Lara Dearman - Orion Publishing Group

Lara Dearman



Lara Dearman grew up on Guernsey before moving to the UK to study. She pursued a career in the city before taking time out to be with her young family. After her husband's job took the family to Singapore for three years, they returned to London where she studied for an MA in Creative Writing at St Mary's University. She graduated with a distinction in 2016. Lara now lives in New York with her husband and three children and is intending to write full time. Lara will be in London for a month over the summer and plans to spend plenty of time this side of the Atlantic each year.
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Coming Soon
Trapeze

Dark Sky Island

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman
Trapeze

Deep Dark Water

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman

This title was previously published in 2017 with the original title, 'The Devil's Claw''With a unique protagonist, and a brilliant setting, Lara Dearman creates more tension than a suspension bridge as you hold your breath through the book.' Helen Fields, author of Perfect SilenceAn atmospheric new crime series set in the Channel Islands, for readers of Ann Cleeves, Peter May and Elly Griffiths. Jennifer Dorey thinks she is safe. Following a traumatic incident in London, Jennifer has returned to her childhood home in Guernsey, taking a job as a reporter at the local newspaper. After the discovery of a drowned woman on a beach, she uncovers a pattern of similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years. Together with DCI Michael Gilbert, an officer on the verge of retirement, they follow a dark trail of island myths and folklore to 'Fritz', the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. His work, painstakingly executed, has so far gone undetected. But with his identity about to be uncovered, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights.And home is the last place she should be.DEEP DARK WATER introduces readers to returning characters journalist Jennifer Dorey and DCI Michael Gilbert. *************************'A dark, thrilling murder mystery in a richly-realised setting--the best debut I've read this year' Mason Cross, author of Don't Look for Me'Highly competent . . . and appealingly heartfelt' Kirkus Reviews'Atmospheric and tense. Superb!' Isabel Ashdown, author of Little Sister'A powerful debut. with smooth prose and engaging characters, Dearman draws her readers into a tangle web of secrets' Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's DaughterWhat readers have said about Deep Dark Water:'Atmospheric and superbly written' Amazon'A real page turner, keeping you guessing until the end' Amazon'Superb new series with great characters and amazing scenery. Loved it!' Amazon'A deadly mystery, with its roots in the historical past. I am so hooked!' Goodreads'This is a hugely assured and absorbing debut novel' Goodreads

Trapeze

The Devil's Claw

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman