Henry Kuttner - Prince Raynor - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Prince Raynor

By Henry Kuttner

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An SF Gateway eBook: bringing the classics to the future.

Kuttner's two pulp heroic fantasy stories in the Conan style, "Cursed Be The City" and "The Citadel of Darkness".

Biographical Notes

Henry Kuttner (1915-1958)
Henry Kuttner was born in Los Angeles, in 1915. As a young man he worked for the literary agency of his uncle, Laurence D'Orsay, before selling his first story, 'The Graveyard Rats', to Weird Tales in early 1936. In 1940 Kuttner married fellow writer C. L. Moore, whom he met through the 'Lovecraft Circle'", a group of writers and fans who corresponded with H. P. Lovecraft. During the Second World War, they were regular contributors to John W. Campbell's Astounding Science-Fiction, and collaborated for most of the 40's and 50's, publishing primarily under the pseudonyms Lewis Padgett and Lawrence O'Donnell. In 1950 he began studying at the University of Southern California, graduating in 1954. He was working towards his masters degree but died of a heart attack in 1958, before it was completed.

For more information see www.sf-encyclopedia.com/entry/kuttner_henry

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575128996
  • Publication date: 29 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Rejoice

Steven Erikson
Authors:
Steven Erikson

From the bestselling author of the epic Malazan Book of the Fallen, comes a story of mankind's first contact and a warning about our future. An alien AI has been sent to the solar system as representative of three advanced species. Its mission is to save the Earth's ecosystem - and the biggest threat to that is humanity. But we are also part of the system, so the AI must make a choice. Should it save mankind or wipe it out? Are we worth it?The AI is all-powerful, and might as well be a god. So it sets up some conditions. Violence is now impossible. Large-scale destruction of natural resources is impossible. Food and water will be provided for those who really, truly need them. You can't even bully someone on the internet any more. The old way of doing things is gone. But a certain thin-skinned US president, among others, is still wedded to late-stage capitalism. Can we adapt? Can we prove ourselves worthy? And are we prepared to give up free will for a world without violence? And above it all, on a hidden spaceship, one woman watches. A science fiction writer, she was abducted from the middle of the street in broad daylight. She is the only person the AI will talk to. And she must make a decision.

Gollancz

The Tropic of Eternity

Tom Toner
Authors:
Tom Toner

'Marvellous . . . a space opera of surpassing gracefulness, depth, complexity, and well, all-round weirdness' LocusPerfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Peter F. Hamilton.It is the 147th century. The mighty era of Homo Sapiens is at an end.In the Westerly Provinces of the Old World, the hunt is on for the young queen Arabis, and the beast that holds her captive. In the brutal hominid Investiture, revolution has come. The warlord Cunctus, having seized the Vulgar worlds, invites every Prism to pick a side. In the Firmament, once the kingdom of the Immortal Amaranthine, all ships converge on the foundry of Gliese. The grandest battle in the history of mammalian kind has begun.Perception, ancient machine spirit, must take back its mortal remains in a contest for the Firmament itself. Ghaldezuel, now the Grand Marshal of Cunctus' new empire, must travel to the deepest lagoon in the Investiture, a place where monsters dwell. Captain Maril, lost amongst the Hedron Stars, finds himself caught between colossal powers the likes of which he'd never dreamt.And for Aaron the Long-Life, he who has waited so very, very long for his revenge, things are only getting started . . .'Among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years. Granted, you've got to give it your all, but give it that and you'll get all that and more besides back' TOR.COM [The Promise of the Child]

Gollancz

Snapshot

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Gateway

Raft

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Stephen Baxter's highly acclaimed first novel and the beginning of his stunning Xeelee Sequence finally enters the SF Masterwork series!A spaceship from Earth accidentally crossed through a hole in space-time to a universe where the force of gravity is one billion times as strong as the gravity we know. Somehow the crew survived, aided by the fact that they emerged into a cloud of gas surrounding a black hole, which provided a breathable atmosphere. Five hundred years later, their descendants still struggle for existence, divided into two main groups. The Miners live on the Belt, a ramshackle ring of dwellings orbiting the core of a dead star, which they excavate for raw materials. These can be traded for food from the Raft, a structure built from the wreckage of the ship, on which a small group of scientists preserve the ancient knowledge which makes survival possible. Rees is a Miner whose curiosity about his world makes him stow away on a flying tree - just one of the many strange local lifeforms - carrying trade between the Belt and the Raft. And what he finds will change his world...

