Edmund Cooper - Merry Christmas Ms Minerva - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Merry Christmas Ms Minerva

By Edmund Cooper

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An SF Gateway eBook: bringing the classics to the future.

This powerful and horrific novel is set in England in the early part of the 21st century. It tells of the tragic and terrifying events that occur on one day - Christmas Eve - in the life of Maggie Minerva, the attractive widow of a Trade Union boss. These events have startling repercussions not only for the people involved but also for the social structure of Britain.

Biographical Notes

Edmund Cooper (1926 - 1982)
Edmund Cooper was born in Cheshire in 1926. He served in the Merchant navy towards the end of the Second World War and trained as a teacher after its end. He began to publish SF stories in 1951 and produced a considerable amount of short fiction throughout the '50s, moving on, by the end of that decade, to the novels for which he is chiefly remembered. His works displayed perhaps a bleaker view of the future than many of his contemporaries', frequently utilising post-apocalyptic settings. In addition to writing novels, Edmund Cooper reviewed science fiction for the Sunday Times from 1967 until his death in 1982.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575116504
  • Publication date: 26 May 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

The Tropic of Eternity

Tom Toner
Authors:
Tom Toner
Gollancz

Luna: Moon Rising

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald

Optioned for TV by CBS in a massive deal, Ian McDonald's Luna trilogy has already been acclaimed as one of the most exciting and important SF series of the decade. This is Kim Stanley Robinson's Mars trilogy for a new generation; perfect SF for fans of Gravity and The Martian looking for a wider canvas and large-scale thriller format.Akin to the mafia families of The Godfather, the families of the five Dragons who control the rich resources of the moon are locked in an endless and vicious struggle for supremacy and now the peace that reigned while the moon was colonised is breaking down. Which of the scions of the dragons will gain supremacy? Or will the moon, with its harsh vacuum, it's freezing dark and blazing, irradiated light be the final winner?

Gateway

Dying Of The Light

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin
Gollancz

Revenger

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds

The galaxy has seen great empires rise and fall. Planets have shattered and been remade. Amongst the ruins of alien civilisations, building our own from the rubble, humanity still thrives.And there are vast fortunes to be made, if you know where to find them . . .Captain Rackamore and his crew do. It's their business to find the tiny, enigmatic worlds which have been hidden away, booby-trapped, surrounded with layers of protection - and to crack them open for the ancient relics and barely-remembered technologies inside. But while they ply their risky trade with integrity, not everyone is so scrupulous.Adrana and Fura Ness are the newest members of Rackamore's crew, signed on to save their family from bankruptcy. Only Rackamore has enemies, and there might be more waiting for them in space than adventure and fortune: the fabled and feared Bosa Sennen in particular.Revenger is a science fiction adventure story set in the rubble of our solar system in the dark, distant future - a tale of space pirates, buried treasure and phantom weapons, of unspeakable hazards and single-minded heroism . . . and of vengeance . . .

Gollancz

A Quantum Mythology

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Gateway

Return to Eddarta

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron

After a meteor explosion, Rikardon wakes in a new body-and in a strange desert land named Gandalara, where a sacred gem known as the Ra'ira grants its owner the power to rule-or to destroy... Victory is sweet-but for Rikardon and Tarani, it is all too brief. Although they have retrieved the sword of the Kings from the lost city of Kä, a savage battle with the vineh mars their journey back to Raithskar. These ape-like creatures were once controlled through the power of the Ra'ira. Now they pose a threat both to the cat-like sha'um and humanoid Gandalarans. To restore order, Rikardon and Tarani must travel to Eddarta, where Tarani can use the Ra'ira against the increasingly vicious vineh. First she must face her treacherous brother, Indomel, and convince the Council to name her High Lord in his place. Indomel will not take such betrayal lightly, but another danger is about to reveal itself-a sinister and ambitious traitor who has been hiding in plain sight all along.

Gateway

The Glass of Dyskornis

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron

For Ricardo Carillo, taking over the life of the swordsman Markasset on the desert world of Gandalara had its compensations: a strong young body, a beautiful fiancee, and a mighty telepathic warcat named Keeshah, who obeyed his every command. It also had its problems. Markasset had many enemies, and one was out for blood. So Ricardo and Keeshah left Raithskar to join the Sharith - the warrior brotherhood of sha'um cat-riders. But trouble followed, and he soon found himself in the company of a jealous lieutenant and a lovely but treacherous illusionist, on the track of the murderer who had stolen Gandalara's most precious jewel.

Gateway

The Well of Darkness

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron

Bearing the Ra'ira, Raithskar's most sacred gem, Rikardon and Tarani flee a ruthless enemy across the burning deserts of Gandalara. Protected by the swordsman's mighty warcat Keeshah, and the mystic bird called Lonna, who obeys the illusionist's commands, the two discover the smoldering passion they have long denied. But Keeshah leaves them to fulfill an ancient mating ritual in the Valley of the Sha'um, Rikardon and Tarani must risk death in the Well of Darkness to fulfill their destiny.

Gateway

The Search for Ka

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron

Rikardon and Tarani, with Keeshah and his mate Yayshah, set off on their quest for the lost city of Ka to find the twin to Serkajon's sword and prove Tarani's claim to the throne of Eddarta. To locate the legendary city, Rikardon must meld once again with the mystic All-Mind and travel back in time to share the memories of the fabled King Zarek himself. But in the forsaken wastes of burning Gandalara desert, Tarani will also reach a reckoning with the fateful secret of her long-denied past.

Gateway

Dark Benediction

Walter M. Miller Jr
Authors:
Walter M. Miller Jr
Gateway

Ferry Rocket

Edmund Cooper
Authors:
Edmund Cooper
Gollancz

The Tabit Genesis

Tony Gonzales
Authors:
Tony Gonzales
Gollancz

Radiant State

Peter Higgins
Authors:
Peter Higgins

With his loving evocation of a dark and fantastical realm that owes much to the myth and history of 20th-century Russia, and his rare ability to combine poetic writing and kinetic plotting, Peter Higgins has created one of the most original and critically lauded works of recent years. Adored by critics and authors such as Hannu Rajaniemi, Ian McDonald and Richard Morgan the Wolfhound Century novels now reach their extraordinary conclusion.In RADIANT STATE we discover both the glory and the true horror of Joseph Kantor's plan for the Vast and its people. It is a plan that transcends the boundaries of the world. And out in the depths of the endless forest that borders the Vast the mighty fallen angel and the powers of the earth itself will still have a part to play. Will Vissarion and Maroussia survive the violence of the end game?

Gollancz

Air

Geoff Ryman
Authors:
Geoff Ryman
Gollancz

Cleave

Elizabeth Bear
Authors:
Elizabeth Bear
Gollancz

No Life But This

Anna Sheehan
Authors:
Anna Sheehan
Gollancz

Wild Cards: Lowball

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin

More exciting adventures from the longest running shared-world superhero series created and edited by George R.R. Martin, bestselling author of GAME OF THRONESDecades after an alien virus changed the course of history, the surviving population of Manhattan still struggles to understand the new world left in its wake. Natural humans share the rough city with those given extraordinary - and sometimes terrifying - traits. While most manage to coexist in an uneasy peace, not everyone is willing to adapt. Down in the seedy underbelly of Jokertown, residents are going missing. The authorities are unwilling to investigate, except for a fresh lieutenant looking to prove himself and a collection of unlikely jokers forced to take matters into their own hands - or tentacles. The deeper into the kidnapping case these misfits and miscreants get, the higher the stakes are raised.Edited by No.1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author George R.R. Martin and acclaimed author Melinda M. Snodgrass, LOWBALL is the latest mosaic novel in the acclaimed Wild Cards universe, featuring original fiction by Carrie Vaughn, Ian Tregillis, David Anthony Durham, Melinda M. Snodgrass, Mary Anne Mohanraj, David D. Levine, Michael Cassutt and Walter Jon Williams.Perfect for old fans and new readers alike, LOWBALL delves deeper into the world of aces, jokers, and the hard-boiled men and women of the Fort Freak police precinct in a pulpy, page-turning novel of superheroics and mystery.

Gateway

Damon Knight SF Gateway Omnibus

Damon Knight
Authors:
Damon Knight

Author, editor, critic, fan: few people have had such a great and varied impact on modern SF as Damon Knight. From membership of seminal SF group the Futurians, through years of incisive reviews and criticism, to editorship of the influential Orbit series of anthologies, Knight bestrode 20th-century SF like a colossus. After his death in 2002, the SFWA GRAND MASTER AWARD was renamed in his honour. The four volumes contained in this omnibus represent the best of his acclaimed short fiction - FAR OUR, IN DEEP, OFF CENTRE and TURNING ON - including his retro HUGO-winning TO SERVE MAN, surely the only SF story to inspire episodes of THE TWILIGHT ZONE and THE SIMPSONS!

Gollancz

The Space Machine

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest
Gollancz

Bête

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts