Blanche Vaughan - Great British Food Revival: The Revolution Continues - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780297867678
    • Publication date:10 Nov 2011

Great British Food Revival: The Revolution Continues

16 celebrated chefs create mouth-watering recipes with the UK's finest ingredients

By Blanche Vaughan

  • Hardback
  • £20.00

16 celebrated chefs create mouth-watering recipes withthe UK's finest ingredients

16 celebrated chefs create mouth-watering recipes with the UK's finest ingredients

Great British Food Revival is back to champion more of Britain's unique produce and delicious ingredients. Essential varieties and breeds that have been here for centuries are in danger of disappearing, forever. Under threat from tasteless foreign invaders, market forces and food fashion, produce that has been part of our national food heritage could die out within a generation. So together, sixteen of our most celebrated and talented chefs have created delicious recipes to bring our native breeds and varieties back from the brink. Using only the best of ingredients, this collection of recipes will inspire home cooks to buy British and support our unique food heritage.

Biographical Notes

This collection of recipes includes some of the biggest names in cookery today. THE GREAT BRITISH FOOD REVIVAL: THE REVOLUTION CONTINUES features recipes from Michel Roux Jr., Mary Berry, Raymond Blanc, Gregg Wallace,Yotam Ottolenghi, Antonio Carluccio, Valentine Warner, Ainsley Harriott, John Torode, Clarissa Dickson Wright, Richard Corrigan, Angela Hartnett, Matt Tebbutt, James Martin, Gary Rhodes and Jason Atherton.There are also recipes from new food-writing talent, Blanche Vaughan.

Blanche Vaughan is a food writer and chef. She trained at the River Cafe and then worked at Moro and St John. She writes for the GUARDIAN online.
You can follow Blanche on Twitter athttps://twitter.com/blanchevaughan

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780297867647
  • Publication date: 10 Nov 2011
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

A Liverpool Secret

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

Can a chance meeting lead to fresh starts for Lillian and Blaise, or will hidden secrets threaten their new beginnings?Liverpool, 1925Fourteen-year-old Lillian Taylor has spent her childhood in a loveless orphanage after the death of her mother. When a well-dressed young woman claiming to be her aunt arrives and whisks her away to her large townhouse, Lillian hopes it signals a change in her fortunes. However there's more to Aunt Joan than meets the eye and when Joan discovers Lillian's budding romance with one of her co-workers she swiftly threatens his family. Events take a tragic turn when Joan becomes ill and reveals the secrets she's been keeping that will change Lillian's life forever.Ireland, 1954Best friends Blaise and Clodagh are packing their bags as they prepare for their new life training as nurses in England. Through a chance encounter, Blaise meets Lillian Taylor - a middle-aged woman struggling to look after her seasick grandson. After struggling with her duties at St Thomas's Hospital and feeling down on her luck, Blaise decides to look Lillian up. Starting over in Liverpool, she hopes that being a private nurse for Lillian's grandson will signal the fresh start she's been hoping for. But when a mysterious man appears one day, Blaise realises long-hidden skeletons are about to finally come out of the cupboard and truths revealed after all these years.

Seven Dials

The Hairy Bikers' British Classics

Hairy Bikers
Authors:
Hairy Bikers

Orion

Christmas at Emmerdale

Pamela Bell
Authors:
Pamela Bell

Fiction to coincide with three-part historical Emmerdale spin off show airing on ITV this Autumn. The show is billed as 'a captivating 8pm series in which cast members mark 100 years since the end of the Great War by uncovering the hidden stories of their WW1 counterparts, embarking on an immersive journey to experience a Yorkshire village at war and creating a special Armistice celebration.The books will be set during the First World War, and alongside the show, will explore the origin stories of the three most popular families on the show: The Dingles, Kings and Sugdens. The fiction will continue their storylines, offering additional content to the show and with potential for sequels.(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Trapeze

L’art de la Liste

Dominique Loreau
Authors:
Dominique Loreau

DISCOVER THE LIFE-CHANGING MAGIC OF LISTS IN THIS INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLERThe humble list has the power to change your life. In its immediacy, its simplicity and its concise, contained form, the list enables us to organise, to save time and to approach facts with clarity. Yet why do we end up with interminable To Do Lists that are never completed?After decades living in Japan, Dominique Loreau has become a master in the art of de-cluttering and simplifying. Now, in L'art de la Liste - a huge bestseller in her native France and translated into English for the first time - she turns her attentions to better list-making, showing you how to organise them and use them intelligently. Taking you on a step-by-step journey to greater productivity, this practical, inspiring book influences every aspect of your life - from home, diet and beauty to mental health and self-awareness.To perfect the art of the list is to live simpler, richer and more organised lives.

Orion Spring

Let’s Talk about Death (over Dinner)

Michael Hebb
Authors:
Michael Hebb

For readers of Being Mortal and When Breath Becomes Air, the acclaimed co-founder of Death over Dinner offers a practical, inspiring guide to life's most difficult yet important conversation. 'These are the conversations that will help us to evolve' Arianna HuffingtonOf the many critical conversations we will all have throughout our lifetime, few are as important as the ones discussing death - and not just the practical considerations, such as DNRs and wills, but what we fear, what we hope, and how we want to be remembered. Yet few of these conversations are actually happening. Inspired by his experience with his own father and countless stories from others who regret not having these conversations, Michael Hebb cofounded Death Over Dinner - an organisation that encourages people to pull up a chair, break bread, and really talk about the one thing we all have in common. Death Over Dinner has been one of the most effective end-of-life awareness campaigns to date; in just three years, it has provided the framework and inspiration for more than a hundred thousand dinners focused on having these end-of-life conversations. As Arianna Huffington said, 'We are such a fast-food culture, I love the idea of making the dinner last for hours. These are the conversations that will help us to evolve.'Let's Talk About Death (over Dinner) offers keen practical advice on how to have these same conversations - not just at the dinner table, but anywhere. There's no one right way to talk about death, but Hebb shares time- and dinner-tested prompts to use as conversation starters, ranging from the spiritual to the practical, from analytical to downright funny and surprising. By transforming the most difficult conversations into an opportunity, they become celebratory and meaningful - ways that not only can change the way we die, but the way we live.'With wisdom and grace, Michael Hebb shows us how to have the essential conversations we dread, fear - or just don't know how to have. These conversations, like this book, are expansive, filled with hope, and make us more courageous, connected, and honest' Esther Perel, New York Times bestselling author of Mating in Captivity and The State of Affairs

Seven Dials

The French Revolution

Michel Roux jr
Authors:
Michel Roux jr
Seven Dials

The Modern Italian Cook

Joe Trivelli
Authors:
Joe Trivelli
Seven Dials

Salt, Butter, Bones

Nicole Pisani
Authors:
Nicole Pisani
W&N

The Tuscan Year

Elizabeth Romer
Authors:
Elizabeth Romer
Orion

Sleeper 13

Rob Sinclair
Authors:
Rob Sinclair
Seven Dials

Roots

Tommy Banks
Authors:
Tommy Banks
Orion Spring

The Good Menopause Guide

Liz Earle
Authors:
Liz Earle
Orion Spring

Happy

Fearne Cotton
Authors:
Fearne Cotton
W&N

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato

'An intriguing tale of love and loss . . . written with verve and delivers an amazing twist' Sunday Mirror'A haunting debut about grief, loss and motherhood' The Pool 'This novel pulls you in and will have you racing to reach the end' Good Housekeeping When Katharine is found dead at the foot of her stairs, it is the mystery of her life that consumes her daughter, Laura. The medical examiner's report, in which precious parts of Katharine's body are weighed and categorised, motivates Laura to write her own version of events. But as she delves deeper into Katharine's past, she is forced to confront a new version of the woman she knew only as her mother. A woman silenced by her own mother and wronged by her husband. A woman who lived in the shadows but whose secrets are now coming to light.

Orion

Snowballs

Fliss Chester
Authors:
Fliss Chester
W&N

Jonas Kaufmann

Thomas Voigt
Authors:
Thomas Voigt

Seven Dials

The Hairy Bikers' Mediterranean Adventure (TV tie-in)

Hairy Bikers
Authors:
Hairy Bikers
Seven Dials

Les Abats

Michel Roux jr
Authors:
Michel Roux jr
Trapeze

See Ya Later

Arron Crascall
Authors:
Arron Crascall
Seven Dials

Dinner & Party

Rose Prince
Authors:
Rose Prince

"Come Over..." Whether you're a beginner looking for simple, impressive recipes to feed friends and family, or a seasoned host hoping to inject your repertoire with stylish, interesting ideas, you'll find all you need in Dinner & Party.Rose's stance on entertaining is that the cook shouldn't be banished to the kitchen; cooking for guests needn't be fussy or hard to juggle, but instead made up of dishes - some classics, some novel - that can be prepared in advance, dressed up to impress last minute and enjoyed by everyone. Practicality is central to a book updating the etiquette for entertaining in our times. With this in mind, Part 1: Dinner showcases easy options for every course, all alongside thoughtful advice about how to source ingredients, when to begin preparation and how to serve. Meanwhile, Part 2: Party provides tried and tested catering ideas for larger groups, from indoor picnics, to standing parties and Christmas dinners.With sample menus, including an innovative guide to putting the right dishes together through the seasons, this is the friendly, practical guide to making entertaining easy in the 21st century, bringing everyone together.