Philip K. Dick - The Penultimate Truth - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575074811
    • Publication date:10 Feb 2005
Books in this series

The Penultimate Truth

By Philip K. Dick

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A masterly tale of political deception from the most significant SF writer of the 20th century.

A masterly tale of political deception from the most significant SF writer of the 20th century

World War III is raging - or so the millions of people crammed in their underground tanks believe. For fiteen years, subterranean humanity has been fed on daily broadcasts of a never-ending nuclear destruction, sustained by a belief in the all powerful Protector.

Now someone has gone to the surface and found no destruction, no war. The authorities have been telling a massive lie. Now the search begins to find out why.

Biographical Notes

Philip K. Dick (1928-1982) was born in Chicago but lived in California for most of his life. He went to college at Berkeley for a year, ran a record store and had his own classical-music show on a local radio station. He published his first short story, 'Beyond Lies the Wub' in 1952. Among his many fine novels are Time Out of Joint, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? and Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said.Philip K. Dick won the Hugo Award for The Man in the High Castle. More than 20 years after his death his influence on SF has never been greater.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575098275
  • Publication date: 14 May 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gateway

New York Nights

Eric Brown
Authors:
Eric Brown
Gateway

New York Blues

Eric Brown
Authors:
Eric Brown

Hal Halliday runs a missing persons business in mid 21st century New York. It is a city that is drowning in refugees after terrorist outrages have left much of America a radioactive wasteland. People colour their grim lives with endless hours spent in VR. It is an addiction which has made VR magnate Sergio Mantoni a multi-millionaire. But now Mantoni faces a threat from a guerrilla group called VIREX, who are dedicating to ending the false promise of VR. And when Hal accepts a job to look for the missing sister of a Holodrama star, he find himself drawn into the complex world of VR and VIREX ..

Gateway

New York Dreams

Eric Brown
Authors:
Eric Brown
Gollancz

The Bastard Legion: Friendly Fire

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

High octane SF adventure with Smith's trademark twist - Jamie SawyerIn FRIENDLY FIRE, the Bastard Legion are hired to pull off a daring power-armoured heist of propriety tech. Getting the tech will be hard. Getting off the planet, deadly.Four hundred years in the future, the most dangerous criminals are kept in suspended animation aboard prison ships and "rehabilitated" in a shared virtual reality environment. But Miska Storrow, a thief and hacker with a background in black ops, has stolen one of these ships, the Hangman's Daughter, and made it her own. Controlled by explosive collars and trained in virtual reality by the electronic ghost of a dead marine sergeant, the thieves, gangsters, murderers, and worse are transformed into Miska's own private indentured army: the Bastard Legion.

Gollancz

Strange Weather

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill
Gollancz

Empire of Silence

Christopher Ruocchio
Authors:
Christopher Ruocchio
Gollancz

The Man In The High Castle

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

'Dick's best work, and the most memorable alternative world tale...ever written' SCIENCE FICTION: THE 100 BEST NOVELSIt is 1962 and the Second World War has been over for seventeen years: people have now had a chance to adjust to the new order. But it's not been easy. The Mediterranean has been drained to make farmland, the population of Africa has virtually been wiped out and America has been divided between the Nazis and the Japanese. In the neutral buffer zone that divides the two superpowers lives the man in the high castle, the author of an underground bestseller, a work of fiction that offers an alternative theory of world history in which the Axis powers didn't win the war. The novel is a rallying cry for all those who dream of overthrowing the occupiers. But could it be more than that?Subtle, complex and beautifully characterized, The Man in the High Castle remains the finest alternative world novel ever written, and a work of profundity and significance.

Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli

'Kristen Ciccarelli is now my favourite author' Tomi Adeyemi, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Children of Blood and Bone ******************************Destroyer. Death bringer. Dragon-slayer. I am more weapon than girl.Asha is a dragon-slayer. Reviled by the very people she's sworn to protect, she kills to atone for the wicked deed she committed as a child - one that almost destroyed her city, and left her with a terrible scar.But protecting her father's kingdom is a lonely destiny: no matter how many dragons she kills, her people still think she's wicked.So to unite the fractured kingdom, she must marry Jarek, her father's cruel commandant. As the wedding day approaches, Asha longs for freedom. Just when it seems her fate is sealed, the king offers her a way out: her freedom in exchange for the head of the most powerful dragon in Firgaard. And the only person standing in her way is a defiant slave boy . . . THE LAST NAMSARA is an extraordinary story about courage, loyalty and star-crossed love, set in a kingdom that trembles on the edge of war. For fans of Madeline Miller, Katherine Arden, Laini Taylor and Tomi Adeyemi.**********************************'An accomplished fantasy novel . . . I'll definitely be looking out for the next one' Joanne Harris'The most simply thing I can say is this is the best book I have ever read and Kristen Ciccarelli is now my favourite author . . . your soul has been waiting for a story this beautiful' Tomi Adeyemi'It's always refreshing to see a non-traditional fantasy setting. And a kickass princess . . . a dash of Arabian Nights story magic, plus dragons? Yes please! Elspeth Cooper'The Last Namsara is easily one of my favourite fantasy books of this year . . . It's fast paced, action packed, filled with a diverse cast . . . Fans of An Ember in the Ashes, Seven Realms, and the Shattered Realms series will devour this' YABooksCentral

Gollancz

Blade Runner

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

As the eagerly-anticipated new film Blade Runner 2049 finally comes to the screen, rediscover the world of Blade Runner . . . World War Terminus had left the Earth devastated. Through its ruins, bounty hunter Rick Deckard stalked, in search of the renegade replicants who were his prey. When he wasn't 'retiring' them with his laser weapon, he dreamed of owning a live animal - the ultimate status symbol in a world all but bereft of animal life. Then Rick got his chance: the assignment to kill six Nexus-6 targets, for a huge reward. But in Deckard's world things were never that simple, and his assignment quickly turned into a nightmare kaleidoscope of subterfuge and deceit - and the threat of death for the hunter, rather than the hunted . . .

Gollancz

Philip K. Dick's Electric Dreams: Volume 1

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gollancz

The Real-Town Murders

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts

Alma is a private detective in a near-future England, a country desperately trying to tempt people away from the delights of Shine, the immersive successor to the internet. But most people are happy to spend their lives plugged in, and the country is decaying.Alma's partner is ill, and has to be treated without fail every 4 hours, a task that only Alma can do. If she misses the 5 minute window her lover will die. She is one of the few not to access the Shine.So when Alma is called to an automated car factory to be shown an impossible death and finds herself caught up in a political coup, she knows that getting too deep may leave her unable to get home. What follows is a fast-paced Hitchcockian thriller as Alma evades arrest, digs into the conspiracy, and tries to work out how on earth a dead body appeared in the boot of a freshly-made car in a fully-automated factory.

Gollancz

Burning Chrome

William Gibson
Authors:
William Gibson

Best-known for his seminal sf novel NEUROMANCER, William Gibson is also a master of short fiction. Tautly-written and suspenseful, BURNING CHROME collects 10 of his best short stories with a preface from Bruce Sterling, co-Cyberpunk and editor of the seminal anthology MIRRORSHADES. These brilliant, high-resolution stories show Gibson's characters and intensely-realized worlds at his absolute best. Contains 'Johnny Mnemonic' (filmed starring Keanu Reeves) and title story 'Burning Chrome' - both nominated for the Nebula Award - as well as the Hugo-and-Nebula-nominated stories 'Dogfight' and 'The Winter Market'.

Gateway

Nick and the Glimmung

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gateway

Humpty Dumpty In Oakland

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gollancz

Air

Geoff Ryman
Authors:
Geoff Ryman
Gateway

We Can Remember It For You Wholesale

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

Philip K. Dick was one of the masters of science fiction, and his short stories consistently broke new ground. His work has provided the inspiration for many successful films, including BLADE RUNNER, MINORITY REPORT, PAYCHECK and many more. Here are his final short works, including the story which was the inspiration for TOTAL RECALL. Also included is a selection of other astounding tales, often touching on Dick's most important themes. A man remembers killing his wife - but can he trust his memories? If you were to discover that you were an android, what experiments would you perform on yourself? A supercomputer decides to attack Northern California - can it be talked out of doing the job it was designed for? Can history rewrite itself? All of these questions will be asked as you enter the world of Philip K Dick's remarkable imagination.

Gateway

The Child Garden

Geoff Ryman
Authors:
Geoff Ryman

In a semi-tropical London, surrounded by paddy-fields, the people feed off the sun like plants, the young are raised in Child Gardens and educated by viruses, and the Consensus oversees the country, 'treating' non-conformism. Information, culture, law and politics are biological functions.But Milena is different: she is resistant to viruses and an incredible musician, one of the most extraordinary women of her age. This is her story and that of her friends, like Lucy the immortal tumour and Joseph the Postman whose mind is an information storehouse for others, and Rolfa, genetically engineered as a Polar Bear, whose beautiful singing voice first awakens Milena to the power of music.

Gateway

The Man Whose Teeth Were All Exactly Alike

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gateway

The Father-Thing

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gollancz

The Transmigration of Timothy Archer

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick