John Meaney - Resonance - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575094826
    • Publication date:19 Dec 2013

Resonance

By John Meaney

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A conflict lasting thousands of years and spanning millions of light years comes to its shattering conclusion in the final book of the Ragnarok trilogy, perfect for fans of Peter F. Hamilton and Alastair Reynolds.

From the leader of a Norse raiding party in 7th-century England to a young symbiotically bonded Pilot-and-Ship in the far future. From a female German scientist during the Second World War to a member of an alien race who communicates by smell. From the past to the future, war is coming. And only a few can see the darkness.

Hidden at the centre of the Universe, the darkness spreads its tendrils throughout space and time. Those it touches become puppets, dedicated to slowing down the improvement of the human race and preventing it from reaching its true potential. For the darkness knows that when it makes its final invasion of our space, humanity will stand against it.

And in the far, far future, knowing that they are the last hope for the galaxy, the Ragnarok council is forming...

Biographical Notes

John Meaney is the author of TO HOLD INFINITY, PARADOX and CONTEXT. TO HOLD INFINITY and PARADOX were on the BSFA shortlists for BEST NOVEL in 1999 and 2001 respectively. THE TIMES called John Meaney 'The first important new SF writer of the 21st century'. Meaney has a degree in physics and computer science, and holds a black belt in Shotokan Karate. He lives in Glamorgan.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575094819
  • Publication date: 14 Aug 2014
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

The Thing Itself

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts
Gollancz

Killing Titan

Greg Bear
Authors:
Greg Bear
Gollancz

A Quantum Mythology

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Gollancz

The Beauty of Destruction

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

In the far future, after the Loss of Earth, war has begun and an unknowable alien race has awakened, intent on the destruction of everything.Here and now, the end of the world has come. And the only way our species will survive is if two augmented humans can fight their way through apocalypse to a faint glimmer of hope.Long ago, the seeds of that apocalypse were resisted by the warrior tribes of Britain, with devastating consequences for them and their lands.And all three of these times will meet on another world . . .

Gollancz

Spinning Thorns

Anna Sheehan
Authors:
Anna Sheehan

Sleeping Beauty has woken.The world has been renewed.Everyone is living happily ever after . . .Almost.Sharp, blood-seeking thorns still surround the castle. A feud remains between those who wield magic and those who were subjected to it. And while the kingdom is divided against itself, nothing can thrive.A rebellion may be needed - and that's where Sleeping Beauty's daughter comes in . . .

Gollancz

Bone Song

John Meaney
Authors:
John Meaney

Lieutenant Donal Connor has been given the most bizarre of new cases. Four famous stage performers have died in recent months, thee of them in state capitals within Transifica, the fourth in far Zurinam. And now the idolised diva Maria deLivnova is coming to Tristopolis. Donal's boss is determined that nothing like this is ever to happen in his city. Connor is to have anything he needs, as long the diva lives.And so begins a dark investigation through a world where corpses give up their pyschic energy in the massive necroflux generators which power the city, where gargoyles talk, where wraiths work in slavery, a world of the dead where corruption is alive.This is an extraordinary SF novel set in alternate universe quite unlike any imagined in SF before; a universe where magic and the supernatural and the undead are given a scientific rationale and hoorfyingly plausible rationale.The novel's setting, Tristopolis, is the ultimate noir city; an immense baroque creation of haunted stone skyscrapers, black metal and city-wide catacombs. Its hero Donal Connor is immensely likeable and easy to identify with. Even once he's dead.

Gollancz

Steeple

Jon Wallace
Authors:
Jon Wallace
Gollancz

Votan and Other Novels

John James
Authors:
John James
Gollancz

The Tabit Genesis

Tony Gonzales
Authors:
Tony Gonzales
Gollancz

Radiant State

Peter Higgins
Authors:
Peter Higgins
Gollancz

Air

Geoff Ryman
Authors:
Geoff Ryman

This remarkable novel is about the effects of a new communications technology, Air, that works without power lines or machines. As pervasive technology ensures the rapid spread of pop culture and information access, few corners of the planet remain untouched. One of those few is Kizuldah, Karzistan - a tiny rice-farming village, predominantly Chinese Buddhist but with a strong Muslim presence, among whom sharply intelligent though illiterate Mae Chung, a self-styled fashion expert guiding the village women in dress, make-up and hairstyling, is an informal leader.When the UN decides to test the radical new technology Air, Mae is boiling laundry and chatting with elderly Mrs Tung. The massive surge of Air energy swamps them, and when the test is finished, Mrs Tung is dead, and Mae has absorbed her 90 years of memories. Rocked by the unexpected deaths and disorientation, the UN delays fully implementing Air, but Mae sees at once that her way of life is ending. Half-mad, struggling with information overload, the resentment of much of the village, and a complex family situation, she works fiercely to learn what she needs to ride the tiger of change.

