Related to: 'Five go Feasting'

Orion

The Year at Thrush Green

Miss Read
Authors:
Miss Read

An enchanting story of village life from the bestselling author of the FAIRACRE series.January has been bitterly cold in Thrush Green. But at last the winter seems to be melting into a beautiful spring.But with the warmer weather comes a series of local dramas in the community: the future of The Fuchsia Bush tea shop is uncertain when its owner, Mrs Peters, falls ill; there are problems concerning Rectory Cottages, which prove hard to solve; the plans for the village fete - always an event rife with conflict - are hotting up...Meanwhile, the arrival of a stranger from America excites much interest and curiosity - who is he, and what effect will he have on the village?

Orion

Thrush Green

Miss Read
Authors:
Miss Read
Orion

Village Diary

Miss Read
Authors:
Miss Read

The second Fairacre novel, from the bestselling author of VILLAGE SCHOOL.In her first book VILLAGE SCHOOL, Miss Read drew a picture of the small but detailed world of a typical primary school in a remote country area, a world peopled by the children themselves, Miss Clare the venerable infants teacher, glum Mrs Pringle the cleaner, the vicar and other inhabitants of Fairacre. In VILLAGE DIARY, Miss Read describes the people of Fairacre with the same exactitude, sense of comedy and sharp observation. In addition to those characters familiar to readers of VILLAGE SCHOOL there are newcomers, including dictatorial Amy, an old college friend, Mr Mawne, whom the village sees as a possible husband for the unwilling Miss Read; and the earnest new infants teacher. Overshadowing everything, there is the mammoth country pageant over which Fairacre is so sharply and painfully divided...

Orion

Village School

Miss Read
Authors:
Miss Read

The very first Miss Read novel - set in 1950s England, perfect nostalgia for fans of CALL THE MIDWIFE or Gervase Phinn.'An affectionate, humorous and gently charming chronicle ... sometimes funny, sometimes touching, always appealing' New York TimesFairacre is a village of cottages, a church and the school - and at the heart of the school, its headmistress, Miss Read.Through her discerning eye, we meet the villagers of Fairacre and see their trials and tribulations, from the irascible school cleaner Mrs Pringle, to the young schoolchildren with their scraped knees, hopeful faces and inevitable mischief.Miss Read takes us through the school year, beginning with the Christmas term when the bitterly cold weather challenges the school's ancient heating system, right through to the hot summer day when school is over for another year.VILLAGE SCHOOL is an intriguing glimpse into a forgotten world and has become a true classic.

A.A. Gill

A. A. Gill (1954-2016) was born in Edinburgh. He was the TV and restaurant critic and regular features-writer for the Sunday Times, a columnist for Esquire and contributor to Australian Gourmet Traveller. His books include A. A. Gill is Away, The Angry Island, Previous Convictions, Table Talk, Paper View, A. A. Gill is Further Away, The Golden Door and Lines in the Sand, as well as two novels and the memoir Pour Me, which was shortlisted for the 2016 PEN Ackerley Prize. The Best of A. A. Gill, a collection of his journalism, was published in 2017.

Anastasia Catris

Anastasia Catris graduated from Royal Holloway, University of London with a BA Hons in English Literature and then travelled to the United States to pursue her passion for illustration by studying at The Kubert School of Comic and Cartoon Art. She returned to the UK in 2009, and has since worked as a freelance illustrator for HarperCollins, Kerrang!, Fox, Marvel, DC and Cygnus Alpha: The Doctor Who Fanzine. Ana lives in Wales, United Kingdom, and is an advocate of art therapy and of the calming power of colouring in. www.anastasiacatris.comInstagram: @AnastasiaCatris

Anna Freeman

Anna Freeman is an associate lecturer in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University as well as a multiple slam-winning performance poet who has appeared at festivals across Britain including Latitude and Glastonbury. She lives in Bristol. Her first novel, THE FAIR FIGHT, was shortlisted for the Authors' Club Best First Novel award.

Clare Corbett

Clare Corbett has had a successful career on stage, screen and radio. Theatre credits include 'To Kill A Mocking Bird' 'Pygmalion' and Spoonface Steinberg' and her TV credits include BBC's 'Spooks,' 'Fastnet' and 'Final Demand'. A winner of the prestigious Carleton Hobbs Radio Award, she has appeared in over 250 radio plays including 'Absolute Power' 'Venus and Adonis' and ' Dr Zhivago'. Her other voice work comprises of Aardman Animation's ' the planet sketch' and numerous audiobooks (children and adult) including 'Poppy Shakespeare', 'Swallowing Grandma' and 'Child X'. She read 'Alys, Always' by Harriet Lane for Orion.

Elizabeth Romer

Elizabeth Romer was born in Wales and studied textile design at the Royal College of Art in London. She has written upon Italian food and culture and contributed to journals and newspapers in the spheres of both gastronomy and Egyptian archaeology. In addition to THE TUSCAN YEAR, her books include ITALIAN PIZZA & SAVOURY BREADS, which won the IACP Seagram Award 1987, and THE RAPE OF TUTANKHAMUN and THE SEVEN WONDERS OF THE WORLD. She has been living in Tuscany since 1972 with her husband John Romer, an archaeologist, writer and TV presenter.

