Gavin G. Smith - A Quantum Mythology - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575127043
    • Publication date:11 Feb 2016

A Quantum Mythology

By Gavin G. Smith

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A fast-moving SF thriller set in a uniquely dark future from a new voice in the tradition of Peter F. Hamilton and Richard Morgan.

Praised by Stephen Baxter and Adam Roberts, reviewed ecstatically by SFX magazine, Gavin Smith is one of the brightest stars of space opera.

In the far future, many years after the loss of earth, humanity has changed. Strength is the only way to survive. And the most vicious man alive has a new con in mind...

Here and now, a man with unnatural powers hunts down a killer with impossible abilities. Infused with a barely-understood alien technology, the two are merely pawns in a bigger game...

A long time ago, the last tribes of Northern Britain face an unimaginable enemy. Demons risen from the sea, absorbing and twisting everything they touch. But there are some among the tribes who have power, who will fight...

And all of these times are connected...

Gavin Smith's new epic space opera is a wide-ranging exploration of the past, present and future of mankind.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575127180
  • Publication date: 26 Mar 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gollancz
This a very readable, fantastical romp across the past, present and future. Well recommended. — Upcoming 4 Me
Orion

The Quanderhorn Xperimentations

Rob Grant, Andrew Marshall
Authors:
Rob Grant, Andrew Marshall
Gollancz

The Veteran Omnibus

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Gollancz

Planetfall

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman
Gollancz

After Atlas

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman
Gollancz

The Bastard Legion: Friendly Fire

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Gollancz

The Bastard Legion

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

'High octane SF adventure with Smith's trademark twist' Jamie Sawyer'An exceptional talent' Peter F HamiltonFour hundred years in the future, the most dangerous criminals are kept in suspended animation aboard prison ships and "rehabilitated" in a shared virtual reality environment. But Miska Corbin, a thief and hacker with a background in black ops, has stolen one of these ships, the Hangman's Daughter, and made it her own. Controlled by explosive collars and trained in virtual reality by the electronic ghost of a dead marine sergeant, the thieves, gangsters, murderers, and worse are transformed into Miska's own private indentured army: the Bastard Legion. Are the mercenaries just for fun and profit, or does Miska have a hidden purpose connected to her covert past?

Gollancz

The Real-Town Murders

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts
Gollancz

Luna: Wolf Moon

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald

Corta Helio, one of the five family corporations that rule the Moon, has fallen. Its riches are divided up among its many enemies, its survivors scattered. Eighteen months have passed.The remaining Helio children, Lucasinho and Luna, are under the protection of the powerful Asamoahs, while Robson, still reeling from witnessing his parent's violent deaths, is now a ward - virtually a hostage - of Mackenzie Metals. And the last appointed heir, Lucas, has vanished from the surface of the moon.Only Lady Sun, dowager of Taiyang, suspects that Lucas Corta is not dead, and - more to the point - that he is still a major player in the game. After all, Lucas always was a schemer, and even in death, he would go to any lengths to take back everything and build a new Corta Helio, more powerful than before. But Corta Helio needs allies, and to find them, the fleeing son undertakes an audacious, impossible journey - to Earth.In an unstable lunar environment, the shifting loyalties and political machinations of each family reach the zenith of their most fertile plots as outright war between the families erupts.

Gollancz

Slow Bullets

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds

From the author of the Revelation Space series comes an interstellar adventure of war, identity, betrayal, and the preservation of civilization itself.A vast conflict, one that has encompassed hundreds of worlds and solar systems, appears to be finally at an end. A conscripted soldier is beginning to consider her life after the war and the family she has left behind. But for Scur - and for humanity - peace is not to be.On the brink of the ceasefire, Scur is captured by a renegade war criminal, and left for dead in the ruins of a bunker. She revives aboard a prisoner transport vessel. Something has gone terribly wrong with the ship.Passengers - combatants from both sides of the war - are waking up from hibernation far too soon. Their memories, embedded in bullets, are the only links to a world which is no longer recognizable. And Scur will be reacquainted with her old enemy, but with much higher stakes than just her own life.

Gollancz

The Beauty of Destruction

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

In the far future, after the Loss of Earth, war has begun and an unknowable alien race has awakened, intent on the destruction of everything.Here and now, the end of the world has come. And the only way our species will survive is if two augmented humans can fight their way through apocalypse to a faint glimmer of hope.Long ago, the seeds of that apocalypse were resisted by the warrior tribes of Britain, with devastating consequences for them and their lands.And all three of these times will meet on another world . . .

Gollancz

Dying Of The Light

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin

A whisperjewel from Gwen Delvano calls Dirk t'Larien across space and beyond the Tempter's Veil to Worlorn, a dying Festival planet of rock and ice. Warlorn is slowly drifting through twilight to neverending night; as the planet sinks into darkness, so its inhabitants face annihilation.Seven years ago, on Avalon, Gwen was Dirk's lover, his Guenevere; now she wears the jade-and-silver bond of Jaantony Riv Wolf high-Ironjade Vikary, a barbarian visionary, an outcast from his own people for his acts of violence. And Garse Janacek, Jaan's *teyn*, his shieldmate, is also bound to Gwen - in hatred. Dirk, a rogue and a wanderer, is called to be saviour of the three who are bonded together in love and hate.But in breaking their triangle, he could lose all ...

Gollancz

Shield of Winter

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Gollancz

The Man Whose Teeth Were All Exactly Alike

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

Small town America tears itself apart in this realist novel from one of the greats of science fictionLeo Runcible - of Runcible Realty - is too excitable and too pushy. His wife drinks too much. He may be a man of principle, but Liberal Jewish Leo is an outsider in the lilywhite Carquinez, Marin County.When he gets into a pointless argument with a customer over his neighbour Walt Dombrosio's house guests, the resulting ramifications follow a bizarre logic of cause and effect to lead in entirely unexpected directions ...And can Leo really have found the skull of a Neanderthal man in middle America?THE MAN WHOSE TEETH WERE ALL EXACTLY ALIKE is a dazzling novel by a writer famous for his power to surprise and delight.

Gollancz

The Age of Scorpio

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

Praised by Stephen Baxter and Adam Roberts, reviewed ecstatically by SFX magazine, Gavin Smith's first novel VETERAN announced an exciting new voice on the SF scene. WAR IN HEAVEN, set in the same universe, followed. Now comes a new standalone SF thriller.Of all the captains based out of Arclight only Eldon Sloper was desperate enough to agree to a salvage job in Red Space. And now he and his crew are living to regret his desperation.In Red Space the rules are different. Some things work, others don't. Best to stick close to the Church beacons. Don't get lost.Because there's something wrong about Red Space. Something beyond rational. Something vampyric...Long after The Loss, mankind is different. We touch the world via neunonics. We are machines, we are animals, we are hybrids. But some things never change. A Killer is paid to kill, a Thief will steal countless lives. A Clone will find insanity, an Innocent a new horror. The Church knows we have kept our sins.Gavin Smith's new SF novel is an epic slam-bang ride through a terrifyingly different future.

Gollancz

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe

Douglas Adams
Authors:
Douglas Adams
Gollancz

The Educated Ape and Other Wonders of the Worlds

Robert Rankin
Authors:
Robert Rankin
Gollancz

Crysis: Escalation

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

To tie in to the massive new game CRYSIS 3, coming in February 2013 from EA, Gavin Smith has been signed up to write a selection of connected short stories that will explore and expand the game world. Gavin's futuristic and punchy fiction is a perfect fit for CRYSIS, and this will be a delight for game-players and SF fans alike.With stories covering the fan favourite characters of Prophet, Psycho and Alcatraz, as well as introducing themes, enemies and weapons new to CRYSIS 3, this will be a vital part of the game experience. Punchy and kinetic, this is SF with steel at its heart.

Gateway

Raft

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Stephen Baxter's highly acclaimed first novel and the beginning of his stunning Xeelee Sequence finally enters the SF Masterwork series!A spaceship from Earth accidentally crossed through a hole in space-time to a universe where the force of gravity is one billion times as strong as the gravity we know. Somehow the crew survived, aided by the fact that they emerged into a cloud of gas surrounding a black hole, which provided a breathable atmosphere. Five hundred years later, their descendants still struggle for existence, divided into two main groups. The Miners live on the Belt, a ramshackle ring of dwellings orbiting the core of a dead star, which they excavate for raw materials. These can be traded for food from the Raft, a structure built from the wreckage of the ship, on which a small group of scientists preserve the ancient knowledge which makes survival possible. Rees is a Miner whose curiosity about his world makes him stow away on a flying tree - just one of the many strange local lifeforms - carrying trade between the Belt and the Raft. And what he finds will change his world...

Orion

20th Century Ghosts

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill
Gollancz

The Broken Sword

Poul Anderson
Authors:
Poul Anderson

The sword Tyrfing has been broken to prevent it striking at the roots of Yggdrasil, the great tree that binds earth, heaven and hell together ... but now the mighty sword is needed again to save the elves, who are heavily involved in their war against the trolls, and only Scafloc, a human child kidnapped and raised by the elves, can hope to persuade the mighty ice-giant, Bolverk, to make the sword Thor broke whole again. But things are never easy, and along the way Scafloc must also confront his shadow self, Valgard the changeling, who took his place in the world of men.A superb dark fantasy of the highest, and most Norse, order The Broken Sword is a fantasy masterpiece.