Gollancz

Glorious Angels

Justina Robson
Authors:
Justina Robson
Gateway

Lucius Shepard SF Gateway Omnibus

Lucius Shepard
Authors:
Lucius Shepard
Gollancz

Windhaven

George R.R. Martin, Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
George R.R. Martin, Lisa Tuttle

Among the scattered islands that make up the water world of Windhaven, no one holds more prestige than the silver-winged flyers, romantic figures who cross treacherous oceans, braving shifting winds and sudden storms, to bring news, gossip, songs and stories to a waiting populace.Maris of Amberly, a fisherman's daughter, wants nothing more than to soar on the currents high above Windhaven. So she challenges tradition, demanding that flyers be chosen by merit rather than inheritance.But even after winning that bitter battle, Maris finds that her troubles are only beginning. Now a revolution threatens to destroy the world she fought so hard to join - and force her to make the ultimate sacrifice...This early collaborative novel from George R. R. Martin and Lisa Tuttle is a masterclass of fantasy and storytelling.

Gollancz

Something Coming Through

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gollancz

Robot Overlords

Mark Stay
Authors:
Mark Stay

Three years ago, Earth was conquered by a force of robots from a distant world. They have one rule:STAY IN YOUR HOMESStep outside and you get one warning before you're vaporised by a massive robot Sentry, or a crawling Sniper, or a flying Drone. That's if the vast Cube doesn't incinerate you first.But Sean Flynn is convinced that his father - an RAF pilot who fought in the war - is still alive. And when he and his gang figure out a way to break the robots' curfew, they begin an adventure that will pit them against the might of the ROBOT OVERLORDS.This fast-paced, thrilling novelisation is based on the hit British film starring Sir Ben Kingsley (IRON MAN THREE), Gillian Anderson (THE X-FILES) and Callan McAuliffe (THE GREAT GATSBY). A perfect companion to the movie, it expands on the story with additional action, characters, and a special peek behind the scenes.

Gollancz

Fish Tails

Sheri S. Tepper
Authors:
Sheri S. Tepper
Gollancz

No Life But This

Anna Sheehan
Authors:
Anna Sheehan

Rose slept for a hundred years and when she awoke the world as she knew it had vanished, utterly.She has gone from being a cherished only child to being the sole heir to a vast, interstellar empire. From being alone to being surrounded by friends; from being protected against everything - whether she wanted to be or not - to having others depend upon her.In the superb stand-alone novel A LONG, LONG SLEEP we saw her survive assassination attempts and heartbreak alike. Now, in the stand-alone sequel, Rose must take control of her future for the sake of her friends - and find a way to protect them without unwittingly caging them in love ...

Gollancz

The Quiet Woman

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest

THE QUIET WOMAN stitches together a horrifyingly plausable near-future dystopian Britain and a typically Priestian account of an individual lost in the blurred boundaries between the real and the imagined. It is a novel that bears comparison with the work of Kazuo Ishiguro and A.S. Byatt as well as that of John Wyndham.In a country that has lost its way memories of past lives are distracting Alice Stockton. Living alone after the break up of her marriage she makes a precarious living as a biographer yet finds herself powerfully and inexplicably influenced by the lives of others.A novel of uncertain personal histories and literary mystery set in a disturbingly real dystopian Britain, THE QUIET WOMAN is vintage Christopher Priest.

Gollancz

Wild Cards: Lowball

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin

More exciting adventures from the longest running shared-world superhero series created and edited by George R.R. Martin, bestselling author of GAME OF THRONESDecades after an alien virus changed the course of history, the surviving population of Manhattan still struggles to understand the new world left in its wake. Natural humans share the rough city with those given extraordinary - and sometimes terrifying - traits. While most manage to coexist in an uneasy peace, not everyone is willing to adapt. Down in the seedy underbelly of Jokertown, residents are going missing. The authorities are unwilling to investigate, except for a fresh lieutenant looking to prove himself and a collection of unlikely jokers forced to take matters into their own hands - or tentacles. The deeper into the kidnapping case these misfits and miscreants get, the higher the stakes are raised.Edited by No.1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author George R.R. Martin and acclaimed author Melinda M. Snodgrass, LOWBALL is the latest mosaic novel in the acclaimed Wild Cards universe, featuring original fiction by Carrie Vaughn, Ian Tregillis, David Anthony Durham, Melinda M. Snodgrass, Mary Anne Mohanraj, David D. Levine, Michael Cassutt and Walter Jon Williams.Perfect for old fans and new readers alike, LOWBALL delves deeper into the world of aces, jokers, and the hard-boiled men and women of the Fort Freak police precinct in a pulpy, page-turning novel of superheroics and mystery.