Christopher Priest - The Affirmation - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575114999
    • Publication date:13 Oct 2011
Books in this series

The Affirmation

By Christopher Priest

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

THE AFFIRMATION is a haunting thriller; a compulsive, dream-like novel from one of Britain's most exciting writers.

Christopher Priest is the Arthur C. Clarke Award and World Fantasy Award-winning author of THE SEPARATION, THE GLAMOUR, THE DREAM ARCHIPELAGO and THE PRESTIGE, which was filmed by Christopher Nolan and starred Hugh Jackman and Christian Bale. THE AFFIRMATION is his compulsive and original novel of an autobiography that isn't - partly a thriller, partly a haunting study of schizophrenia, it is the mark of one of Britain's finest novelists at the very height of his powers.

Peter Sinclair is tormented by bereavement and failure. In an attempt to conjure some meaning from his life, he embarks on an autobiography, but he finds himself writing the story of another man in another, imagined, world, whose insidious attraction draws him even further in ...

Biographical Notes

Christopher Priest's novels have built him an inimitable dual reputation as a contemporary novelist and a leading figure in modern SF and fantasy. His novel THE PRESTIGE is unique in winning both a major literary prize (the JAMES TAIT BLACK AWARD) and a major genre prize (THE WORLD FANTASY AWARD); THE SEPARATION won both the ARTHUR C. CLARKE and the BRITISH SCIENCE FICTION AWARDs. He was selected for the original Best of Young British Novelists in 1983.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575099463
  • Publication date: 13 Oct 2011
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

An American Story

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest

A powerful meditation on loss and memory seen through the prism of 9/11, by one of our greatest authors.Ben Matson lost someone he loved in the 9/11 attacks. Or thinks he did - no body has been recovered, and she shouldn't have been on that particular plane at that time. But he knows she was. The world has moved on from that terrible day. Nearly 20 years later, it has faded into a dull memory for most people. But a chance encounter rekindles Ben's interest in the event, and the inconsistencies that always bothered him. Then the announcement of the recovery of an unidentified plane crash sets off a chain of events that will lead Ben to question everything he thought he knew . . . Thoughtful, impeccably researched and dazzling in its writing, this is Ben's story, the story of what happened to his fiancé, and the story of all that happened on 9/11.

Trapeze

The Growing Pains of Jennifer Ebert, Aged 19 Going on 91

David M. Barnett
Authors:
David M. Barnett
Trapeze

The After Wife

Cass Hunter
Authors:
Cass Hunter
Orion

Fear

Dirk Kurbjuweit
Authors:
Dirk Kurbjuweit

Would you kill to protect your family?Read the most critically acclaimed thriller of 2019:'Something we've not seen before in contemporary crime fiction' GUARDIAN'[An] uncomfortably close-to-home thriller' SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB'As intellectually stimulating as it is gripping' DAILY TELEGRAPH, BOOKS OF THE YEAR 2018'Takes you right into the heart of darkness' MAIL ON SUNDAY'A must-have new read' DAILY EXPRESS'Wonderfully sinister' THE OBSERVER'Frightening' THE TIMES'Addictive' INDEPENDENT'Terrific' JOANNE HARRIS'Brilliantly done' FIONA BARTON'A great achievement' HERMAN KOCH'Claustrophobic and unsettling' BBC NEWS'[A] creepy tale of obsession' SUNDAY MIRROR'An unsettling tale of merciless self-scrutiny' RENEE KNIGHT'A terrifying study of a family threatened by the tenant living downstairs' WOMAN & HOME*********Family is everything. So what if yours was being terrorised by a neighbour - a man who doesn't listen to reason, whose actions become more erratic and sinister with each passing day?You go to the police, but they can't help you. You become afraid to leave your family at home alone. But there's nothing more you can do to protect them.Or is there...?FEAR is the most original thriller of 2018 - for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL and THE DINNER.-------------------------FEAR is translated from the German by Imogen Taylor

Orion

The Love of a Family

Rebecca Shaw
Authors:
Rebecca Shaw
W&N

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato

EVERY MOTHER IS A WOMAN WITH A PAST'A haunting debut about grief, loss and motherhood' The Pool'An intriguing tale of love, loss and missed opportunities . . . written with verve and delivers an amazing twist' Sunday Mirror'Tender and moving, this part-thriller, part-memoir will leave you floored' Emerald Street When Katharine is found dead at the foot of her stairs, it is the mystery of her life that consumes her daughter, Laura.The medical examiner's report, in which precious parts of Katharine's body are weighed and categorised, motivates Laura to write her own version of events; to bear witness to the unbearable blank space between each itemised entry.It forces her to confront a new version of the woman she knew only as her mother - a woman silenced by her own mother, and wronged by her husband. A woman who felt shackled by tradition and unable to love freely.With the heart of a memoir and the pace of a thriller, An Unremarkable Body reveals an overwhelming desire to make sense of an unfulfilled life - and to prove that an unremarkable body does not mean an unremarkable life.'Beautiful, sensitive, and poignant' Clarissa Goenawan, author of Rainbirds'Spare, confident and affecting. A compelling read' Joanna Barnard, author of Precocious and Hush Little Baby'An incredibly moving story of maternal love, sacrifice, and how little we know those closest to us' Chloë Mayer, author of The Boy Made of Snow

Trapeze

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe

As featured in the Sunday Times, the first festive mystery in a new crime series from bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Marple and Midsomer Murders.A picture hides a thousand lies . . . And only Iris Grey can uncover the truthIris Grey arrives at Mill Cottage in a picture-perfect Hampshire village, looking to escape from her crumbling marriage. She is drawn to the neighbouring Wetherby family, and is commissioned to paint a portrait of Dominic Wetherby, a celebrated crime writer.At the Wetherby's Christmas Eve party, the mulled wine is in full flow - but so too are tensions and rivalries among the guests. On Christmas Day, the youngest member of the Wetherby family, Lorcan, finds a body in the water. A tragic accident? Or a deadly crime? With the snow falling, Iris enters a world of village gossip, romantic intrigue, buried secrets and murder. As featured in the Sunday Times, the first mystery in a new crime series from bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Marple and Midsomer Murders.

Orion

The Black Echo

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Go back to where it all began for LAPD detective Harry Bosch, star of Amazon Prime's Bosch, in his first case The Black Echo - a gripping, action-packed thriller.LAPD detective Harry Bosch is a loner and a nighthawk. One Sunday he gets a call-out on his pager. A body has been found in a drainage tunnel off Mulholland Drive, Hollywood. At first sight, it looks like a routine drugs overdose case, but the one new puncture wound amid the scars of old tracks leaves Bosch unconvinced.To make matters worse, Harry Bosch recognises the victim. Billy Meadows was a fellow 'tunnel rat' in Vietnam, running against the VC and the fear they all used to call the Black Echo. Bosch believes he let down Billy Meadows once before, so now he is determined to bring the killer to justice.

Gollancz

The Gradual

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest
Gollancz

The Quiet Woman

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest
Gollancz

A Dream of Wessex

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest
Gollancz

The Space Machine

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest

A young Victorian couple are pulled into a mystery that transcends time and space. A mystery that will have very familiar elements for any fan of HG Wells but which cannot possibly be related to the work of the great man. Or can it?This early novel from Christopher Priest is at once a wonderful facsimile of late Victorian writing and an enticing modern novel that plays with the reader's expectations and comments on two of the greatest novels of science fiction.

Gollancz

Indoctrinaire

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest

Deep in the Advanced Technique Concentration, Wentik created a mind-altering drug. Suddenly he is transported to the jungles of Brazil in the 22nd century and a world devastated by nuclear war and poison gas. Only South America survived but even here 'The Disturbances' create havoc. Can Wentik find a way back? For himself? And all of humanity?

Gollancz

The Adjacent

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest
The Murder Room

Dark Duet

Peter Cheyney
Authors:
Peter Cheyney

'The British, once they take the gloves off - once they forget to play cricket, to be English gentlemen - they are the toughest things on earth,' says one German espionage agent to another in Dark Duet. And the trouble with Michael Kane, hero of this spy thriller is that he never plays cricket with Nazi spies ...'Dark Duet seems to me damn good' Raymond Chandler

The Murder Room

The Stars Are Dark

Peter Cheyney
Authors:
Peter Cheyney
Gollancz

Small Gods

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett
W&N

A Suitable Boy

Vikram Seth
Authors:
Vikram Seth

A modern classic, this epic tale of families, romance and political intrigue never loses its power to delight and enchant readers. Vikram Seth's novel is, at its core, a love story: the tale of Lata - and her mother's - attempts to find her a suitable husband, through love or through exacting maternal appraisal. At the same time, it is the story of India, newly independent and struggling through a time of crisis as a sixth of the world's population faces its first great general election and the chance to map its own destiny.'A Suitable Boy may prove to be the most fecund as well as the most prodigious work of the latter half of this century - perhaps even the book to restore the serious reading public's faith in the contemporary novel ... You should make time for it. It will keep you company for the rest of your life' Daniel Johnson, The Times

Gollancz

Ghost Story

Peter Straub
Authors:
Peter Straub
Orion

A Cuckoo in Candle Lane

Kitty Neale
Authors:
Kitty Neale