Michael Scott Rohan - The Anvil of Ice - Orion Publishing Group

The Anvil of Ice

By Michael Scott Rohan

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The first volume of Michael Scott Rohan's acclaimed The Winter of the World sequence.

The chronicles of The Winter of the World echo down the ages in half-remembered myth and song - tales of mysterious powers of the Mastersmiths, of the forging of great weapons, of the subterranean kingdoms of the duergar, of Gods who walked abroad, and of the Powers that struggled endlessly for dominion.

In the Northlands, beleaguered by the ever-encroaching Ice and the marauding Ekwesh, a young cowherd, saved from the raiders by the mysterious Mastersmith, discovers in himself an uncanny power to shape metal - but it is a power that may easily be turned to evil ends, and on a dreadful night he flees his new home, and embarks on the quest to find both his own destiny, and a weapon that will let him stand against the Power of the Ice.

His wanderings will bring him great friends but earn him greater enemies, and eventually they will transform him from lowly cowherd to a mastersmith fit to stand with the greatest of all men.

Biographical Notes

Michael Scott Rohan (1951 - )
Michael Scott Rohan was born in Edinburgh, in 1951, of a French father and Scottish mother, and was educated at the Edinburgh Academy and St.Edmund Hall, Oxford. He is the author of twelve fantasy and science-fiction novels, including the award-winning Winter of the World trilogy, and co-author of two more, as well as short stories and several non-fiction books. His books have appeared throughout Europe, the USA and the rest of the world, and have been republished as eBooks by SF Gateway. Besides writing novels he has been a Times columnist, edited reference books, and reviews and writes about classical music for all the major British music magazines, currently BBC Music Magazine and Opera. He enjoys singing, arguing, beer, Oriental food, travelling, playing with longbows and computers, and hobbies including archaeology and palaeontology. After 2000, diagnosed with incurable illness, he abandoned fiction writing. However, he has managed to continue travelling, throughout Scandinavia, North and South America, and both Antarctica and the Arctic, and he is finishing another fantasy novel. He and his American wife Deborah now live in a small village near Cambridge, and in Edinburgh.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575092211
  • Publication date: 10 Sep 2015
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Trapeze

My Mad Dad

Robyn Hollingworth
Authors:
Robyn Hollingworth
Orion

The Spark Girl's Promise

Fiona Ford
Authors:
Fiona Ford

'A compelling first novel which I promise you won't be able to put down' Daisy Styles on The Spark GirlJanuary 1941. Peggy Collins has learned a lot during her time as a Spark Girl. Posted to Swansea, as a driver to the squadron leader, she often hears things she shouldn't and she knows to be discreet, understanding how serious the phrase, loose lips sink ships really is. Peggy meets and falls in love with pilot Jim Hudson, but her heart is broken when he becomes missing in action and Peggy has to fear the worst. But that isn't the end of the shocks in store for Peggy and she is forced to remember a promise made long ago. Can she keep her word while the bombs continue to fall?Full of wartime adventure, romance and heartbreak, The Spark Girl's Promise is perfect for fans of Daisy Styles, Kate Thompson and Ellie Dean.Praise for The Spark Girl, Fiona Ford's heart-warming debut:'a fabulous debut from an immensely talented author' Annie Groves 'Ford gets to the heart of what it was like to live through the dangerous war years in this warm, captivating, down-to-earth story which is brimming with engaging characters, adventure, romance and heartbreak.' Lancashire Post 'an enjoyable read with a twist towards the end to keep the reader engaged until the next one!' Jera's Jamboree

W&N

Relish

Ruth Cowen
Authors:
Ruth Cowen

Orion

Presumed Dead

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross

'Mason Cross is a fast-paced, high octane thriller writer.' Simon KernickTHENFifteen years ago, an unidentified killer terrorised northern Georgia, killing hikers with two shots from a pistol, before disposing of the bodies along the remote trails and in the rivers in the vicinity of Blood Mountain. The killer was never brought to justice. NOWCarter Blake has returned home for the first time in many years. The visit stirs old memories, including a girl from school who vanished without a trace. Blake runs into the mother of the girl, who mentions a case she's come across in Georgia, where someone is convinced their relative is still alive, fifteen years on. Adeline Connor was the Blood Mountain Killer's last suspected victim. She vanished without a trace.So why is her brother so convinced she's still alive?'One of the best new series characters since Jack Reacher' Lisa Gardner

Orion

Little Eve

Catriona Ward
Authors:
Catriona Ward
W&N

Welcome to Hell?

John McManus
Authors:
John McManus

Whenever people in Britain talk about Turkish football, they don't tend to talk about camaraderie, hospitality and humour. They mention banners proclaiming 'Welcome to hell'. Or Leeds United fans stabbed to death on an Istanbul street. If they do consider the football, then it's not for long. The Turkish league is viewed as an elephant's graveyard for players and managers past their prime: Dirk Kuyt, Graham Souness, Didier Drogba, Robin van Persie. But Graham Souness has faded from memory for most Turkish football fans, and Turkish teams regularly compete at the latter stages of European competition. There is clearly a gap between perception and reality.So what is Turkish football really about? Through visits to far-flung clubs, encounters with characterful players and experiences at riotous matches, John McManus makes the case for defining football in Turkey by more than thuggery and washed-up superstars. From the elite training facilities of Istanbul to dusty pitches on the Anatolian plain, Welcome to Hell? offers a unique take on this rich, funny and alluring football culture, at once both familiar and miles apart from the game in Britain.

Gollancz

From Distant Stars

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters

Keon Rause has finally put the ghost of his dead wife behind him. Now he's trying to return to his old job as FBI agent on a distant colony planet. But someone impossible is killing in a pattern, and Keon's investigation might lead him to uncomfortable truths about his wife . . .

Orion

I, Witness

Niki Mackay
Authors:
Niki Mackay

They say I'm a murderer. Six years ago, Kate Reynolds was found holding the body of her best friend; covered in blood, and clutching the knife that killed her.I plead guilty. Kate has been in prison ever since, but now her sentence is up. She is being released.But the truth is, I didn't do it. There's only one person who can help: Private Investigator Madison Attallee, the first officer on the scene all those years ago.But there's someone out there who doesn't want Kate digging up the past. Someone who is willing to keep the truth buried at any cost.What everyone is saying about this gripping debut:'Tough and uncompromising, I, Witness had me totally gripped. I'm looking forward to hearing more from PI Madison Attalee.' Alex Lake, author of Killing Kate, After Anna and Copy Cat'An absolutely gripping thriller founded on the horror of familial abuse and a great, flawed, female PI. There will be more Madison Attalee, I hope.' Dame Jenni Murray'Had me hooked within two pages, it has every bit as much appeal as some of the bestsellers of the last few years, like Girl on the Train.' Robert Scragg, author of What Falls Between the Cracks

Orion

Season of Storms

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski

Geralt is a witcher, a man whose magic powers, enhanced by long training and a mysterious elixir, have made him a brilliant fighter and a merciless assassin. Yet he is no ordinary murderer: his targets are the multifarious monsters and vile fiends that ravage the land and attack the innocent. He roams the country seeking assignments, but gradually comes to realise that while some of his quarry are unremittingly vile, vicious grotesques, others are the victims of sin, evil or simple naivety.In this collection of short stories, following the adventures of the hit collection THE LAST WISH, join Geralt as he battles monsters, demons and prejudices alike . . .

Orion

The Ember Blade

Chris Wooding
Authors:
Chris Wooding
Seven Dials

30 Days of Vegan

Catherine Kidd
Authors:
Catherine Kidd
Gollancz

Before Mars

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman
Seven Dials

The Crystal Compass

Aisha Amarfio
Authors:
Aisha Amarfio

Crystals are teachers, they conduct and transform our energy to help us to discover our True Self and attain our natural state of peace, quiet joy and inspired creativity from the heart. The Crystal Compass is ultimate guide to using crystals for healing, wellbeing, and creating harmonious spaces. Through practical exercises and tools for identifying the right crystals at the right time, this book helps you harness the power of crystals in your life to:Transmute tension, stress, disharmony and release old patterns Unlock your wisdom and intuitive powerReclaim your power and follow your soul pathNourish your health and vitalityCleanse, protect and raise the vibration of your spaces.The Crystal Compass provides an easy to use map that helps you diagnosis the root cause of any tension you might be experiencing, so you can select the crystal and a healing method you need, that will lead to true holistic healing and powerful transformation.

Trapeze

Beautiful Liars

Isabel Ashdown
Authors:
Isabel Ashdown
Orion

One Cornish Summer

Liz Fenwick
Authors:
Liz Fenwick

Orion Spring

Living the Life More Fabulous

Tricia Cusden
Authors:
Tricia Cusden

"There has never been a better time to be an older woman. We are fitter, healthier and living longer than at any time in history. My intention is to show you how to live your extra bonus of time as fabulously as possible." Living the Life More Fabulous is an irresistible guide to feeling great, whatever your age. Featuring topics such as beauty, style, confidence and health it provides advice on how to live an engaged life and keep an active mind.Whether you are looking for ideas to update your look, improve your general well-being or take an exciting or much-needed new direction, this book will encourage and empower you to live your life to the full.

Gollancz

The Veteran Omnibus

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

Gollancz

The Belles

Dhonielle Clayton
Authors:
Dhonielle Clayton
W&N

Waiting for the Albino Dunnock

Rosamond Richardson
Authors:
Rosamond Richardson
W&N

Where'd You Go, Bernadette

Maria Semple
Authors:
Maria Semple