L. Sprague deCamp - The Fallible Fiend - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Fallible Fiend

By L. Sprague deCamp

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From a winner of the Hugo, World Fantasy and SFWA Grand Master awards

The Perfect Servant (NOT!)

He looked like a cross between a dragon and a catfish, and he could bend iron bands into pretzels with a flick of his hand. But what Zdim the mild-mannered demon really was, was a scholar of logic and philosophy. That's why when Zdim was drafter for a year's servitude on the mortal plane he felt that a monumental administrative error had been made.

And even though Zdim resolved to be absolutely obedient and to do exactly what he was told, the wizard who employed him soon agreed.

Biographical Notes

L. Sprague de Camp (1907 - 2000)
Lyon Sprague de Camp was born in 1907 and died in 2000. During a writing career that spanned seven decades, he wrote over a hundred books in the areas of science fiction, fantasy, historical fiction, non-fiction and biography. Although arguably best known for his continuation of Robert E. Howard's Conan stories, de Camp was an important figure in the formative period of modern SF, alongside the likes of Isaac Asimov and Robert A. Heinlein, and was a winner of the Hugo, World Fantasy Life Achievement and SFWA Grand Master awards.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575103436
  • Publication date: 11 Jun 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Archangel's Prophecy

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Orion

Legion: The Many Lives of Stephen Leeds

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Gollancz

The Ember Blade

Chris Wooding
Authors:
Chris Wooding

A land under occupation. A legendary sword. A young man's journey to find his destiny.Aren has lived by the rules all his life. He's never questioned it; that's just the way things are. But then his father is executed for treason, and he and his best friend Cade are thrown into a prison mine, doomed to work until they drop. Unless they can somehow break free . . .But what lies beyond the prison walls is more terrifying still. Rescued by a man who hates him yet is oath-bound to protect him, pursued by inhuman forces, Aren slowly accepts that everything he knew about his world was a lie. The rules are not there to protect him, or his people, but to enslave them. A revolution is brewing, and Aren is being drawn into it, whether he likes it or not.The key to the revolution is the Ember Blade. The sword of kings, the Excalibur of his people. Only with the Ember Blade in hand can their people be inspired to rise up . . . but it's locked in an impenetrable vault in the most heavily guarded fortress in the land.All they have to do now is steal it . . .

Gollancz

Legion: Lies of the Beholder

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Stephen Leeds, also known as 'Legion', has a unique mental condition. He can become an expert on any subject in hours . . . and with every new area of expertise a new 'aspect' of Stephen is created.Is he schizophrenic? Possibly. Does that make him an incredible intelligence agent? Definitely. And this is his final, and perhaps his strangest, adventure. It begins with two unrelated events: the disappearance of Armando, one of Stephen's many "aspects," and an unexpected cry for help from Sandra, the woman who, many years before, helped him learn to live with his condition . . . and the combination of the two leads to a sinister high-tech firm specializing in advanced methods of human incarceration.An original, challenging, and utterly absorbing story, this unmissable novella showcases Stephen Leeds at his best: a compelling hero, and a man constantly struggling to understand and control his own divided nature.'An absolutely fantastic read' Fantasy Book Review'The pulse of a thriller and the hook of a fascinating hero balancing on the edge of psychosis' Library Journal

Gollancz

We Are Where The Nightmares Go and Other Stories

C. Robert Cargill
Authors:
C. Robert Cargill

From the critically acclaimed screenwriter of Doctor Strange and author of Sea of Rust and Queen of the Dark Things comes a hair-raising collection of short fiction that illuminates the strange, humorous, fantastical and downright diabolical that tantalise and terrorise us: demons, monsters, zombie dinosaurs and Death itself.In the novella 'The Soul Thief's Son' C. Robert Cargill returns to the terrain of the Queen of the Dark Things to continue the story of Colby Stevens . . .A Triceratops and an Ankylosaurus join forces to survive a zombie apocalypse that may spell extinction for their kind in 'Hell Creek' . . .In a grand old building atop a crack in the world, an Iraq War veteran must serve a one-year term as a punisher of the damned, condemned to consume the sins of others in the hope that one day he may find peace in 'In a Clean, White Room' (co-authored with Scott Derrickson). . .In 'The Town That Wasn't Anymore', the village of Pine Hill Bluff loses its inhabitants one at a time as the angry dead return when night falls to steal the souls of the living . . .And in the title story, 'We Are Where the Nightmares Go', a little girl crawls through a glowing door beneath her bed and finds herself trapped in a nightmarish wonderland - a crucible of the fragments of children's bad dreams.These tales and four more are assembled here as testament to Cargill's mastery of the phantasmagoric, making We Are Where the Nightmares Go and Other Stories a collection of unnerving horror and fantasy will keep you up all night and haunt your waking dreams.

Gollancz

Seventh Decimate

Stephen Donaldson
Authors:
Stephen Donaldson
Gollancz

Ocean Light

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Gollancz

Son of the Night

Mark Alder
Authors:
Mark Alder
Gollancz

Sea of Rust

C. Robert Cargill
Authors:
C. Robert Cargill
Gollancz

The Belles

Dhonielle Clayton
Authors:
Dhonielle Clayton

'Looking for the next big groundbreaking event in YA? This is it.' Rick Riordan, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Percy Jackson seriesThe New York Times bestselling tale of beauty, obsession and magic. . . I AM A BELLE. I CONTROL BEAUTY. In the opulent world of Orléans, the people are born grey and damned, and only a Belle's powers can make them beautiful. Camellia Beauregard wants to be the favourite Belle - the one chosen by the queen to tend to the royal family. But once Camellia and her Belle sisters arrive at court, it becomes clear that being the favourite is not everything she always dreamed it would be. Behind the gilded palace walls live dark secrets, and Camellia soon learns that her powers may be far greater - and far darker - than she ever imagined. When the queen asks Camellia to break the rules she lives by to save the ailing princess, she faces an impossible decision: protect herself and the way of the Belles, or risk her own life, and change the world forever.'Sumptuous and original worldbuilding, heart-pounding plot and gorgeous prose.' Samantha Shannon, New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Season'A whip-smart writer with grand, grand talents.' Roxane Gay, New York Times bestselling author of Bad Feminist'Breathtakingly beautiful and deeply unsettling.' Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli
Gollancz

White Knight/Black Swan

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Gollancz

Princess of Blood

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd
Orion

King's Cage

Victoria Aveyard
Authors:
Victoria Aveyard

The third novel in the #1 bestselling RED QUEEN series by Victoria AveyardALL WILL BURN.Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal.Now a king, Maven continues weaving his web in an attempt to maintain control over his country - and his prisoner. As Mare remains trapped in the palace, the remnants of the Red Rebellion continue organizing and expanding. As they prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows, Cal - the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare's heart - will stop at nothing to bring her back.Blood will turn on blood and allegiances will be tested on every side. If the Lightning Girl's spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?*********Read the bestselling RED QUEEN series in full:Book 1: RED QUEENBook 2: GLASS SWORDBook 3: KING'S CAGEBook 4: WAR STORM*********

Gollancz

The Slow Regard of Silent Things

Patrick Rothfuss
Authors:
Patrick Rothfuss

The University, a renowned bastion of knowledge, attracts the brightest minds to unravel the mysteries of enlightened sciences like artificing and alchemy. Yet deep below its bustling halls lies a complex and cavernous maze of abandoned rooms and ancient passageways - and in the heart of it all lives Auri.Formerly a student at the University, now Auri spends her days tending the world around her. She has learned that some mysteries are best left settled and safe. No longer fooled by the sharp rationality so treasured by the University, Auri sees beyond the surface of things, into subtle dangers and hidden names.At once joyous and haunting, THE SLOW REGARD OF SILENT THINGS is a rich, atmospheric and lyrical tale, featuring one of the most beloved characters from Rothfuss' acclaimed fantasy series.

Gollancz

Shadows of Self

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Fans of Robert Jordan and George RR Martin alike have found a new champion of epic fantasy in Brandon Sanderson. And now, in the first of two sequels to The Alloy Of Law the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author returns to the world of Mistborn anda hunt for a mysterious assassin. The criminal elite of Elendel were invited to an auction - which became a massacre, when an unknown assailant slaughtered everyone in attendance. Now Wax and Wayne, both able to use magic, both lawmen from the rough and ungoverned frontier territories, are on the case. All the clues suggest the killer is a rogue kandra - a secretive, almost mythical, figure who acts from the shadows - called Bleeder . . . and that the governor is her next target. Bleeder, and the conspiracy behind the killings, has to be stopped . . . before the city is plunged into chaos.A brilliant adventure and a gripping story, Shadows of Self offers fans of The Alloy of Law everything they've been hoping for and, this being a Brandon Sanderson book, more, much more.

Gollancz

Elantris

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Gateway

Solomon's Stone

L. Sprague deCamp
Authors:
L. Sprague deCamp

After an unintentionally successful demon-summoning, accountant Prosper Nash finds himself on the astral plane, inhabiting the body of Jean-Prospere, Chevalier de Néche-the swashbuckling cavalier he likes to imagine himself as-and in a New York filled with characters from similar wish-fulfillment daydreams of other mundane souls. The demon is possessing his body on a mundane plane, and he attempts to find his way back. This involves the Shamir, the Solomon's Stone of the title, and plentiful swashbuckling adventure, and a plot in which Prosper Nash's accounting abilities prove as useful as Chevalier de Néche's athletic ones.

Gollancz

Calamity

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Gateway

Literary Swordsmen and Sorcerers

L. Sprague deCamp
Authors:
L. Sprague deCamp

Stories contained in this book:The Swords of FaerieJack of all Arts: William MorrisTwo Men in One: Lord DunsanyEldritch Yankee Gentleman: H. P. LovecraftSuperman in a Bowler: E. R. EddisonThe Miscast Barbarian: Robert E. HowardParallel Worlds: Fletcher PrattSierran Shaman: Clark Ashton SmithMerlin in Tweeds: J. R. R. TolkienThe Architect of Camelot: T. H. WhiteConan's Compeers