Stephen Deas - The Thief-Taker's Apprentice - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575094505
    • Publication date:26 Aug 2010

The Thief-Taker's Apprentice

By Stephen Deas

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A teenage thief becomes a teenage assassin and must live with the consequences.

Berren has lived in the city all his life. He has made his way as a thief, paying a little of what he earns to the Fagin like master of their band. But there is a twist to this tale of a thief.

One day Berren goes to watch an execution of three thieves. He watches as the thief-taker takes his reward and decides to try and steal the prize. He fails. The young thief is taken. But the thief-taker spots something in Berren. And the boy reminds him of someone as well. Berren becomes his apprentice.

And is introduced to a world of shadows, deceit and corruption behind the streets he thought he knew.

Full of richly observed life in a teeming fantasy city, a hectic progression of fights, flights and fancies and charting the fall of a boy into the dark world of political plotting and murder this marks the beginning of a new fantasy series for all lovers of fantasy - from fans of Kristin Cashore to Brent Weeks.

Biographical Notes

Stephen Deas is an electrical engineer working in the aerospace and defence industries. His first novel THE ADAMANTINE PALACE has sold in a number of countries - it was sold in the US after a fierce auction and was pre-empted in Germany.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575094499
  • Publication date: 07 Apr 2011
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Gollancz
a good solid fanatsy for all ages — BOOK GIRL OF MUR-Y-CASTELL
Orion

Inspection

Josh Malerman
Authors:
Josh Malerman

Gollancz

Knight of Stars

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd
Gollancz

The Tropic of Eternity

Tom Toner
Authors:
Tom Toner

Perfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Peter F. Hamilton.It is the 147th century. The mighty era of Homo Sapiens is at an end.In the Westerly Provinces of the Old World, the hunt is on for the young queen Arabis, and the beast that holds her captive. In the brutal hominid Investiture, revolution has come. The warlord Cunctus, having seized the Vulgar worlds, invites every Prism to pick a side. In the Firmament, once the kingdom of the Immortal Amaranthine, all ships converge on the foundry of Gliese. The grandest battle in the history of mammalian kind has begun.Perception, ancient machine spirit, must take back its mortal remains in a contest for the Firmament itself. Ghaldezuel, now the Grand Marshal of Cunctus' new empire, must travel to the deepest lagoon in the Investiture, a place where monsters dwell. Captain Maril, lost amongst the Hedron Stars, finds himself caught between colossal powers the likes of which he'd never dreamt. And for Aaron the Long-Life, he who has waited so very, very long for his revenge, things are only getting started . . .'(An) unceasing display of wonders...This third novel honours the accomplishments of and promises of the first two, and serves as a fitting capstone to a unique creation...' Paul Di Filippo, Locus Magazine'The final book in Toner's ridiculously ambitious trilogy will force you to redefine what space opera can do... ' Barnes & Noble'Among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years' TOR.COM [The Promise of the Child]

W&N

Under the Camelthorn Tree

Kate Nicholls
Authors:
Kate Nicholls
W&N

The River

Peter Heller
Authors:
Peter Heller
Gateway

The Charwoman's Shadow

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany
Gollancz

Dark Forge

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
Orion

The Botanist's Daughter

Kayte Nunn
Authors:
Kayte Nunn
Orion

War Storm

Victoria Aveyard
Authors:
Victoria Aveyard
Gateway

Dying Of The Light

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin
Gollancz

Revenger

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds
Gollancz

A Memory of Flames Complete eBook Collection

Stephen Deas
Authors:
Stephen Deas
Gateway

Dark Benediction

Walter M. Miller Jr
Authors:
Walter M. Miller Jr

Walter M. Miller Jr is best remembered as the author of A Canticle for Leibowitz, universally recognized as one of the greatest novels of modern SF. But as well as writing that deeply felt and eloquent book, he produced many shorter works of fiction of stunning originality and power.His profound interest in religion and his innate literary gifts combined perfectly in the production of such works as The Darfstellar, for which he won a Hugo in 1955, Conditionally Human, I, Dreamer and The Big Hunger, all of which are included in this brilliant and essential collection.

Gollancz

The Silver Kings

Stephen Deas
Authors:
Stephen Deas
W&N

Assignment Gestapo

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
Gollancz

The Splintered Gods

Stephen Deas
Authors:
Stephen Deas

Praised by the likes of Joe Abercrombie and Brent Weeks, Stephen Deas has made dragons his own.Captured by an unknown enemy and forced to wage war on his rivals, the Dragon Queen has found herself hated and feared by all the people of this new land. There is little they can do to hurt her while she has her dragon, but she cannot escape while the magic necklace she is forced to wear remains active - or it will throttle her. And the enemies of her new master are gathering for revenge ...Lost in a body that isn't his own, Berren - the Bloody Judge - continues his search for the man who stole his life. Accompanied by a single Adamantine soldier, they scrabble to survive in a world shaken by the Dragon Queen's attack and suspicious of all those who are strangers. But there is another power inside Berren, one which escapes when he is in danger and has the habit of disintegrating those around him. And that power has its own agenda ... One that will lead it to the Dragon Queen, and battle.The critics, fellow authors and readers alike are agreed - if you love dragons and epic fantasy, Stephen Deas is the writer for you. The man who brought dragons back to their full glory, might and terror.

Gollancz

Dragon Queen

Stephen Deas
Authors:
Stephen Deas

Praised by the likes of Joe Abercrombie and Brent Weeks, Stephen Deas has made dragons his own.In the years before the Dragons laid waste to man's empire, the fearsome monsters were used for war and as gifts of surpassing wealth to buy favour in the constant political battles that tore at the kingdoms. Notorious in these battles was the Dragon Queen. And now she is a prisoner. But no-one is more dangerous than when caged ...The critics, fellow authors and readers alike are agreed - if you love dragons and epic fantasy, Stephen Deas is the writer for you. The man who brought dragons back to their full glory, might and terror.Dragon Queen is a companion volume to the Memory of Flames trilogy and to THE BLACK MAUSOLEUM.

Gateway

No Enemy But Time

Michael Bishop
Authors:
Michael Bishop

Joshua Kampa is torn between two worlds - the Early Pleistocene Africa of his dreams and the 20th-century reality of his waking life. These worlds are transposed when a government experiment sends him over a million years back in time. Here, John builds a new life as part of a tribe of protohumans. But the reality of early Africa is much more challenging than his fantasies. With the landscape, the species, and John himself evolving, he reaches a temporal crossroads where he must decide whether the past or the future will be his present.

Orion

The Julius House

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Gollancz

The King's Assassin

Stephen Deas
Authors:
Stephen Deas

With its engaging thief-taker hero, this YA series from the acclaimed author of THE ADAMANTINE PALACE is perfect for fans of Trudi Canavan and Robin Hobb.Berren has left his past as an apprentice thief-taker behind him, in a mist of blood and screams and death. Press-ganged as a sailor, his old life is now just a distant memory. Until the day he spots someone who might well be his old master, Syannis, the man who killed Berren's first love. Syannis was thought dead, but he is a hard man to kill. As Berren chases down the man he believes to be an enemy, he finds himself caught up in a web of political machination and danger unlike anything he has encountered. For Syannis is a deposed prince, and he is willing to go to any lengths - including dealing with the black-hearted sorcerer Saffran Kuy - to regain his throne.As Berren struggles to understand his feelings towards Syannis and his mad quest, he slowly comes to realize that the world is going to war - and Berren is caught in the middle. Can he navigate a path through the dangers which surround him? Will he find a way to extricate himself from the sorcery and intrigue that follow him at every step? And who is destined to be the King's Assassin?