Related to: 'Alan Bradley'

Orion

The Grave's a Fine and Private Place

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley

Sunny skies, sleep water...and a sinister corpseFlavia is enjoying the summer, spending her days punting along the river with her reluctant family. Languishing in boredom, she drags a slack hand in the water, and catches her fingers in the open mouth of a drowned corpse. Brought to shore, the dead man is found to be dressed in blue silk with ribbons at the knee, and wearing a single red ballet slipper.Flavia needs to put her super-sleuthing skills to the test to investigate the murder of three gossips in the local church, and to keep her sisters out of danger. But what could possibly connect the son of an executed killer, a far too canny police constable, a travelling circus, and the publican's mysteriously talented wife?Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries:'The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite' Mail on Sunday'A cross between Dodie Smith's I Capture The Castle and the Addams family...delightfully entertaining' GuardianFans of M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin, Frances Brody and Alexander McCall Smith will enjoy the Flavia de Luce mysteries:1. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie2. The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag3. A Red Herring Without Mustard4. I Am Half Sick of Shadows5. Speaking From Among the Bones6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches7. As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd9. The Grave's a Fine and Private PlaceIf you're looking for a cosy crime series to keep you hooked then look no further than the Flavia de Luce mysteries.* Each Flavia de Luce mystery can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Seven Dials

The Little Big Things

Henry Fraser
Authors:
Henry Fraser

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER'Henry Fraser is one of the most remarkable people I've ever met' J.K. Rowling 'What a story of transformation, inner power and inspiration' Jonny Wilkinson The memoir of the year by Henry Fraser, motivational speaker and mouth artist with a foreword by J.K. Rowling.Being challenged in life is inevitable, but being defeated is optional...Henry Fraser was 17 years old when a tragic accident severely crushed his spinal cord. Paralysed from the shoulders down, he has conquered unimaginable difficulty to embrace life and a new way of living. Through challenging adversity, he has found the opportunity to grow and inspire others.This book combines his wisdom and insight into finding the gifts in life's challenges, and will resonate with anyone facing an obstacle, no matter how big or small. It includes Henry's thoughts on how to look at the right things and avoid the wrong, finding progress in whatever you do, and acknowledging and accepting the darkness when it comes. Right at the heart of Henry's inspiring philosophy is his belief that every day is a good day.

Orion

Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley
W&N

Maggie Smith

Michael Coveney
Authors:
Michael Coveney

'Coveney is the only writer who could get under Smith's skin, capturing her steeliness and vulnerability' INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAYFrom her days as a star of West End comedy and revue, Dame Maggie's path has led to international renown and numerous accolades including two Academy Awards. Recently she has been as prominent on our screens as ever, with high-profile roles as the formidable Dowager Countess of Grantham in DOWNTON ABBEY, as Professor Minerva McGonagall in the HARRY POTTER movie franchise and as the eccentric Miss Shepherd in the film version of THE LADY IN THE VAN by Alan Bennett. Paradoxically she remains an enigmatic figure, rarely appearing in public and carefully guarding her considerable talent. Drawing on personal archives, interviews and encounters with the actress, as well as conversations with immediate family and dear friends, Michael Coveney's biography is a captivating portrait of the real Maggie Smith.

W&N

East West Street

Philippe Sands
Authors:
Philippe Sands
W&N

The Romanovs

Simon Sebag Montefiore
Authors:
Simon Sebag Montefiore

The Romanovs were the most successful dynasty of modern times, ruling a sixth of the world's surface. How did one family turn a war-ruined principality into the world's greatest empire? And how did they lose it all?This is the intimate story of twenty tsars and tsarinas, some touched by genius, some by madness, but all inspired by holy autocracy and imperial ambition. Montefiore's gripping chronicle reveals their secret world of unlimited power and ruthless empire-building, overshadowed by palace conspiracy, family rivalries, sexual decadence and wild extravagance, and peopled by a cast of adventurers, courtesans, revolutionaries and poets, from Ivan the Terrible to Tolstoy, from Queen Victoria to Lenin.To rule Russia was both imperial-sacred mission and poisoned chalice: six tsars were murdered and all the Romanovs lived under constant threat to their lives. Peter the Great tortured his own son to death while making Russia an empire, and dominated his court with a dining club notable for compulsory drunkenness, naked dwarfs and fancy dress. Catherine the Great overthrew her own husband - who was murdered soon afterwards - loved her young male favourites, conquered Ukraine and fascinated Europe. Paul was strangled by courtiers backed by his own son, Alexander I, who faced Napoleon's invasion and the burning of Moscow, then went on to take Paris. Alexander II liberated the serfs, survived five assassination attempts, and wrote perhaps the most explicit love letters ever written by a ruler. THE ROMANOVS climaxes with a fresh, unforgettable portrayal of Nicholas and Alexandra, the rise and murder of Rasputin, war and revolution - and the harrowing massacre of the entire family.Written with dazzling literary flair, drawing on new archival research, THE ROMANOVS is at once an enthralling story of triumph and tragedy, love and death, a universal study of power, and an essential portrait of the empire that still defines Russia today.

