take over?

Orion

A Dream of Italy

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino

'A novel about the joy of learning to live again. It also made me very hungry!' JOJO MOYES on Recipe for LifeFor sale: historic building in the picturesque town of Montenello, southern Italy. Asking price: 1 Euro Cloudless skies, sun-soaked countryside, delicious food... In the drowsy heat of an Italian summer, four strangers arrive in a beautiful town nestled in the mountains of Basilicata, dreaming of a new adventure. An innovative scheme by the town's Mayor has given them the chance to buy a crumbling historic building for a single Euro - on the condition that they renovate their home within three years, and help to bring new life to the close-knit local community.Elise is desperate to get on the property ladder. Edward wants to escape a life he feels suffocated by. Mimi is determined to start afresh after her divorce. And there's one new arrival whose true motives are yet to be revealed...For each of them, Montenello offers a different promise of happiness. But can they turn their dream of Italy into reality? A deliciously escapist summer read, perfect for fans of Jo Thomas.(p) Orion Publishing Group Ltd 2019

Gateway

Bound in Time

D. F. Jones
Authors:
D. F. Jones
Gateway

9 Tales of Raffalon

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes

In an age of wizards and walled cities, Raffalon is a journeyman member of the Ancient and Honorable Guild of Purloiners and Purveyors. In other words, a thief.His skills allow him to scale walls, tickle locks, defeat magical wards. He lifts treasures and trinkets, and spends the proceeds on ale and sausages in taverns where a wise thief sits with his back to the wall.But somehow things often go the way they shouldn't and then Raffalon has to rely upon his wits and a well calibrated sense of daring.Here are nine tales that take our enterprising thief into the Underworld and Overworld, and pit him against prideful thaumaturges, grasping magnates, crooked guild masters, ghosts, spies, ogres, and a talented amateur assassin.Includes "Inn of the Seven Blessings," from the bestselling anthology, ROGUES, and "Sternutative Sortilege," which appears only in this collection.

Gateway

Xeno

D. F. Jones
Authors:
D. F. Jones
Gateway

The Curse of the Wise Woman

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany
Gateway

The Fall of Colossus

D. F. Jones
Authors:
D. F. Jones

The hugely powerful and pervasive presence of the Colossus supercomputer mechanically runs Earth and its myriad operations. Managed by its creator, Dr. Charles Forbin, it is incapable of lies and void of human emotion. It is not a robot and not human. As part of its brief to enhance the human race, it runs eerie emotion research centres, authorizing acts of savagery to measure resistance and feeling. Art and abstract creation are banned, and surveillance is constant. No one is free. The power of Colossus is spiralling out of control. The Sect worship it as a God, enforcing its word at every opportunity and seeking out traitors. The Fellowship secretly oppose it as a force of evil, and they risk their lives in a concentrated effort to destroy it and escape its domination. Meanwhile, as Forbin becomes increasingly disillusioned with what he has unleashed on the world, his wife, Cleo, becomes distant, with disastrous consequences.

Gateway

Colossus and the Crab

D. F. Jones
Authors:
D. F. Jones
Gateway

Second Stage Lensmen

E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Authors:
E.E. 'Doc' Smith

Kim Kinnison, Number One man of his time, had faced challenges before - but rarely one as daunting as this. To him fell the perilous task of infiltrating the inner circle of Boskone, stronghold of galactic civilization's most deadly foe. Kinnison had to become a loyal Boskonian in every gesture, deed and thought. He had to work his way up through the ranks of an alien enemy organization, right into the highest echelons of power. Then it would be he who issued the orders - orders that would destroy his own civilization . . .Second Stage Lensmen is the fifth self-contained novel in E. E. 'Doc' Smith's epic Lensman series, one of the all-time classics of adventurous, galaxy-spanning science fiction.

Gateway

Colossus

D. F. Jones
Authors:
D. F. Jones

Charles Forbin has dedicated the last 10 years of his life to the construction of his own supercomputer, Colossus, rejecting romantic and social endeavours in order to create the United States' very first Artificially Intelligent defence system.Colossus is a supercomputer capable of taking in and analysing data rapidly, allowing it to make real-time decisions about the nation's defence.But Colossus soon exceeds even Forbin's calculated expectations, learning to think independently of the Colossus Programming Office, processing data over 100 times faster than Forbin and his team had originally anticipated.The President hands off full control of the nation's missiles and other defence protocols to Colossus and makes the announcement to the world that he has ensured peace.However, the USSR quickly announces that it too has a supercomputer, Guardian, with capabilities similar to that of Colossus.Forbin is concerned when Colossus asks - asks - to communicate with Guardian.The computer he built shouldn't be able to ask at al

Gateway

The Unknown Soldier

Mickey Zucker Reichert
Authors:
Mickey Zucker Reichert

When Shawna Nicholson, Chief Resident of an Iowa hospital, treats an emergency patient who came from the future with multiple wounds and amnesia, neither Shawna nor the mystery man is prepared for the deadly pursuers determined to destory Shawna's patient and anyone who tries to stop them.

Gateway

Oktober

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gollancz

Master of Sorrows

Justin Call
Authors:
Justin Call