Eithne Farry - Orion Publishing Group

Eithne Farry



Eithne Farry has had a patchwork-quilt career. A former backing-singer (and tambourinist) with indie band Talulah Gosh, she is now a freelance reviewer, writer, literary editor and radio personality, who makes most of her own clothes (or at the very least, customises those she buys ready-made in shops).
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

W&N

Yeah, I Made it Myself

Eithne Farry
Authors:
Eithne Farry

A beautifully designed, fun, unintimidating and inspirational tour around the world of home-sewing, and generally messing around with bits of material. Perfect for fans of THE GREAT BRITISH SEWING BEE.YEAH, I MADE IT MYSELF is all about DIY fashion, aimed at women who are passionate about clothes, and would love to create something of their own, but who are unsure of how to get started. Farry isn't a fashion designer, or professional seamstress, but she can cobble together a DIY summer wardrobe faster than you can say pearl-two. She's made most of her own clothes for years, to much acclaim. When people learn that she makes her own clothes they say, 'I wish I could do that.' And her immediate response is, 'You easily could, I could teach you in a few hours.'For a few months, when she was a contributing editor at ELLE, she ran a featurette that showed how to make key catwalk accessories using stuff bought from the local haberdashery. The feature was very popular - the basic premise being 'If I can do it, anyone can.' The ideas are accessible and adaptable - it's all about creating an individual look, experimenting with ideas and laughing if it all goes a bit lopsided. Innovative, young designers provide insider tips. There are also inspirational, crafty tales from friends who've come up with their own easy-to-make designs, despite not having a fashion degree. YEAH, I MADE IT MYSELF is practical, with pom-poms.