Richard Crompton - Night Runners - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409161295
    • Publication date:15 Nov 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780297609155
    • Publication date:15 Nov 2018

Night Runners

By Richard Crompton

  • Hardback
  • £19.99

The gripping third novel in Richard Crompton's highly acclaimed, sharply plotted Mollel series - 'a compulsive whodunnit set in Kenya' Ian Rankin

In the slums of Nairobi there is a place where the fires burn constantly and the stench of decay never fades. Dandora, the city's dumping ground, is filled with shadowy figures the world has left behind. Here too are rumours of the night runners - those said to be possessed by spirits, or the devil.

Detective Mollel understands what it means to be an outsider. Born in a Maasai village and forever at odds with the corrupt ranks of the city police, he is drawn to the case of a Fatima, a young girl who has gone missing in the slum. His search takes him deep into Nairobi's underworld, from rap clubs to voodoo healers, and to the lair of the self-styled overlord of Dandora. He learns that Fatima is not the first person to have disappeared, and to find out what has happened to her, Mollel must open his mind to things he cannot see...

Biographical Notes

Richard Crompton is an ex-BBC journalist who moved to East Africa several years ago with his wife, a human rights lawyer who worked on the Rwanda genocide trials. Richard won the DAILY TELEGRAPH Short Story Award in 2010.

http://richardcrompton.com/about/
https://twitter.com/racrompton/

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780297609131
  • Publication date: 15 Nov 2018
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

Now You See Me

Chris McGeorge
Authors:
Chris McGeorge
Orion

Flowers Over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti
Authors:
Ilaria Tuti
Orion

To Catch a Killer

Emma Kavanagh
Authors:
Emma Kavanagh

'A thrill a minute - I loved it!' Clare MackintoshNO ONE KNOWS THE MIND OF A KILLER LIKE EMMA KAVANAGH.I've been watching you DS Alice Parr.I saw you trying to save the poor young woman you found in the park.The woman I tried to kill.I've been waiting for you to find her family. To find someone who cares about her.But you can't can you?You've never had a case like this. I know everything about you. You know nothing about me.Even though I'm the man you're looking for.And you will never catch me...

Orion

The New Iberia Blues

James Lee Burke
Authors:
James Lee Burke

Detective Dave Robicheaux's world isn't filled with too many happy stories, but Desmond Cormier's rags-to-riches tale is certainly one of them. Robicheaux first met Cormier on the streets of New Orleans, when the young, undersized boy had foolish dreams of becoming a Hollywood director.Twenty-five years later, when Robicheaux knocks on Cormier's door, it isn't to congratulate him on his Golden Globe and Academy Award nominations. Robicheaux has discovered the body of a young woman who's been crucified, wearing only a small chain on her ankle. She disappeared near Cormier's Cyrpemort Point estate, and Robicheaux, along with young deputy, Sean McClain, are looking for answers. Neither Cormier nor his enigmatic actor friend Antoine Butterworth are saying much, but Robicheaux knows better.As always, Clete Purcel and Davie's daughter, Alafair, have Robicheaux's back. Clete witnesses the escape of Texas inmate, Hugo Tillinger, who may hold the key to Robicheaux's case. As they wade further into the investigation, they end up in the crosshairs of the mob, the deranged Chester Wimple, and the dark ghosts Robicheaux has been running from for years. Ultimately, it's up to Robicheaux to stop them all, but he'll have to summon a light he's never seen or felt to save himself, and those he loves.

W&N

Time is a Killer

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi

It is summer 1989 and fifteen-year-old Clotilde is on holiday with her parents in Corsica. On a twisty mountain road, their car comes off at a curve and plunges into a ravine. Only Clotilde survives. Twenty-seven years later, she returns to Corsica with her partner, Franck, and their sulky teenage daughter Valentine. Clotilde wants to the trip to do two things - to help exorcise the ghosts of her past, and to provide a bridge between her and her daughter, so that Valentine can begin to understand why her mother is the way she is. But in the very place where she spent that summer all those years ago, she receives a letter. From her mother. As if she were still alive. As fragments of memory come back, she begins to question the past. And yet it all seems impossible - she saw the corpses of her mother, her father, her brother. She has lived with their ghosts. As she tries to untangle her doubts, she is being observed by someone who very much wants the past to remain buried.

Orion

For Better and Worse

Margot Hunt
Authors:
Margot Hunt
W&N

RL's Dream

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
Orion

The Insider

Mari Hannah
Authors:
Mari Hannah
Trapeze

The Unforgotten

Amy MacKinnon
Authors:
Amy MacKinnon
Orion

Denial

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Orion

The Dream Wife

Louisa de Lange
Authors:
Louisa de Lange
Orion

The Other Sister

Elle Croft
Authors:
Elle Croft
Trapeze

Deep Dark Water

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman

'With a unique protagonist, and a brilliant setting, Lara Dearman creates more tension than a suspension bridge as you hold your breath through the book.' Helen Fields, author of Perfect SilenceAn atmospheric new crime series set in the Channel Islands, for readers of Ann Cleeves, Peter May and Elly Griffiths. Jennifer Dorey thinks she is safe. Following a traumatic incident in London, Jennifer has returned to her childhood home in Guernsey, taking a job as a reporter at the local newspaper. After the discovery of a drowned woman on a beach, she uncovers a pattern of similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years. Together with DCI Michael Gilbert, an officer on the verge of retirement, they follow a dark trail of island myths and folklore to 'Fritz', the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. His work, painstakingly executed, has so far gone undetected. But with his identity about to be uncovered, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights.And home is the last place she should be.DEEP DARK WATER introduces readers to returning characters journalist Jennifer Dorey and DCI Michael Gilbert. *************************'A dark, thrilling murder mystery in a richly-realised setting--the best debut I've read this year' Mason Cross, author of Don't Look for Me'Highly competent . . . and appealingly heartfelt' Kirkus Reviews'Atmospheric and tense. Superb!' Isabel Ashdown, author of Little Sister'A powerful debut. with smooth prose and engaging characters, Dearman draws her readers into a tangle web of secrets' Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's DaughterWhat readers have said about Deep Dark Water:'Atmospheric and superbly written' Amazon'A real page turner, keeping you guessing until the end' Amazon'Superb new series with great characters and amazing scenery. Loved it!' Amazon'A deadly mystery, with its roots in the historical past. I am so hooked!' Goodreads'This is a hugely assured and absorbing debut novel' Goodreads

Orion

Him

Clare Empson
Authors:
Clare Empson
Gollancz

Snapshot

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Orion

Exit Music

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

A mugging gone wrong ... or murder?A dissident Russian poet is found dead - at the same time a delegation of Russian businessmen arrives in town. For some, it is crucial that the case is closed quickly, clinically and with the minimum of attention.But DI Rebus and DS Siobhan Clarke believe this is something more than a random attack - especially after a particularly nasty second killing. Then, a brutal and premeditated assault on a local gangster puts Rebus in the frame - and he may not survive long enough to solve anything...

Orion

A Noise Downstairs

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Death in Provence

Serena Kent
Authors:
Serena Kent

Trapeze

The Craftsman

Sharon Bolton
Authors:
Sharon Bolton

'Filled with intrigue and suspense. The Craftsman is spellbinding.' - Clare Mackintosh'Sharon Bolton at her absolute finest. Beautifully dark and disturbing.' - Jenny Blackhurst 'Darkly gothic and brilliantly original, The Craftsman will have you spellbound.' - JP Delaney 'An absolutely terrific crime novel that takes your darkest fear and makes it reality.' - Elly Griffiths **********************Devoted father or merciless killer?His secrets are buried with him.Florence Lovelady's career was made when she convicted coffin-maker Larry Glassbrook of a series of child murders 30 years ago. Like something from our worst nightmares the victims were buried...ALIVE.Larry confessed to the crimes; it was an open and shut case. But now he's dead, and events from the past start to repeat themselves. Did she get it wrong all those years ago? Or is there something much darker at play?**********************Praise for The Craftsman'Grisly and comeplling.' - Sarah Hilary'Utterly terrifying and gripping.' - Sabine Durrant, author of TAKE ME IN 'An original, dark, and twisted tale and the words just sparkle on the page.' - Niki Mackay'I dare you to read it after dark. The Craftsman is a blood-chilling thriller that will cast a spell on you.' - Mark Edwards,No.1 Kindle bestseller 'Fabulous, utterly unique storyline, that will effortlessly stand out in the crowd of thrillers. It'll give you the creeps.' - Helen Fields 'Pitch perfect creepiness, air punching female empowerment and sinister mysteries kept me hooked to the very last page.' - Holly Seddon 'The Craftsman goes to some very dark places, and will have readers looking nervously over their shoulders with every page they turn.' - Mick Herron 'A brilliant blend of rich crime thriller with a hint of the gothic. Dark, disturbing and with women who totally rock, with the Craftsman Sharon Bolton has proven herself to be a master Craftsman herself. Buy it. Read it. Tell your friends. Then sleep with the light on.' - Sarah Pinborough

Gollancz

Elysium Fire

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds