Arthur C. Clarke and Stephen Baxter - Firstborn - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575083417
    • Publication date:12 Feb 2009

Firstborn

A Time Odyssey Book Three

By Arthur C. Clarke and Stephen Baxter

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Two of the biggest names in SF together again, with the third of the acclaimed Time's Odyssey sequence

Two of the biggest names in SF together again, with the third of the acclaimed Time's Odyssey sequence

With this epic tale of altered histories and different earths, a universe where Alexander's empire prompted a different past, a world where strange alien 'eyes' gaze upon a fractured reality, a time when man is looking to colonise the red planet, Arthur C. Clarke and Stephen Baxter scale new heights of ambition and sheer story telling brio.

This is classic SF adventure from two of the biggest names in the genre. A heady combination of high concept SF, big engineering projects and human drama.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575085824
  • Publication date: 09 Jul 2009
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gateway

The Sands of Mars

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke
Gollancz

Xeelee: Redemption

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Xeelee: Vengeance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

The Massacre of Mankind

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

The Northland Trilogy

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Behemoth

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

They have measured the slow pulse of the seasons as the Earth spins its stately annual dance. Their memories stretch back across the million-year cycles of the ice sheets.Their stories tell of the making of the world. And as the millenia have passed, their legends have served them well.And a thousand years from now, on a different world, they will be the difference between life and death, between extinction and a future as long as the past.This new ebook edition collects three of Stephen Baxter's early books together for the first time.Starting with the story of SilverHair, the last of the few remaining mammoths that have survived in a Siberian evolutionary backwater the MAMMOTH trilogy is the story of the mammoths of history and legend. It is their story built on their own myths and traditions. Conscious and intelligent, the mammoths of this trilogy have, within the limits of their nature, their own culture and oral mythology, even a creation myth, which they will use to tell their story, understand their world and try to cope with the encroachments of mankind.

Gollancz

Destiny's Children

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Time's Tapestry

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Includes all four novels: Emperor, Conqueror, Navigator, WeaverCollected for the first time in one complete volume.An epic series of counter-factual historical thrillers with a plot that weaves a story over a thousand years in the making. From the decline of the Roman Empire and the emergence of Britain to the discovery of America and the modern world of World War Two, follow the threads of this superb alternate history.

Gollancz

Obelisk

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Xeelee: Endurance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Return to the eon-spanning and universe-crossing conflict between humanity and the unknowable alien Xeelee in this selection of uncollected and unpublished stories, newly edited and placed in chronological reading order.From tales charting the earliest days of man's adventure to the stars to stories of Old Earth, four billion years in the future, the range and startling imagination of Baxter is always on display. As humanity rises and falls, ebbs and flows, one thing is always needed - the ability to endure.Contains eleven short stories and novellas.

Gollancz

Xeelee Sequence

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Beginning with RAFT in 1991, Stephen Baxter's epic sequence of Xeelee novels introduced readers to perhaps the most ambitious fictitious universe ever created. Beginning with the rise and fall of sub-quantum civilisations in the first nano-seconds after the Big Bang and ending with the heat death of the universe billions of years from now the series charts the story of mankind's epic war against the ancient and unknowable alien race the Xeelee.Along the way it examines questions of physics, the nature of reality, the evolution of mankind and its possible future. It looks not just at the morality of war but at the morality of survival and our place in the universe.This is a landmark in SF. And now, for the first time, all ten titles comprising the Xeelee sequence are collected together in one volume. Includes: Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux, Ring, Coalescent, Exultant, Transcendent, Resplendent, Vacuum Diagrams, Xeelee: Endurance

Gollancz

The Medusa Chronicles

Alastair Reynolds, Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds, Stephen Baxter

Inspired by Sir Arthur C. Clarke's short story A Meeting with Medusa, this novel, with permission from the Clarke Estate, continues the story of Commander Howard Falcon over centuries of space-exploration, interaction with AI, first contact and beyond. All brought to life by two of our greatest SF authors, Stephen Baxter and Alastair Reynolds.Howard Falcon almost lost his life in an accident . . . and a combination of human ingenuity and technical expertise brought him back. Not as himself, but as an augmented human: part man, part machine, and exceptionally capable.The Medusa Chronicles charts his journey through time, the changing interaction between humanity and our universe, and combined moments of incredible action with unparalleled exploration of and expansion into space. A compelling read from the beginning, this is classic SF which has appeal for readers who like Gravity and The Martian.