Orion

Travelers Rest

Keith Lee Morris
Authors:
Keith Lee Morris

A FAMILY MAROONED. ONLY ONE HOTEL IN TOWN. WHAT COULD POSSIBLY GO WRONG. Imagine GROUNDHOG DAY rewritten by Stephen King or David Lynch.A young family is driving home one night but is forced off the highway by a blizzard.They arrive in the former mining town of Good Night, Idaho and take shelter in a grand, but dilapidated old hotel.When they become separated, they enter a nightmare in which they relive the same day over and over, each caught in their own separate time loop. But what are the mysterious images that haunt them, and can they change what is past?(p) 2016 Hachette Audio

W&N

Curious

Rebecca Front
Authors:
Rebecca Front

Shortlisted for Non-fiction Book of the Year at the National Book AwardsRead on BBC Radio 4Sometimes things are more ordinary than you think. And sometimes they're a whole lot odder than you can possibly imagine . . .By turns poignant, comic and uplifting, CURIOUS is a book of stories from Rebecca Front's life, all of them true, though sometimes perhaps a little bent out of shape in the telling. It is a beguiling celebration of the curiosities of everyday life, and of what it is to be curious - in every sense of the word.

Orion

As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley
Orion

The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley
Orion

The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley

A special eBook original short story, in which the eleven-year-old connoisseur of chemistry is immersed in her element: solving a mystery!Murder! the letter says, Come at once. Anson House, Greyminster, Staircase No. 3. How can Flavia de Luce resist such an urgent plea? After all, examining a dead body sounds like a perfectly splendid way to spend a Sunday. So Flavia hops upon her trusted bicycle, Gladys, whose rubber tires hiss happily along the rainy road, and arrives at her father's mist-shrouded old school. There, a terrified boy leads her to the loo where, sitting in a bathtub, is what appears to be a statue. But, no: To Flavia's surprise, the thing is in fact a naked dead man. Save his face, he seems to have been carved out of copper. Never one to shy away from the macabre, Flavia gets to work-only to find that when an investigation begins with a metallic cadaver, ever more curious twists are to be expected.

Orion

Speaking from Among the Bones

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley
Orion

I Am Half-Sick of Shadows

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley
Orion

A Red Herring Without Mustard

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley
Orion

The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley

Pigtails, poisons and murder-most-foul A travelling puppet show arrives in the sleepy village of Bishop's Lacey - and a shocking murder takes place. For eleven-year-old Flavia de Luce, the crime will test her precocious powers of deduction to the limit - particularly when she discovers that the murder echoes a tragedy which occurred many years before...Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries: 'The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite' Mail on Sunday 'A cross between Dodie Smith's I Capture The Castle and the Addams family...delightfully entertaining' Guardian Fans of M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin, Frances Brody and Alexander McCall Smith will enjoy the Flavia de Luce mysteries: 1. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie 2. The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag 3. A Red Herring Without Mustard 4. I Am Half Sick of Shadows 5. Speaking From Among the Bones 6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches 7. As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust 8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd 9. The Grave's a Fine and Private Place If you're looking for a cosy crime series to keep you hooked then look no further than the Flavia de Luce mysteries. * Each Flavia de Luce mystery can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Orion

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley
CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL NOMINATED

Orion Authors Shortlisted for CrimeFest Awards

CRIMEFEST has not only become one of the biggest crime fiction events in Europe, but also one of the most popular dates in the international crime fiction calendar – and Orion has shortlisted authors in every category.

Browse our news stories

News

Read the latest news from Orion and our authors on our news page.

Tickets to a Gollancz Festival 2015 day for aspiring writers go on sale

Gollancz is delighted to share two substantial updates regarding The Gollancz Festival. Firstly, the full schedule of events, including the topics for discussion and selection of panellists, at the events in Manchester, 16 October, and London, 17 October, is now available at gollanczfestival.com.

An Interview

Belle de Jour

The Real Me: Dr Brooke Magnanti catches up with Danuta Kean about being Belle, media bombshells and Billie Piper.