Peter James - Faith - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409181255
    • Publication date:13 Sep 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409133025
    • Publication date:07 Oct 2010

Faith

By Peter James

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

Where science and belief meet . . . A terrifying thriller from 'Britain's answer to Stephen King and Michael Crichton' [Sunday Telegraph]

Where science and belief meet . . . A terrifying thriller from 'Britain's answer to Stephen King and Michael Crichton' [Sunday Telegraph]

Ross Ransome is at the top of his profession; one of the most successful, and certainly one of the richest, plastic surgeons in the business. Such a man would expect his wife to be perfect - and why not? After all, he has spent enough hours in surgery to get her that way.

But when his wife falls ill she turns her back on conventional medicine, and her arid marriage, and seeks help from the world of alternative medicine and a charismatic therapist who promises not just medical salvation.

For Ransome, this is the ultimate betrayal. It defies logic, and Ross Ransome is a profoundly logical man. Logically, he can see no reason why any man should have his wife when he can't. It's all completely rational...

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752837116
  • Publication date: 05 May 2005
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

All the Flowers in Paris

Sarah Jio
Authors:
Sarah Jio
Orion

The Darker Arts

Oscar de Muriel
Authors:
Oscar de Muriel
W&N

The Reunion

Guillaume Musso
Authors:
Guillaume Musso

WELCOME TO THE SCHOOL REUNION FROM HELL FRENCH RIVIERA, WINTER 1992On a freezing night, as her high school campus is engulfed by a snowstorm, 19-year-old Vinca Rockwell runs away with Alexis, her philosophy teacher.No one will ever see them again.FRENCH RIVIERA, SPRING 2017Formerly inseparable, Thomas, Maxime and Fanny - Vinca's best friends - have not spoken in twenty-five years. But when they receive an invitation to their school's anniversary reunion, they know they must go back one final time.Because there is a body buried in that building... ...and they're the ones who put it there. THE #1 INTERNATIONAL SENSATION For fans of Joel Dicker's THE TRUTH ABOUT THE HARRY QUEBERT AFFAIR, Harlan Coben's TELL NO ONE and Gillian Flynn's GONE GIRL. With the atmosphere of Donna Tartt's THE SECRET HISTORY and David Lynch's TWIN PEAKS

Orion

The Chain

Adrian McKinty, Adrian McKinty
Authors:
Adrian McKinty, Adrian McKinty
Orion

Inspection

Josh Malerman
Authors:
Josh Malerman
W&N

Call Him Mine

Tim MacGabhann
Authors:
Tim MacGabhann
Orion

Blood Relations

Jonathan Moore
Authors:
Jonathan Moore

'Taut, smart and electrifying.' Liv ConstantineWho is Claire Gravesend? So wonders PI Lee Crowe when he finds her dead, in a fine cocktail dress, on top of a Rolls Royce in the most dangerous neighbourhood in San Francisco. Claire's mother doesn't believe the coroner: her daughter did not kill herself. But the questions about the Gravesend family pile up fast.Until Crowe finds their secret home in San Francisco. Sleeping in an upstairs bedroom, he finds Claire and as far as he can tell, she's alive...

Orion

Unsafe

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor

Karen Sharpe has been promoted to Detective Sergeant, but are the pressures of the job getting too much for her?When the battered body of a young girl is discovered, it kicks off an inquiry which pushes Karen and a trainee DC, Marcus Roth, too close for comfort, both on and off-duty. The investigation leads to a woman with a violent past - a woman with a six-year-old boy in her care... As the terrible truth emerges, the inquiry becomes a race against time before another child becomes a victim.

W&N

The River

Peter Heller
Authors:
Peter Heller

'I COULDN'T TURN THE PAGES FAST ENOUGH Clare Mackintosh, bestselling author of Let Me LieTwo friends Wynn and Jack have been best friends since their first day of college, brought together by their shared love of literature and the great outdoors.The adventure of a lifetime When they decide to take time off university and canoe down the Maskwa River in northern Canada, they anticipate the ultimate wilderness experience. No phones. No fellow travellers. No way of going back. A hellish ride But as a raging wildfire starts to make its way towards them, their idyllic expedition becomes a desperate race for survival. And when a man suddenly appears, claiming his wife has vanished, the fight against nature's destructive power becomes entangled with a much deadlier game of cat and mouse.Because the only thing more dangerous than a burning forest is a man's thirst for revenge...'Like Mark Twain and Toni Morrison, Heller is a rare talent' Elle 'Masterful... An exhilarating tale delivered with the pace of a thriller and the wisdom of a grizzled nature guide' Kirkus (Starred Review)'A heart-pounding adventure that's hard to put down' Library Journal (Starred Review)

