Emma Powell - Orion Publishing Group

Emma Powell



Emma Powell's recent theatre credits include '.45' for Hampstead Theatre, Lady Macbeth and Lady Capulet for C Company, roles in 'Two Gentlemen of Verona' and 'Julius Caesar' for the RSC and 'Persuasion' and 'The Rivals' for ReCreation Theatre Company. Her Radio Drama work includes the classic series 'A Dance to the Music of Time' for Radio 4 and 'Use It or Lose It' for Radio 3 as well as the comedy horror podcast series 'In the Gloaming'. She also has many voice-over credits. GRACELING and FIRE are her first audiobooks for Orion.
Coming Soon
Orion

For the Missing

Lina Bengtsdotter
Authors:
Lina Bengtsdotter

THE MISSINGNora's daughter Annabelle has disappeared, last seen on her way home from a party.THE LOSTGullspång's inexperienced police are wilting under the national media spotlight - and its residents desperate for answers.THE CLOCK IS TICKING . . .Stockholm DI Charlie Lager must return home to find Annabelle, and then get out of town as soon as she can. Before everyone discovers the truth about her . . .'A brilliant, dense crime novel' Dagens Nyheter (Sweden)

Orion

The Necessary Marriage

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato

Jane is sixteen when she first becomes aware of Leonard Campbell. He is a tall, gentle man with full lips and no ring on his left hand. He is her teacher. As he begins to shower her with attention, giving her novels to read and discuss, Jane's interest grows and slowly she falls in love. They overcome obstacles in the form of school bullies and Jane's parents, and it is only once married, that Jane realises she might have settled down too early and given up too much of herself in the process. They have two children, Becca and Julia, and settle into suburban Surrey in the 1980s. But when Marion and Andrew, a couple whose passion frequently tips into violence, move in next door, Jane is forced to face up to feelings she didn't know she could have. And when Marion abandons her family to return home to Ireland, Jane steps in to help with the couple's two boys, setting in motion a series of events - all of which expose the push and pull within every family. As desire and loyalty are blurred, it becomes clear that nobody can escape the devastating impact of a family falling apart.Read by Emma Powell(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Orion

A Wartime Promise

Ruby Reynolds
Authors:
Ruby Reynolds
Orion

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato
Orion

Snowballs

Fliss Chester
Authors:
Fliss Chester

Join old university friends Jenna, Max, Angus, Bertie, Hugo and Sally as they set off for a wintry week of fun, fondue and frivolity on the glamorous Val d'Argent. On the agenda: flirting, drinking, dancing - and a bit of skiing along the way.But once they arrive they are soon waylaid by secret passions, ominous oligarchs, chairlift shenanigans and the sort of social climbing that requires more effort and planning than a solo ascent of Mont Blanc.Clip on your skis, dig out your salopettes, and get ready for some fun on the slopes...Read by Emma Powell(p) Orion Publishing Group 2017

Orion

The Spark Girl

Fiona Ford
Authors:
Fiona Ford

'A compelling first novel which I promise you won't be able to put down' Daisy Styles, bestselling author of The Bomb Girls Can her fight for the country fix her broken heart? A knock on the door early one morning wouldn't normally be cause for concern but it is 1941, Britain is at war, and Kitty Williams's fiancé Joe is far from home fighting Hitler with the Navy. As Kitty's heart is shattered into pieces hearing the news she had been dreading, resolve kicks in and she becomes more determined than ever to do her bit for the war effort. Signing up to the Women's Army is just the sort of challenge Kitty needs and on meeting new recruits Mary, Di and Peggy, she is happy to learn that the challenge won't be a lonely one. But it also won't be easy and when bombs start to fall on her home town of Coventry, and supposed allies turn against her, Kitty must find the strength she never knew she had to save her family, fix her broken heart and help her country to victory.The Spark Girl is an absorbing and poignant saga, perfect for fans of Daisy Styles, Kate Thompson and Ellie Dean. The second book in the series, The Spark Girl's Promise is now available for pre-order'a fabulous debut from an immensely talented author' Annie Groves'Ford gets to the heart of what it was like to live through the dangerous war years in this warm, captivating, down-to-earth story which is brimming with engaging characters, adventure, romance and heartbreak.' Lancashire Post 'Fiona Ford has written a charming and very appealing story...Kitty Williams is the girl we all want to be.' Swirl and Thread'an enjoyable read with a twist towards the end to keep the reader engaged until the next one!' Jera's JamboreeRead by Emma Powell(p) Orion Publishing Group 2017

Orion

Evie's Victory

Kitty Danton
Authors:
Kitty Danton
Orion

Under the Harrow

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry
Orion

Evie's Allies

Kitty Danton
Authors:
Kitty Danton

The second in a trilogy of World War Two sagas featuring Evie, a new teacher in a Devon primary school, and a supporting cast of characters destined to become as familiar as old friends.After having her heart broken not once but twice, Evie has sworn off men and is putting her energy into her now more permanent job as a teacher at the village school. She'll need all the focus she can muster as her class is much bigger and if she thought her previous boss - the mother of her scoundrel of an ex-fiancé - was bad, she's in for a tough term as the new headmaster, Mr Bassett is already proving to be more difficult. And to make matters worse, she can't escape him after the school bell rings as he's also residing as a Paying Guest at Pemberley alongside Evie and her sister, Julia. Luckily, Evie's sisters and best friend Sukie are on hand to help make a way through the tough times and as the war brings British RAF officers and American GIs to the once quiet and calm village - as well as evacuees, Land Girls and wounded servicemen - life is going to be anything but dull.Read by Emma Powell(p) 2016 Soundings

Orion

Evie's War

Kitty Danton
Authors:
Kitty Danton

After discovering that her fiancé, Timmy, has been less than faithful, Evie is faced with a dilemma of the heart - she must try to mend their relationship or otherwise cut all ties and move on. Moving on from a first love is never easy though and it's further complicated by the fact that Timmy's mother is the headmistress at Evie's school and can't hear a bad word said against him.Luckily, Evie has two sisters and a close circle of friends to help her through the tough times and as the war brings British RAF officers and American GIs to the once quiet and calm village - as well as evacuees, Land Girls and wounded servicemen - life is going to be anything but dull.(p) 2016 Soundings

Orion

Bitterblue

Kristin Cashore
Authors:
Kristin Cashore
Orion

Fire

Kristin Cashore
Authors:
Kristin Cashore

A must-read title for all fans of Patrick Rothfuss and Trudi Canavan, FIRE is an exceptional fantasy novel. From the deft characterisation to the gripping story, the fast-paced action to the evocative prose, this is one of the strongest fantasy novels of the year. Set in a world of stunningly beautiful, exceptionally dangerous monsters, Fire is one of the most dangerous monsters of all - a human one. Marked out by her vivid red hair, she's more than attractive. Fire is mesmerising.But with this extraordinary beauty comes influence and power. People who are susceptible to her appeal will do anything for her attention, and for her affection. They will turn away from their families, their work, and their duties for her. They will forget their responsibilities to please her... and worse, crush nations, neglect kingdoms and abuse their power.Aware of her power, and afraid of it, Fire lives in a corner of the world away from people, and away from temptation. Until the day comes when she is needed - a day when, for her king, she has to take a stand not only against his enemies, but also against herself...Read by Emma Powell(p) 2012 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Graceling

Kristin Cashore
Authors:
Kristin Cashore