Olaf Stapledon - Sirius - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575099425
    • Publication date:14 Apr 2011
Books in this series

Sirius

By Olaf Stapledon

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Sirius is Thomas Trelone's great experiment - a huge, handsome dog with the brain and intelligence of a human being. Raised and educated in Trelone's own family alongside Plaxy, his youngest daughter, Sirius is a truly remarkable and gifted creature. His relationship with the Trelones, particularly with Plaxy, is deep and close, and his inquiring mind ranges across the spectrum of human knowledge and experience.

But Sirius isn't human and the conflicts and inner turmoil that torture him cannot be resolved ...

Biographical Notes

Olaf Stapledon (1886-1950) was born near Liverpool and educated at Balliol College, Oxford and Liverpool University. After spending eighteen months working in a shipping office in Liverpool and Port Said, he lectured extramurally for Liverpool University in English Literature and industrial history. He served in France from 1915 until 1919 with the Friends' Ambulance Unit and then lectured again for Liverpool University in psychology and philosophy. His novels include First and Last Men, Last Men in London, Star Maker and Odd John.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575128637
  • Publication date: 19 Mar 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Rejoice

Steven Erikson
Authors:
Steven Erikson
Trapeze

Gabby: The Little Dog that had to Learn to Bark

Barby Keel
Authors:
Barby Keel

A heartwarming true animal story, for fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Marley & Me. In the 54 years she has run the Barby Keel Animal Sanctuary, deep in the Kent countryside, Barby has taken in all manner of animals in need of love, care and a second chance at life. She thinks she's seen it all until Gabby, a scruffy, golden-haired terrier, arrives on her doorstep. Trembling, her eyes wide with fear, Gabby is unable to play with other dogs and is completely mute. When Barby discovers that Gabby has been kept locked indoors her whole life, all becomes clear - Gabby has never learnt to be a dog. Soon Barby has fallen in love with this strange little mutt and is determined to help her connect with her true nature. But when tragedy befalls Barby, it is not only Gabby but the entire animal sanctuary that's at stake...A Street Cat Named Bob meets Marley & Me, this is an emotional, joyful true story of the deepest bond that exists between humans and animals.

Gollancz

Snapshot

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

From New York Times #1 bestselling author Brandon Sanderson comes a detective thriller in a police beat like no other. Anthony Davis and his partner Chaz are the only real people in a city of 20 million, sent there by court order to find out what happened in the real world 10 days ago so that hidden evidence can be brought to light and located in the real city today.Within the re-created Snapshot of May 1st, Davis and Chaz are the ultimate authorities. Flashing their badges will get them past any obstruction and overrule any civil right of the dupes around them. But the crimes the detectives are sent to investigate seem like drudgery - until they stumble upon the grisly results of a mass killing that the precinct headquarters orders them not to investigate. That's one order they have to refuse.The hunt is on. And though the dupes in the replica city have no future once the Snapshot is turned off, that doesn't mean that both Davis and Chaz will walk out of it alive tonight.

Gollancz

Empire of Silence

Christopher Ruocchio
Authors:
Christopher Ruocchio
Orion

The Quanderhorn Xperimentations

Rob Grant, Andrew Marshall
Authors:
Rob Grant, Andrew Marshall
Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden
Orion

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli
Gollancz

The Real-Town Murders

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts
W&N

Good Morning, Midnight

Lily Brooks-Dalton
Authors:
Lily Brooks-Dalton
W&N

Flowers For Algernon

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes
Gateway

Far Future Calling

Olaf Stapledon
Authors:
Olaf Stapledon

Science fiction has its immortals - authors whose impact was so tremendous that they belong in a class by themselves. Olaf Stapledon extended the boundaries of science fiction to the infinite, and there are few of the major authors who do not directly or indirectly owe him a great debt. This volume of his short science fiction and fantasy includes in addition to the five stories, an uncollected radio script from which this volume takes its title and an uncollected 1948 address to the British Interplanetary Society.

Gateway

Death into Life

Olaf Stapledon
Authors:
Olaf Stapledon

A bomber is killed in battle along with all of his companions; but something wakes in his dying, which is first a spirit bomber-crew, then the spirit of all those killed in battle, then the spirit of man, the cosmos and the Universal Spirit.

Gateway

Nebula Maker

Olaf Stapledon
Authors:
Olaf Stapledon

The narrator of Nebula Maker stands on a hill and sees a vision that leads him to the birth of the universe. He witnesses the creation of the nebulae and the formation of galactic communities as well as the flowering of the personalities of the nebulae. The establishment of pacific and militaristic camps and their relationship leads to events of cosmic strife, not unlike the history of our world in the twentieth century.

Gollancz

Wild Cards: Fort Freak

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin

The return of the famous shared-world superhero books created and edited by George R. R. Martin, author of A GAME OF THRONESIn 1946, an alien virus that rewrites human DNA was accidentally unleashed in the skies over New York City. It killed 90% of those it infected. Nine percent survived, mutated into tragically deformed creatures. And one percent gained superpowers. The Wild Cards shared-universe series, created and edited by bestseller George R. R. Martin (called 'the American Tolkien' by TIME), is the tale of the history of the world since then - and of the heroes among the one percent. Now, in the latest Wild Cards mosaic novel, we get to know the hard-bitten world of Manhattan's Fifth Precinct - or 'Fort Freak' - as cops and malefactors alike call the cop-shop where every other desk sergeant, detective, and patrol officer is more than human. Featuring original work by writers such as Cherie Priest, author of the bestselling BONESHAKER; Paul Cornell, HUGO-nominated comic book and DOCTOR WHO writer; David Anthony Durham, winner of 2009's JOHN W. CAMPBELL AWARD FOR BEST NEW WRITER, and many others, FORT FREAK is one of the strongest offerings yet in the ongoing Wild Cards project.

Gateway

Darkness and the Light

Olaf Stapledon
Authors:
Olaf Stapledon
Gateway

The Flames

Olaf Stapledon
Authors:
Olaf Stapledon

An introductory note seems called for to explain to the reader the origin of the following strange document, which I have received from a friend with a view to publication. The author has given it the form of a letter to myself, and he signs himself with his nickname, "Cass," which is an abbreviation of Cassandra. I have seldom met Cass since we were undergraduates together at Oxford before the war of 1914. Even in those days he was addicted to lurid forebodings, hence his nickname.My last meeting with him was in one of the great London blitzes of 1941, when he reminded me that he had long ago prophesied the end of civilization in world-wide fire. The Battle of London, he affirmed, was the beginning of the long-drawn-out disaster.Cass will not, I am sure, mind my saying that he always seemed to us a bit crazy: but he certainly had a queer knack of prophesy, and though we thought him sometimes curiously unable to understand the springs of his own behaviour, he had a remarkable gift of insight into the minds of others. This enabled him to help some of us to straighten out our tangles, and I for one owe him a debt of deep gratitude. He saw me heading for a most disastrous love affair, and by magic (no other word seems adequate) he opened my eyes to the folly of it. It is for this reason that I feel bound to carry out his request to publish the following statement. I cannot myself vouch for its truth. Cass knows very well that I am an inveterate sceptic about all his fantastic ideas. It was on this account that he invented my nickname. "Thos," which most of my Oxford friends adopted. "Thos," of course, is an abbreviation for Thomas, and refers to the "doubting Thomas" of the New Testament.Cass, I feel confident, is sufficiently detached and sane to realize that what is veridical for him may be sheer extravagance for others, who have no direct experience by which to judge his claims. But if I refrain from believing, I also refrain from disbelieving. Too often in the past I have known his wild prophesies come true.The head of the following bulky letter bears the address of a well-known mental home."THOS."

Gateway

Four Encounters

Olaf Stapledon
Authors:
Olaf Stapledon

Four Encounters is an unfinished work by the writer and philosopher Olaf Stapledon, written in the late 1940s but only published 26 years after the author's death. It takes place in contemporary (post World War II) Britain, and describes four meetings with various characters who are named for the spiritual quality that best defines them: a Christian, a scientist, a mystic and a revolutionary. There were originally to have been ten encounters, but Stapledon died before the project was completed.

Gateway

Last Men in London

Olaf Stapledon
Authors:
Olaf Stapledon
Gateway

Raft

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Stephen Baxter's highly acclaimed first novel and the beginning of his stunning Xeelee Sequence finally enters the SF Masterwork series!A spaceship from Earth accidentally crossed through a hole in space-time to a universe where the force of gravity is one billion times as strong as the gravity we know. Somehow the crew survived, aided by the fact that they emerged into a cloud of gas surrounding a black hole, which provided a breathable atmosphere. Five hundred years later, their descendants still struggle for existence, divided into two main groups. The Miners live on the Belt, a ramshackle ring of dwellings orbiting the core of a dead star, which they excavate for raw materials. These can be traded for food from the Raft, a structure built from the wreckage of the ship, on which a small group of scientists preserve the ancient knowledge which makes survival possible. Rees is a Miner whose curiosity about his world makes him stow away on a flying tree - just one of the many strange local lifeforms - carrying trade between the Belt and the Raft. And what he finds will change his world...

Gollancz

Lud-In-The-Mist

Hope Mirrlees
Authors:
Hope Mirrlees

The town of Lud is a prosperous, bustling little country port, situated at the confluence of two rivers: the Dawl and the Dapple. The latter, which has its source in the land of Faerie beyond the Elfin Marches and the Debatable Hills, is a source of great trial to Lud, which had long rejected such fanciful nonsense as fairies, elves and the like.Then a perfect plague of faerie influences hits the town, penetrating even to Miss Primrose Crabapple's Establishment for Young Ladies, and it becomes apparent to even the stuffiest burgher that Steps Would Have To Be Taken. Fortunately for everyone, Master Nathaniel Chanticleer, Mayor of Lud, is a man with his head firmly in the clouds ...