Olaf Stapledon - Sirius - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575099425
    • Publication date:14 Apr 2011
Books in this series

Sirius

By Olaf Stapledon

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Sirius is Thomas Trelone's great experiment - a huge, handsome dog with the brain and intelligence of a human being. Raised and educated in Trelone's own family alongside Plaxy, his youngest daughter, Sirius is a truly remarkable and gifted creature. His relationship with the Trelones, particularly with Plaxy, is deep and close, and his inquiring mind ranges across the spectrum of human knowledge and experience.

But Sirius isn't human and the conflicts and inner turmoil that torture him cannot be resolved ...

Biographical Notes

Olaf Stapledon (1886-1950) was born near Liverpool and educated at Balliol College, Oxford and Liverpool University. After spending eighteen months working in a shipping office in Liverpool and Port Said, he lectured extramurally for Liverpool University in English Literature and industrial history. He served in France from 1915 until 1919 with the Friends' Ambulance Unit and then lectured again for Liverpool University in psychology and philosophy. His novels include First and Last Men, Last Men in London, Star Maker and Odd John.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575128637
  • Publication date: 19 Mar 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
W&N

Night Runners

Richard Crompton
Authors:
Richard Crompton
Orion

Clash of Empires

Ben Kane
Authors:
Ben Kane
Gollancz

The Testament of Loki

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris
Orion

A Family Recipe

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry

Gollancz

The Ember Blade

Chris Wooding
Authors:
Chris Wooding
Trapeze

The Tattoo Thief

Alison Belsham
Authors:
Alison Belsham

A policeman on his first murder caseA tattoo artist with a deadly secretAnd a twisted serial killer sharpening his blades to kill again...When Brighton tattoo artist Marni Mullins discovers a flayed body, newly-promoted DI Francis Sullivan needs her help. There's a serial killer at large, slicing tattoos from his victims' bodies while they're still alive. Marni knows the tattooing world like the back of her hand, but has her own reasons to distrust the police. So when she identifies the killer's next target, will she tell Sullivan or go after the Tattoo Thief alone?

W&N

Human Errors

Nathan Lents
Authors:
Nathan Lents

We like to think of ourselves as highly evolved creatures. But if we are supposedly evolution's greatest creation, why do we have such bad knees? Why do we catch colds so often - two hundred times more often than a dog? How come our wrists have so many useless bones? Why is the vast majority of our genetic code pointless? And are we really supposed to swallow and breathe through the same narrow tube? Surely there's been some kind of mistake. As professor of biology Nathan H. Lents explains in Human Errors, our evolutionary history is nothing if not a litany of mistakes, each more entertaining and enlightening than the last. The human body is one big pile of compromises. But that is also a testament to our greatness: as Lents shows, humans have so many design flaws precisely because we are very, very good at getting around them. A rollicking, deeply informative tour of humans' four-billion-year-long evolutionary saga, Human Errors both celebrates our imperfections and offers an unconventional accounting of the cost of our success.

Trapeze

The Craftsman

Sharon Bolton
Authors:
Sharon Bolton

Devoted father or merciless killer?His secrets are buried with him.Florence Lovelady's career was made when she convicted coffin-maker Larry Glassbrook of a series of child murders 30 years ago. Like something from our worst nightmares the victims were buried...ALIVE.Larry confessed to the crimes; it was an open and shut case. But now he's dead, and events from the past startto repeat themselves. Did she get it wrong all those years ago? Or is there something much darker at play?

Trapeze

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb

The thriller with the twists you'll never see coming! Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Ice and The Missing Ones. Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer?KISS THE GIRLS A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals - the latest victim of 'The Lover'. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out. AND MAKE THEM DIE... As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands - to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group. As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they're being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim - Clementine - firmly in his sights.

Orion

One Cornish Summer

Liz Fenwick
Authors:
Liz Fenwick

Trapeze

The After Wife

Cass Hunter
Authors:
Cass Hunter

"I saw you, and I knew instantly that I could grow old with you. We'd be future-proof." When Rachel and Aidan fell in love, they thought it was forever.She was a brilliant, high-flying scientist. He was her loving and supportive husband.Now she's gone, and Aidan must carry on and raise their daughter alone.But Rachel has left behind her life's work, a gift of love to see them through the dark days after her death.A gift called iRachel.The After Wife is an emotional story about love, loss, longing and belonging. For readers who loved The Time Traveller's Wife, Me Before You and The Lovely Bones.

Seven Dials

When Likes Aren’t Enough

Tim Bono
Authors:
Tim Bono
Trapeze

The Other Couple

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton

This was meant to be the perfect honeymoon.A five-star beach resort in Vietnam, with white sands, private villas and world-class cuisine. A chance for newlyweds Amber and Ollie Graveney to recover from a tragedy that has left them on the verge of collapse.Except things don't go as planned.When Amber wakes up in hospital after a brutal attack, her husband is nowhere to be found.And paradise has turned into a nightmare...Praise for Sarah J. Naughton's Tattletale : 'A perfect example of how a psychological thriller should be written - intricately plotted and full of shocking surprises.' Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me'Like any great mystery, Tattletale would, at every twist, lead me to think I'd put the pieces together - only to turn the puzzle upside down.' Grazia'A twisty thriller that will leave you gasping your way through it as the story twists and turns.' Goodreads'This is a psychological thriller with a twist, and a very twisted heart. This story is what happens when two people from very broken beginnings are brought together. This story is what happens when fear eclipses the need for justice and fairness, when the strong and arrogant prey upon the weak. This book is one which deserves every bit of praise it is undoubtedly going to get.' Goodreads

W&N

Greatest Hits

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett
Orion

The Year That Changed Everything

Cathy Kelly
Authors:
Cathy Kelly
W&N

Restless Souls

Dan Sheehan
Authors:
Dan Sheehan
Orion

Robicheaux

James Lee Burke
Authors:
James Lee Burke
Trapeze

Dear Cancer, Love Victoria

Victoria Derbyshire
Authors:
Victoria Derbyshire

'I can't bear not to be with these three most important people in my life. I can't bear not to be there alongside Mark as my children grow up. My bright, funny, affectionate boys who are never embarrassed to say, "love you mummy", and say it ten times a day.' Renowned as a much-loved and highly respected BBC journalist, Victoria Derbyshire has spent 20 years finding the human story behind the headlines. In 2015 she found herself at the heart of the news, with a devastating breast cancer diagnosis. With honesty and openness, she decided to live out her treatment and recovery in the spotlight in a series of video diaries that encouraged thousands to seek diagnosis and help. Victoria has kept a diary since she was nine years old and in DEAR CANCER, LOVE VICTORIA she shares her day to day experiences of life following her diagnosis and coming to terms with a future that wasn't planned. From the moment she woke up to find her right breast had collapsed, to telling her partner and children, through to mastectomy and chemotherapy. From wearing a wig to work and hiding it from her colleagues, to the relief and joy of finishing treatment before immediately flying to Glasgow to present a debate on the European Referendum. By sharing her story, she became the person that mums, daughters, sisters, husbands, boyfriends and family members contacted to thank as they tried to find ways to cope with their own and their loved ones' prognosis, and needed to know that they were not alone. Victoria's story is an affecting and at times heart-breaking one but it is so often laugh-out-loud too. Moving, wonderfully heartwarming and ultimately uplifting, this is a powerful account of a brave struggle told with honesty, courage and emotion that gives strength to anyone touched by cancer.

Orion

The Late Show

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

'It has been more than ten years since Connelly, one of the world's greatest crime writers, last launched a major new character. Superb storytelling - this cements Connelly's place at the very top of the crime-writing tree' Daily Mail* * * * *CRIME NEVER SLEEPS.Los Angeles can be a dangerous city - never more so than in the dead of night. Detective Renée Ballard, once one of the department's young hotshots, now works 'The Late Show', the notorious graveyard shift at the LAPD.It's a thankless job keeping strange hours in a twilight world of tragedy and violence, handing over her investigations as the sun rises, never getting closure.Some nights are worse than others. And tonight is the worst yet. Two cases: a brutal assault, and a multiple murder with no suspect.Ballard knows it is always darkest before dawn. But what she doesn't know is how deep her dual investigation will take her into the dark heart of her city, her department and her past...* * * * *Praise for The Late Show:'Connelly achieves an enormous amount in these 400 pages: he creates a new character who immediately leaps into life; controls a complex, fast-paced plot full of surprises; and continues to enhance his career-long portrait of modern LA' Evening Standard'The new novel from America's greatest living crime writer is a gripping thrill ride that will entrance you and keep you reading until the small hours' Daily Express'Although the usual Connelly fingerprints are in evidence here - the real achievement is the creation of his tenacious heroine, Ballard' Guardian'The Late Show reads like a Bosch novel, as Connelly braids multiple investigations into his plot, driving the story onward ... Ballard is significantly more than a Bosch replacement or clone - an absorbing character on her own terms. Connelly has created yet another potentially iconic tarnished knight of those perennially mean streets' Irish Times'Classy and clever, with a tenacious heroine' Sunday Mirror'A characteristically complex tale of murder and police corruption' Mail on Sunday (Thriller of the Week)'First there was Detective Harry Bosch, then Lincoln lawyer Mickey Haller, and now comes Renee Ballard, ace thriller writer Michael Connelly's first new protagonist in 10 years. A nail-bitingly exciting investigation featuring a finely realised new character from one of America's finest contemporary novelists' Irish Independent

W&N

Close But No Cigar

Stephen Purvis
Authors:
Stephen Purvis