Gollancz

No Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden

ASTRONAUT. SURVIVOR. MURDERER. ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK meets Andy Weir's THE MARTIAN The explosive sequel to ONE WAY. Eight astronauts were set to Mars to build NASA's Mars base, and only one survived. Now all he needs to do is get home . . . Frank Kittridge is alone on Mars. But XO, the corporate architects of the first Mars base, made a costly mistake when they left him there: they left him alive. Using his skills and his wits, he's going to find a way back home even if it kills him.But there are dangers on Mars even Frank isn't prepared for, and a mystery he has to solve in order to survive.If there's anything in Frank's favour, it's this: he's always been prepared to go to the extremes to get the job done. That's how he ended up on Mars in the first place. It just might be his ticket back. * * * * *PRAISE FOR ONE WAY 'A rip-roaring thriller of a book that hits the ground running and doesn't stop until the final chapter' John Marrs, author of the bestselling/Radio 2 Book Club choice THE ONE 'S.J. Morden's Agatha-Christie-in-space thriller accelerates to warp speed and becomes an engrossing whodunnit' Financial Times 'ONE WAY is what would happen if the crime and sci-fi genres got together and had a baby. Deeply immersive, chilling and atmospheric. An utterly fabulous book!' Emma Kavanagh, bestselling author of FALLING and HIDDEN'A tense and claustrophobic murder-mystery-on-Mars' James Swallow, Sunday Times bestselling author of NOMAD 'A cracking read. A compelling vision of the near future inhabited by well motivated characters. It's a thrilling tale that grabs you and whips along to the very last breathless page' Adam Hamdy, author of PENDULUM 'Twisty and gripping' Financial Times

Orion

The Silent Patient

Alex Michaelides
Authors:
Alex Michaelides
W&N

Flowers Over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti
Authors:
Ilaria Tuti
W&N

The Man In My Basement

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
W&N

RL's Dream

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
Orion

The Three Secret Cities

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
Orion

The Insider

Mari Hannah
Authors:
Mari Hannah
Orion

In a House of Lies

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
W&N

The Labyrinth of the Spirits

Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Authors:
Carlos Ruiz Zafon

The long-awaited new novel from the author of the global bestseller and modern classic, The Shadow of the Wind.As a child, Daniel Sempere discovered among the passageways of the Cemetery of Forgotten Books an extraordinary novel that would change the course of his life. Now a young man in the Barcelona of the late 1950s, Daniel runs the Sempere & Sons bookshop and enjoys a seemingly fulfilling life with his loving wife and son. Yet the mystery surrounding the death of his mother continues to plague his soul despite the moving efforts of his wife Bea and his faithful friend Fermín to save him.Just when Daniel believes he is close to solving this enigma, a conspiracy more sinister than he could have imagined spreads its tentacles from the hellish regime. That is when Alicia Gris appears, a soul born out of the nightmare of the war. She is the one who will lead Daniel to the edge of the abyss and reveal the secret history of his family, although at a terrifying price.The Labyrinth of the Spirits is an electrifying tale of passion, intrigue and adventure. Within its haunting pages Carlos Ruiz Zafón masterfully weaves together plots and subplots in an intricate and intensely imagined homage to books, the art of storytelling and that magical bridge between literature and our lives.'For the first time in 20 years or so as a book reviewer, I am tempted to dust off the old superlatives and event to employ some particularly vulgar clichés from the repertoire of publishers' blurbs. My colleagues may be shocked, but I don't care, I can't help myself, here goes. The Shadow of the Wind is a triumph of the storyteller's art. I couldn't put it down. Enchanting, hilarious and heartbreaking, this book will change your life. Carlos Ruiz Zafón has done that exceedingly rare thing - he has produced, in his first novel, a popular masterpiece, an instant classic' Daily Telegraph

Orion

You Can Run

Steve Mosby
Authors:
Steve Mosby

'Steve Mosby has become one of a handful of writers who make me excited about crime fiction' Val McDermid'Mosby has become renowned for thrillers that reach into dark places where most British crime writers are afraid to go' Sunday ExpressWhen a stolen car crashes into a house on a suburban street, the police are shocked to discover a woman being held captive inside the building. As the remains of many more victims are found in the house, it seems that the Red River Killer - who has been abducting women for twenty years and taunting the police with letters about his crimes - has finally been identified. As the hunt for the killer intensifies, DI Will Turner finds the investigation edging dangerously close to uncovering his own demons. He must be the one to catch the killer while keeping his own past buried. The clock is ticking, and there are lives at stake... A page-turning psychological thriller and a dark police procedural, the new novel from CWA Dagger winner Steve Mosby, explores the blurred lines between truth and fiction.'Up there with the Mark Billinghams of crime-horror' Metro

Orion

The Nightmare Place

Steve Mosby
Authors:
Steve Mosby

His break-ins are careful. His attacks are savage. His confidence is growing . . .DI Zoe Dolan is tracking a stalker who brutally attacks women in their own homes. With no idea how he gets in, or who he'll target next, the case is at a dead end - until a tip-off from a confidential helpline.But instead of helping, the new information drags Zoe deeper into the darkness. As the psyche of a vicious criminal threatens to drown her, the traumas of the past she's never escaped creep closer and closer.Now, for Zoe and the other women of the city, nowhere is safe. Particularly their own bedroom in the dead of night . . .