Gollancz

The Bastard Legion: Friendly Fire

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Orion

Empire of Silence

Christopher Ruocchio
Authors:
Christopher Ruocchio
Orion

The Quanderhorn Xperimentations

Rob Grant, Andrew Marshall
Authors:
Rob Grant, Andrew Marshall
Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden

EIGHT ASTRONAUTS. ONE KILLER. NO WAY HOME. ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK meets Andy Weir's THE MARTIAN 'A rip-roaring thriller of a book that hits the ground running and doesn't stop until the final chapter' John Marrs, author of the bestselling/Radio 2 Book Club choice THE ONE * * * * * There's a murderer amongst them, and everyone's a suspect . . . Frank Kittridge is serving life for murdering his son's drug dealer, so when he's offered a deal by Xenosystems Operations - the corporation that owns the prison - he takes it. He's been selected to help build the first permanent base on Mars. Unfortunately, his crewmates are just as guilty of their crimes as he is. As the convicts set to work on the frozen wastes of Mars, the accidents multiply. Until Frank begins to suspect they might not be accidents at all . . . * * * * *'ONE WAY is what would happen if the crime and sci-fi genres got together and had a baby. Deeply immersive, chilling and atmospheric. An utterly fabulous book!' Emma Kavanagh, bestselling author of FALLING and HIDDEN 'A cracking read. A compelling vision of the near future inhabited by well motivated characters. It's a thrilling tale that grabs you and whips along to the very last breathless page' Adam Hamdy, author of PENDULUM 'Twisty and gripping' Financial Times

Gollancz

The Massacre of Mankind

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli
Gollancz

Sweet Dreams

Tricia Sullivan
Authors:
Tricia Sullivan

Charlie is a dreamhacker, able to enter your dreams and mould their direction. Forget that recurring nightmare about being naked at an exam - Charlie will step in to your dream, bring you a dressing gown and give you the answers. As far as she knows, she's the only person who can do this. Unfortunately, her power comes with one drawback - Charlie also has narcolepsy, and may fall asleep at the most inopportune moment.But in London 2022, her skill is in demand. And when she is hired by a minor celebrity - who also happens to be the new girlfriend of Charlie's lamented ex - who dreams of a masked Creeper then sleepwalks off a tall building, Charlie begins to realise that someone else might be able to invade dreams...

Gollancz

The Real-Town Murders

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts
Gateway

Malafrena

Ursula K. Le Guin
Authors:
Ursula K. Le Guin
Gateway

Galactic Patrol

E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Authors:
E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Gateway

Grey Lensman

E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Authors:
E.E. 'Doc' Smith

Somewhere among the galaxies is the stronghold of Boskone - a network of brilliant space-criminals whose hunger for conquest threatens the continued existence of all known civilisation.But where is this stronghold? Boskonian bases are scattered across the universe - hidden by gigantic thought-screens that defy penetration. The best minds in the Galactic Patrol have tried. And failed. Now it is up to Lensman Kim Kinnison, using his fantastic powers, to infiltrate the Boskonian strongholds, find the location of the enemy's Grand Base - and smash it forever.But Kinnison doesn't know that the power of Boskone reaches further than anyone dreamed - into the Galactic Patrol itself . . .Grey Lensman is the fourth self-contained novel in E. E. 'Doc' Smith's Lensman series, one of the all-time classics of adventurous, galaxy-spanning science fiction.

Gollancz

The Switch

Justina Robson
Authors:
Justina Robson
Gateway

Dr Cyclops

Henry Kuttner
Authors:
Henry Kuttner
Gateway

The Best of Henry Kuttner

Henry Kuttner
Authors:
Henry Kuttner

These seventeen classic stories create their own unique galaxy of vain, protective, and murderous robots; devilish angels; and warm and angry aliens. In "Mimsy Were the Borogoves"-the inspiration for New Line Cinema's major motion picture The Last Mimzy-a boy finds a discarded box containing a treasure trove of curious objects. When he and his sister begin to play with these trinkets-including a crystal cube that magnifies the unimaginable and a strange doll with removable organs that don't quite correspond to those of the human body-their parents grow concerned. And they should be. For the items are changing the way the children think and perceive the world around them-for better or worse. Ray Bradbury called Henry Kuttner "a man who shaped science fiction and fantasy in its most important years." Marion Zimmer Bradley and Roger Zelazny said he was a major inspiration. Kuttner was a writer's writer whose visionary works anticipated our own computer-controlled, machine-made world. At the time of his death at forty-two in 1958, he had created as many as 170 stories under more than a dozen pseudonyms-sometimes writing entire issues of science fiction magazines-in close collaboration with his wife, C. L. Moore. This definitive collection will be a revelation to those who wish to discover or rediscover Henry Kuttner, a true master of the universe.

Gateway

Lies, Inc.

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gateway

Flowers For Algernon

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes