Gavin G. Smith - A Quantum Mythology - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575127043
    • Publication date:11 Feb 2016

A Quantum Mythology

By Gavin G. Smith

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A fast-moving SF thriller set in a uniquely dark future from a new voice in the tradition of Peter F. Hamilton and Richard Morgan.

Praised by Stephen Baxter and Adam Roberts, reviewed ecstatically by SFX magazine, Gavin Smith is one of the brightest stars of space opera.

In the far future, many years after the loss of earth, humanity has changed. Strength is the only way to survive. And the most vicious man alive has a new con in mind...

Here and now, a man with unnatural powers hunts down a killer with impossible abilities. Infused with a barely-understood alien technology, the two are merely pawns in a bigger game...

A long time ago, the last tribes of Northern Britain face an unimaginable enemy. Demons risen from the sea, absorbing and twisting everything they touch. But there are some among the tribes who have power, who will fight...

And all of these times are connected...

Gavin Smith's new epic space opera is a wide-ranging exploration of the past, present and future of mankind.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575127180
  • Publication date: 26 Mar 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gollancz
This a very readable, fantastical romp across the past, present and future. Well recommended. — Upcoming 4 Me
Gollancz

The Bastard Legion: War Criminals

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Gollancz

The Veteran Omnibus

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

'an exceptional talent' Peter F. HamiltonMy name is Jakob Douglas, ex-special forces. I fought Them. Just like we've all been doing for 60 bloody years. But I thought my part in that was done with. Three hundred years in our future, in a world of alien infiltrators, religious hackers, a vast convoying nation of Nomads, city sized orbital elevators, and a cyborg pirate king who believes himself to be a mythological demon Jakob is having a bad day. VETERAN is a fast paced, intricately plotted violent SF Thriller set in a dark future against the backdrop of a seemingly never ending war against an unknowable and implacable alien enemy.In WAR IN HEAVEN, the high-powered sequel to VETERAN, an unlikely hero makes an even more unlikely return to take the reader back into a vividly rendered bleak future. But a bleak future where there are still wonders: man travelling out into the universe, Bladerunner-esque cities hanging from the ceilings of vast caverns, aliens that we can barely comprehend.Gavin Smith writes fast-moving, incredibly violent SF thrillers but behind the violence and the thrills lies a carefully thought out story and characters who have far more to them than first meets the eye.Never one to avoid controversy Gavin Smith nevertheless invites you to think beyond the initial shock of what you have just read. But in the meantime? Another fire-fight, another chase another flight of imagination.

Gollancz

The Bastard Legion: Friendly Fire

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Gollancz

The Bastard Legion

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

'High octane SF adventure with Smith's trademark twist' Jamie Sawyer'An exceptional talent' Peter F HamiltonFour hundred years in the future, the most dangerous criminals are kept in suspended animation aboard prison ships and "rehabilitated" in a shared virtual reality environment. But Miska Corbin, a thief and hacker with a background in black ops, has stolen one of these ships, the Hangman's Daughter, and made it her own. Controlled by explosive collars and trained in virtual reality by the electronic ghost of a dead marine sergeant, the thieves, gangsters, murderers, and worse are transformed into Miska's own private indentured army: the Bastard Legion. Are the mercenaries just for fun and profit, or does Miska have a hidden purpose connected to her covert past?'Gloriously action-packed and often brutal military SF adventure . . . This series launch will keep readers turning pages, eager to see what bloody adventure awaits and how the legion develops into a force to be reckoned with' Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW

Gateway

The Food of the Gods

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Two scientists develop a foodstuff that causes unparalleled growth in animals and humans. The results of their experimentation lead to chaos and unforseen consequences throughout the land.THE FOOD OF THE GODS deals with many issues which are still present in science today and is a both witty and disturbing tale.

Gateway

The Island Of Doctor Moreau

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

Proud Man

Murray Constantine
Authors:
Murray Constantine

Originally published in England in 1934, this searing, still timely novel offers and incisive critique of the sexual politics and militarism of England, and the West as a whole.Proud Man is told from the perspective of a "Genuine Person" who has been thrown back in time thousands of years from a peaceful future society. The Genuine Person comes from a people that are androgynous, self-fertilizing, and vegetarian; they live without a national government and artificial social divisions of gender and class. Taking on first female, then male form, the "Genuine Person" confronts the deeply troubled reality of England in the 1930s, still battered after one World War and on the road to another.

Gollancz

The Beauty of Destruction

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Gateway

Dracula

Bram Stoker, Bryan Hitch
Contributors:
Bram Stoker, Bryan Hitch
Gateway

Jupiter Project

Gregory Benford
Authors:
Gregory Benford
Gateway

Artifact

Gregory Benford
Authors:
Gregory Benford
Gateway

Iceborn

Gregory Benford, Paul A Carter
Authors:
Gregory Benford, Paul A Carter

Pluto was the last place anyone expected to find life. That's why it's the last place they looked.

Gateway

Gregory Benford SF Gateway Omnibus

Gregory Benford
Authors:
Gregory Benford
Gateway

Chiller

Gregory Benford
Authors:
Gregory Benford
Gateway

Immersion, and Other Short Novels

Gregory Benford
Authors:
Gregory Benford
Gollancz

The First Men In The Moon

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Published over 100 years ago, this is one of Wells's greatest novels, and the only one of his scientific romances to embrace space travel.Thanks to the discovery of an anti-gravity metal, Cavorite, two Victorian Englishmen travel to the Moon, where they encounter the extraordinary underground world of the Selenites, insect-like aliens living in a rigidly organised hive society.

Gateway

Furious Gulf

Gregory Benford
Authors:
Gregory Benford

The last humans from the planet Snowglade have taken flight from the genocidal mechs aboard the spaceship Argo. As the shop hurtles toward the Galactic Center, hunger and desperation are taking their toll among the refugees, who are beginning to question the leadership of Captain Killeen. Convinced that his people's only hope of survival lies in the True Center of the galaxy, he is determined to find it, with a will bordering on obsession.As the crew of the Argo, an even Killeen's own son Toby, find their faith in their captain's brilliance tested to the limit, Toby faces his own perilous journey into the unknown, into the mysterious of adulthood. Like the others in this Family of voyagers, Toby's spine contains microchip implants holding the memories - the legacy - of his race. But just as the technology is designed to save his people may tear Toby himself apart, so his father's desperate gamble to save the Argo may plunge the ship and its inhabitants into a cosmic fit of all-consuming fire.

Gateway

Innervisions

John Gribbin
Authors:
John Gribbin
Gollancz

The War of the Worlds

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gollancz

The Time Machine

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells