Kurt Vonnegut - Cat's Cradle - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

Cat's Cradle

By Kurt Vonnegut

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

One of America's greatest writers gives us his unique perspective on our fears of nuclear annihilation

One of America's greatest writers gives us his unique perspective on our fears of nuclear annihilation

Experiment.

Told with deadpan humour and bitter irony, Kurt Vonnegut's cult tale of global destruction preys on our deepest fears of witnessing Armageddon and, worse still, surviving it.

Solution.

Dr Felix Hoenikker, one of the founding fathers of the atomic bomb, has left a deadly legacy to the world. For he is the inventor of ice-nine, a lethal chemical capable of freezing the entire planet. The search for its whereabouts leads to Hoenikker's three eccentric children, to a crazed dictator in the Caribbean, to madness. Felix Hoenikker's death-wish comes true when his last, fatal, gift to mankind brings about an end that, for all of us, is nigh.

Biographical Notes

Born in 1922, Kurt Vonnegut (1922-2007) was a prisoner of war in Dresden, Germany, during the saturation bombing which devastated the city near the end of the Second World War, an experience which formed the basis for the novel which made him a world-wide bestseller, Slaughterhouse-Five. Cat's Cradle, first published in 1963, is his third novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575081956
  • Publication date: 20 May 2010
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Austral

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gateway

New York Nights

Eric Brown
Authors:
Eric Brown
Gateway

New York Blues

Eric Brown
Authors:
Eric Brown
Gateway

New York Dreams

Eric Brown
Authors:
Eric Brown

In a futuristic variation upon the modern detective story, we follow Hal as he returns from retirement, seeking the answer to the mysterious disappearance of his ex-girlfriend, last seen with a child prodigy and an unknown older man. We accompany him during his encounters with the jaded individuals who now occupy sullied Manhattan, and share his anguish at the gradual realization of the devastating effects that Virtual Reality is having upon his fellow citizens, rapidly losing their abilities to interact in the real world.

Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden

EIGHT ASTRONAUTS. ONE KILLER. NO WAY HOME. ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK meets Andy Weir's THE MARTIAN 'A rip-roaring thriller of a book that hits the ground running and doesn't stop until the final chapter' John Marrs, author of the bestselling/Radio 2 Book Club choice THE ONE * * * * * There's a murderer amongst them, and everyone's a suspect . . . Frank Kittridge is serving life for murdering his son's drug dealer, so when he's offered a deal by Xenosystems Operations - the corporation that owns the prison - he takes it. He's been selected to help build the first permanent base on Mars. Unfortunately, his crewmates are just as guilty of their crimes as he is. As the convicts set to work on the frozen wastes of Mars, the accidents multiply. Until Frank begins to suspect they might not be accidents at all . . . * * * * *'ONE WAY is what would happen if the crime and sci-fi genres got together and had a baby. Deeply immersive, chilling and atmospheric. An utterly fabulous book!' Emma Kavanagh, bestselling author of FALLING and HIDDEN 'A cracking read. A compelling vision of the near future inhabited by well motivated characters. It's a thrilling tale that grabs you and whips along to the very last breathless page' Adam Hamdy, author of PENDULUM 'Twisty and gripping' Financial Times

Gollancz

The Smoke

Simon Ings
Authors:
Simon Ings
Gateway

Agent of the Unknown

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair

Don Haig had been content to lie around and drink in the synthetic beauty of the pleasure planetoid Fyon, until a woman came into his life. A woman more beautiful and more perfect than any other female in the galaxy. A woman who brought about a curious change in Don.For she was a pocket-sized foll - a very strange and miraculous puppet who shed constant tears and held powers that Don never even dreamed of.But what Don did know was that dangerous alien forces were swiftly focusing on him and his living puppet - and that he had to discover the doll's super-scientific secret before his own life was smashed into atoms.

W&N

Not Forgetting The Whale

John Ironmonger
Authors:
John Ironmonger

WHERE WILL YOU ESCAPE TO THIS SUMMER? For fans of ELEANOR OLIPHANT, THE ROSIE PROJECT & THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY, an uplifting story about the search for a place to belong. When a young man, Joe, washes up on the sands of St Piran in Cornwall, he is quickly rescued by the villagers. From the retired village doctor and the beachcomber, to the priest's wife and the flamboyant romantic novelist, they take this lost soul into their midst. And they, in turn, come to find that he gives fresh perspectives on their lives and loves. But what the villagers don't know is why Joe fled the city for St Piran, and what he left behind. Intimate, funny and heart-warming, Not Forgetting the Whale is a story about community, the best and worst in our nature, and the search for a place to call home.'Fun, uplifting, charming' Financial Times'A warm-hearted book crammed with ideas . . . very, very good' Emerald Street'A tremendously enjoyable book' Independent on Sunday

Gateway

Gather Yourselves Together

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gateway

Reunion

John Gribbin, Marcus Chown
Authors:
John Gribbin, Marcus Chown

It is over a thousand years since the events of Double Planet, when a group of cosmonauts crashed a comet into the Moon, thereby bringing a potential life-supporting atmosphere to that desolate planet.Tugela is a young girl who has grown up in the austere post-technological society that has settled there in that time, a society dominate by the all-powerful City and its insidious cult of the Eye. As the comets stopped coming, and the atmosphere became increasingly thin, the Priests' power grew with the claim that only their rituals could bring the comets back.But a revolution is brewing among the Moon colony that aims to smash both the City and the poisonous stranglehold of superstition that has been holding it back for so long. Within this violent struggle, Tugela has a vital role to play. When she stumbles into a secret vital to the cause, she soon realises her destiny lies far beyond her homeland, beyond the deadly Forbidden Zone, perhaps even beyond the Moon itself...

Gateway

Double Planet

John Gribbin, Marcus Chown
Authors:
John Gribbin, Marcus Chown
W&N

Assignment Gestapo

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel

A sobering portrait of the absurdity of the Nazi regime and the atrocities committed by Hitler's secret police.'Frighteningly vivid, a most strongly felt piece of writing' IRISH TIMESAfter months of fighting a savage war on the Eastern Front, the 27th Penal Regiment - men considered little more than criminals - are joined by German reserves.A garrison has been attacked and occupied by Russian troops. The German soldiers have been slaughtered. Sven Hassel and his comrades are ordered to get behind Russian lines and massacre those responsible. But this is only the beginning... Because then the orders change: the regiment are sent to Hamburg, where their next assignment is guard duty for the mercilessly cruel Gestapo...

W&N

Snobs

Julian Fellowes
Authors:
Julian Fellowes

The SUNDAY TIMES bestselling novel from the award-winning creator of DOWNTON ABBEY, Oscar-winning writer of GOSFORD PARK, and author of BELGRAVIA.Edith Lavery is a woman on the make. The attractive only child of a middle-class accountant, she leaves behind her dull job in a Chelsea estate agents and manages to bag one of the most eligible bachelors of the day - Charles Broughton, heir to the Marquess of Uckfield.But is life amongst the upper echelons of 'good' society all that it seems? Edith soon discovers there's much more to the aristocracy than dancing in Anabel's, shooting small birds and understanding which fork to use at dinner. And then there is Charles's mother, the indomitable Lady Uckfield, or 'Googie' to her friends, who is none too pleased with her son's choice of breeding partner. With twists and turns aplenty, this is a comical tale worthy of a contemporary Jane Austen.

W&N

Jane Eyre

Charlotte Bronte
Authors:
Charlotte Bronte
W&N

Middlemarch

George Eliot
Authors:
George Eliot
W&N

The Mill on the Floss

George Eliot
Authors:
George Eliot

The Mill on the Floss in half the timeMaggie Tulliver's quick imagination is stifled by the claustrophobic constraints of family life in a provincial town. Her parents suppress her natural intelligence and instead focus their hopes and ambitions on her brother Tom. Disapproved of by all her relatives, Maggie yearns to be loved and admired as unconditionally as she loves and admires her morally unbending brother. But when Maggie does find love it compromises her irretrievably, and she has to face the bleak consequences of not conforming ...

W&N

Moby Dick

Herman Melville
Authors:
Herman Melville
W&N

The Pianist

Wladyslaw Szpilman
Authors:
Wladyslaw Szpilman
Gollancz

Timescape

Gregory Benford
Authors:
Gregory Benford

The year is 1998, the world is a growing nightmare of desperation, of uncontrollable pollution and increasing social unrest. In Cambridge, two scientists experiment with tachyons - subatomic particles that travel faster than the speed of light and, therefore, according to the Theory of Relativity, may move backwards in time. Their plan is to signal a warning to the previous generation.In 1962, a young Californian scientist, Gordon Bernstein, finds his experiments are being spoiled by unknown interference. As he begins to suspect something near the truth it becomes a race against time - the world is collapsing and will only be saved if Gordon can decipher the message in time.Winner of the Nebula Award for best novel, 1980Winner of the John W. Campbell Award for best novel, 1981Winner of the BSFA Award for best novel, 1980

Gateway

The Sirens Of Titan

Kurt Vonnegut
Authors:
Kurt Vonnegut

When Winston Niles Rumfoord flies his spaceship into a chrono-synclastic infundibulum he is converted into pure energy and only materializes when his waveforms intercept Earth or some other planet. As a result, he only gets home to Newport, Rhode Island, once every fifty-nine days and then only for an hour.But at least, as a consolation, he now knows everything that has ever happened and everything that ever will be. He knows, for instance, that his wife is going to Mars to mate with Malachi Constant, the richest man in the world. He also knows that on Titan - one of Saturn's moons - is an alien from the planet Tralfamadore, who has been waiting 200,000 years for a spare part for his grounded spacecraft ...