Peter Straub - Ghost Story - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575087361
    • Publication date:20 Dec 2012

Ghost Story

By Peter Straub

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

One of the great classics of modern horror!

It began shortly after the party at which one of their members, Edward Wanderley, had died - or was killed. The Chowder Society, who for years had met in customary evening dress with the object of telling each other tales of every kind, now found themselves drawn towards the supernatural. It was some sort of solace for Edward's loss. They began to tell ghost stories, extraordinary ghost stories ... ghost stories that did not always stop when the teller finished speaking ... Then came the dreams, shared simultaneously by the Chowder Society members, forecasting horrors the four ageing men can scarcely bring themselves to discuss. And now they are about to learn what happens to those who believe they can bury the past - and get away with murder.

Biographical Notes

Peter Straub is the author of fourteen novels including The Talisman (with Stephen King), Koko, The Hellfire Club and Mr. X. His latest novel is Black House, the much-anticipated sequel to The Talisman, also written with Stephen King. He has won the British Fantasy Award, three Bram Stoker Awards and two World Fantasy Swards. He lives in New York City.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575084643
  • Publication date: 28 Aug 2008
  • Page count: 528
  • Imprint: Gollancz
made me want to sleep with the light on, made the neck hairs prickle and the goose bumps march — Neil Gaiman
Gollancz

Howling Dark

Christopher Ruocchio
Authors:
Christopher Ruocchio

It was not his fight.But he will still be the one to end it.The galaxy remembers Hadrian Marlow as a hero, who burned every last alien Cielcin from the sky. The man remembers how he tried to save them - to negotiate with them, to learn more of them - and how his attempts were frustrated by his own side and creatures stranger still than any Cielcin he'd encountered thus far.Defying his orders, at the cost of love, position and power, Hadrian Marlowe's path might have ended in fire . . . but the road to it was winding, and leads through intrigue, and battle, to war . . .

Gollancz

Crowfall

Ed McDonald
Authors:
Ed McDonald

Crowfall is a gritty epic fantasy for fans of Mark Lawrence, Scott Lynch and Daniel Polansky.A sorceress cataclysm has hit the Range, the final defensive line between the Republic and the immortal Deep Kings. Tormenting red rains sweep the land, new monstrosities feed on fear in the darkness, and the power of the Nameless, the gods who protect the Republic, lies broken. The Blackwing captains who serve them are being picked off one by one, and even immortals have learned what it means to die. Meanwhile the Deep Kings have only grown stronger, and are poised to deliver a blow that will finally end the war. Ryhalt Galharrow stands apart from it all.He has been deeper into the wasteland known as the Misery than ever before. It has grown within him - changed him - but all power comes with a price, and now the ghosts of his past, formerly confined to the Misery, walk with him everywhere.They will even follow him, and the few surviving Blackwing captains, on one final mission into the darkness.Praise for Ed McDonald:'One of the best books I read this year' FANTASY BOOK REVIEW'A real fantastical page-turner' SciFiNow'This story moves at an (ahem) spellbinding pace' SFX MAGAZINE'Fabulously inventive and at times horrifyingly funny and action packed' MORNING STAR'One of the biggest fantasy debuts of the year' THE BOOK BAG'A very impressive debut, with complex characters and an imaginative setting' SFF WORLD'Ed McDonald has taken something old and made it new . . . it's epic' FANTASY BOOK CRITIC

Gollancz

We Are The Dead

Mike Shackle
Authors:
Mike Shackle
Gollancz

Smoke in the Glass

CHRIS HUMPHREYS
Authors:
CHRIS HUMPHREYS
W&N

Little Eve

Catriona Ward
Authors:
Catriona Ward
Gateway

The Curse of the Wise Woman

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany

After his father's interference in Irish politics ends with a band of killers arriving on Christmas night to assassinate him, young Charles Peridore finds himself master of the estate. During idyllic school holidays, Charles enjoys riding to hounds and hunting geese and snipe while his friend Tommy Marlin tells stories of Tir-nan-Og, the land of eternal youth that lies just beyond the bog. But when Progress arrives in the form of an English corporation determined to convert the landscape into factories and housing, it appears that an entire way of life is destined to vanish. Only one thing stands in the way: the sorcery of an old witch, whose curses the English workers do not even believe in. In the novel's unforgettable conclusion, the ancient powers of the wise woman will be pitted against the machinery of modern corporate greed, with surprising and thrilling results.

Gollancz

Season of Storms

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski
Gateway

The Charwoman's Shadow

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany

An old woman who spends her days scrubbing the floors might be an unlikely damsel in distress, but Lord Dunsany proves once again his mastery of the fantastical. The Charwoman's Shadow is a beautiful tale of a sorcerer's apprentice who discovers his master's nefarious usage of stolen shadows, and vows to save the charwoman from her slavery.

Gateway

Unquiet Land

Sharon Shinn
Authors:
Sharon Shinn
Gollancz

Empress of all Seasons

Emiko Jean
Authors:
Emiko Jean
Gollancz

The Ember Blade

Chris Wooding
Authors:
Chris Wooding

A land under occupation. A legendary sword. A young man's journey to find his destiny.Aren has lived by the rules all his life. He's never questioned it; that's just the way things are. But then his father is executed for treason, and he and his best friend Cade are thrown into a prison mine, doomed to work until they drop. Unless they can somehow break free . . .But what lies beyond the prison walls is more terrifying still. Rescued by a man who hates him yet is oath-bound to protect him, pursued by inhuman forces, Aren slowly accepts that everything he knew about his world was a lie. The rules are not there to protect him, or his people, but to enslave them. A revolution is brewing, and Aren is being drawn into it, whether he likes it or not.The key to the revolution is the Ember Blade. The sword of kings, the Excalibur of his people. Only with the Ember Blade in hand can their people be inspired to rise up . . . but it's locked in an impenetrable vault in the most heavily guarded fortress in the land.All they have to do now is steal it . . .

Gateway

Dreaming In Smoke

Tricia Sullivan
Authors:
Tricia Sullivan

Gollancz

Empire of Silence

Christopher Ruocchio
Authors:
Christopher Ruocchio

Hadrian Marlowe, a man revered as a hero and despised as a murderer, chronicles his tale in the galaxy-spanning debut of the Sun Eater series, merging the best of space opera and epic fantasy.It was not his war.On the wrong planet, at the right time, for the best reasons, Hadrian Marlowe started down a path that could only end in fire. The galaxy remembers him as a hero: the man who burned every last alien Cielcin from the sky. They remember him as a monster: the devil who destroyed a sun, casually annihilating four billion human lives--even the Emperor himself--against Imperial orders.But Hadrian was not a hero. He was not a monster. He was not even a soldier.Fleeing his father and a future as a torturer, Hadrian finds himself stranded on a strange, backwater world. Forced to fight as a gladiator and navigate the intrigues of a foreign planetary court, he will find himself fighting a war he did not start, for an Empire he does not love, against an enemy he will never understand.

Gollancz

Echoes of the Great Song

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Gollancz

Troy: Lord of the Silver Bow

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

Three lives will change the destiny of nations.Helikaon, the young prince of Dardania, haunted by a scarred and traumatic childhood. The priestess Andromache, whose fiery spirit and fierce independence threatens the might of kings. And the legendary warrior Argurios, cloaked in loneliness and driven only by thoughts of revenge.In Troy they find a city torn apart by destructive rivalries - a maelstrom of jealousy, deceit and murderous treachery. And beyond its fabled walls blood-hungry enemies eye its riches and plot its downfall.It is a time of bravery and betrayal; a time of bloodshed and fear. A time for heroes.Read by Thomas Judd(p) 2018 Orion Publishing Group

Gollancz

Troy: Shield of Thunder

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Gollancz

Troy: Fall of Kings

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

Darkness falls on the Great Green, and the Ancient World is fiercely divided.On the killing fields outside the golden city of Troy, forces loyal to the Mykene King mass. Among them is Odysseus, fabled storyteller and reluctant ally to the Mykene, who knows that he must soon face his former friends in deadly combat.Within the city, the Trojan king waits. Ailing and bitter, his hope is pinned on two heroes: his favourite son Hektor, and the dread Helikaon who will wreak terrible vengeance for the death of his wife at Mykene hands.War has been declared.As enemies, who are also kinsmen, are filled with bloodlust, they know that many of them will die, and that some will become heroes: heroes who will live for ever in a story that will echo down the centuries.Read by Thomas Judd(p) 2018 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

The Hellfire Club

Peter Straub
Authors:
Peter Straub

They are dying, one by one. THE HELLFIRE CLUB is a reissued thriller from the multi-million copy bestselling author, Peter Straub.'The Hellfire Club' moves like an express train - very fine work indeed'STEPHEN KINGWealthy, middle-aged women in an exclusive Connecticut suburb have each disappeared from blood-spattered bedrooms. Their murderer remains at large. Nora Chancel, wife of publishing scion Davey Chancel, fears she may be next. After all, her past has branded her a victim . . . .THE HELLFIRE CLUB is Peter Straub at his very best. A nerve-jangling thriller of astonishing pace, featuring one of the most hypnotic killers ever created.

Gateway

A Wizard of Earthsea

Ursula K. Le Guin
Authors:
Ursula K. Le Guin

Ged, the greatest sorcerer in all Earthsea, was called Sparrowhawk in his reckless youth. Hungry for power and knowledge, Sparrowhawk tampered with long-held secrets and loosed a terrible shadow upon the world. This is the tale of his testing, how he mastered the mighty words of power, tamed an ancient dragon, and crossed death's threshold to restore the balance.

Gollancz

Elantris

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Elantris was built on magic and it thrived. But then the magic began to fade and Elantris began to rot. And now its shattered citizens face domination by a powerful Imperium motivated by dogged religious views. Can a young Princess unite the people of Elantris, rediscover the lost magic and lead a rebellion against the imperial zealots? Brandon Sanderson's debut fantasy showed his skill as a storyteller and an imaginer of baroque magical systems to be fully developed from the start.