Christopher Priest - The Islanders - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575089075
    • Publication date:22 Sep 2011

The Islanders

By Christopher Priest

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Reality is illusory and magical in the stunning new literary SF novel from the multiple award winning Christopher Priest.

A tale of murder, artistic rivalry and literary trickery; a chinese puzzle of a novel where nothing is quite what it seems; a narrator whose agenda is artful and subtle; a narrative that pulls you in and plays an elegant game with you.

The Dream Archipelago is a vast network of islands. The names of the islands are different depending on who you talk to, their very locations seem to twist and shift. Some islands have been sculpted into vast musical instruments, others are home to lethal creatures, others the playground for high society. Hot winds blow across the archipelago and a war fought between two distant continents is played out across its waters.

THE ISLANDERS serves both as an untrustworthy but enticing guide to the islands, an intriguing, multi-layered tale of a murder and the suspect legacy of its appealing but definitely untrustworthy narrator.

It shows Christopher Priest at the height of his powers and illustrates why he has remained one of the country's most prized novelists.

Biographical Notes

Christopher Priest's novels have built him an inimitable dual reputation as a contemporary novelist and a leading figure in modern SF and fantasy. His novel THE PRESTIGE is unique in winning both a major literary prize (THE JAMES TAIT BLACK AWARD and a major genre prize THE WORLD FANTASY AWARD); THE SEPARATION won both the ARTHUR C. CLARKE and the BRITISH SCIENCE FICTION AWARDS. He was selected for the original BEST OF YOUNG BRITISH NOVELISTS in 1983.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575088641
  • Publication date: 13 Sep 2012
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Gollancz
W&N

Dolores

Lauren Aimee Curtis
Authors:
Lauren Aimee Curtis

On a hot day in late June, a young girl kneels outside a convent, then falls on her face. When the nuns take her in, they name her Dolores. Dolores adjusts to the rhythm of her new life - to the nuns with wild hairs curling from their chins, the soup chewed as if it were meat, the bells that ring throughout the day. But in the dark, private theatre of her mind are memories - of love motels lit by neon red hearts, discos in abandoned hospitals and a boy called Angelo. And inside her, a baby is growing.

Gollancz

Episodes

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest
Gollancz

An American Story

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest
Trapeze

Would Like to Meet

Rachel Winters
Authors:
Rachel Winters

Long-suffering assistant Evie Summers will lose her job unless she can convince her film agency's biggest and most difficult client, Ezra Chester, to finish the script for a Hollywood romcom. The catch? He hasn't started writing it. Suffering from 'writer's block,' he will only put pen to paper if singleton Evie can prove to him that you can fall in love like they do in the movies. Forget internet dating, Evie can only meet a man the way that Sally met Harry, or Hugh Grant meets anyone. Cue her entering into one ridiculous romcom scenario after another. But can life ever be like the movies?Because if this was a romcom, surely the assistant would fall in love with the arrogant yet ridiculously good-looking screenwriter and not, for example, the sensible single dad she meets along the way.Of course, real life is never that straightforward . . .For readers who enjoyed Jo Watson's Love You, Love You Not, Lucy Vine's Hot Mess, Sophie Kinsella's I Owe You One and To All The Boys I've Loved Before

W&N

Call Him Mine

Tim MacGabhann
Authors:
Tim MacGabhann
Orion

Something to Live For

Richard Roper
Authors:
Richard Roper
Orion

Bring Me Sunshine

Laura Kemp
Authors:
Laura Kemp
Trapeze

Strings Attached

Erin Reinelt
Authors:
Erin Reinelt

The laugh-out-loud romantic comedy, all about the highs and lows of modern dating, with a cheeky twist...******Newly single Jean is dating again... it just so happens that she's dating a married couple.Straight-laced Jean has just broken up with her overgrown baby of a boyfriend. At 30, she's always done what's expected of her - by her traditional parents, by her demanding boss, and by her disaster of an ex-boyfriend - and if she doesn't have some fun now, when will she? Taking her life into her own hands, she decides to do something that takes her out of her comfort zone; a woman heels-over-head, and not head-over-heels, in love. Jean's sexual liberation is off to a cracking start when she meets married-but-open pianist Gabriel. What better way to explore all that modern romance has to offer than with a polyamorous love affair? From navigating tricky waters with Gabriel and his wife, to dating a pansexual couple, via a masked sex party and orgasmic meditation retreat, Jean screams 'Yes!!' to life. But can relationships last, without entangled hearts being broken?For fans of Dolly Alderton, The Wrong Knickers, Hot Mess and The List, anyone who enjoyed Netflix series LOVE and SET IT UP, and for fans of TV shows FLEABAG and GIRLS.

Orion

Fame Adjacent

Sarah Skilton
Authors:
Sarah Skilton
Orion

A Vintage Summer

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley

The heartwarming new novel from bestselling author Cathy Bramley.

Orion

Shadows of Athens

JM Alvey
Authors:
JM Alvey
W&N

The River

Peter Heller
Authors:
Peter Heller

'URGENT, VISCERAL WRITING: I COULDN'T TURN THE PAGES FAST ENOUGH Clare Mackintosh, bestselling author of Let Me LieTWO FRIENDS Wynn and Jack have been best friends since their first day of college, brought together by their shared love of literature and the great outdoors.THE ADVENTURE OF A LIFETIME When they decide to take time off university and canoe down the Maskwa River in northern Canada, they anticipate the ultimate wilderness experience. No phones. No fellow travellers. No way of going back. A HELLISH RIDE But as a raging wildfire starts to make its way towards them, their idyllic expedition becomes a desperate race for survival. And when a man suddenly appears, claiming his wife has vanished, the fight against nature's destructive power becomes entangled with a much deadlier game of cat and mouse.Because the only thing more dangerous than a burning forest is a man's thirst for revenge...'Masterful... An exhilarating tale delivered with the pace of a thriller and the wisdom of a grizzled nature guide' Kirkus (Starred Review)'A heart-pounding adventure that's hard to put down' Library Journal (Starred Review)'Like Mark Twain and Toni Morrison, Heller is a rare talent' Elle

Orion

If Only I Could Tell You

Hannah Beckerman
Authors:
Hannah Beckerman
Orion

The Light Over London

Julia Kelly
Authors:
Julia Kelly
W&N

Flowers Over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti
Authors:
Ilaria Tuti
Orion

The Little Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe

Searching for love? You'll find it at The Little Café at the End of the Pier... The Little Café at the End of the Pier is the Café at the End of the Pier novellas collected together for the first time.When Jo's beloved grandparents ask for her help in running their little café at the end of the pier in Salthaven-on-Sea she jumps at the chance. The café is a hub for many people: the single dad who brings his little boy in on a Saturday morning; the lady who sits alone and stares out to sea; the woman who pops in after her morning run.Jo soon realises that each of her customers is looking for love - and she knows just the way to find it for them. She goes about setting each of them up on blind dates - each date is held in the café, with a special menu she has designed for the occasion.But Jo has never found love herself. She always held her grandparents' marriage up as her ideal and she hasn't found anything close to that. But could it be that love is right under her nose...?**The Little Café at the End of the Pier is the collected Café at the End of the Pier novellas. If you have already read and enjoyed the novellas then you have already read The Little Café at the End of the Pier.*********Readers love The Café at the End of the Pier:'Brings a smile to your face and a tear to your eye' - Goodreads reviewer'Heartwarming and made me smile... I can't wait to read more' - Goodreads reviewer'Perfectly charming and totally yummy' - Amazon reviewer

Orion

The Botanist's Daughter

Kayte Nunn
Authors:
Kayte Nunn

'Fast-moving and full of surprises...while delivering a poignant and heart-warming story of romance and new beginnings ' Kate ForsythA buried secret... Present day: Anna is focused on growing her new gardening business and renovating her late grandmother's house. But when she discovers a box hidden in a wall cavity, containing water colours of exotic plants, an old diary and a handful of seeds, she finds herself thrust into a centuries-old mystery. One that will send her halfway across the world to Kew Gardens and then onto Cornwall in search of the truth.A lady adventurer...1886: Elizabeth Trebithick is determined to fulfil her father's dying wish and continue his life's work as an adventurer and plant-hunter. So when she embarks on a perilous journey to discover a rare and miraculous flower, she will discover that the ultimate betrayal can be found even across the seas...Two women, separated by centuries. Can one mysterious flower bring them together?

W&N

The Museum of Modern Love

Heather Rose
Authors:
Heather Rose

'One of my stand-out Australian reads from 2016 . . . A glorious novel, meditative and special' Hannah Kent, author of BURIAL RITESArky Levin, a film composer in New York, has promised his wife that he will not visit her in hospital, where she is suffering in the final stages of a terminal illness. She wants to spare him a burden that would curtail his creativity, but the promise is tearing him apart. One day he finds his way to MOMA and sees Mariana Abramovic in The Artist is Present. The performance continues for seventy-five days and, as it unfolds, so does Arky. As he watches and meets other people drawn to the exhibit, he slowly starts to understand what might be missing in his life and what he must do.

Trapeze

The Growing Pains of Jennifer Ebert, Aged 19 Going on 91

David M. Barnett
Authors:
David M. Barnett

'The characters jump right off the page and into your heart.' Amazon reviewer, 5 starsNineteen-year-old Jennifer is regretting her hasty move into Sunset Promenade, an unusual retirement home taking in students to save money. Despite their differences in age, Jennifer and the older residents thrive and embark on a series of new adventures. But when Sunset Promenade is threatened with closure, cracks begin to show, and this quirky group of friends must work together to save their home.The Growing Pains of Jennifer Ebert, aged 19 going on 91 is a funny, warm and uplifting novel about the importance of friendship, the value of community, and how it's never too late to have the time of your life...'I loved every word of this book and would advise people take an afternoon off, find a comfy spot and lose yourself for a few hours in the world of Sunset Promenade.' - Amazon reviewerReaders are loving The Growing Pains of Jennifer Ebert'Brilliant page turner''this is a lovely book''a really good read''a wonderful story'******************* Previously published as The Lonely Hearts Cinema Club

Orion

The Lido

Libby Page
Authors:
Libby Page