M. John Harrison - Climbers - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575092174
    • Publication date:09 May 2013

Climbers

A Novel

By M. John Harrison

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The first novel to win the BOARDMAN TASKER PRIZE, now with a brand new introduction by Robert Macfarlane, author of THE OLD WAYS.

One of M. John Harrison's most acclaimed novels in a career of near universal acclaim, CLIMBERS is, perhaps, the least fantastical of his novels. Yet it carries life-changing moments, descriptions of landscape bordering on the hallucinogenic and flights of pure fictive power that leave any notion of the divide between realistic and unrealistic fiction far behind. First published in 1989, CLIMBERS has remained a strong favourite with fans and reviewers alike.

A young man seeks to get a grip on his life by taking up rock-climbing. He hopes that by engaging with the hard realities of the rock and the fall he can grasp what is important about life. But as he is drawn into the obsessive world of climbing he learns that taking things to the edge comes with its own price.

Retreating from his failed marriage to Pauline, Mike leaves London for the Yorkshire moors, where he meets Normal and his entourage, busy pursuing their own dreams of escape. Travelling from crag to crag throughout the country, they are searching for the unattainable: the perfect climb. Through rock-climbing, Mike discovers an intensity of experience - a wash of pain, fear and excitement - that obliterates the rest of his world. Increasingly addicted to the adrenaline, folklore and camaraderie of the sport, he finds, for a time, a genuine escape. But it is gained at a price...

This dark, witty and poetic novel is full of the rugged beauty of nature, of the human drive to test oneself against extremes, and of the elation such escape can bring.

Biographical Notes

M. John Harrison (1945 - ) Michael John Harrison is the author of, amongst others, the Viriconium stories, The Centauri Device, Climbers, The Course of the Heart, Signs of Life, Light and Nova Swing. He has won the Boardman Tasker Award (Climbers), the James Tiptree Jr Award (Light) and the Arthur C. Clarke Award (Nova Swing). He lives in Shropshire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575092181
  • Publication date: 09 May 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Orion

The Cutting Crew

Steve Mosby
Authors:
Steve Mosby
W&N

The Most Fun We Ever Had

Claire Lombardo
Authors:
Claire Lombardo
Gollancz

Wolf Rain

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Orion

You Can Take Her Home Now

Anna Jefferson
Authors:
Anna Jefferson

That moment when you realise . . . you have absolutely no clue.Emily Jones is a new mum: she's bought the swank buggy, planned her labour soundtrack, read the books. Then her little girl actually arrives and Emily realises: she has all the gear, no idea - and only 12 months of maternity leave to figure it out. Lonely but not alone, it's the women Emily befriends in this first year who really see her through to the other side. Perfect for fans of The Unmumsy Mum, Louise Pentland and Gill Sims. (p) Orion Publishing Group Ltd 2019

Orion

Fame Adjacent

Sarah Skilton
Authors:
Sarah Skilton
Orion

Three Bullets

R.J. Ellory
Authors:
R.J. Ellory
W&N

Bird Summons

Leila Aboulela
Authors:
Leila Aboulela
W&N

Flowers Over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti
Authors:
Ilaria Tuti

In a quiet village surrounded by centuries-old woods and the imposing Italian Alps, a series of violent assaults take place. Police inspector and profiler Teresa Battaglia is called back from the city when the first body is found in the woods, a naked man whose face has been disfigured and eyes gouged out. Teresa quickly realises that the killer intends to strike again, and soon more victims are found - all having been subjected to horrendous mutilations. When a new-born baby is kidnapped, Teresa's investigation becomes a race against the clock...But Teresa is also fighting a different kind of battle: a battle against her own body, weighed down by age and diabetes, and her mind, once invincible and now slowly gnawing away at her memory...Something devastating has taken place here in these mountains. Something that requires all my investigative abilities. My name is Teresa Battaglia, I am a police chief inspector, specialised in profiling, and I walk through hell every day. It's not my gun, nor my uniform: my real weapon is my mind. Yet my mind is failing me. Not my body, weathered by the passing of time, nor my tormented heart. My name is Teresa Battaglia, I have a secret that I dare not reveal even to myself, and for the first time in my life I am afraid".Read by Anna Bentinck(p) Orion Publishing Group 2019

W&N

Restless Souls

Dan Sheehan
Authors:
Dan Sheehan
Gollancz

Mistborn: Secret History

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Mistborn: Secret History is a companion story to the original Mistborn trilogy. As such, it contains HUGE SPOILERS for the books Mistborn (The Final Empire), The Well of Ascension, and The Hero of Ages. It also contains very minor spoilers for the book The Bands of Mourning. Mistborn: Secret History builds upon the characterization, events, and worldbuilding of the original trilogy. Reading it without that background will be a confusing process at best. In short, this isn't the place to start your journey into Mistborn (though if you have read the trilogy - but it has been a while - you should be just fine, so long as you remember the characters and the general plot of the books). Saying anything more here risks revealing too much. Even knowledge of this story's existence is, in a way, a spoiler. There's always another secret.

Orion

Our Life in a Day

Jamie Fewery
Authors:
Jamie Fewery
Orion

The Adults

Caroline Hulse
Authors:
Caroline Hulse
Orion

The Three Secret Cities

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
W&N

The Lightkeeper's Daughters

Jean Pendziwol
Authors:
Jean Pendziwol

SHORTLISTED FOR THE HWA DEBUT CROWN 2018*** A RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK ***Elizabeth grew up in a lighthouse, inseparable from her enigmatic twin sister Emily. Their father, the lightkeeper, kept a journal of his observations and their daily life. When those journals are discovered on a shipwrecked boat, many decades later, Elizabeth is living in a retirement home and her eyesight is failing. She enlists the help of a troubled teenager, Morgan, to read to her, and an unlikely friendship grows between the two. But as Morgan reads on, Elizabeth discovers that the past revealed is not as she remembers it, and that the journal may contain answers to unexplained events that have haunted her all her life . . .'A perfect hammock read for those who love the Brontë sisters and Jodi Picoult in equal measure' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Harry Bosch works cold cases, helping out the under-funded San Fernando police department. When a double murder at a local pharmacy is called in, Bosch is the most seasoned detective on the scene.But with experience, come the ghosts of long-forgotten crimes. A death row inmate claims Bosch framed him, and that new DNA evidence proves it. The LAPD investigators say the case is watertight, leaving Bosch out in the wilderness to clear his name and keep a sadistic killer behind bars.There's only one person he can trust to help prove his innocence: Micky Haller, The Lincoln Lawyer...As both cases tangle around him, Bosch learns there are two kinds of truth: the kind that won't die and the kind that kills.

Trapeze

We Own The Sky

Luke Allnutt
Authors:
Luke Allnutt
Orion

The Wrong Child

Barry Gornell
Authors:
Barry Gornell

How far would you go to protect your child?When tragedy strikes in a small Scottish village, everyone in the community is affected.Most people believe one child is to blame for what happened.But could a little boy really be responsible? And what lengths will his parents go to protect him?THE WRONG CHILD is the most thought-provoking novel of 2018, perfect for fans of WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN by Lionel Shriver and MY ABSOLUTE DARLING by Gabriel Tallent.****************READERS ARE CALLING THE WRONG CHILD 'UNFORGETTABLE':'Amazing' - Amazon 5* review'A great page-turner!' Amazon 5* review'Hopefully it will receive the wider audience it so richly deserves' - Amazon 5* review'Challenges your notions and ideals of morality' - Amazon review'Will stick with you long after you finish it!' Amazon review****************What the critics are saying about THE WRONG CHILD:'A thought-provoking read' - THE SUN'Genuinely gripping' - THE HERALD'A study of guilt and grief' - DAILY MAIL'Brilliant, but dark as hell' - METRO'Astonishing' - PSYCHOLOGIES'So visceral it seeps into your pores' - DAILY RECORD'Stunning. Macabre, unsettling and beautifully poetic' - BRIAN CONAGHAN, Costa Award winning author

Gollancz

The Hanging Tree

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
Orion

The Passage

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin

NOW A MAJOR TV SERIES!An epic, awe-inspiring novel of good and evil - now a global bestseller.Amy Harper Bellafonte is six years old and her mother thinks she's the most important person in the whole world.She is.Anthony Carter doesn't think he could ever be in a worse place than Death Row.He's wrong.FBI agent Brad Wolgast thinks something beyond imagination is coming.It is.THE PASSAGE. Soon to be an epic drama on Fox from writer Elizabeth Heldens and executive producer Ridley Scott.

Orion

Dreamer

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James