Edmund Cooper - Prisoner of Fire - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Prisoner of Fire

By Edmund Cooper

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Vanessa Smith looked like any normal seventeen year old girl. But Vanessa wasn't normal at all.

She possessed extraordinary telepathic powers - and in the 1990s telepathy was the ultimate weapon in psychological warfare. Vanessa, along with other gifted children, was virtually a prisoner at Random Hill Residential School, developing her abilities for Government exploitation.

So when she escaped, Vanessa became a political embarrassment. Questions were asked by the Opposition. It was vital for the Prime Minister, the ruthlessly dictatorial Sir Joseph Humbolt, that everything that marked Vanessa's existence should be erased. And orders were given that she should be hunted down - using telepaths like herself - and destroyed.

Biographical Notes

Edmund Cooper (1926 - 1982)
Edmund Cooper was born in Cheshire in 1926. He served in the Merchant navy towards the end of the Second World War and trained as a teacher after its end. He began to publish SF stories in 1951 and produced a considerable amount of short fiction throughout the '50s, moving on, by the end of that decade, to the novels for which he is chiefly remembered. His works displayed perhaps a bleaker view of the future than many of his contemporaries', frequently utilising post-apocalyptic settings. In addition to writing novels, Edmund Cooper reviewed science fiction for the Sunday Times from 1967 until his death in 1982.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575116535
  • Publication date: 30 Nov 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

The Tropic of Eternity

Tom Toner
Authors:
Tom Toner

Perfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Peter F. Hamilton.It is the 147th century. The mighty era of Homo Sapiens is at an end.In the Westerly Provinces of the Old World, the hunt is on for the young queen Arabis, and the beast that holds her captive. In the brutal hominid Investiture, revolution has come. The warlord Cunctus, having seized the Vulgar worlds, invites every Prism to pick a side. In the Firmament, once the kingdom of the Immortal Amaranthine, all ships converge on the foundry of Gliese. The grandest battle in the history of mammalian kind has begun.Perception, ancient machine spirit, must take back its mortal remains in a contest for the Firmament itself. Ghaldezuel, now the Grand Marshal of Cunctus' new empire, must travel to the deepest lagoon in the Investiture, a place where monsters dwell. Captain Maril, lost amongst the Hedron Stars, finds himself caught between colossal powers the likes of which he'd never dreamt. And for Aaron the Long-Life, he who has waited so very, very long for his revenge, things are only getting started . . .'(An) unceasing display of wonders...This third novel honours the accomplishments of and promises of the first two, and serves as a fitting capstone to a unique creation...' Paul Di Filippo, Locus Magazine'The final book in Toner's ridiculously ambitious trilogy will force you to redefine what space opera can do... ' Barnes & Noble'Among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years' TOR.COM [The Promise of the Child]

Gollancz

Luna: Moon Rising

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald

Optioned for TV by CBS in a massive deal, Ian McDonald's Luna trilogy has already been acclaimed as one of the most exciting and important SF series of the decade. This is Kim Stanley Robinson's Mars trilogy for a new generation; perfect SF for fans of Gravity and The Martian looking for a wider canvas and large-scale thriller format.Akin to the mafia families of The Godfather, the families of the five Dragons who control the rich resources of the moon are locked in an endless and vicious struggle for supremacy and now the peace that reigned while the moon was colonised is breaking down. Which of the scions of the dragons will gain supremacy? Or will the moon, with its harsh vacuum, it's freezing dark and blazing, irradiated light be the final winner?

Gateway

Dying Of The Light

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin
Gollancz

Revenger

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds
Gateway

Merry Christmas Ms Minerva

Edmund Cooper
Authors:
Edmund Cooper
Gollancz

A Quantum Mythology

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Gateway

Return to Eddarta

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Gateway

The Glass of Dyskornis

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Gateway

The Well of Darkness

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron

Bearing the Ra'ira, Raithskar's most sacred gem, Rikardon and Tarani flee a ruthless enemy across the burning deserts of Gandalara. Protected by the swordsman's mighty warcat Keeshah, and the mystic bird called Lonna, who obeys the illusionist's commands, the two discover the smoldering passion they have long denied. But Keeshah leaves them to fulfill an ancient mating ritual in the Valley of the Sha'um, Rikardon and Tarani must risk death in the Well of Darkness to fulfill their destiny.

Gateway

The Search for Ka

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron

Rikardon and Tarani, with Keeshah and his mate Yayshah, set off on their quest for the lost city of Ka to find the twin to Serkajon's sword and prove Tarani's claim to the throne of Eddarta. To locate the legendary city, Rikardon must meld once again with the mystic All-Mind and travel back in time to share the memories of the fabled King Zarek himself. But in the forsaken wastes of burning Gandalara desert, Tarani will also reach a reckoning with the fateful secret of her long-denied past.

Gateway

Dark Benediction

Walter M. Miller Jr
Authors:
Walter M. Miller Jr
Gateway

Ferry Rocket

Edmund Cooper
Authors:
Edmund Cooper
Gollancz

The Tabit Genesis

Tony Gonzales
Authors:
Tony Gonzales

They left Sol in two great ships, carrying with them the last hope for humankind. Destined for different stars, their mission was to ensure the survival of our species. One ship was never heard from again. Decades later, the other arrived at a lifeless world, where the survivors learned that Earth was lost not to famine, but to an alien species determined to eradicate humans from existence. Man is not alone in the universe, and the last of us are hunted. Driven by strong characters facing tremendous odds, Tony Gonzales delivers SF in the grandest tradition: an epic adventure full of colossal ships, vast battles and unimaginable challenges.

Gollancz

Radiant State

Peter Higgins
Authors:
Peter Higgins
Gollancz

Air

Geoff Ryman
Authors:
Geoff Ryman
Gollancz

Cleave

Elizabeth Bear
Authors:
Elizabeth Bear
Gollancz

No Life But This

Anna Sheehan
Authors:
Anna Sheehan
Gollancz

Wild Cards: Lowball

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin
Gateway

Damon Knight SF Gateway Omnibus

Damon Knight
Authors:
Damon Knight

Author, editor, critic, fan: few people have had such a great and varied impact on modern SF as Damon Knight. From membership of seminal SF group the Futurians, through years of incisive reviews and criticism, to editorship of the influential Orbit series of anthologies, Knight bestrode 20th-century SF like a colossus. After his death in 2002, the SFWA GRAND MASTER AWARD was renamed in his honour. The four volumes contained in this omnibus represent the best of his acclaimed short fiction - FAR OUR, IN DEEP, OFF CENTRE and TURNING ON - including his retro HUGO-winning TO SERVE MAN, surely the only SF story to inspire episodes of THE TWILIGHT ZONE and THE SIMPSONS!

Gollancz

The Space Machine

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest

A young Victorian couple are pulled into a mystery that transcends time and space. A mystery that will have very familiar elements for any fan of HG Wells but which cannot possibly be related to the work of the great man. Or can it?This early novel from Christopher Priest is at once a wonderful facsimile of late Victorian writing and an enticing modern novel that plays with the reader's expectations and comments on two of the greatest novels of science fiction.