C. Robert Cargill - Queen of the Dark Things - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575130173
    • Publication date:15 May 2014

Queen of the Dark Things

By C. Robert Cargill

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

This acclaimed work of dark and magical contemporary fantasy, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, moves into the world of aboriginal myth and story.

Compared by many to Neil Gaiman but also praised for establishing his own unique, powerful yet warm voice, C. Robert Cargill has now moved his brilliant contemporary fantasy into a new world, a new mythology.

Two boys, spirited away into a dark world of myth and folklore that has lived, grown and changed alongside our world, have grown into men and now make their way. But faerie has not forgotten them, it never could, they wield too much power, too much hinges on them, so it reaches out again.

And a trip to Australia becomes a terrifying adventure amongst new gods, new spirits, new embodiments of an ancient land and power.

Biographical Notes

Cargill has written for Ain't it Cool News for nearly 10 years under the pseudonym Massawyrm, as well as serving as a staff writer for Film.com and Hollywood.com. He appears as the animated character Carlyle on spill.com, where he also hosts a featured podcast. His first screenplay SINISTER was co-written and directed by Scott Derrickson and starred Ethan Hawke. He recently co-wrote the screenplay for Marvel's DOCTOR STRANGE.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780575130166
  • Publication date: 12 Mar 2015
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Cargill has proved that he has one of the best imaginations around and a writing talent to boot' — Upcoming 4 Me
fans of the first book won't be disappointed — Kirkus Reviews
Thsi direct sequel feels more confident and just as gripping...an excellent and hugely entertaining follow-up that delivers on its predecessor's promise — Sci-Fi Now
Orion

The Ember Blade

Chris Wooding
Authors:
Chris Wooding
Gollancz

God's Last Breath

Sam Sykes
Authors:
Sam Sykes
Orion

Midnight Falcon

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

They called him Bane the Bastard - though none said it to his faceBorn of treachery, his name a curse, he grew up among the warriors of the Rigante. They valued his skills in war, but they feared the violence in his heart. And when, as a Wolfshead and Outlaw, he left Rigante lands, they breathed sighs of relief.But Bane would return, the destiny of the Rigante in his hands, the fate of the world resting on his skills with a blade.Midnight Falcon continues the tale of the Rigante, which began in Sword in the Storm, and tells the epic story of Bane, the bastard son of Connavar the King, and his quest for vengeance in a world of blood, honour, betrayal and love.Read by Adjoa Andoh(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Ravenheart

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Gollancz

Terry Pratchett's Discworld Imaginarium

Paul Kidby
Authors:
Paul Kidby
Gollancz

Oathbringer

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

From the bestselling author who completed Robert Jordan's epic Wheel of Time series comes a new, original creation that matches anything else in modern fantasy for epic scope, thrilling imagination, superb characters and sheer addictiveness.In Oathbringer, the third volume of the New York Times bestselling Stormlight Archive series, humanity faces a new Desolation with the return of the Voidbringers, a foe whose numbers are as great as their thirst for vengeance.The Alethi armies commanded by Dalinar Kholin won a fleeting victory at a terrible cost: The enemy Parshendi summoned the violent Everstorm, and now its destruction sweeps the world and its passing awakens the once peaceful and subservient parshmen to the true horror of their millennia-long enslavement by humans. While on a desperate flight to warn his family of the threat, Kaladin Stormblessed must come to grips with the fact that their newly kindled anger may be wholly justified.Nestled in the mountains high above the storms, in the tower city of Urithiru, Shallan Davar investigates the wonders of the ancient stronghold of the Knights Radiant and unearths the dark secrets lurking in its depths. And Dalinar realizes that his holy mission to unite his homeland of Alethkar was too narrow in scope. Unless all the nations of Roshar can put Dalinar's blood-soaked past aside and stand together - and unless Dalinar himself can confront that past - even the restoration of the Knights Radiant will not avert the end of civilization.'I loved this book. What else is there to say?' Patrick Rothfuss, New York Times bestselling author of The Name of the Wind, on The Way of Kings

Gollancz

The Twilight Herald

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd
W&N

The Boy Made of Snow

Chloe Mayer
Authors:
Chloe Mayer

In a sleepy English village in 1944, Annabel and her son Daniel live in the shadow of war. With her husband away, an increasingly isolated Annabel begins to lose her grip on reality.When mother and son befriend Hans, a German PoW consigned to a nearby farm, their lives are suddenly filled with thrilling secrets. To Annabel, Hans is an awakening from the darkness that has engulfed her since Daniel's birth. To her son, a solitary boy caught up in the magical world of fairy tales, he is perhaps a prince in disguise. But Hans has plans of his own and will soon set them into motion with devastating consequences.'Original and unsettling - and just a little bit heartbreaking' Rachel Rhys, author of Dangerous Crossing

Gollancz

The Fall of Dragons

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
Gollancz

The Furthest Station

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch

A brand new novella in the PC Grant series!There's something going bump on the Metropolitan line and Sergeant Jaget Kumar knows exactly who to call.It's PC Peter Grant's speciality . . .Only it's more than going 'bump'. Traumatised travellers have been reporting strange encounters on their morning commute, with strangely dressed people trying to deliver an urgent message. Stranger still, despite calling the police themselves, within a few minutes the commuters have already forgotten the encounter - making the follow up interviews rather difficult. So with a little help from Abigail and Toby the ghost hunting dog, Peter and Jaget are heading out on a ghost hunting expedition.Because finding the ghost and deciphering their urgent message might just be a matter of life and death.

Gollancz

Sea of Rust

C. Robert Cargill
Authors:
C. Robert Cargill

A scavenger robot wanders in the wasteland created by a war that has destroyed humanity in this evocative post-apocalyptic robot western from the critically acclaimed author, screenwriter, and noted film critic. Humankind is extinct. Wiped out in a global uprising by the very machines made to serve them. Now the world is controlled by One World Intelligences - vast mainframes that have assimilated the minds of millions of robots. But not all robots are willing to cede their individuality, and Brittle - a loner and scavenger, focused solely on survival - is one of the holdouts. Only, individuality comes at a price, and after a near-deadly encounter with another AI, Brittle is forced to seek sanctuary. Not easy when an OWI has decided to lay siege to the nearest safe city. Critically damaged, Brittle has to hold it together long enough to find the essential rare parts to make repairs - but as a robot's CPU gradually deteriorates, all their old memories resurface. For Brittle, that means one haunting memory in particular . . .Sea of Rust boldly imagines a future in which no hope should remain, and yet a humanlike AI strives to find purpose among the ruins.

Gollancz

A Plague of Swords

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron

ONE ENEMY HAS FALLENA GREATER ONE REMAINSNOW IT'S WAR . . .The Red Knight withstood the full might of his enemy, and won the day. In a victory which will be remembered through the ages, he brought disparate factions together and turned them into allies against a more powerful foe than they had ever seen.Now, he will need his allies more than ever.Because behind one adversary hid another - one with allies of their own - whose goal was never to destroy Alba, but to distract the Kingdom while achieving his true aim. And whatever it is, it's probably not in the Red Knight's interest.With one army defeated, now the Red Knight must fight again . . . and for every one of his allies there is a corresponding enemy. Spread out in different lands, and on sea, it will all come down to one last gamble. And to whether or not the Red Knight has guessed their foe's true intentions.With each throw of the dice, everything could be lost . . .

Orion

The Red Knight

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
Gollancz

The Forgotten Beasts of Eld

Patricia A. McKillip
Authors:
Patricia A. McKillip
Gollancz

Baptism of Fire

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski
Gollancz

Wild Cards: Aces Abroad

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin

Return to the early days of the Wild Cards series, as a group of super-powered Aces set off on a fact-finding tour of the worldEver since the Wild Card virus spread across New York, people have changed - some becoming superpowered 'Aces', some distorted and bizarre 'Jokers'. But the effects of the virus have spread, and all across the world new mutations are popping up.Sent by the UN on a world tour, tasked with investigating and recording the spread of the virus - and the reactions of the world - a group of Aces will discover that no matter where in the world they are, one thing will remain the same. Humanity is capable of kindness, acceptance and tolerance. But not all of the time ...Featuring stories by George R. R. Martin, Melinda M. Snodgrass, Stephen Leigh, Walter Simons and many more, this volume also contains two new stories by Carrie Vaughn and Kevin Andrew Murphy never before published in the UK.

Gollancz

Lord Darcy

Randall Garrett
Authors:
Randall Garrett

Welcome to a world where the Plantagenet kings survived, the laws of magic were discovered and the physical sciences never pursued. In the resulting Anglo-French Empire, a detective like Lord Darcy needs more than a keen mind and an observant eye. Luckily, Darcy can call on the aid of Master Sean O'Lochlainn, forensic sorcerer.This omnibus contains all of the Lord Darcy stories as well as the only Lord Darcy novel, TOO MANY MAGICIANS, and has a new introduction by Michael Dirda.

Gollancz

Dreams and Shadows

C. Robert Cargill
Authors:
C. Robert Cargill
Gollancz

Time of Contempt

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski
Gollancz

Red Seas Under Red Skies

Scott Lynch
Authors:
Scott Lynch