Nalini Singh - Play of Passion - Orion Publishing Group

Play of Passion

Book 9

By Nalini Singh

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Nalini Singh's psy-changeling series returns with another stunning novel.

Passion and reason collide with explosive force in the newest installment of Nalini Singh's 'mesmerizing' Psy-Changeling series. As a conflict with Pure Psy looms on the horizon, two powerful wolves fight a far more intimate war of their own ...

In his position as tracker for the SnowDancer pack, it's up to Drew Kincaid to rein in rogue changelings who have lost control of their animal halves - even if it means killing those who have gone too far. But nothing in his life has prepared him for the battle he must now wage to win the heart of a woman who makes his body ignite ... and who threatens to enslave his wolf.

Lieutenant Indigo Riviere doesn't easily allow skin privileges, especially of the sensual kind - and the last person she expects to find herself craving is the most wickedly playful male in the den. Everything she knows tells her to pull back before the flames burn them both to ash ... but she hasn't counted on Drew's will.

Now, two of SnowDancer's most stubborn wolves find themselves playing a hot, sexy game even as lethal danger stalks the very place they call home ...

Biographical Notes

Nalini Singh was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. She spent three years living and working in Japan, and travelling around Asia before returning to New Zealand now - although she's always plotting new trips. She has worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher, not necessarily in that order. Some people might call that inconsistency, but she calls it grist for the writer's mill.

You can learn more by visiting www.nalinisingh.com or by following @NaliniSingh on twitter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575100114
  • Publication date: 26 May 2011
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Orion

Mine

Clare Empson
Authors:
Clare Empson

On the surface, Luke and his girlfriend Hannah seem to have a perfect life. He's an A&R man, she's an arts correspondent and they are devoted to their newborn son Samuel. But beneath the gloss Luke has always felt like an outsider. When he finds his birth mother Alice, the instant connection with her is a little like falling in love.So when Hannah goes back to work, Luke asks Alice to look after their son. But Alice - deranged with grief when her baby was taken from her 27 years ago - starts to fall in love with Samuel, and starts to pretend their child is hers...

Gollancz

The Song of the Sycamore

Edward Cox
Authors:
Edward Cox
Gateway

Native Tongue

Suzette Haden Elgin
Authors:
Suzette Haden Elgin

Set in the twenty-second century after the repeal of the Nineteenth Amendment, the novel reveals a world where women are once again property, denied civil rights, and banned from public life. In this world, Earth's wealth relies on interplanetary commerce, for which the population depends on linguists, a small, clannish group of families whose women breed and become perfect translators of all the galaxies' languages. The linguists wield power, but live in isolated compounds, hated by the population, and in fear of class warfare. But a group of women is destined to challenge the power of men and linguists. Nazareth, the most talented linguist of her family, is exhausted by her constant work translating for the government, supervising the children's language education in the Alien-in-Residence interface chambers, running the compound, and caring for the elderly men. She longs to retire to the Barren House, where women past childbearing age knit, chat, and wait to die. What Nazareth does not yet know is that a clandestine revolution is going on in the Barren Houses: there, word by word, women are creating a language of their own to free them of men's domination. Their secret must, above all, be kept until the language is ready for use. The women's language, Láadan, is only one of the brilliant creations found in this stunningly original novel, which combines a page-turning plot with challenging meditations on the tensions between freedom and control, individuals and communities, thought and action.

Orion

Inspection

Josh Malerman
Authors:
Josh Malerman

Gollancz

Wolf Rain

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Gollancz

Olympos

Dan Simmons
Authors:
Dan Simmons
Gateway

The Legend of Nightfall

Mickey Zucker Reichert
Authors:
Mickey Zucker Reichert

He has been known by countless names and terrifying deeds throughout the lands of mankind-thief, magic wielder, swordsman, assassin, adventurer. But chief among those names and perhaps the most dangerous of his personae is that of Nightfall, a man-or perhaps the legendary demon himself-gifted with unique powers which any sorcerer would kill to possess.Yet though Nightfall has always escaped his pursuers by moving on to new realms, new identities, and new enterprises, even the cleverest of beings must occasionally slip. And when this master of the night finally falls prey to a royal trap, he finds the consequences beyond even his ability to evade. Bound by sorcery and oath to guard and guide a young prince on his quest, Nightfall will need every trick and talent at his command to keep both himself and his idealistic young charge from death at the hands of unknown betrayers.

Gateway

The Charwoman's Shadow

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany

An old woman who spends her days scrubbing the floors might be an unlikely damsel in distress, but Lord Dunsany proves once again his mastery of the fantastical. The Charwoman's Shadow is a beautiful tale of a sorcerer's apprentice who discovers his master's nefarious usage of stolen shadows, and vows to save the charwoman from her slavery.

Gateway

The Beasts of Barakhai

Mickey Zucker Reichert
Authors:
Mickey Zucker Reichert

Pursuing an escaped white lab rat from his college biology lab, Benton Collins - a graduate student - follows the rodent into a storeroom and through a secret gateway into another world whose inhabitants are shapeshifters capable of transforming from human to animal form.

Gateway

Jeweled Fire

Sharon Shinn
Authors:
Sharon Shinn
Orion

The Light Over London

Julia Kelly
Authors:
Julia Kelly

A forgotten diary, a forbidden love affair, a desperate fight to save her country2017 When Cara Hargreaves discovers a diary from the 1940s, its contents will change her life forever...1941 When Louise Keene meets dashing RAF pilot, Paul Bolton, she is swept off her feet. Then Paul is sent to war and Louise, defying her mother's wishes, ends up a gunner girl in London.Watching the pitch-black skies for bombers, Louise finds comfort recording her dreams in her diary. And as Cara reads her words, decades later, she learns that hope can be found even in the darkest of times, she just needs to take a chance...Discover the story of the remarkable World War Two gunner girls in this entrancing and heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of Martha Hall Kelly's The Lilac Girls and Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale.Praise for The Light Over London'a heartbreaking romance that will grip you from the very beginning.' Washington Post

Gateway

Unquiet Land

Sharon Shinn
Authors:
Sharon Shinn

Leah Frothen has returned home. But she can scarcely catch her breath before she is summoned by regent Darien Serlast, the man who made her a spy. Leah is reluctant to take on a new assignment, but Darien has dangled the perfect lure to draw her in...Leah finds she enjoys the challenges of opening a shop catering to foreign visitors, especially since it affords her the opportunity to get to know Mally, the child she abandoned five years ago.But when the regent asks her to spy on ambassadors from a visiting nation, Leah soon learns that everyone-her regent, her lover, and even her daughter-have secrets that could save the nation, but might very well break her heart.

Gateway

Reader and Raelynx

Sharon Shinn
Authors:
Sharon Shinn

In this novel of secret sorceries and forbidden desires, the mystic Cammon must put aside his personal feelings for Princess Amalie while he reads the souls of her suitors for any potential threats. But Cammon is unable to read Amalie, and he begins to suspect that she herself possesses magic powers-a revelation which would put her life in danger, and throw the kingdom into chaos.

Gollancz

Archangel's Prophecy

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Gollancz

Ocean Light

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Gollancz

Silver Silence

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh returns to her extraordinary Psy-Changeling world with a story of wild passion and darkest betrayal . . . Control. Precision. Family. These are the principles that drive Silver Mercant. At a time when the fledgling Trinity Accord seeks to unite a divided world, with Silver playing a crucial role as director of a worldwide emergency response network, wildness and chaos are the last things she needs in her life. But that's exactly what Valentin Nikolaev, alpha of the StoneWater bears, brings with him.Valentin has never met a more fascinating woman. Though Silver is ruled by Silence - her mind clear of all emotion - Valentin senses a whisper of fire around her. That's what keeps him climbing apartment buildings to be near her. But when a shadow assassin almost succeeds in poisoning Silver, the stakes become deadly serious . . . and Silver finds herself in the heart of a powerful bear clan. Her would-be assassin has no idea what their poison has unleashed . . .

Gollancz

Terry Pratchett's Discworld Imaginarium

Paul Kidby
Authors:
Paul Kidby
Gollancz

Archangel's Viper

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

Enter New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh's breathtakingly passionate Guild Hunter world with the story of a woman who isn't a vampire or an angel . . . or human . . . Once a broken girl known as Sorrow, Holly Chang now prowls the shadowy grey underground of the city for the angels. But it's not her winged allies who make her a wanted woman - it's the unknown power coursing through her veins. Brutalised by an insane archangel, she was left with the bloodlust of a vampire, the ability to mesmerise her prey, and a poisonous bite. Now, someone has put a bounty on her head . . . Venom is one of the Seven, Archangel Raphael's private guard, and he's as infuriating as he is seductive. A centuries-old vampire, his fangs dispense a poison deadlier than Holly's. But even if Venom can protect Holly from those hunting her, he might not be able to save himself - because the strange, violent power inside Holly is awakening . . . No one is safe.

Orion

Archangel's Enigma

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

Naasir is the most feral of the powerful group of vampires and angels known as the Seven, his loyalty pledged to the Archangel Raphael. When rumors surface of a plot to murder the former Archangel of Persia, now lost in the Sleep of the Ancients, Naasir is dispatched to find him. For only he possesses the tracking skills required-those more common to predatory animals than to man.Enlisted to accompany Naasir, Andromeda, a young angelic scholar with dangerous secrets, is fascinated by his nature-at once playful and brilliant, sensual and brutal. As they race to find the Sleeping archangel before it's too late, Naasir will force her to question all she knows . . . and tempt her to walk into the magnificent, feral darkness of his world. But first they must survive an enemy vicious enough to shatter the greatest taboo of the angelic race and plunge the world into a screaming nightmare . . .Read by Justine Eyre(p) 2015 Tantor Media Inc

Gollancz

Allegiance of Honour

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh