Anna Bentinck - Orion Publishing Group

Anna Bentinck



Anna Bentinck was trained at Arts Educational College and has worked extensively for BBC radio. Animation voices include the series 64 Zoo Lane. Film credits include The Trojan Women, Alice in Wonderland and To The Devil a Daughter. Her many audio books range from Tess of the d'Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy, Shirley by Charlotte Bronte, The Five Children and It, by E. Nesbit, One Day by David Nicholls , Beyond Black by Hilary Mantel, The Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys, Sanditon and The Watsons by Jane Austen to The Bible.
Orion

The Disappearance

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb

From the bestselling author of The Legacy, comes an unforgettable novel exploring guilt, love and confronting the truth. April, 1942. Amid the chaos of a night of bombing in Bath, six-year-old Davy Noyle goes missing. Frances Parry, looking after him at the time, is tortured by guilt and refuses to believe that he's dead. As quiet falls and the dust begins to settle on the damaged city, a body is found. But it's the body of a little girl, Frances's best friend Wyn, who has been missing for over twenty years. As Frances continues her search for Davy, this new discovery leads her back to her childhood, and forces her to revisit a crime that has cast a shadow over her life. This time, she vows to uncover the truth, however dark it might be. Your favourite authors love Katherine Webb: 'An enormously talented writer' Santa Montefiore 'I've loved all of Katherine Webb's books' Kate Riordan 'Katherine Webb's writing is beautiful' Elizabeth Fremantle 'Webb has a true gift for uncovering the mysteries of the human heart' Kate Williams 'A truly gifted writer of historical fiction' Lucinda Riley(p) Orion Publishing Group Ltd 2019

W&N

Flowers Over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti
Authors:
Ilaria Tuti

In a quiet village surrounded by centuries-old woods and the imposing Italian Alps, a series of violent assaults take place. Police inspector and profiler Teresa Battaglia is called back from the city when the first body is found in the woods, a naked man whose face has been disfigured and eyes gouged out. Teresa quickly realises that the killer intends to strike again, and soon more victims are found - all having been subjected to horrendous mutilations. When a new-born baby is kidnapped, Teresa's investigation becomes a race against the clock...But Teresa is also fighting a different kind of battle: a battle against her own body, weighed down by age and diabetes, and her mind, once invincible and now slowly gnawing away at her memory...Something devastating has taken place here in these mountains. Something that requires all my investigative abilities. My name is Teresa Battaglia, I am a police chief inspector, specialised in profiling, and I walk through hell every day. It's not my gun, nor my uniform: my real weapon is my mind. Yet my mind is failing me. Not my body, weathered by the passing of time, nor my tormented heart. My name is Teresa Battaglia, I have a secret that I dare not reveal even to myself, and for the first time in my life I am afraid".Read by Anna Bentinck(p) Orion Publishing Group 2019

Orion

The Hiding Places

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb

A secret buried so deep, only a liar could uncover itWiltshire, 1922. Fifteen-year old Pudding Cartwright has begun the career she always wanted, as girl groom to the Hadleigh family's horses at Manor Farm. Irene Hadleigh is struggling to adjust to her new life in sleepy Slaughterford, having married Alistair to escape a scandal in London. At a loss to occupy herself, Irene sets about restyling Manor Farm, and during the work the chance finding of a strange object, hidden away in the house for years, will change everything. When somebody close to both of them is murdered, Pudding and Irene are thrown together to seek out the identity of the killer in their midst, unaware of just how deep the roots of the crime lie. During a hot, humid summer of grief, betrayal, and misapprehensions, they will uncover truths neither of them could ever have foreseen.The perfect book group read for fans of Kate Morton, Lucinda Riley and Santa Montefiore.Read by Anna Bentinck(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

The Eye of the Reindeer

Eva Weaver
Authors:
Eva Weaver

Shortly after her sixteenth birthday, Ritva is sent away to Seili, an island to the south of Finland. A former leper colony, Seili is now home to 'hopeless cases' - to women the doctors call mad. But Ritva knows she doesn't belong there. As biting winter follows biting winter, she longs to be near to her sister, and wonders why her father ever allowed her to be taken to this desolate place. Hope arrives in the form of Martta, a headstrong girl who becomes Ritva's only friend. Martta is a Sami, from the north. All through her childhood, Ritva's mother told her wonderful Sami legends and tales - of Vaja the reindeer, the stolen sealskin, of a sacred drum hidden long ago. When Ritva and Martta decide to make their escape, this is where they will head. So begins an odyssey over frozen sea and land towards a place where healing and forgiveness can grow. This is a story about friendship, about seeing the world through a different perspective, and the stories and tales that can make up a life.Read by Anna Bentinck(p) 2016 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

The Glittering Art of Falling Apart

Ilana Fox
Authors:
Ilana Fox
Orion

The English Girl

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb
Orion

Jonathan Dark or The Evidence Of Ghosts

A K Benedict
Authors:
A K Benedict
Orion

High Tide

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
Orion

The Night Falling

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb
Orion

A Night on the Orient Express

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry

The Orient Express. Luxury. Mystery. Romance. For one group of passengers settling in to their seats and taking their first sips of champagne, the journey from London to Venice is more than the trip of a lifetime. A mysterious errand; a promise made to a dying friend; an unexpected proposal; a secret reaching back a lifetime...As the train sweeps on, revelations, confessions and assignations unfold against the most romantic and infamous setting in the world.Read by Anna Bentinck(p) 2014 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

The Long Weekend

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry

In a gorgeous quay-side hotel in Cornwall, the long weekend is just beginning...Claire Marlowe owns 'The Townhouse by the Sea' with Luca, the hotel's charismatic chef. She ensures everything runs smoothly - until an unexpected arrival checks in and turns her whole world upside down.And the rest of the guests arrive with their own baggage. There's a couple looking for distraction from a family tragedy; a man trying to make amends for an affair he bitterly regrets...and the young woman who thinks the Cornish village might hold the key to her past.Here are affairs of the heart, secrets, lies and scandal - all wrapped up in one long, hot weekend.Read by Anna Bentinck(p) 2014 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Art of Deception

A.J. Cross
Authors:
A.J. Cross

The New Year brings a gruesome discovery for forensic psychologist Dr Kate Hanson and Birmingham's Unsolved Crimes Unit: a mummified body. The victim is Nathan Troy, an art student who has been missing for 20 years. As Kate begins to dig further into Nathan's past, she discovers a series of toxic relationships. Why do his housemates refuse to talk about him? And what was his connection to the beautiful and apparently promiscuous daughter of his professor?Then the disappearance of a local teenager confirms that Nathan's killer is back. Kate and the team must work fast to untangle a web of lies and unmask a murderer who has lain dormant for two decades.Read by Anna Bentinck(p) 2013 Isis Publishing Ltd

Orion

Gone in Seconds

A.J. Cross
Authors:
A.J. Cross
Orion

The Lantern

Deborah Lawrenson
Authors:
Deborah Lawrenson

When Eve falls for the secretive, charming Dom, their whirlwind relationship leads them to purchase Les Genevriers, an abandoned house in a rural hamlet in the south of France.As the beautiful Provence summer turns to autumn, Eve finds it impossible to ignore the mysteries that haunt both her lover and the run-down old house, in particular the mysterious disappearance of his beautiful first wife, Rachel. Whilst Eve tries to untangle the secrets surrounding Rachel's last recorded days, Les Genevriers itself seems to come alive. As strange events begin to occur with frightening regularity, Eve's voice becomes intertwined with that of Benedicte Lincel, a girl who lived in the house decades before.As the tangled skeins of the house's history begin to unravel, the tension grows between Dom and Eve. In a page-turning race, Eve must fight to discover the fates of both Benedicte and Rachel, before Les Genevriers' dark history has a chance to repeat itself.Read by Jilly Bond and Anna Bentinck(p) 2011 Isis Publishing Ltd

Orion

A Field Full of Butterflies

Rosemary Penfold
Authors:
Rosemary Penfold