Michael Moorcock - Breakfast in the Ruins and Other Stories - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Breakfast in the Ruins and Other Stories

The Best Short Fiction Of Michael Moorcock Volume 3

By Michael Moorcock

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The Michael Moorcock Collection presents, for the first time, definitive editions of Moorcock's most influential work, fully revised and updated by the author.

The third and final part of Gollancz's definitive collection of Moorcock's short fiction, this selection features some of his finest work.

From 'The Time Dweller' to 'Breakfast in the Ruins', the stories here are incredibly varied in their style, execution and subject matter.

Biographical Notes

Michael Moorcock (1939-)
Michael Moorcock is one of the most important figures in British SF and Fantasy literature. The author of many literary novels and stories in practically every genre, his novels have won and been shortlisted for numerous awards including the Hugo, Nebula, World Fantasy, Whitbread and Guardian Fiction Prize. In 1999, he was given the World Fantasy Life Achievement Award; in 2001, he was inducted into the SF Hall of Fame; and in 2007, he was named a SFWA Grandmaster. Michael Moorcock is also a musician who has performed since the seventies with his own band, the Deep Fix; and, as a member of the prog rock band, Hawkwind, won a gold disc. His tenure as editor of New Worlds magazine in the sixties and seventies is seen as the high watermark of SF editorship in the UK, and was crucial in the development of the SF New Wave. Michael Moorcock's literary creations include Hawkmoon, Corum, Von Bek, Jerry Cornelius and, of course, his most famous character, Elric. He has been compared to, among others, Balzac, Dumas, Dickens, James Joyce, Ian Fleming, J.R.R. Tolkien and Robert E. Howard. Although born in London, he now splits his time between homes in Texas and Paris.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575115538
  • Publication date: 26 Dec 2014
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gateway

Jerry Cornelius: His Lives and His Times

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Shores of Death

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Dragon in the Sword

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Sundered Worlds

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Dorian Hawkmoon... Corum Jhaelen Irsei... Elric of Melniboné. Over the years, Michael Moorcock has captivated readers with his unending versions of the Eternal Champion, the timeless warrior who serves the Cosmic Balance in the ongoing battle that rages between Law and Chaos through the many planes and levels of the multiverse. But what is the multiverse and what are its origins? In this essential novel, Michael Moorcock provides readers these critical answers.World War Three has come and gone, and humankind has survived its brutal past to assume its place among the stars. Yet their existence is endangered nonetheless, as their entire universe is threatening to collapse. All their hopes rest on the shoulders of Count Renark von Bek, a nobleman of extraordinary psychic abilities and carefully guarded secrets.Aided by his companions, von Bek will delve into the Sundered Worlds, a mysterious galaxy outside the space-time continuum that has materialized on the edges of known space. Inside this roving galaxy, they will uncover the secrets of the multiverse and embark upon a last desperate gamble to save humankind.But as they will soon discover, even survival comes laden with danger, as the solutions to their dilemma may also hold the final keys to their destruction

Gateway

Phoenix in Obsidian

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

The second book of The Eternal Champion trilogy.As Erekose, the Eternal Champion, he slew the human race that had betrayed his ideals. And loved Ermizhad, the Eldren princessThe the voices called him and he was powerless to resist. As Fate's soldier, the Eternal One, his lot was to vanquish tyranny. Sent tumbling through the corridors of eternity, he found himself transformed. Now Urlik Skarsol - he is the Prince of the Southern Ice. To find his way home, Urlik Skarsol must take up the Black Sword, the monstrous weapon that demands blood - be it friend's or foe's - before his tortured soul can rest. Before the powers of Evil can be conquered. Before he can rediscover Ermizhad.Before he can know peace again ...

Gateway

Barbarians of Mars

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Michael Moorcock's Eternal Champion returns in the form of Michael Kane, a brilliant Earthman stranded on the treacherous deserts of Ancient Mars! In this sweeping, epic sword-and-planet adventure in the tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs, Kane and his blue giant companion Hool Haji must travel to the far reaches of the Red Planet to halt the hideous Green Death, an unstoppable disease that rots the mind as well as the body. From gorgeous Karnala, City of Green Mists, to the empty streets of tainted Cend-Amrid to the forgotten weird-science laboratories of the lost, highly advanced Yaksha culture, Masters of the Pit promises stunning locales, disgusting Martian creatures, and relentless action from the Nebula and World Fantasy Award-winning creator of Elric of Melniboné!

Gateway

Blades of Mars

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Once before, physicist and warrior Michael Kane's experiments in matter transmission catapulted him across space and time to the verdant and war-torn Mars of the distant past, only to wrench him back home at his greatest moment. Now, desperate to return to the princess he loves and the kingdom he left behind, Kane throws himself once more into the ether, and finds himself again on Mars - but this time confronted with man-sized spiders, ancient mutated races, and a brutal civil war between the planet's familiar Blue Giants. Can it be that he's arrived thousands of years too late to find his beloved Shizala?The creator of Elric of Melniboné, Michael Moorcock remains one of the most honored science fiction and fantasy authors of all time. With Kane of Old Mars, Moorcock's Eternal Champion returns with interplanetary adventure in the best Edgar Rice Burroughs tradition.

Gateway

Warriors of Mars

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

That first visit to Mars had been a mistake. A miraculous journey out through the myriad miles of space and back, back through the millennia to a time before Man existed, it had been the chance result of a small-scale malfunction in an experimental matter transfer machine.But Michael Kane's first great adventure in a world where great mythic armies battled, where hugely bizarre creatures roamed and deeds of high heroism and dark treachery resounded, was but the start. For as he learned to control and use the machinery, he was to return to Mars again and again.Containing the complete Martian adventures of Michael Kane, of the proud Princess Shizala, her warrior brother and the darkly beautiful but evil Horguhl, are brought together in one volume.

Gateway

The Steel Tsar

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

In his epic adventures in the alternative Twentieth Centuries, Chrononaut Oswald Bastable, member of the League of Temporal Adventurers, has crossed and re-crossed many different time-streams. Some of his previous experiences have been told in The Land Leviathan and The Warlord of the Air.Now, in what may be the last communication from him, he tells of a world in which the Bolshevik Revolution never happened...The Steel Tsar finds him travelling backwards in time from a shell-shocked Singapore to a Russian Empire seething with conflict and preyed on by motley bands of rogues and adventurers. Here he meets up with fellow-time-traveler Miss Una Persson, and together they change the course of a history whose legendary deeds exceed the bounds of everyday imagination and glitter in the exuberant land of the eternal present.

Gateway

The Warlord of the Air

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Land Leviathan

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Seeking the answer to the mystery of life, Captain Oswald Bastable visits the Temple of the Future Buddha and is thrown through time to a new twentieth century. Plague, anarchy and superstition rule the world where he finds himself. Bands of diseased mutants pillage the continents while pirate U-boats prowl the oceans. But from this chaos emerges Black Attila, commander of the African Hordes and master of the most terrible weapon ever devised by Man - the Land Leviathan, a terrifying ziggurat on wheels, a moving mountain of deadly artillery. At last, after centuries of cruel oppression, the Land Leviathan helps the Black Attila establish Black Power on an unimaginable, global scale. Unimaginable, that is, to anyone except Michael Moorcock who has re-written the history of the twentieth century in his own totally original, biting style.

Gateway

The Black Corridor

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Ice Schooner

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Eternal Champion

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

The first book of The Eternal Champion trilogy.Erekose is the Eternal Champion: pulled by the tides of chance through a thousand worlds and ages. In his lonely search for peace and justice all he can trust are his own courage and enduring passion. Across magical landscapes, fantastic worlds without end, he strides - eternal hero, eternal warrior, eternal lover - forever defying destiny and lifting his brave sword against the cruel, cold logic of the Multiverse...

Gateway

The Winds of Limbo

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Wrecks of Time

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Earth zero to Earth fifteen - which was the real one?What the inhabitants of Greater America didn't realize was that theirs was the only inhabited landmass, apart from one island in the Philippines. They still talked about foreign countries, though they would forget little by little, but the countries were only in their imaginations, mysterious and romantic places where nobody actually went..That was the way it was on E-3, one of the fifteen alternate Earths that had been discovered through the subspace experiments.Professor Faustaff knew that these alternate earths were somehow recent creations, and that they were under attack from the strange eroding raids of the mysterious bands known as the D-Squads. But there were tens of millions of people on those Earths who were entitled to life and protection-and unless Faustaff and his men could crack the mystery of these worlds' creation and the more urgent problem of their impending destruction, it would mean not only the end of these parallel planets, but just possibly the blanking out of all civilization in the universe.

Gateway

Fantasy: The 101 Best Books

Michael Moorcock, James Cawthorn
Authors:
Michael Moorcock, James Cawthorn
Gollancz

King of the City

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gollancz

London Bone and Other Stories

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gollancz

Behold The Man

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Meet Karl Glogauer, time traveller and unlikely Messiah. When he finds himself in Palestine in the year 29AD he is shocked to meet the man known as Jesus Christ - a drooling idiot, hiding in the shadows of the carpenter's shop in Nazareth. But if he is not capable of fulfilling his historical role, then who will take his place?Expanded from the NEBULA-winning 1966 novella, BEHOLD THE MAN is one of the greatest books of Moorcock's long and varied career. Intense, delicate and brutal, it explores the psyche of one man as he faces his ultimate fate. One he knows he cannot avoid.