Edmund Cooper - The Slaves of Heaven - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Slaves of Heaven

By Edmund Cooper

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'Welcome to Heaven', said the voice. 'The acquisition programme is entirely for females; but the occasional enterprising male does not displease us.'

Berry, Chief of his clan, knew his people could survive the dangers of the forest; and when winter came he made them build barricades against raiders from other clans. But no barricades were strong enough to hold against the Night Comers - huge silver beings of horrifying strength who carried away the womenfolk and were drastically lowering the human population.

Were the Night Comers men, monsters or gods? Berry believed they were men; and when the inevitable night came when the women of his clan were seized, he managed to follow. He followed them to a huge tapering column of metal, which took him away from the world he had known to an island in the sky called 'heaven'.

And there Berry realised that he had to defeat the Lords of Heaven if the people on Earth were to survive.

Biographical Notes

Edmund Cooper (1926-1982) was a British SF author.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575116566
  • Publication date: 29 Sep 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Episodes

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest
Gateway

The Best of R. A. Lafferty

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty

Acclaimed as one of the most original voices in modern literature, Raphael Aloysius Lafferty has been awarded and nominated for a multitude of accolades over the span of his career, including the World Fantasy Award for Lifetime Achievement.This collection contains 22 unique tall tales, including:Hugo Award-winning'Eurema's Dam' - introduced by Robert SilverbergHugo Award-nominated'Continued on the Next Rock' - introduced by Nancy Kress'Sky' - introduced by Gwenda BondNebula Award-nominated'In Our Block' - introduced by Neil GaimanAnd more stories introduced by other modern masters of SF who acknowledge R.A. Lafferty as a major influence and force in the field.

Gateway

The Pleasures of a Futuroscope

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany
Gateway

Bound in Time

D. F. Jones
Authors:
D. F. Jones

Modern man's most persistent and powerful dream is about to come true. He is ready to travel through time. And who better to take the leap than Mark Elverson, a man with an inoperable heart condition? The far future can only be an improvement for him ... or can it?

Gollancz

From Divergent Suns

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters

Gollancz

Ancestral Night

Elizabeth Bear
Authors:
Elizabeth Bear
Gateway

The Western Wizard

Mickey Zucker Reichert
Authors:
Mickey Zucker Reichert

When Odin breathed life into the mortal realms, he also created the Cardinal Wizards: the Northern Wizard as the representative of Good, the Southern as master of Evil, and the Western and Eastern as the keepers of the balance between Good and Evil, each neutral, both sharing the burden of holding their fellow magic wielders in check.But now the days decreed in ancient prophecy have come upon the mortal realms. The Great War has been fought and a Renshai has proven its Champion.Yet even as the war's heroes struggle to place the rightful king of Bearn upon his throne, and the also true Renshai seeks to train a new generation of his warrior race, the word is carried forth on falcon's wings that the Western Wizard is no more.And unless Shadimar, the Wizard of the East, can find the one mortal with any hope of surviving the challenge of the Seven Tasks of Wizardry, the worlds of gods and mortals alike will fall....

Gollancz

Replay

Ken Grimwood
Authors:
Ken Grimwood
Gateway

Doomsday Morning

C.L. Moore
Authors:
C.L. Moore

Comus, the communications network/police force, has spread its web of power all across an America paralyzed by the after-effects of limited nuclear war. But in California, resistance is building against the dictatorship of Comus and Andrew Raleigh, president for life. For now Raleigh is dying and the powers of Comus are fading. It's the perfect time for the Californian revolutionaries to activate the secret weapon that alone can destroy America's totalitarian system and re-establish democracy.Yet Comus too has powers at its disposal, chief among them Howard Rohan. A washed-up actor until Comus offers him a second chance, Rohan will head a troupe of players touring in the heart of rebel territory.Howard Rohan, double agent, caught between the orders of Comus and rebels demands. Which side will he choose? Who will he play false - himself, or the entire country?

