Edgar Rice Burroughs - Savage Pellucidar - Orion Publishing Group

Savage Pellucidar

Pellucidar Book 7

By Edgar Rice Burroughs

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An SF Gateway eBook: bringing the classics to the future.

Two explorers from the Earth's surface had carved themselves an empire at the Earth's core - Pellucidar.

The dangers were many. Untamed tribes and vicious beasts were a constant peril, and there were times when the lives of the surface-men were at stake. But, just when things seemed hopeless, they came up with a trump card - a new weapon.

What they didn't realize was that it was a weapon that could bring its makers to the brink of disaster.

Biographical Notes

Edgar Rice Burroughs (1875 - 1950)

Edgar Rice Burroughs was a prolific American author of the 'pulp' era. The son of a Civil War veteran, he saw brief military service with the 7TH U.S. Cavalry before he was diagnosed with a heart problem and discharged. After working for five years in his father's business, Burroughs left for a string of disparate and short-lived jobs, and was working as a pencil sharpener wholesaler when he decided to try his hand at writing. He found almost instant success when his story 'Under the Moons of Mars' was serialised in All-Story Magazine in 1912, earning him the then-princely sum of $400.

Burroughs went on to have tremendous success as a writer, his wide-ranging imagination taking in other planets (John Carter of Mars and Carson of Venus), a hollow earth (Pellucidar), a lost world, westerns, historicals and adventure stories. Although he wrote in many genres, Burroughs is best known for his creation of the archetypal jungle hero, Tarzan. Edgar Rice Burroughs died in 1950.

For more information see www.sf-encyclopedia.com/entry/burroughs_edgar_rice

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575128354
  • Publication date: 30 Apr 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

The Tropic of Eternity

Tom Toner
Authors:
Tom Toner

'Marvellous . . . a space opera of surpassing gracefulness, depth, complexity, and well, all-round weirdness' LocusPerfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Peter F. Hamilton.It is the 147th century. The mighty era of Homo Sapiens is at an end.In the Westerly Provinces of the Old World, the hunt is on for the young queen Arabis, and the beast that holds her captive. In the brutal hominid Investiture, revolution has come. The warlord Cunctus, having seized the Vulgar worlds, invites every Prism to pick a side. In the Firmament, once the kingdom of the Immortal Amaranthine, all ships converge on the foundry of Gliese. The grandest battle in the history of mammalian kind has begun.Perception, ancient machine spirit, must take back its mortal remains in a contest for the Firmament itself. Ghaldezuel, now the Grand Marshal of Cunctus' new empire, must travel to the deepest lagoon in the Investiture, a place where monsters dwell. Captain Maril, lost amongst the Hedron Stars, finds himself caught between colossal powers the likes of which he'd never dreamt.And for Aaron the Long-Life, he who has waited so very, very long for his revenge, things are only getting started . . .'Among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years. Granted, you've got to give it your all, but give it that and you'll get all that and more besides back' TOR.COM [The Promise of the Child]

Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden
Gollancz

The Massacre of Mankind

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli
Gollancz

The Real-Town Murders

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts

Alma is a private detective in a near-future England, a country desperately trying to tempt people away from the delights of Shine, the immersive successor to the internet. But most people are happy to spend their lives plugged in, and the country is decaying.Alma's partner is ill, and has to be treated without fail every 4 hours, a task that only Alma can do. If she misses the 5 minute window her lover will die. She is one of the few not to access the Shine.So when Alma is called to an automated car factory to be shown an impossible death and finds herself caught up in a political coup, she knows that getting too deep may leave her unable to get home. What follows is a fast-paced Hitchcockian thriller as Alma evades arrest, digs into the conspiracy, and tries to work out how on earth a dead body appeared in the boot of a freshly-made car in a fully-automated factory.

Gateway

Malafrena

Ursula K. Le Guin
Authors:
Ursula K. Le Guin

Among the less-travelled mountains and plains of Central Europe, a little east of Austria perhaps and north of Slovenia, lies the old kingdom of Orsinia. A land of forests and quiet farmlands and towns, with its capital city Krasnoy on the broad Molsen River, Orsinia has always found itself, like all the countries of Europe, subject to forces beyond its borders. Val Malafrena is an estate in the rural western provinces of Orsinia, far removed from the engines of European politics and content for it to remain so. When Itale Sorde, the idealistic young heir to Val Malafrena, leaves his family home to venture to the bustling capital city of Krasnoy, it is therefore very much against his father's wishes. Sorde's intention is to work as a journalist, but he will soon find himself moving from reporter on the great events of the day to active participant in the rising tide of revolution that seems destined to sweep the continent.

Gateway

Galactic Patrol

E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Authors:
E.E. 'Doc' Smith

The space-pirates of Boskone raided at will, menacing the whole structure of interstellar civilization. Master-minded by a super-scientist, their conquering fleets outgunned even the mighty space cruisers of the Galactic Patrol.When Lensman Kim Kinnison of the Patrol discovered the secret Boskonian base, it was invulnerable to outside attack. But where a battle-fleet would meet insuperable resistance, a single infiltrator might penetrate the Boskonian defenses - if he had the guts to take on million-to-one odds. Kinnison had guts enough to take on the odds - even with the future of the civilized Universe riding on his shoulders . . .Galactic Patrol is the third self-contained novel in E. E. 'Doc' Smith's epic Lensman series, one of the all-time classics of adventurous, galaxy-spanning science fiction.

Gateway

Grey Lensman

E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Authors:
E.E. 'Doc' Smith

Somewhere among the galaxies is the stronghold of Boskone - a network of brilliant space-criminals whose hunger for conquest threatens the continued existence of all known civilisation.But where is this stronghold? Boskonian bases are scattered across the universe - hidden by gigantic thought-screens that defy penetration. The best minds in the Galactic Patrol have tried. And failed. Now it is up to Lensman Kim Kinnison, using his fantastic powers, to infiltrate the Boskonian strongholds, find the location of the enemy's Grand Base - and smash it forever.But Kinnison doesn't know that the power of Boskone reaches further than anyone dreamed - into the Galactic Patrol itself . . .Grey Lensman is the fourth self-contained novel in E. E. 'Doc' Smith's Lensman series, one of the all-time classics of adventurous, galaxy-spanning science fiction.

Gollancz

The Switch

Justina Robson
Authors:
Justina Robson

This groundbreaking new novel from one of the genre's most respected authors is a thrilling mix of science, magic and politics.In Harmony, only model citizens are welcome.A perfect society must be maintained. The defective must be eradicated. For orphans like Nico and Twostar, this means a life that's brutal, regulated and short. But Nico and Twostar are survivors, and when they're offered a way out of the slums, they take it. Unfortunately, no one told Nico the deal included being sentenced to death for the murder of one of Harmony's most notorious gang leaders.Or that to gain his freedom, first he must lose his mind.

Gateway

The Wizard of Venus

Edgar Rice Burroughs
Authors:
Edgar Rice Burroughs
Gateway

Beyond the Farthest Star

Edgar Rice Burroughs
Authors:
Edgar Rice Burroughs
Gateway

The Resurrection of Jimber-Jaw

Edgar Rice Burroughs
Authors:
Edgar Rice Burroughs

Jimber-Jaw awakens to find his world has changed and it is now the twentieth century!

Gateway

The Mucker

Edgar Rice Burroughs
Authors:
Edgar Rice Burroughs
Gateway

Tarzan Triumphant

Edgar Rice Burroughs
Authors:
Edgar Rice Burroughs

A lost aviatrix, a professor, a gangster, and the golden-haired goddess of the Midianites are brought together in the heart of the Dark Continent to create an explosive situation. Once again, only the incomparable figure of the Lord of the Jungle can surmount the mountains and mysteries that stood between these four and disaster.

Gateway

Tarzan and the City of Gold

Edgar Rice Burroughs
Authors:
Edgar Rice Burroughs
Gateway

Tarzan and the Leopard Men

Edgar Rice Burroughs
Authors:
Edgar Rice Burroughs

The dense forests and forbidding jungles of Africa harbour innumerable uncanny mysteries, dangers and horrors.Among these, often reported though little known, is a secret society of Leopard Men. By day and night they are the terror of the vast domain they frequent. Their orgies, their rites, their ruthless power form the basis of this series of adventures, of which Tarzan of the Apes is the central figure.Adding to the suspense, an absorbing detail of interest is the mysterious quest of a beautiful American girl braving the dangers of the Dark Continent alone; while nonetheless interesting are two luckless and poverty-stricken white ivory poachers, whose trails cross those of both the Lord of the Jungle and the lone girl - trails that lead three of them to the forbidden precincts of the Holy of Holies of the Leopard Men, where no white man has ever been and returned alive.

Gateway

Tarzan's Quest

Edgar Rice Burroughs
Authors:
Edgar Rice Burroughs

Tarzan of the Apes had heard only rumours of the Kavuru - a race of strange white savages. But when they stole the daughter of Muviro, chief of the Waziri, the Lord of the Jungle set out in search of their legend-shrouded village on a mission of rescue - or, if need be, of revenge. He could not know that his trail ran close to that of a strange group of survivors of a crashed plane - including his beloved mate, Jane - who struggled for survival against the terrors of Africa and an even worse danger within their own party. But the stranded Europeans and the ape-man were destined for a rendezvous of blood and fire - in the dreaded temple of the Kavuru.

Gateway

Tarzan the Magnificent

Edgar Rice Burroughs
Authors:
Edgar Rice Burroughs

With the strength of a beast and the grace of an athlete, Tarzan of the Apes has risen to become the king of the animals. His life changes, when he spies a young woman, Jane Porter, among a crew of stranded treasure hunters. Tarzan falls deeply in love with Jane, and his quest for her brings him into contact with unfamiliar human civilization.

Gateway

Tarzan's Quest and Other Tales

Edgar Rice Burroughs
Authors:
Edgar Rice Burroughs
Gateway

The Land That Time Forgot SF Gateway Omnibus

Edgar Rice Burroughs
Authors:
Edgar Rice Burroughs

The son of a Civil War veteran, Edgar Rice Burroughs was a prolific writer for the early pulp magazines. Famous the world over as the creator of Tarzan - and in SF circles for his Martian tales featuring John Carter - Burroughs turned his talents to a bewildering array of settings - the African jungle, Mars, Venus, the Wild West... and the Land that Time Forgot.This omnibus collects his tales of that lost world: THE LAND THAT TIME FORGOT, THE PEOPLE THAT TIME FORGOT and OUT OF TIME'S ABYSS.