Gateway

Silverhair

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Stephen Baxter breaks genre boundaries and brings his unique imagination, epic scope and elegant style to an anthropomorphic fantasy. Starting with the story of a young female mammoth and the struggle her herd has to survive into the present day on a remote Siberian Island the MAMMOTH trilogy encompasses thousands of millions of years, the geological and climatic history of earth and a vision of a startling future. All via an astounding evocation of mammoth. Life, biology, intelligence, culture, myth and legend. It is a triumph of imaginative story telling.

Gateway

Longtusk

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gateway

Icebones

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Ultima

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Fresh from his latest collaboration with Terry Pratchett on the Long Earth sequence Stephen Baxter now returns to the mysteries and challanges first hinted at in his acclaimed novel PROXIMA.In PROXIMA we discovered ancient alien artifacts on the planet of Per Ardua - hatches that allowed us to step across light years of space as if we were stepping into another room. The universe opened up to us. Now in ULTIMA the consequences of this new freedom make themselves felt. And we discover that there are minds in the universe that are billions of years old and they have a plan for us. For some of us. But as we learn the true nature of the universe we also discover that we have countless pasts all meeting in this present and that our future is terrifyingly finite. It's time for us to fight to take back control.This is grand scale, big idea SF of the best possible sort. It is set to build on the massive success of PROXIMA and define Stephen Baxter's work going forward.

Gateway

Xeelee: Vacuum Diagrams

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gateway

The Snows of Olympus

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke

This is the story of how a world could be resurrected¿Mars is a barren planet, almost without atmosphere and with a temperature ranging from near zero to 120 degrees below. No water flows and there is no evidence that life has ever existed there.Yet Mars is Earth's near neighbour and has always exerted a powerful hold on our imagination. The astronomer Lowell thought he'd discovered canals on the planet's surface; H.G. wells (and his near namesake Orson) speculated on the red planet's inhabitants invading Earth; sf writers have always used Mars as a setting and continue to do so.In the Snows of Olympus Arthur C. Clarke uses a revolutionary computer program to show, in words and pictures, how the surface of the planet would change as, gradually, scientists created an atmosphere and raised the temperature. Taking as his starting point Olympus Mons, the highest mountain in the Solar System, a 27km extinct volcano, Clarke creates detailed 'photographs' of the Martian surface and then shows how the landscape would change as vegetation began to thrive and water to flow. He speculates about how this might happen, about the journey to Mars and about what living on the planet would be like. The result is one of the most fascinating, challenging and imaginatively stimulating books of the year.Arthur C. Clarke has long been hailed as the most visionary and accurate of science fiction and non-fiction writers, having predicted communications satellites years before their development. In this extraordinary booked he chart the next chapter of humanity's future in space.

Gateway

Islands in the Sky

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke

When young Roy Malcolm won the aviation quiz contest, his prize should have meant an ordinary sight-seeing jaunt on one of the man-made space stations that circled the earth. But instead the trip turned into a terrifying journey as misadventure after misadventure plagued the artificial satellite. The climatic moment came when one of the crew pushed the wrong button and rocketed the runaway ship into outer space...

Gollancz

Alternate Histories

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Here, collected for the first time in eBook form, are seven of Stephen Baxter's most remarkable and enjoyable novels, all dealing with alternate histories.In the TIME'S TAPESTRY series - containing the novels EMPEROR, CONQUEROR, NAVIGATOR and WEAVER - we see a series of different versions of our own world's history, constantly changing and being altered. Covering the time from the Roman occupation of Britain through to the German invasion of 1940, this series explains why our history is the way it is, and what might have happened differently.In the NORTHLAND trilogy (STONE SPRING, BRONZE SUMMER, IRON WINTER), Baxter explores an alternative creation of the British landscape, following a stone-age tribe from the now-flooded land-bridge that once connected Great Britain and Europe. In their frantic attempts to hold back the rising seas, the people of Northland will discover new techniques and technologies - discoveries that will change the course of human civilisation.