Gateway

Fury

Henry Kuttner
Authors:
Henry Kuttner
Gollancz

Shadow Captain

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds
Gateway

Galactic Patrol

E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Authors:
E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Gollancz

By the Pricking of Her Thumb

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts

Private Investigator Alma is caught up in another impossible murder. One of the world's four richest people may be dead - but nobody is sure which one. Hired to discover the truth behind the increasingly bizarre behaviour of the ultra-rich, Alma must juggle treating her terminally ill lover with a case which may not have a victim.Inspired by the films of Kubrick, this stand-alone novel returns to the near-future of THE REAL-TOWN MURDERS, and puts Alma on a path to a world she can barely understand. Witty, moving and with a mystery deep at its heart, this novel again shows Adam Roberts' mastery of the form.

Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli

'Kristen Ciccarelli is now my favourite author' Tomi Adeyemi, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Children of Blood and Bone Now includes exclusive new content!****************************** ASHA IS A DRAGON SLAYERSince she was a young princess, Asha has killed to protect her father's kingdom. She longs to atone for the terrible deed she committed as a child - one that almost destroyed her city, and left her with a terrible scar.But no matter how many dragons she kills, her people still think she's wicked.So now she plans to slay the most powerful dragon of all. And the only person standing in her way is a defiant slave boy, leading a rebellion she can't possibly be a part of . . . THE LAST NAMSARA is an extraordinary story about courage, loyalty and star-crossed love, set in a kingdom that trembles on the edge of war. For fans of Madeline Miller, Katherine Arden, Laini Taylor and Tomi Adeyemi. **********************************'An accomplished fantasy novel . . . I'll definitely be looking out for the next one' Joanne Harris'The most simply thing I can say is this is the best book I have ever read and Kristen Ciccarelli is now my favourite author . . . your soul has been waiting for a story this beautiful' Tomi Adeyemi'It's always refreshing to see a non-traditional fantasy setting. And a kickass princess . . . a dash of Arabian Nights story magic, plus dragons? Yes please! Elspeth Cooper'The Last Namsara is easily one of my favourite fantasy books of this year . . . It's fast paced, action packed, filled with a diverse cast . . . Fans of An Ember in the Ashes, Seven Realms, and the Shattered Realms series will devour this' YABooksCentral

Gateway

Neuromancer

William Gibson
Authors:
William Gibson
Gollancz

Count Zero

William Gibson
Authors:
William Gibson
Gateway

Merry Christmas Ms Minerva

Edmund Cooper
Authors:
Edmund Cooper

This powerful and horrific novel is set in England in the early part of the 21st century. It tells of the tragic and terrifying events that occur on one day - Christmas Eve - in the life of Maggie Minerva, the attractive widow of a Trade Union boss. These events have startling repercussions not only for the people involved but also for the social structure of Britain.

Gateway

Feersum Endjinn

Iain M. Banks
Authors:
Iain M. Banks

Count Sessine is about to die for the very last time ... Chief Scientist Gadfium is about to receive the mysterious message she has been waiting for from the Plain of Sliding Stones...And Bascule the Teller, in search of an ant, is about to enter the chaos of the crypt...And everything is about to change...For this is the time of the Encroachment and, although the dimming sun still shines on the vast, towering walls of Serehfa Fastness, the end is close at hand. The King knows it, his closest advisers know it, yet still they prosecute the war against the clan Engineers with increasing savagery.The crypt knows it too; so an emissary has been sent, an emissary who holds the key to all their futures.

Gateway

Nova

Samuel R. Delany
Authors:
Samuel R. Delany
Gateway

Xeelee: Vacuum Diagrams

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Return to the eon-spanning and universe-crossing conflict between humanity and the unknowable alien Xeelee in this collection of stories, available in ebook for the first time!Baxter's future history, known as the Xeelee sequence, is an exemplar of the form: it comprises his first four novels - Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux and Ring - and these marvellous linked stories, as well as those in the new collection XEELEE: ENDURANCE.Contains 21 short stories, all set in the XEELEE universe.