Jammy Lannister

Ser Jammy Lannister is a Knight of Westeros, a long-standing member of the King's guard, and one of the finest bakers in the Seven Kingdoms. Having lost his right hand in a tragic accident involving spun sugar, he went on to become the greatest left-handed whisker this side of the Narrow Sea. He currently lives in King's Landing with his sister. (They are just really good friends...).@gameofscones_www.facebook.com/GameOfScones1

Justine Pattison

Justine Pattison is the UK's favourite diet recipe writer. To date, her recipes have featured in books totalling over 3 million sales. She is a regular contributor to BBC GOOD FOOD and OLIVE magazines, and most recently the author of FREEZE and the WITHOUT THE CALORIES series. She has a Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/pages/Justine-Pattison and a Twitter account @JustinePattison.

Kate Binchy

Kate Binchy has worked extensively in all media from West End to fringe theatre. Numerous television appearances include RUTH RENDELL MYSTERIES, FATHER TED, PEAK PRACTICE, CASUALTY, POIROT and FAIR CITY. She has appeared in over 500 radio plays, and films such as MRS DALLOWAY and THE LONELY PASSION OF JUDITH HEARNE. She is Maeve's cousin and has read all of Maeve's audiobooks.

Kate Harrison

Before becoming a novelist, Kate Harrison worked for a news agency, reporting mainly for the national tabloids. She then moved to the BBC where she was a reporter in regional news in Bristol and Birmingham, producer on NEWSROUND, and worked on PANORAMA and other investigative/consumer shows and documentaries.Kate Harrison writes fiction and non-fiction: her novels include The Secret Shopper's Revenge, Brown Owl's Guide to Life and the Soul Beach thriller trilogy, her young adult series. She's also the author of the bestselling The 5:2 Diet Book, plus three other 5:2 Books. Visit Kate's website at kate-harrison.com, follow her on Twitter at https://twitter.com/katewritesbooks and Pinterest at http://pinterest.com/katewritesbooks and watch her Youtube channel at http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL961FBF0F8A8CE2B2&feature=view_all. Visit the Soul Beachwebsite at http://www.soulbeach.org, the Soul Fire website at http://burningtruths.com and follow Soul Beach on Twitter at https://twitter.com/onsoulbeach and Pinterest at http://pinterest.com/katewritesbooks/the-dream-soul-beach-cast-list. Learn more with http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=auJWC-o-RiY.

Lou Hamilton

Lou Hamilton is a writer, artist, life coach and award winning filmmaker. Her first book, Brave New Girl: How to be Fearless was published in September 2016.

Maeve Binchy

Maeve Binchy was born in County Dublin and educated at the Holy Child convent in Killiney and at University College, Dublin. After a spell as a teacher she joined the Irish Times. Her first novel, Light a Penny Candle, was published in 1982 and she went on to write over twenty books, all of them bestsellers. Several have been adapted for cinema and television, most notably Circle of Friends and Tara Road. Maeve Binchy received a Lifetime Achievement Award at the British Book Awards in 1999 and the Irish PEN/A.T. Cross award in 2007. In 2010 she was presented with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award at the Bord Gáis Irish Book Awards by the President of Ireland. She was married to the writer and broadcaster Gordon Snell for 35 years, and died in 2012. Visit her website at www.maevebinchy.com

Matt Pritchett

Matthew Pritchett studied at St Martin's School of Art in London and first saw himself published in the New Statesman during one of its rare lapses from high seriousness. He has been the Daily Telegraph's front-page pocket cartoonist since 1988. He has won numerous awards, often multiple times, including the Cartoon Arts Trust Award, What the Papers Say Cartoonist of the Year and UK Press Gazette Cartoonist of the Year. In 2002 he received an MBE.

Maureen Lee

Maureen Lee was born in Liverpool and had numerous short stories published and a play professionally staged before her first novel was published. Her award-winning novels have earned her many fans. Her latest novel, The Leaving of Liverpool, was a Sunday Times top ten bestseller. She is an RNA winner, and writes full time. Maureen now lives in Colchester, Essex.To find out more, visit www.maureenlee.co.uk

Miss Read

Miss Read, or in real life Dora Saint, was a teacher by profession who started writing after the second world war, beginning with light essays written for Punch and other journals. She then wrote on educational and country matters and worked as a scriptwriter for the BBC. Miss Read was married to a schoolmaster for sixty-four years until his death in 2004, and they had one daughter. Miss Read was awarded an MBE in the 1998 New Year Honours list for her services to literature, She was the author of many immensely popular books, including two autobiographical works, but it was her novels of English rural life for which she was best known. The first of these Village School, was published in 1955, and Miss Read continued to write about the fictional villages of Fairacre and Thrush Green for many years. She lived near Newbury in Berkshire until her death in 2012.

Paul Kidby

Paul Kidby discovered Terry Pratchett's Discworld in 1993 and since then has devoted his working life to the place. He is the illustrator of THE PRATCHETT PORTFOLIO, TERRY PRATCHETT'S DISCWORLD COLOURING BOOK, the bestsellers THE LAST HERO and THE ART OF DISCWORLD, as well as the Discworld DIARIES, cards, T-shirts, maps, mugs and, of course, the covers.

Various

Nicola Hodgkinson won THE PEOPLE'S AUTHOR national writing competition as featured on The Alan Titchmarsh Show.